Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
25-05-2020, 14:25   #16
GerardKeating
Registered User
 
GerardKeating's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 6,219
Send a message via ICQ to GerardKeating Send a message via AIM to GerardKeating Send a message via MSN to GerardKeating Send a message via Yahoo to GerardKeating Send a message via Skype™ to GerardKeating
Haven't actually open the box yet, but I orderded friday evening just before 6pm, and it arrived about 20 minutes ago.

Hopefuly this is a good omen for it.
GerardKeating is offline  
Advertisement
28-05-2020, 14:44   #17
gabbo is coming
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by GerardKeating View Post
Haven't actually open the box yet, but I orderded friday evening just before 6pm, and it arrived about 20 minutes ago.

Hopefuly this is a good omen for it.
Hi

Which is better, this or a couple of powering adapters?

Last edited by gabbo is coming; 29-05-2020 at 23:06.
gabbo is coming is offline  
31-05-2020, 19:27   #18
GerardKeating
Registered User
 
GerardKeating's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 6,219
Send a message via ICQ to GerardKeating Send a message via AIM to GerardKeating Send a message via MSN to GerardKeating Send a message via Yahoo to GerardKeating Send a message via Skype™ to GerardKeating
Quote:
Originally Posted by GerardKeating View Post
Haven't actually open the box yet, but I orderded friday evening just before 6pm, and it arrived about 20 minutes ago.

Hopefuly this is a good omen for it.
Will i unboxed it today and installed it and all seems well.

The before enviromment was a LinkSys Wifi router hanging off the broadband, and a second (netgear) wifi router in the kitchen, connected via powerline adaptors. Wifi coverage was a bit patchy, sometimes in the bedrooms a phone will connect to the Kitchen router etc. House is a modern (2008) built bungalow.

House has 4 computers, a few phones, two google mini's, a NAS and a bluray player on the network

So the two routers and two homeplugs were ripped out, and the Huawei's plugged in, and almost everything worked first time.

Well everything except the NAS, which disappeared off the network. Eventually i temporarily reconnected the old router, and found the NAS had a hardwired DNS and IP address, changeing this to dynamic, restored the Huawei's and all was well.

Mostly happy with the new setup, but will stress test it over the next two week. It might be a fluke, but i noticed with my phone, I alway had wifi turned off since the 4G gave better performance than wifi, but i had the wifi one to run the Huawei app, several hours later, i realised phone was still on WiFi, and the usual lag was gone.

Only very minor isssue is in the kitchen, the Netgear home plugs have a passthrough socket, so something plugs in behind it, so one item will not get plugged in, untill i get a bigger power stripe, or relocate it.

Last edited by GerardKeating; 31-05-2020 at 19:57.
GerardKeating is offline  
(2) thanks from:
31-05-2020, 21:10   #19
Shefwedfan
Registered User
 
Shefwedfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 17,636
I found this and posted on other ofrum but forgot to post here

I have bought 2 boxes of them. A total of 6 units. They are great. The app is a little new compared to some of the other competition.

You can buy smaller satellites but I have yet to find them standalone
Shefwedfan is offline  
Thanks from:
31-05-2020, 21:36   #20
gabbo is coming
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 578
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shefwedfan View Post
I found this and posted on other ofrum but forgot to post here

I have bought 2 boxes of them. A total of 6 units. They are great. The app is a little new compared to some of the other competition.

You can buy smaller satellites but I have yet to find them standalone
Just bought a set. Seem like good value and future proof to support 1Gb whenever Virgin upgrade
gabbo is coming is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
01-06-2020, 08:37   #21
Str8outtaWuhan
Registered User
 
Str8outtaWuhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 37
any work around to getting it delivered to ireland, cost GBP150 to ireland and GBP154 to NI?
Str8outtaWuhan is offline  
01-06-2020, 09:18   #22
Shefwedfan
Registered User
 
Shefwedfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 17,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by Str8outtaWuhan View Post
any work around to getting it delivered to ireland, cost GBP150 to ireland and GBP154 to NI?

I checked and the 10 pound flat fee was best way.....


I did end up buying about 500 quid worth of stuff as they have good value across a number of products, still was a 10 pound flat fee
Shefwedfan is offline  
01-06-2020, 11:14   #23
GerardKeating
Registered User
 
GerardKeating's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 6,219
Send a message via ICQ to GerardKeating Send a message via AIM to GerardKeating Send a message via MSN to GerardKeating Send a message via Yahoo to GerardKeating Send a message via Skype™ to GerardKeating
Quote:
Originally Posted by Str8outtaWuhan View Post
any work around to getting it delivered to ireland, cost GBP150 to ireland and GBP154 to NI?
Shipping to ireland only £10.24, and fast, I ordered friday 6pm, and had it lunchtime monday. and it was a Bank Holiday in the UK at weekend.
GerardKeating is offline  
Thanks from:
01-06-2020, 13:16   #24
Shefwedfan
Registered User
 
Shefwedfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 17,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by GerardKeating View Post
Shipping to ireland only £10.24, and fast, I ordered friday 6pm, and had it lunchtime monday. and it was a Bank Holiday in the UK at weekend.

Plus they are about 100 quid cheaper than elsewhere


But also a good reason to buy other non essential electronic
Shefwedfan is offline  
Advertisement
01-06-2020, 14:01   #25
ThunbergsAreGo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shefwedfan View Post
Plus they are about 100 quid cheaper than elsewhere


But also a good reason to buy other non essential electronic
You seem very knowledgeable and have tried many of these. Are the Huawei overkill for a 4 bed semi?

Just looking for a bit of garden and attic coverage
ThunbergsAreGo is offline  
01-06-2020, 14:39   #26
Shefwedfan
Registered User
 
Shefwedfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 17,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunbergsAreGo View Post
You seem very knowledgeable and have tried many of these. Are the Huawei overkill for a 4 bed semi?

Just looking for a bit of garden and attic coverage

I love technology and got it into my head a few months back to get a mesh.....since then I have bought and sold/returned 4-5 system. Huawei is my latest and probably last purchase.


Read more on this thread: https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/show...p?t=2058072654

I also gave a review of the other options on the market
Shefwedfan is offline  
Thanks from:
01-06-2020, 16:45   #27
ThunbergsAreGo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shefwedfan View Post
I love technology and got it into my head a few months back to get a mesh.....since then I have bought and sold/returned 4-5 system. Huawei is my latest and probably last purchase.


Read more on this thread: https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/show...p?t=2058072654

I also gave a review of the other options on the market
Yeah same myself, have a niggle in my mind to get it but not sure what's worth it.

Cheers
ThunbergsAreGo is offline  
01-06-2020, 16:56   #28
Shefwedfan
Registered User
 
Shefwedfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 17,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunbergsAreGo View Post
Yeah same myself, have a niggle in my mind to get it but not sure what's worth it.

Cheers

The huawei is incredible value for money for box.co.uk.....I spent more on TP-link adapters which is replaced and it is 5-6 times better
Shefwedfan is offline  
(2) thanks from:
04-06-2020, 15:29   #29
Kencollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 479
I'm about to pull the trigger on the Q2, but need a little more information.

Can they be daisy-chained via Ethernet? This would be preferable over using the power line capabilities.

Eir router > Node 1
Node 1 > Node 2
Node 2 > Node 3

It's also unclear from the specifications if the nodes can communicate over 5ghz if they are within range, or is powerline always a preference in them?

Thanks!

Ken
Kencollins is offline  
04-06-2020, 15:35   #30
Zimmerframe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kencollins View Post
I'm about to pull the trigger on the Q2, but need a little more information.

Can they be daisy-chained via Ethernet? This would be preferable over using the power line capabilities.

Eir router > Node 1
Node 1 > Node 2
Node 2 > Node 3

It's also unclear from the specifications if the nodes can communicate over 5ghz if they are within range, or is powerline always a preference in them?

Thanks!

Ken

Haven’t got a chance to setup mine yet, but you are supposed to be able to daisy chain by Ethernet - lan on main unit to wan on next unit
Zimmerframe is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet