Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Christmas FM to pull 'Baby it's Cold Outside'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,965 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

AllForIt wrote: »
    I was listening to a do-gooder lefty champaign socialist radio presenter last night where he argued 'why shouldn't Santa be a Woman'.

I was so tempted to call in to the show. No one mentioned the Santa beard issue. You know the way Santa impersonators cover their face as far as possible with the beard and the cap where all you can see is basically the eyes. Never seen a woman with a beard, not yet anyway although I have seen some with a bitta mustache.

Wonder who it was? What was the show? I’ll bet he had a beard himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,359 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Interesting reaction on twitter. 94 percent polled at one point, and all of them didn't see the song as offensive.

https://twitter.com/lstwrd/status/1069673124730421252

I'm tempted to buy the single to make a point-if it's in the charts, they have to play the song. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

AllForIt wrote: »
    I was listening to a do-gooder lefty champaign socialist radio presenter last night where he argued 'why shouldn't Santa be a Woman'.

I was so tempted to call in to the show. No one mentioned the Santa beard issue. You know the way Santa impersonators cover their face as far as possible with the beard and the cap where all you can see is basically the eyes. Never seen a woman with a beard, not yet anyway although I have seen some with a bitta mustache.

careful now, women can be male too you know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

AllForIt wrote:

Don't forget the whole body image thing too. Why should 'he' be portrayed as fat. It promotes obesity and poor dieting.

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Don't forget the whole body image thing too. Why should 'he' be portrayed as fat. It promotes obesity and poor dieting.

I believe in Norway he can't say 'ho ho ho' because it's slut shaming.

He has to say 'ha ha ha'.

I think the View analysed it perfectly-and Whoopi pretty much nails it. (And if folks decry her as 'not a true feminist'... tell em to get lost or read up on her).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,965 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

'Losing'-not 'loosing'.
    sigh; and then go on to screw up your next sentence?

<slow clap>

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

Interesting reaction on twitter. 94 percent polled at one point, and all of them didn't see the song as offensive.

I'm tempted to buy the single to make a point-if it's in the charts, they have to play the song. :D

Lets start a campaign to get it to number 1 for Christmas, probably better than whatever x factor ****e will be released this year

X Factor hasn't been a number one in about 5 years, I think-probably more.

Saw this on the web, I believe it's accurate.

48046737_2120291271347625_3278648175430205440_o.jpg?_nc_cat=111&_nc_ht=scontent-dub4-1.xx&oh=3f074a75e8d69e78754bb825c7e2a9d3&oe=5C66E2BB

• Registered Users Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

I personally haven't been able to stop singing/humming the song since the news broke CFM wasn't gonna play it so these things are always counterproductive. You end up promoting the very thing you're decrying . But in all honesty I'm not arsed enough to get upset over these things, if I want to listen to either this song or an unedited version of Fairy tale of new york through other mediums like Spotify, I can. Getting upset and ranting for page after page every time something like this happens makes you every bit as much of a snowflake as the people you hate .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

I was in the Olympics stadium in Barcelona s couple of years ago. They were playing a live recording of "Living Next Door to Alice' over the PA.

With the 'Who the fcuk is Alice' crowd interjections in it. Fcuk has always been an expletive and doesn't have context and meaning changes over time.

They would have sent the easily offended lot into overdrive. Didn't bother me in slightest, found it funny that a song that would have seen calls for heads on sticks in Ireland being played in a half-empty stadium in Spain.

https://twitter.com/SRuhle/status/1071393862189490176

I found this analysis quite intriguing, tbh. What are the rules? One song is about a woman's sexual agency, and her taking hold of it-the other isn't, it's more about promiscuity and more explicit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,515 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I found this analysis quite intriguing, tbh. What are the rules? One song is about a woman's sexual agency, and her taking hold of it-the other isn't, it's more about promiscuity and more explicit.

Old songs = bad = the patriarchy.
    New songs = good = gurl in control. Yo.

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Scott Tenorman

I think the View analysed it perfectly-and Whoopi pretty much nails it. (And if folks decry her as 'not a true feminist'... tell em to get lost or read up on her).

I don't disagree with her here but after her Roman Polanski "not rape rape" comments i wouldn't be using her to prove my point on this :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭nim1bdeh38l2cw

I see that Clare FM are playing it a lot in protest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

The world really is becoming such a boring place, can't say a word without offending some touchy ballbag these days. Fcuk people like this absolute sad weirdos, people are damn right to fight back against this marxist crap. It's not a trivial issue, it's the entire context of what is happening today, culture and history is being trampled on by these scumbags maggots and cheap lousy ******s.

This has nothing to do with Marxism. I'm a socialist and I hate all this nonsense. This is campus postmodernism and liberalism at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,515 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

FTA69 wrote: »
    This has nothing to do with Marxism. I'm a socialist and I hate all this nonsense. This is campus postmodernism and liberalism at work.

It's not really being liberal if you're forcing your point of view on others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

It's not really being liberal if you're forcing your point of view on others.

It’s rooted in liberalism as opposed to socialism, a rejection of materialism and the idea of collective rights over the idea of the abstract and individual identity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,863 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

FTA69 wrote: »
    It’s rooted in liberalism as opposed to socialism, a rejection of materialism and the idea of collective rights over the idea of the abstract and individual identity.

Well, then liberalism at least the modern variety of it nothing more than post-modern socialism, as liberalism in the classical sense was all about the individual and its innate human rights. Can you imagine guys like Thomas Paine or John Locke going on about the rights of the collective over the individual? Not likely.

The modern variety dictates that if you have 1 million people in a group and if 1 takes offense to something then their right to not be offended trumps the right of all others. It is nothing more than dangerous authoritative collectivism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

It's fecking ridiculous, it's like people have run out of stuff to be offended about and now are going out of their way to find things to be offended by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    I was in the Olympics stadium in Barcelona s couple of years ago. They were playing a live recording of "Living Next Door to Alice' over the PA.

With the 'Who the fcuk is Alice' crowd interjections in it. Fcuk has always been an expletive and doesn't have context and meaning changes over time.

They would have sent the easily offended lot into overdrive. Didn't bother me in slightest, found it funny that a song that would have seen calls for heads on sticks in Ireland being played in a half-empty stadium in Spain.
    Saw a guy from Smokie saying the "who the **** is Alice?" thing originated in Ireland. :pac:

I can't stand Cardi B and Nikki Minge - their message that being trashy is great, is what offends me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

I can't stand Cardi B and Nikki Minge - their message that being trashy is great, is what offends me.

Get them banned/censored

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I see that Clare FM are playing it a lot in protest

That'll show 'em, that'll show 'em good....real good!!

I don't disagree with her here but after her Roman Polanski "not rape rape" comments i wouldn't be using her to prove my point on this :pac:

What about the rest of the ladies? They're all in agreement, even the audience was chuckling away because they know it's a tango of romance-not date rape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,824 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

I'm going to blare it at every opportunity

CatFromHue wrote: »
    That'll show 'em, that'll show 'em good....real good!!
    Well I think it's a small gesture that makes a good point, and hope stations and bars keep doing it..

The one drawback of increased airplay is... increased airplay, as I think it's a terrible song!

Panthro wrote: »
    I'm going to blare it at every opportunity

I've listened to it more this year than any other. God, I have to wonder what historians will think of us in years to come when it's like 'They wouldn't play a song because it was flirty, but then allowed Blurred lines get to Number one'... and that was wayyyy worse.

(The plagiarism I think was the biggest egregious sin tbh).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭worded

theguzman wrote: »
    Next to get the chop is Fairy Tale of New York over the inclusion of the word "******". These type of people won't be happy until all Christians are executed I think.

Well it’s having a go at more than one group

“The rare old mountain Jew”

He will be having a go at the flowers next

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Why are songs that have been played on radio stations for decades without any problems suddenly considered to be offensive today it certainly looks like a case of band wagon jumping if you ask me. Why has society all of a sudden become offended by stuff that it previously didn't give a 2nd thought to for decades it just looks really sad and pathetic to suddenly become all offended by stuff that wasnt cared less about for many decades do people even know what they are actually even supposed to be offended about these days rather than jumping on the im offended and outraged bandwagon.

worded wrote: »
    Well it’s having a go at more than one group

“The rare old mountain Jew”

He will be having a go at the flowers next

'The rare old Mountain dew'-not jew. Ya know, 'mountain dew' aka Poitin.
    It's a song that's been sung by everyone including the Dubliners.
    Mutant z wrote: »
    Why are songs that have been played on radio stations for decades without any problems suddenly considered to be offensive today it certainly looks like a case of band wagon jumping if you ask me why has society all of a sudden become offended by stuff that it previously didn't give a 2nd thought to for decades.

Most likely? Because Trump won. Trump won, so now everything's a crime.
    The guy who said 'grab em by the p*ssy' suddenly proved rape culture exists. :rolleyes:
    It's like everyone suddenly suffered a nervous breakdown and is now gone insane.

Some article on a site called 'The Tab', by some gay guy, was calling on folks not to sing 'You scumbag, you maggot, you cheap lousy f**got' when the song is played in pubs and clubs.
    Then a 2fm DJ jumped on the bandwagon-and was politely told to f**k off by his employers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,191 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

How dare they allow Christmas FM on the airwaves we are not all Christians now are we.

Rabble Rabble Rabble

How dare they allow Christmas FM on the airwaves we are not all Christians now are we.

Rabble Rabble Rabble

It should be changed to 'Winter Holiday Fm'...lest we offend the jewish, Muslim, atheist, Scientologist, Hindu, Ba'hai, and Jehovah Witnesses within our community.

Down with this sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,191 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Happy happy happy everybody's happy

Awww you bastards ruined Christmas

Merry everyone!

That sounds like 'Marry everyone'-which is clearly promoting polygamy and cheating on your monogamous partner...

Down with this sort of thing. :D

It's courtesy of one Mr. H. Simpson.

https://youtu.be/N0JJIC2OErw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

This comment from reddit is getting tens of thousands of upvotes so might be of interest:
    It’s time to bring an end to the Rape Anthem Masquerading As Christmas Carol

Hi there! Former English nerd/teacher here. Also a big fan of jazz of the 30s and 40s.

So. Here’s the thing. Given a cursory glance and applying today’s worldview to the song, yes, you’re right, it absolutely sounds like a rape anthem.

BUT! Let’s look closer!

“Hey what’s in this drink” was a stock joke at the time, and the punchline was invariably that there’s actually pretty much nothing in the drink, not even a significant amount of alcohol.

See, this woman is staying late, unchaperoned, at a dude’s house. In the 1940’s, that’s the kind of thing Good Girls aren’t supposed to do — and she wants people to think she’s a good girl. The woman in the song says outright, multiple times, that what other people will think of her staying is what she’s really concerned about: “the neighbors might think,” “my maiden aunt’s mind is vicious,” “there’s bound to be talk tomorrow.” But she’s having a really good time, and she wants to stay, and so she is excusing her uncharacteristically bold behavior (either to the guy or to herself) by blaming it on the drink — unaware that the drink is actually really weak, maybe not even alcoholic at all. That’s the joke. That is the standard joke that’s going on when a woman in media from the early-to-mid 20th century says “hey, what’s in this drink?” It is not a joke about how she’s drunk and about to be raped. It’s a joke about how she’s perfectly sober and about to have awesome consensual sex and use the drink for plausible deniability because she’s living in a society where women aren’t supposed to have sexual agency.

Basically, the song only makes sense in the context of a society in which women are expected to reject men’s advances whether they actually want to or not, and therefore it’s normal and expected for a lady’s gentleman companion to pressure her despite her protests, because he knows she would have to say that whether or not she meant it, and if she really wants to stay she won’t be able to justify doing so unless he offers her an excuse other than “I’m staying because I want to.” (That’s the main theme of the man’s lines in the song, suggesting excuses she can use when people ask later why she spent the night at his house: it was so cold out, there were no cabs available, he simply insisted because he was concerned about my safety in such awful weather, it was perfectly innocent and definitely not about sex at all!) In this particular case, he’s pretty clearly right, because the woman has a voice, and she’s using it to give all the culturally-understood signals that she actually does want to stay but can’t say so.** She states explicitly that she’s resisting because she’s supposed to, not because she wants to: “I ought to say no no no…” She states explicitly that she’s just putting up a token resistance so she’ll be able to claim later that she did what’s expected of a decent woman in this situation: “at least I’m gonna say that I tried.”** And at the end of the song they’re singing together, in harmony, because they’re both on the same page and they have been all along.

So it’s not actually a song about rape - in fact it’s a song about a woman finding a way to exercise sexual agency in a patriarchal society designed to stop her from doing so. But it’s also, at the same time, one of the best illustrations of rape culture that pop culture has ever produced. It’s a song about a society where women aren’t allowed to say yes…which happens to mean it’s also a society where women don’t have a clear and unambiguous way to say no.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

The song is harmless imo. Most of us heard it for years and thought nothing bad about it, just a guy saying ah don't go home yet.

However I have to say, personally, I think the video does it no favours in terms of this debate. I'm sorry I ever saw it. He is very pushy and all over her. Like if she really did want to go, even if just to protect her reputation, no small thing back then and what with girls in that era then being all ladylike, polite and somewhat subservient to men, wouldn't she be saying all the same stuff ie not wanting to hurt his feeling but knowing she really must go. She could be mad about him but still unsure as to his long-term intensions so just not want to get into the fumbling business with him as she is clearly a refined person and therefore she more suited to 'walking out' with him in public while he was wooing her followed by a marriage proposal. Also women back then often judged whether a guy was marriage material or just a lad by how respectful he was towards her and he isn't being very chivalrous re her reputation.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭vetinari

So it’s not actually a song about rape - in fact it’s a song about a woman finding a way to exercise sexual agency in a patriarchal society designed to stop her from doing so. But it’s also, at the same time, one of the best illustrations of rape culture that pop culture has ever produced. It’s a song about a society where women aren’t allowed to say yes…which happens to mean it’s also a society where women don’t have a clear and unambiguous way to say no.

That last line is key in terms of how it's viewed today.
    The scenario could be playing out the exact same way if the woman is not interested. I said the same thing in the other thread on this. It reinforces the idea that 10 nos and 1 yes is yes. Its a fine line but there is a point where being persistent becomes an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,552 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

The song is just about a guy trying to overcome the girl's Last Minute Resistance (LMR).

Same thing happens every Friday and Saturday night.
    LMR sounds like a pick-up artist phrase. I can assure you, SAD, that bringing pickup artist phrases into the discussion won't make it appear less creepy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Re that reddit post:

Playing hard to get is something that I'd say has been part of human sexuality since we first stood on up straight on two feet. The notion that it's somehow a patriarchal creation is ridiculous. If anything it would be the exact opposite behavior that man would want women to adopt. Maybe, just maybe, it came to be because that's what women liked from a guy, that he was persistent. I mean how many times have we seen this in films and novels, were a woman will tell a guy that he shouldn't give up so easy when he shows signs of doing so.

I know, I know: there's a difference between being persistent and harassing someone, of course, but would seem to be if anyone needs to be told that today it's the rad fems whinging about these songs as it seems quite clear they are songs about situations that are not even close to being harassing in nature and to whine about them is very telling with regards to what these people are really about.

Just surprised they haven't unearthed Springsteen's 'Fire' yet, as for sure it's only a matter of time (if the songs they have complained about so far are anything to go by at least). A quick glance at the comments section of the song on YT though makes reassuring reading as it's currently mainly normal women showing enthusiastic approval for the song.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

[QUOTE=Outlaw Pete;108856496]Re that reddit post: Playing hard to get is something that I'd say has been part of human sexuality since we first stood on up straight on two feet. The notion that it's somehow a patriarchal creation is ridiculous. If anything it would be the exact opposite behavior that man would want women to adopt. Maybe, just maybe, it came to be because that's what women liked from a guy, that he was persistent. I mean how many times have we seen this in films and novels, were a woman will tell a guy that he shouldn't give up so easy when he shows signs of doing so.

You see this type of behaviour across all mammal species.

I was watching two sea otters getting together on the Discovery Channel recently. The male badgered the female for days before they mated, little furry wet rat wouldn't give up.

I started to feel bad for the female eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,552 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I know, I know: there's a difference between being persistent and harassing someone, of course, but would seem to be if anyone needs to be told that today it's the rad fems whinging about these songs as it seems quite clear they are songs about situations that are not even close to being harassing in nature and to whine about them is very telling with regards to what these people are really about[b/].

What are they really about?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭vetinari

Re that reddit post:

Playing hard to get is something that I'd say has been part of human sexuality since we first stood on up straight on two feet. The notion that it's somehow a patriarchal creation is ridiculous. If anything it would be the exact opposite behavior that man would want women to adopt. Maybe, just maybe, it came to be because that's what women liked from a guy, that he was persistent. I mean how many times have we seen this in films and novels, were a woman will tell a guy that he shouldn't give up so easy when he shows signs of doing so.

I know, I know: there's a difference between being persistent and harassing someone, of course, but would seem to be if anyone needs to be told that today it's the rad fems whinging about these songs as it seems quite clear they are songs about situations that are not even close to being harassing in nature and to whine about them is very telling with regards to what these people are really about.

Just surprised they haven't unearthed Springsteen's 'Fire' yet, as for sure it's only a matter of time (if the songs they have complained about so far are anything to go by at least). A quick glance at the comments section of the song on YT though makes reassuring reading as it's currently mainly normal women showing enthusiastic approval for the song.

So say in the song, she is actually not interested but is just being polite.
    Are you okay with his level of persistence in that context?

Mrsmum wrote: »
    The song is harmless imo. Most of us heard it for years and thought nothing bad about it, just a guy saying ah don't go home yet.

However I have to say, personally, I think the video does it no favours in terms of this debate. I'm sorry I ever saw it. He is very pushy and all over her. Like if she really did want to go, even if just to protect her reputation, no small thing back then and what with girls in that era then being all ladylike, polite and somewhat subservient to men, wouldn't she be saying all the same stuff ie not wanting to hurt his feeling but knowing she really must go. She could be mad about him but still unsure as to his long-term intensions so just not want to get into the fumbling business with him as she is clearly a refined person and therefore she more suited to 'walking out' with him in public while he was wooing her followed by a marriage proposal. Also women back then often judged whether a guy was marriage material or just a lad by how respectful he was towards her and he isn't being very chivalrous re her reputation.

Which video-the one where it's Ricardo Montalban and Esther Williams, or the second half of the video where it's Red Skelton trying to leave and the lady being persistent?

The song won an Oscar, it's clearly a couple who have romantic notions towards one another, but are playing coy.
    That's the notion of the song-not an altogether 'added in' meaning that was never the writer's intention (a man and a woman, husband and wife).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭tritriagain

I know you agree with her but why is her point less valid because of a previous opinion.? A valid point is a valid point. This is what's wrong today , someone makes a stupid or throwaway comment (as we all do at some time or other) and it is held against them forever. Im not criticising you but this culture.

Which video-the one where it's Ricardo Montalban and Esther Williams, or the second half of the video where it's Red Skelton trying to leave and the lady being persistent?

The song won an Oscar, it's clearly a couple who have romantic notions towards one another, but are playing coy.
    That's the notion of the song-not an altogether 'added in' meaning that was never the writer's intention (a man and a woman, husband and wife).

See we're talking about rape and whether the song is a rapey anthem- she is never going to rape him no matter how irritating she is in the second half. is she ?

And I don't think you are getting the fundamental point - if she doesn't have a way to say yes, and he is full sure her protests are just "playing coy", she also doesn't have a way to convince him she is saying NO.

Reminds me of a comedian I heard during the week. What's the difference between the worries of a man and a woman meeting someone off Tinder - He is worried she won't be as hot as her picture. She is worried he won't turn out to be a mad rapist. Said in jest but …

Mrsmum wrote: »
    See we're talking about rape and whether the song is a rapey anthem- she is never going to rape him no matter how irritating she is in the second half. is she ?

And I don't think you are getting the fundamental point - if she doesn't have a way to say yes, and he is full sure her protests are just "playing coy", she also doesn't have a way to convince him she is saying NO.

Reminds me of a comedian I heard during the week. What's the difference between the worries of a man and a woman meeting someone off Tinder - He is worried she won't be as hot as her picture. She is worried he won't turn out to be a mad rapist. Said in jest but …

A woman can't rape a man? Oh boy, you really need to read up on that. It's very possible, but again-the song isn't promoting rape.

Was that Louis CK? He made similar jokes, promoting himself as this ardent male feminist-yet masturbating in front of women, and killing lady comedienne's careers.

I don't go on Tinder-but crazy is crazy. This year alone, look at all the women teachers who were discovered to be sexual predators-preying on young boys. In comparison to male teachers, it was significantly larger.
    The scaremongering about the 'guy rapist' on Tinder is just that-scaremongering. (And yes-I know about the guy who was a serial rapist on Tinder-but compare how many use Tinder to how many are reported rapists).

But that is neither here nor there. We're talking about a song who's meaning has been misconstrued.
    This is a song about a woman's sexual liberation being interpreted as her being date raped.

A woman can't rape a man? Oh boy, you really need to read up on that. It's very possible, but again-the song isn't promoting rape.

Was that Louis CK? He made similar jokes, promoting himself as this ardent male feminist-yet masturbating in front of women, and killing lady comedienne's careers.

I don't go on Tinder-but crazy is crazy. This year alone, look at all the women teachers who were discovered to be sexual predators-preying on young boys. In comparison to male teachers, it was significantly larger.
    The scaremongering about the 'guy rapist' on Tinder is just that-scaremongering. (And yes-I know about the guy who was a serial rapist on Tinder-but compare how many use Tinder to how many are reported rapists).

But that is neither here nor there. We're talking about a song who's meaning has been misconstrued.
    This is a song about a woman's sexual liberation being interpreted as her being date raped.

The debate is about whether the song is a rapey song. Now I have heard the song many times over the years and it didn't dawn on me to be offended. I have already said that. However the furore over the song brought forward the video and tbh I find the video a bit creepy and if I was making an argument for the innocence of the song, I would hide the video. He's just way too pushy for my liking. You don't agree, fine. (I'm still entitled to my opinion !)

As for the comedian, it was a woman actually. Don't know her name. It's fine you saying most men on tinder aren't rapists. I know that. But rapists don't have horns and an R stamped on their foreheads so it's always a consideration for women that hopefully this particular man won't turn out to be one. That's not scaremongering. That's common sense.

As for women raping grown men, please. That a total outlier ie pretty rare now to be fair. Go and ask the Rape Crisis Centre how many men are date raped by a woman. If men go around worrying about rape, it's far more likely to be another man that does it to them. And if they have worries about the women they are going to meet, it really isn't that she's going to rape them.

Anyway as I said before, me personally, I think the song (as distinct from the video) is just a guy wanting her company a bit longer. That's how I want to hear it. I can understand the other argument too though.