Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
18-10-2019, 08:44   #31
_feedback_
Registered User
 
_feedback_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by celt262 View Post
What method did you use to sign up Online, Webchat or over the phone?
It was a painful over the phone experience - just wanted the most basic broadband package (don't use the landline aspect of this package)
_feedback_ is offline  
Advertisement
18-10-2019, 08:45   #32
The Ayatolla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Ayatolla View Post
This is what I have in my area at present:

Sky - 100mb
Eir - 100mb
Vodafone - 1GB
Virgin - 500MB
Seems Sky are a reseller of Siro. But they have a €200 connection fee.
The Ayatolla is offline  
18-10-2019, 08:51   #33
celt262
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by _feedback_ View Post
It was a painful over the phone experience - just wanted the most basic broadband package (don't use the landline aspect of this package)

I signed up over the online chat a few weeks ago and it was €40.99 for 12 months for broadband and phone. It was cheaper to include the phone. That was for 300 broadband.

They seem to offer better deals online.
celt262 is offline  
Thanks from:
18-10-2019, 10:14   #34
awec
Moderator
 
awec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 39,867
Mod: Rugby, ZTest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafloution View Post
If Vodafone is a GB its through Siro, so Sky should be a reseller too of the same
Siro is Vodafone. It's owned by Vodafone and the ESB.
awec is offline  
18-10-2019, 13:19   #35
B-D-P--
Registered User
 
B-D-P--'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 984
Quote:
Originally Posted by _feedback_ View Post
How'd you manage that? Wasn't an option when I was signing up earlier in the year.. This is the basic package I'm on. Expensive when the price increases after 6 months to €60

Rep at the door.
But when i called them they said yea thats the deal.
So Call them and ask for it.

All deals online and in shop all have commission added.
Ya have to be willing to drag them down with patience.
B-D-P-- is offline  
Advertisement
18-10-2019, 13:57   #36
_feedback_
Registered User
 
_feedback_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by B-D-P-- View Post
Rep at the door.
But when i called them they said yea thats the deal.
So Call them and ask for it.

All deals online and in shop all have commission added.
Ya have to be willing to drag them down with patience.
I'd imagine I need to wait until the 12 month contract is up though?
_feedback_ is offline  
21-10-2019, 18:58   #37
FLOOPER
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by B-D-P-- View Post
Rep at the door.
But when i called them they said yea thats the deal.
So Call them and ask for it.

All deals online and in shop all have commission added.ih
Ya have to be willing to drag them down with patience.
Does that include Tv and phone. We’re out of contract for a while now and paying 90 for basic Tv phone BB.

When also did you get that deal. Did the rep call recently.?

Would need solid info if I’m going to ring tomorrow. They can be tough negotiators.

CheersðŸ‘
FLOOPER is offline  
21-10-2019, 19:25   #38
tatranska
Registered User
 
tatranska's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 17,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLOOPER View Post
Does that include Tv and phone. We’re out of contract for a while now and paying 90 for basic Tv phone BB.

When also did you get that deal. Did the rep call recently.?

Would need solid info if I’m going to ring tomorrow. They can be tough negotiators.

CheersðŸ‘
I phoned last week about renewal.150mb FttH and phone for 45pm
Played hardball quoting airwire at 50pm and no connection fee.
tatranska is offline  
21-10-2019, 21:09   #39
Quiksilver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 77
Anyone know if existing customers will automatically be sent out the new Apple TV and Router?
Quiksilver is offline  
Advertisement
22-10-2019, 00:28   #40
Ten Pin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,383
They tie you in to a new contract term...

Quote:
What about customers who are still in contract with eir vision and who want to move to the new eir TV product?

Customers can get eir’s new TV product by calling us on 1901 today or via webchat. Please note that switching to the new eir TV product will be subject to re-contracting.
https://www.eir.ie/tv/
Ten Pin is offline  
22-10-2019, 08:07   #41
flexcon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by flanzer View Post
The product savvy amongst us give little sh!t about the Apple. The sheeple out there love an Apple TV paperweight to go with their iPhones and iPad

Thanks OP, I bought 5 anyway
Something quite Ironic calling people who buy Apple products "Sheeple" when the word wasn't created by you rather you adopted it's wide use thus making you also a "sheeple" to the word itself.

It's a funny world.
flexcon is offline  
22-10-2019, 09:37   #42
Corholio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,519
Any word on this new Eir TV app that was mentioned in the press releases?
Corholio is offline  
22-10-2019, 09:54   #43
bromley52
Registered User
 
bromley52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,831
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corholio View Post
Any word on this new Eir TV app that was mentioned in the press releases?
This one perhaps.
bromley52 is offline  
Thanks from:
22-10-2019, 10:13   #44
kramyerac
Registered User
 
kramyerac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 8
May not be the correct thread to post but struggling with no Eir chat available and lengthy call waiting times...signed up to Eir for BB only.

Anyway, has anyone else been able to access the old Eir Sport app on their phone since the update to Eir TV? I get the message that "this stream cannot be plaed back as your device is not compatible with the required DRM protection level". All worked perfectly well before the "upgrade" and when i requested information last Friday from Eir i was told it would be fixed in 24hrs but lo and behold there has been no fix as yet.

If anyone has seen this is there a way around it as i did enjoy it when travelling to and from work on the bus/train.
kramyerac is offline  
22-10-2019, 11:06   #45
Corholio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by bromley52 View Post
This one perhaps.
Ah thanks. Had checked other day and hadn't popped up. Seems a rebranding of the old app.
Corholio is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet