Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Units of alcohol per week...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

14 units is 7 pints. not a massive amount for an evening.

What kind of watered down piss is this?

7 pints at 3.5% would be 14 units. Even weak sh1t at 4% would be nearly 16 units. You could easily go over 20 units.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

My proposal earlier in thread is worth a look

Basically every establishment serving alcohol has to breathalyze every punter looking to buy an alcoholic drink

If under a limit, drink is served. If over the limit, “go home you’re drunk”.

I think there’s potential in it. It could be rolled out to off licenses as well if drunk ppl attempted to buy drink there after being refused in bars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

I think there’s potential in it. It could be rolled out to off licenses as well if drunk ppl attempted to buy drink there after being refused in bars.

A business model based on selling more, hardly a conflict of interest there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,168 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Pherekydes wrote: »
    What kind of watered down piss is this?

7 pints at 3.5% would be 14 units. Even weak sh1t at 4% would be nearly 16 units. You could easily go over 20 units.

Where do you get this nonsense from?
    In Ireland standard drinks are calculated for beer using an average of 4.5%. So 7 pints of Guinness or Heineken at 4.3% would be slightly under 14 standard drinks.
    Granted, UK units are smaller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

MrMiata wrote: »
    Zero for months on end but it all accumulates into a Christmas Eve party where I drink the weekly limit in a serving.
    Gives me a good new years resolution too

I find Christmas Eve to be a great old night without the need to get paralytic. Christmas Day is possibly the worst day of the year to be nursing a hangover as well!

Where do you get this nonsense from?
    In Ireland standard drinks are calculated for beer using an average of 4.5%. So 7 pints of Guinness or Heineken at 4.3% would be slightly under 14 units.

17.1 units. Your calculations are off.

7 * 0.568 * 4.3 = 17.1

17.1 units. Your calculations are off.

7 * 0.568 * 4.3 = 17.1

Please explain what that is calculating, exactly.
    You seem to be, incorrectly, trying to calculate how much alcohol by volume is in 7 pints.

One standard drink in Ireland contains 10g of pure alcohol. This works out as half a pint of 4.5% beer.

While your equation above is mathematically correct, it has nothing to do with standard drinks in Ireland.

7 pints * 0.568 litres = 3.976 litres

3.976 litres * 4.3% [percentage of alcohol by volume (abv)] = 17.1 standard units of alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,834 ✭✭✭Allinall

One standard drink in Ireland contains 10g of pure alcohol. This works out as half a pint of 4.5% beer.

While your equation above is mathematically correct, it has nothing to do with standard drinks in Ireland.

He multiplied 2 apples X 3 oranges, and the answer was a banana.

7 pints * 0.568 litres = 3.976 litres

3.976 litres * 4.3% [percentage of alcohol by volume (abv)] = 17.1 standard units of alcohol.

Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,708 ✭✭✭Feisar

I find Christmas Eve to be a great old night without the need to get paralytic. Christmas Day is possibly the worst day of the year to be nursing a hangover as well!

I used to work in a bar. Finished up XMas eve and we went at it hard. Was the worst Xmas Day ever!

First they came for the socialists...

Nope.

Yep. But so long as each person knows what they're drinking and what their limit is (different for everyone) then that's all that matters.

You use your formula and I'll use mine...

Yep. But so long as each person knows what they're drinking and what their limit is (different for everyone) then that's all that matters.

You use your formula and I'll use mine...

Just stop. You're embarrassing yourself with your made up formula. It makes no sense whatsoever.
    17.1 whats?

Although I agree with the first part.

Just stop. You're embarrassing yourself with your made up formula. It makes no sense whatsoever.
    17.1 whats?

Although I agree with the first part.

Can you read?

Not my formula!

Unit_of_alcohol#Formula

Can you read?

Not my formula!

Unit_of_alcohol#Formula

Except we are in Ireland.
    And your equation as you wrote it makes no sense.

Except we are in Ireland.
    And your equation as you wrote it makes no sense.

It makes sense to me. What are you having difficulty with?

Plus, a standard unit of alcohol is a precise and consistent measure. In the UK it's 10 ml of alcohol. In Ireland, it's 8 grams. They are the same amount of alcohol!

That seems to be where you are getting confused.

It makes sense to me. What are you having difficulty with?

Plus, a standard unit of alcohol is a precise and consistent measure. In the UK it's 10 ml of alcohol. In Ireland, it's 8 grams. They are the same amount of alcohol!

That seems to be where you are getting confused.

It's 10g of alcohol in a standard drink in Ireland.
    Half a pint of 4.5 % abv beer.
    They are different.

7 or 8 pints of stout or lager as people are talking about here, is what it is. Whether that's 13 units or 17 does not take from the fact that it is a lot of booze and shouldn't be considered a "light night".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

0 mostly.
    Have a pint of Guinness if I go to watch a match in the pub but thats it. You need it watching my team (Everton) in fairness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

But sure look it a health service is always going to lowball when recommending intake of substances like alcohol. They're hardly going to tell you to go out, get legless drunk and finish off with a vindaloo.

Also, surely one size can't fit all, 17 recommended drinks for a man per week can't be the same for a 5ft 5 man as it is for a 6ft 5 man?

Anyway I only ever drink on a saturday or sunday and I'd average 8-10 pints and maybe 6 captain morgans aswell if it's a saturday night.

I'm not unhealthy, I never missed work or important commitments over drink, so I can't really see the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Potential solution .... hear me out

Every licensed premises does a quick breathalyzer test of Punter when they present at the counter for a alcoholic drink order

If over then they are refused service. If they go to next bar and results are same -over a pre determined limit- then no drink. Basically “go home you’re drunk”.

Any bar flouting the law runs risk of having a fine or possible license revoked.

All it takes is a bit of ingenuity from a minister for health.
    It's already illegal to serve someone who's drunk. You don't need a breathyliser to spot someone who's had enough. If the cops did they're job we'd have a lot less alcohol related violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,267 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

But sure look it a health service is always going to lowball when recommending intake of substances like alcohol. They're hardly going to tell you to go out, get legless drunk and finish off with a vindaloo.

Also, surely one size can't fit all, 17 recommended drinks for a man per week can't be the same for a 5ft 5 man as it is for a 6ft 5 man?

Anyway I only ever drink on a saturday or sunday and I'd average 8-10 pints and maybe 6 captain morgans aswell if it's a saturday night.

I'm not unhealthy, I never missed work or important commitments over drink, so I can't really see the problem.

10 pints and 6 shorts is a massive amount to drink no matter who you are. And are you telling me that after that amount to drink the night before you are in a normal state the next day.

you might not be missing work but i wouldnt you working for me on a monday if you had that lot sunday night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Good grief, the “fun” police really are out in force in this thread. Moderate drinking does not mean a snifter of port at Christmas.

It’s fairly obvious that you’re not going to get an accurate picture of what “normal” drinking is from the users on this site. Granted, I don’t get out as much as I you’ve to but I wouldn’t begrudge anyone, who can handle their drink, going out a couple of times a week and enjoying themselves.

How could anyone go out at 8pm, get home at, lets say, 3am and only have had 4 pints? That’s a long boring night by the sounds of it. Not to mention a waste of money. 4 pints is what you’d have after work if you were having a couple of “social” ones before heading home for dinner.

I’m guessing the majority of people on here who seem to have difficulty with others enjoying themselves are the types who will drink gallons of “fizzy” drinks in one sitting regularly, spending too much time in front of screens instead of going out. The rest are probably the older “muinteoir” types who probably haven’t drank since they pissed themselves after half a flagon of “Devil’s Bit” when they were 15 and haven’t touched a drop since.

Just accept that some people can go out, swallow a “feed” of pints, get home safely and get on with their lives, albeit with a bit of a hangover, the next day. Don’t get me wrong, if someone has a problem with drink they should get help but please stop “hectoring” the ones who don’t.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Cyrus wrote: »
    10 pints and 6 shorts is a massive amount to drink no matter who you are. And are you telling me that after that amount to drink the night before you are in a normal state the next day.

you might not be missing work but i wouldnt you working for me on a monday if you had that lot sunday night

8 pints would be max on a Sunday, out early, home early. Also if you read correctly you'll notice I don't drink any shorts on a sunday.

Yes it is possible to feel up for work the next day, I've done it hundreds if not thousands of times at this stage, never a problem.

Good grief, the “fun” police really are out in force in this thread. Moderate drinking does not mean a snifter of port at Christmas.

It’s fairly obvious that you’re not going to get an accurate picture of what “normal” drinking is from the users on this site. Granted, I don’t get out as much as I you’ve to but I wouldn’t begrudge anyone, who can handle their drink, going out a couple of times a week and enjoying themselves.

How could anyone go out at 8pm, get home at, lets say, 3am and only have had 4 pints? That’s a long boring night by the sounds of it. Not to mention a waste of money. 4 pints is what you’d have after work if you were having a couple of “social” ones before heading home for dinner.

I’m guessing the majority of people on here who seem to have difficulty with others enjoying themselves are the types who will drink gallons of “fizzy” drinks in one sitting regularly, spending too much time in front of screens instead of going out. The rest are probably the older “muinteoir” types who probably haven’t drank since they pissed themselves after half a flagon of “Devil’s Bit” when they were 15 and haven’t touched a drop since.

Just accept that some people can go out, swallow a “feed” of pints, get home safely and get on with their lives, albeit with a bit of a hangover, the next day. Don’t get me wrong, if someone has a problem with drink they should get help but please stop “hectoring” the ones who don’t.

if we are throwing generalisations around im guessing the lads coming on here that drink 8-10 pints and load of shorts on a night out are far drunker than they think they are, doing far more damage to their health than they can fathom, aren't nearly as fit as they think they are and havent grown up a day since their late teens early 20s.

8 pints would be max on a Sunday, out early, home early. Also if you read correctly you'll notice I don't drink any shorts on a sunday.

Yes it is possible to feel up for work the next day, I've done it hundreds if not thousands of times at this stage, never a problem.

as i said before i wouldnt want anyone working for me coming in after 8 pints the day before. mighnt be a problem for you, in your opinion, but if you think you are operating at the same level you are only fooling yourself.

Yes, Emmet, of course it's the moderate drinkers are the unhealthy ones with poor diets and lack of exercise while the heavy drinkers exercise regularly, eat well and avoid sugary drinks!
    This should be obvious to anyone.

Do you drive to work?
    How much time do you allow after 8 pints before driving?

as i said before i wouldnt want anyone working for me coming in after 8 pints the day before. mighnt be a problem for you, in your opinion, but if you think you are operating at the same level you are only fooling yourself.

Look some people can handle their drink and others can't mate, simple fact of life :-)

Do you drive to work?
    How much time do you allow after 8 pints before driving?

I do, I usually hit the gym before work so, you're looking at 12-14 hours after my last pint before driving to the gym, then work.

Look some people are real men and others aren't, mate, simple fact of life :-)

Fyp

I do, I usually hit the gym before work so, you're looking at 12-14 hours after my last pint before driving to the gym, then work.

Fair enough.

Look some people can handle their drink and others can't mate, simple fact of life :-)

:D:D:D

yeah, you are a legend

:D:D:D

yeah, you are a legend

Oh stop I'm blushing. Nope just an ordinary man who can take a few pints and not be in bits the next morning.

I know my limits you see, but for some reason you believe that your limit should apply to me and everyone else, not how it works I'm afraid.

Fyp

Not being smart but I don't know what that stands for.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

I find the guidelines a little unrealistic myself. I'm not sure breaking them automatically makes you a booze hound.

I try to do a week on and week off of drinking except for special occasions like Christmas. When I have an 'on' week, it really varies. Last one was about 9 or 10 pints spread over two nights. It really does vary though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Not being smart but I don't know what that stands for.

Full of Yummy Pints

*Fixed Your Post

Oh stop I'm blushing. Nope just an ordinary man who can take a few pints and not be in bits the next morning.

I know my limits you see, but for some reason you believe that your limit should apply to me and everyone else, not how it works I'm afraid.

why whats my limit?

as i said i dont care who you are 8 pints in a single sitting on a regular basis is too much, there wont be a medical professional anywhere that is going to tell you otherwise, so sorry no, you dont know your own limits.

Full of Yummy Pints

*Fixed Your Post

Haha oh right, then yes I agree.

why whats my limit?

as i said i dont care who you are 8 pints in a single sitting on a regular basis is too much, there wont be a medical professional anywhere that is going to tell you otherwise, so sorry no, you dont know your own limits.

Oh shít really, I never knew that, I'm learning all sorts of things about myself that I never knew before. What else can you tell me?

I find the guidelines a little unrealistic myself. I'm not sure breaking them automatically makes you a booze hound.

This might surprise some of the heavy boozers here but I completely agree with the above statement.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

This might surprise some of the heavy boozers here but I completely agree with the above statement.

Well then you sir are a drunken buffoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭optogirl

I don't drink most weeks but when I do it's the pub and it's definitely more than any recommended limit I've ever seen...usually about 6 pints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,105 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

optogirl wrote: »
    I don't drink most weeks but when I do it's the pub and it's definitely more than any recommended limit I've ever seen...usually about 6 pints

That's breakfast for some on here! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

It depends on the weekend that's in it.

Last weekend it was a quiet affair and not a drop of drink was drank.

This weekend a sizeable bag of cans will be consumed.

Oh shít really, I never knew that, I'm learning all sorts of things about myself that I never knew before. What else can you tell me?

you arent nearly as much craic after 8 pints as you think you are :pac:

Anyway folks that's me for a few hours, I'm off to skull 25 pints and hit the roads driving at around 3pm when the schools finish.

Just can't control myself me :-)

you arent nearly as much craic after 8 pints as you think you are :pac:

You obviously haven't seen me doing ymca with all the boys so........**** I've said too much!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

8 Pints over a day with a bowl of soup and a sandwich you would be fine that evening never mind the next day

sure you would :P

fine for what exactly?

You must have a fairly sheltered work situation if you find it unusual to be going into work after a rake of pints.

Have regular Thursday night sessions not be common anywhere you worked and half the place coming in half dead Friday after it? I’d say if I averaged the times I’ve gone out multiple times in the week with the times I’ve had no nights out in a week I’d on average have had at least one fairly big session midweek and gone to work the next day every working week for the last 10 years..