Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Leaving Dublin for good

• 19-03-2021 1:27am

I've been living exclusively in the family home, in Tipp, since late last year and still paying a Dublin mortgage. I'm increasingly asking myself why I'm paying the latter (or, more's the point, how long will the tenant keep paying his rent?). If he is willing to enter another lease, I am happy to stay out of Dublin forever.

Just curious about how many of you have decided to leave Dublin.? Especially those of you not originally from Dublin, but I'm sure some Dubs must also be getting itchy feet.

I can't see any point of staying in Dublin, and it's making me concerned about the future demand for rental property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Dublin is a kip....

I've been out 4 years maybe more

• Registered Users Posts: 273 ✭✭Greenlights16

Kip. Can’t wait to get out of it in next few weeks

Apart from the restaurant / pub buzz it had and a bit of craic on nights out it’s really been shown up for what it is since last March .

Will never happen but the more people that leave it and the more money spent in making local hubs and centres away from Dublin the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

I know quite a few people who have left and dont plan on coming back. Mainly people who were from overseas and moved back home and can work remotely. I would probably have done the same if I didn't have a mortgage, nothing really keeping me here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,650 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Left several years ago, but went abroad.

I find that Dublin does the pub/craic thing very well, but that's all it does. It lacks variety. You have to 'fit in' to a very specific mould for Dublin to look good, and if you don't, it's pretty... meh.

I do miss the breakfast rolls though.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

Keeping the kip analogy going, I left and will never be back, it has all the worst parts of city living with very few benefits that a larger city bring

• Registered Users Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭tastyt

I’m getting out too , but I will say this , Dublin is brilliant on a warm summer Friday evening after work having a few pints , great buzz. And good hard working dubs are great too.

The trouble is that the government have little by little ****ed Dublin up . They have made it almost impossible for people on average wage to live somewhere that isn’t a **** hole.

Add to this the ridiculous situation of lazy ****s that live in apartments and houses right in the middle of the city that will never work a day in their life and we have everything upside down in our capital.

And the cherry on top is the decision of our courts and Gardai not to bother tackling anti social behaviour, and worse , properly and you have the unfortunate situation of the city being absolutely full of young scrotes that want nothing but trouble

Anyway , we don’t need another Dublin is a kip thread so I will say that I will miss certain things but it’s not a place I’d like to raise a family

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭thefridge2006

Overpriced kip with no atmosphere now. If i could i'd be down the country in a heartbeat.

Was in town the other day and it was like something from the walking dead. More Zombies than regular folk unfortunately. Have a feeling town as we know it is gone for good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭PommieBast

I came to Dublin in 2013 and have decided that post-Covid I will be moving to London. Some of this is due to wanting to a fresh start post-Covid but even before the pandemic I felt that Dublin had lost the vibrant feel it had 2014-2017. The screwed-up accommodation situation that messes over landlords and tenants alike bears a lot of responsibility..

Persuading herself to move down the sticks. Not to the arse end of nowhere, but somewhere close to Galway or Cork. Within taxi range after a night out. I have a job that can be carried out anywhere, but she would have to leave her job in Dublin. It's a conversation worth having though.

Dublin is a great little city in fairness, but you reach a stage where you realise that you won't be necking yokes at a house party in Clongriffin no more.

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭TP_CM

It is a kip but just to note from a housing perspective it is a kip with a massive supply issue. I don't think you will have issues finding renters in Dublin anytime soon. And particularly when the post-pandemic boom happens.

That being said. If you're not going to live in the place yourself, I would probably sell it and run. To me it's just not worth the hassle but others would disagree.

I like it. But then I live close to the sea in north city. I don’t really care about the city centre but then I didn’t care about London when I lived there either.

pauliebdub wrote: »
    I know quite a few people who have left and dont plan on coming back. Mainly people who were from overseas and moved back home and can work remotely. I would probably have done the same if I didn't have a mortgage, nothing really keeping me here.

I fairly dubious about the tax implications of that. Immigrants tend to like Dublin but they are more likely to avail of the other things to do besides the pub.

Judging Dublin by the last year seems odd, everywhere is a morgue in Europe right now.

TP_CM wrote: »
    It is a kip but just to note from a housing perspective it is a kip with a massive supply issue. I don't think you will have issues finding renters in Dublin anytime soon. And particularly when the post-pandemic boom happens.

Post-pandemic boom?

I'm expecting a recession akin to 2009. Are we all not? Jobs are currently being held in suspended animation, until reality strikes. Approx 10%-20% of the workforce isn't going to have a job to return to. I thought that was generally accepted.

God, I hope you are right. But the idea of a boom seems other-worldly. Even the businesses I know are only in business to avail of state support. Once that folds, so will they.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Some parts of Dublin are absolute holes, and the city centre has become an unpoliced zombie no go zone - especially after dark out of the very centre. That being said some parts are fabulous places to grow up and live in - unfortunately you’d have needed to have bought long ago or now have two good salaries to buy there or have inherited or grown up there. Unless you have a handy 6 or 700k to spare.

That being said people renting can chose their spot, rent what they couldn’t afford to buy, have a great lifestyle with job that may not be available elsewhere and move if the area goes down/ better house elsewhere appears or job location changes - they have options.

Not everybody relishes a life of landlocked county, grass & small towns, the smell of sileage in the morning or the cliquey living of the country or GAA lifestyle. I know a few Dubs who moved to their OH’s and were never accepted or welcomed by their ‘communities’ and are living harrowing, lonely lives in big beautiful houses in the arsehole of nowhere that they can’t afford to hear, with nothing closeby and no amenities and are going slowly mad.

Post-pandemic boom?

I'm expecting a recession akin to 2009. Are we all not? Jobs are currently being held in suspended animation, until reality strikes. Approx 10%-20% of the workforce isn't going to have a job to return to. I thought that was generally accepted.

God, I hope you are right. But the idea of a boom seems other-worldly. Even the businesses I know are only in business to avail of state support. Once that folds, so will they.

There’s a lot of savings out there. And the economy grew last year, particularly at the last quarter. Most economists expect a strong recovery. Unlike normal recessions where there are imbalances in the economy, overlending or overproduction or whatever, this recession was caused by government action, and ending the lockdown will end the recession, if people play down the savings then a boom is likely.

Not everybody relishes a life of grass & small towns, or the cliquey living of the country or GAA lifestyle. I know a few Dubs who moved to their OH’s and were never accepted or welcomed by their ‘communities’ and are living harrowing, lonely lives in big beautiful houses in the arsehole of nowhere with nothing closeby and no amenities.

Ah lets not do the townie vs culchie thing, shall we?

I am from a very small town with a big Dublin population nearby (Cloughjordan eco village, actually) , and the only thing that demarcates the outsiders from the Dubs is their ability to mix.

Most people get along like a thatch on fire.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭PetitPois89

I love Dublin, compared to other capital cities it’s most definitely not a kip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

There’s also a lot of people eating their way through their savings with a boom in the take away business industries and online boredom shopping has pushed retail sales through the roof.

There’s a lot of savings out there. And the economy grew last year, particularly at the last quarter. Most economists expect a strong recovery. Unlike normal recessions where there are imbalances in the economy, overlending or overproduction or whatever, this recession was caused by government action, and ending the lockdown will end the recession, if people play down the savings then a boom is likely.

Almost everything you say has a rational basis, I don't believe it will happen, but it definitely could.

I only strongly disagree with the statement "most economists expect a strong recovery". I work for a financial institution. It would be fair to say that optimism isn't strongly-held.

There’s also a lot of people eating their way through their savings with a boom in the take away business industries and online boredom shopping has pushed retail sales through the roof.

There’s a shift to online shopping, and obviously people can’t spend in many shops or all restaurants, it’s inevitable that there will be a shift. This doesn’t mean people are spending more in general. I have spent next to nothing on alcohol in the last year, we just don’t drink at home except for Christmas, and my wife doesn’t drink much at all. I used to go to pubs most weekends. I haven’t taken a major holiday. We have not eaten in Restaurants. All of this is anecdotal, I know, but it is also backed up by the facts.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/pandemic-triggers-surge-in-saving-with-12-6bn-more-on-deposit-this-year-1.4423488?mode=amp

Almost everything you say has a rational basis, I don't believe it will happen, but it definitely could.

I only strongly disagree with the statement "most economists expect a strong recovery". I work for a financial institution. It would be fair to say that optimism isn't strongly-held.

I am kinda dragging the thread off topic, but EU economists expect a close to 4% growth this and next year, which is way above average for the EU.

https://ec.europa.eu/commission/presscorner/detail/en/ip_21_504

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭PommieBast

Talk of a strong recovery is mostly from people who would be a screwed if that is not what happens. Politicians are top of that list.

For better or worse what is clear is that the economy of 2022+ will be very different from 2019, and within that the winners/losers will also change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Musefan

Non Dubliner here. Left a year and a bit ago. We came to the realisation that things were less convenient, not easier in Dublin. This was from living in a nice part of it, but in a shoebox for nearly 2k a month. Popping to the shops was a hassle- 20 mins sitting in traffic to get there on a Saturday, driving around for parking and paying loads. Recreation always involved paying lots or driving outside the city. Parks were packed in good weather.

We chose to move home & buy for almost 1k a month less than rent. We now have .75 of an acre, cinema & shopping centre within 30 mins, restaurants nearby, forest parks within 10 min drive, lots of choice with local schools. Yes it’s harder to socialise with Dublin based friends but pre Covid, it meant that we had lots more space up here to entertain & have visitors over weekends.

I don’t miss it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Made the move 14 year's ago. Best move ever. Hate the thought every time I have to go back to the unadulterated kip.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Some parts of Dublin are absolute holes, and the city centre has become an unpoliced zombie no go zone - especially after dark out of the very centre.

Had to pleasure of staying in Bachelors Walk again recently enough for 5 weeks (work related).
    Would never want to be in or around the city center in the evening ever again after that last experience.

It never seemed that bad a few years back. Sad to see. Feel sorry for people who live there permanently and have to deal with that scum on a daily basis outside their door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,446 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Dublin is like a different country to the rest of Ireland. If I had free rent in Dublin I'd not want to be there. I guess people in Dublin don't know any different.

Yeah it's brilliant, smell of pee, sh1t and drugs.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,354 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Dublin is a kip....
    Kip.
    Snotty wrote: »
    Keeping the kip analogy going
    tastyt wrote: »

Anyway , we don’t need another Dublin is a kip thread
    TP_CM wrote: »
    It is a kip
    it’s most definitely not a kip
    unadulterated kip.

So, just to summarize. Almost, but not entirely a kip?

:P

endacl wrote: »

KIP

Skip

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭TP_CM

Post-pandemic boom?

Historically there has been a boom after a lot of negative world events. Then a crash afterwards. 1920s jazz age after the spanish flu. 50's boom after world war 2. People save save save when they're restricted and then go a bit (too) mad afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,721 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

endacl wrote: »

Its rated number one on kipadvisor

• Site Banned Posts: 4 gertyserty

PommieBast wrote: »
    I came to Dublin in 2013 and have decided that post-Covid I will be moving to London. Some of this is due to wanting to a fresh start post-Covid but even before the pandemic I felt that Dublin had lost the vibrant feel it had 2014-2017. The screwed-up accommodation situation that messes over landlords and tenants alike bears a lot of responsibility..
    you will find you will never get ahead on london your better going somewhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭NSAman

Think you get to a point in life, when any city turns into a kip.

I like Dublin, still have a place there, but..........it’s ok for short periods of time when I get home. What has changed in the past 15-20 years is that it is not really Dublin. It’s a melting pot of international people and has for me lost most of its charm, still have many friends there though.

Personally, I live now outside of a major city in the states. Rural, close community and much more relaxed. The thoughts of going into the city fill me with dread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,053 ✭✭✭✭zell12

I love Dublin, compared to other capital cities it’s most definitely not a kip
    But it is!!
    Joe Duffy rants on live radio: 'Dublin is an unadulterated kip... the city is being turned into pound shops'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,650 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

zell12 wrote: »

Kind of weird that that came about as a result of a discussion about a Dun Laoghaire-based initiative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭sally cinnamon89

There is a bang of middle aged off these kip replies. It would make you laugh. I’ve lived in several cities in Ireland and abroad. I currently live in Dublin 7 and I don’t think Dublin is a kip at all. Don’t let the door hit you on the way out lads

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I live in Dublin and near us we have a beach, a massive park and loads of amenities. During the 2k and 5k limits they were a blessing as the kids could still get out and explore. Also I had a 10 mile cycle route mapped out which didn't pass the same point twice but was contained within the 5k. With that and runs on the beach it has kept the waist line at bay somewhat over the last 12 months.
    Contrast to that I have a niece in Clare who has been badly affected by the limits as there is nothing within 5k of her other than private farmland.
    I have great neighbours, kids have nice schools, supermarket 2 mins walk from my house, train station 10 mins, live football 30 mins, friends up the road etc.
    I get that some parts are fairly bad and my normal office is in one of the worst areas in the State but I don't get the kip comments that get bandied about on these threads. I think there is just a deep resentment from people from certain parts that has been ingrained in them since childhood. You see it all the time with the parish pump politician schticking it to the lads in Dublin.
    Anyway sorry if you didn't live in a nice area but the most parts of Dublin are pleasant places to live in.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭Slashermcguirk

Not sure London is the place I would choose, so many people are getting the hell out of there. The population of London fell 700,000 since last year and there was a recent survey done there among Londoners and over 400,000 also plan to leave. I find if an awful spot to be honest. If I was moving from Dublin I would at least go somewhere with a decent climate. I think Dublin is great, lots of really nice parts, like any capital city there are less nice parts. I think people will always complain about capital cities, french give out about Paris even though it’s spectacular, English people outside London tend to hate it etc. What I like about Dublin is you have the sea and mountains close by, great direct connectivity from dublin airport (during non COVID times) and while the weather is no Mediterranean it’s the driest place in Ireland. So many nice villages along the coast of Dublin. Also the population of 1.5 million makes it less of a hassle to get around but big enough to have lots to do. Any people I know that moved to Dublin from overseas loves it

quote="PommieBast;116624170"]I came to Dublin in 2013 and have decided that post-Covid I will be moving to London. Some of this is due to wanting to a fresh start post-Covid but even before the pandemic I felt that Dublin had lost the vibrant feel it had 2014-2017. The screwed-up accommodation situation that messes over landlords and tenants alike bears a lot of responsibility..[/quote]

I think Dublin is fine, bit run down in places and definitely too much anti social behaviour but for the most part i quite like it.

Personally, I could never live down the country. Being from London I find Dublin small at times, living in a town in rural Ireland would drive me insane!!

“Kip” tell me, what utopias have you all moved to.

Dublin is a beautiful city, with amazing heritage and culture. Any night of the week you can go and get great entertainment.

It can be a joy to walk around on a nice day. From the Phoenix park, down along the Liffey and all the way out to Poolbeg lighthouse.

A few mins out of the city and you’re up the Dublin/Wicklow mountains, hellfire club, Tick nock, Wicklow way (best drive in Ireland) and glendalough. Great city life and in a fantastic location.

Everyday I pinch myself at how lucky I am to live here.

Judging Dublin over the last year is madness

Dublin Forever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,023 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Much easier to leave Dublin nowadays as commuting easier and Road networks much better than when I made the move 20 years ago to Rural Laois. My initial motivation was price of housing in Dublin (Its much higher now, even accounting for the crazyness of the early to mid 2000"s.)

I made the move when you still had to drive through monasterevin and Kildare towns, it was horrendous the first 3 years as I continued to work in Swords. Eventually getting a job nearer to home.

Quality of life 1000% better, I've a humble 250 year old cottage on 2 acres on the side of the slieve bloom mountains. Whilst still a blow in 20 years later I don't think I could ever live in a built up area ever again.

Yes there's isolation, winters can be tough, forget the neighbourly touchy feely notion, it doesn't exist and even more now since the Pandemic. Get to know a good tradesman, Turf supplier & Mechanic, the rest looks after itself.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Not sure London is the place I would choose, so many people are getting the hell out of there. The population of London fell 700,000 since last year and there was a recent survey done there among Londoners and over 400,000 also plan to leave. I find if an awful spot to be honest. If I was moving from Dublin I would at least go somewhere with a decent climate. I think Dublin is great, lots of really nice parts, like any capital city there are less nice parts. I think people will always complain about capital cities, french give out about Paris even though it’s spectacular, English people outside London tend to hate it etc. What I like about Dublin is you have the sea and mountains close by, great direct connectivity from dublin airport (during non COVID times) and while the weather is no Mediterranean it’s the driest place in Ireland. So many nice villages along the coast of Dublin. Also the population of 1.5 million makes it less of a hassle to get around but big enough to have lots to do. Any people I know that moved to Dublin from overseas loves it

quote="PommieBast;116624170"]I came to Dublin in 2013 and have decided that post-Covid I will be moving to London. Some of this is due to wanting to a fresh start post-Covid but even before the pandemic I felt that Dublin had lost the vibrant feel it had 2014-2017. The screwed-up accommodation situation that messes over landlords and tenants alike bears a lot of responsibility..
    [/quote]

Obviously a large portion of those people leaving are retail workers who have no work, chances of them all coming back are slim but expect a fair few to. A couple of my friends have recently purchased houses in London, they think prices will come down a bit themselves but wouldn’t consider living anywhere else.
    Granted London is not for everyone, my wife is a born and bred Dub but she finds London too busy!!

As for the climate, it’s not Spain but after living in Ireland for a decade I now feel London is my summer holiday when I go back, ha!

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    I live in Dublin and near us we have a beach, a massive park and loads of amenities. During the 2k and 5k limits they were a blessing as the kids could still get out and explore. Also I had a 10 mile cycle route mapped out which didn't pass the same point twice but was contained within the 5k. With that and runs on the beach it has kept the waist line at bay somewhat over the last 12 months.
    Contrast to that I have a niece in Clare who has been badly affected by the limits as there is nothing within 5k of her other than private farmland.
    I have great neighbours, kids have nice schools, supermarket 2 mins walk from my house, train station 10 mins, live football 30 mins, friends up the road etc.
    I get that some parts are fairly bad and my normal office is in one of the worst areas in the State but I don't get the kip comments that get bandied about on these threads. I think there is just a deep resentment from people from certain parts that has been ingrained in them since childhood. You see it all the time with the parish pump politician schticking it to the lads in Dublin.
    Anyway sorry if you didn't live in a nice area but the most parts of Dublin are pleasant places to live in.

I think it's the other way round: you fit the niche I was talking about earlier, and as a consequence can't see why people wouldn't like it. It's nothing to do with "ingraned since childhood" - it's exactly the opposite - it's seeing it with neutral eyes as an adult that it's not the cheeky fun-filled utopia you're led to beleive when you're young and niave.

That said, I never called it a kip :)

“Kip” tell me, what utopias have you all moved to.

Lived in Paris, Copenhagen and Berlin. While I wouldn't call any of them a "utopia" (doesn't exist anyway) all of them have more variety that Dublin, better public transport and something at least similar to what's below.
    Dublin is a beautiful city, with amazing heritage and culture. Any night of the week you can go and get great entertainment.

It can be a joy to walk around on a nice day. From the Phoenix park, down along the Liffey and all the way out to Poolbeg lighthouse.

A few mins out of the city and you’re up the Dublin/Wicklow mountains, hellfire club, Tick nock, Wicklow way (best drive in Ireland) and glendalough. Great city life and in a fantastic location.

Everyday I pinch myself at how lucky I am to live here.

Judging Dublin over the last year is madness

Dublin Forever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,705 ✭✭✭whippet

I left Dublin about 9 years ago with a young family. We both work from home and it was the best move we ever made.

I had nothing against Dublin but I never really enjoyed living in an urban environment... so now I’m about an hour away from Dublin in a fairly rural setting on the coast with all the amenities I could want near by .. quality of life is far better and of course far cheaper !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I've lived in a few cities, London for years, and I loved it there. Dublin isn't the best city in the world but I think it's far more lively and interesting than most cities of a similar size tbh. I'm lucky enough to live near St Anne's park and the sea, and have my own place, and I'm very grateful for that.

The North Inner City, around O'Connell St/Talbot/Connolly has issues yes, but parts of the North Inner City are really nice. I was in town yesterday walking around Grafton/South William St/Drury St etc and it's looking so good lately, they've done a lot of resurfacing work and cleaned the place up.

People from the rest of Ireland often have this IT'S A F*CKING KIP attitude towards the place, but I think it says more of your experience of the place than the city itself. I just try and make the most of it anyway, there's lots to do here and places to go, and it doesn't rain as much as the rest of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭Hamachi

NSAman wrote: »
    I like Dublin, still have a place there, but..........it’s ok for short periods of time when I get home. What has changed in the past 15-20 years is that it is not really Dublin. It’s a melting pot of international people and has for me lost most of its charm, still have many friends there though.

This. Dublin now has a very similar vibe to London. A quite transitory place with lots of people with no connection or roots here, passing through for a few years. In my view, it creates a pretty sterile atmosphere.

Loved Dublin when I moved here for college 20 years ago. Returned in 2014, but don’t feel the same way about the place. Partially, I think it’s because I’m living in area I don’t like and would rather leave. I’m sure it’s an entirely different experience if you live in an affluent south side area where you have nice amenities on your door step and your neighbors are decent people, who are employed and speak English..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Lived in Paris, Copenhagen and Berlin. While I wouldn't call any of them a "utopia" (doesn't exist anyway) all of them have more variety that Dublin, better public transport and something at least similar to what's below.

I found Copenhagen lovely to cycle around, but it's one of the most unremarkable, boring cities I've been to.
    Paris, Berlin, London etc are just on a different level to cities like Dublin, you can't really compare them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,097 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

PommieBast wrote: »

Funny that was of my big reasons for leaving London. Post Olympics London and the post Brexit vote one were 2 very different places atmosphere wise.