Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fundraiser for student nurses

• 20-01-2021 1:39pm

I read a headline in today's Independent where a student nurse had to decide between topping up her Leapcard or eating. They are working for €100 a week.

If there were to be an ongoing fundraiser to supplement student nurses income, what would be a good way to do it? At least until such a time that we are through the pandemic.

Considering that they are working at the frontline of the biggest pandemic we have ever seen, in a very dangerous environment every day, surely there must be a way where the country could do a whip-around. If half a million people contributed €5, the price of a pint, that is €2.5 million. Considering that there is approx 2,000 student nurses (correct me if Im wrong), that would work out at €1,250 per nurse. Even if 500,000 people donated €5 every two weeks, that would give the student nurses €600 each a week on top of their €100. I wouldn't miss €2.50 per week.

I think we owe it to them, it would be good a way to show gratitude for their efforts.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

you go first

Excellent idea, OP.

They should be paid a full wage when on work experience at the best of times, but not being paid a full wage during a pandemic...a scandal. Absolutely shameful.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Their training placements in hospitals have been stopped, so they're not currently working.

4th year nurses are still doing their intern work and are getting paid more than €100 per week.

Amirani wrote: »
    They are no longer doing their training placements in hospitals, so they're not currently working.

We'll consider it a reimbursement so.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭YellowLead

OP I think it’s a very noble idea and I commend you.

Would it be worth reaching out to any group or body/club for student nurses to see what they think and how they could assist?
    I think there would be a lot of questions about how best to distribute the funds if x was raised. I know it wouldn’t be assessed based on need the assumption is they are all deserving - but if only a small amount is raised do they all get 5 euro? That could be a lot of work for very little return on an individual basis. Just playing devils advocate - fair dues for the idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

How about paying the teachers the pup rates like everyone else and give the savings to the nurses.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭KaneToad

How would this student afford to eat & get to college if she weren't on a training placement?

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭505_

It is crazy that this issue has gone on for pretty much the duration of the pandemic. They are doing an incredibly difficult job and a lot of these students you’d imagine are living at home. Literally putting themselves and their families at risk. The government has failed them. Anyone arguing it’s a work placement doesn’t change the fact they’re working a job a lot of us, myself included wouldn’t be able for.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,843 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

not surprised, wont change either, no wonder the special needs situation is worsening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

I'd need a more detailed break-down of their pay and hours before Id contribute to a fundraiser.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭silver2020

Remember these students get near free excellent training through college.

They also get allowances - both travel & accommadation

They also get their grants (like most students)

Final year nursing students who do some clinical work get about 20k a year.

Those not in final year do very basic "minding" work when on placements.

Next student gardai will want payment (that is as sure as night following day), student teachers (100% certain too).

Sure feck it, lets pay all students massive salaries whilst in college + grants + allowances + free education. - Who's volunteering a 5% increase in PAYE and the dropping of tax allowances of about 20% to pay for this?

The nursing union have some very good mouthpieces and far topo many people believe every word out of the union's mouth with questioning it. they play the sympathy card as well as those sh1te ads on tv for concern, trocaire and dogs trust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

How about paying the teachers the pup rates like everyone else and give the savings to the nurses.

How about not setting workers against each other.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

But they aren't entitled to PUP if they are not unemployed?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭KungPao

Some of those student nurses I see around my local hospital are well worth “a donation”.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

505_ wrote: »
    It is crazy that this issue has gone on for pretty much the duration of the pandemic. They are doing an incredibly difficult job and a lot of these students you’d imagine are living at home. Literally putting themselves and their families at risk. The government has failed them. Anyone arguing it’s a work placement doesn’t change the fact they’re working a job a lot of us, myself included wouldn’t be able for.

Should student doctors or student physios be paid too? They're also going to hospitals and putting themselves and their families at risk.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Reduce the government's pensions and pay the nurses from that fund.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,523 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Teachers are still teaching, are they not?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Amirani wrote: »
    Should student doctors or student physios be paid too? They're also going to hospitals and putting themselves and their families at risk.

they arent special like nurses

• Registered Users Posts: 28,843 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

biko wrote: »
    Reduce the government's pensions and pay the nurses from that fund.

just borrow the fcuking money, deficits arent the work of the devil, and by not investing in our youth now, is far more dangerous than having a deficit

• Registered Users Posts: 13,028 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Becaus4 PUP rates are only paid to people who are currently unemployed.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 40,179 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

silver2020 wrote: »

Next student gardai will want payment (that is as sure as night following day), student teachers (100% certain too).

Sure feck it, lets pay all students massive salaries whilst in college + grants + allowances + free education. - Who's volunteering a 5% increase in PAYE and the dropping of tax allowances of about 20% to pay for this?

The nursing union have some very good mouthpieces and far topo many people believe every word out of the union's mouth with questioning it. they play the sympathy card as well as those sh1te ads on tv for concern, trocaire and dogs trust.

Student garda get €184 a week plus free food and accommodation.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,446 ✭✭✭weisses

What a load of waffle

• Registered Users Posts: 16,784 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

weisses wrote: »
    What a load of waffle

Your counter argument is spectacular.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,249 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Thank God.

It's not popular to say but good post.

Your counter argument is spectacular.

Its up to the poster to put out the correct information. Not really interested in spoon-feeding

• Registered Users Posts: 16,784 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Its up to the poster to put out the correct information. Not really interested in spoon-feeding

No, really.
    The way you countered everything they said, point by point. It was brilliant.

Are you a barrister, per chance?

No, really.
    The way you countered everything they said, point by point. It was brilliant.

Are you a barrister, per chance?

Nope ....Student nurse.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

What a load of waffle

Are any of the bullet points they posted incorrect? If they are, would you like to post the correct info? Seems like the opposite of waffle to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,645 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Even if 500,000 people donated €5 every two weeks, that would give the student nurses €600 each a week on top of their €100. I wouldn't miss €2.50 per week.

Surely an extra 600 a month would do them. They would not know what to do with on extra 600 a week. That's like 2400 extra a month on top of the 400 they get. 600 a month and the 400 they get is a grand. You do not want to be earning too much to soon and then end up going on a lower pay at some stage later on. Better for it to be the other way. A grand a month would be plenty for them.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Nope ....Student nurse.

Not buying it.