Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Leo is autistic...allegedly

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭GreenandRed

Feisar wrote: »
    Moosajee Bhamjee, the original Indian among all the cowboys!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moosajee_Bhamjee

The Doc from Clare. A nice bloke. There's another doctor from Clare, forget his name, won't run in this election. Had a few clashes with Simon Harris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,698 ✭✭✭Feisar

rusty cole wrote: »
    He loved sewing it into the British empire while licking europes hole and one has to wonder why?? India and GREAT Britain have horrible history and lets not get started on England and Ireland..make no mistake there's a loathing antipathy there for all things british.

As far as the closer to home stuff, he must be thinking, thank got I'm gay, looking at the plethora of EX Apprentice gals he has rallied around him, falling off swings and slaggin the handicapped!! what a joke of a new era !!

That's all in the same vein as Paddy Holohan was saying

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,142 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

rusty cole wrote: »
    As far as the closer to home stuff, he must be thinking, thank got I'm gay, looking at the plethora of EX Apprentice gals he has rallied around him, falling off swings and slaggin the handicapped!! what a joke of a new era !!

You just cant predict what own goals a FG candidate will score next... you couldnt make it up. Where is the popcorn...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 301 ✭✭puppieperson1

leos judgement is very poor in regards to women he runs for the dail. Thats 3 that have ****ed up now he has no clue he is like a young lad around woman, cant read them at all - gullible he should have had a few in his experimental days might have wised him up to the devious 2 faced cnuts that they are.......

leos judgement is very poor in regards to women he runs for the dail. Thats 3 that have ****ed up now he has no clue he is like a young lad around woman, cant read them at all.

I dont think we can blame it all on Leo. FG desperate to meet their quota of 30% female candidates.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

There was a study recently that said "we" are

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/ireland-has-worrying-pattern-of-racism-head-of-eu-agency-warns-1.4032957

I think that it is more subtle here, but that doesn't mean good.

Foreigners are welcomed when they holiday here and spend money, but it's different when they stay, taking jobs etc.
    Compared to who?
    More racist than the English? Probably.
    More racist than the French? Possibly.
    More racist than the Germans? Unlikely.
    More racist than the Italians? False.
    More racist than the Spanish? False.
    More racist than the Swiss? False.
    More racist than the Danes? False.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,888 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

That throwaway comment by that election candidate just shows you the calibre - lamentable at best - of the politicians and wannabe politicians in this country. Anyhow, she made a full apology so that should be that.

No, Leo V is definitely not on the autism/aspergers spectrum - his ability to waltz the media and his style over substance would not be the traits of a person on that spectrum.

No, he’s just a self-serving, rather heartless, Thatcherite c*nt...

Compared to who?

More than that...
    21st century Ireland is among the least racist socieities that has ever existed. Ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭antimatterx

Her comments have been blown out of proportion. Everyone knows what she meant.

She doesn't deserve to have her career ruined because people want to feel offended!

• Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭Pythagorean

Another way of looking at it is this : instead of people being outraged about this autism remark, one could claim that autistic people were being compared to one of the most successful people in the country, and therefore being complimented !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭GreenandRed

odyssey06 wrote: »
    More than that...
    21st century Ireland is among the least racist socieities that has ever existed. Ever.

You'd need to be a foreigner living here a few years to judge whether Ireland is racist or not. There's racists and intolerant people everywhere. But it's seeing how people interact and live in communities with an increasing number of foreigners is, for me, how you judge racism. And racism goes both ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,665 ✭✭✭jackboy

Another way of looking at it is this : instead of people being outraged about this autism remark, one could claim that autistic people were being compared to one of the most successful people in the country, and therefore being complimented !!

She clearly meant the comment in a negative way. She was suggesting that it was a weakness that Leo has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,980 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Compared to who?

I spent 6 years living in the North East of England, we're not even remotely close to them in terms of racism if that's an accurate portrayal of England as a whole.

It's an extremely racist country and they're not afraid to be quite open about it !

You'd need to be a foreigner living here a few years to judge whether Ireland is racist or not. There's racists and intolerant people everywhere. But it's seeing how people interact and live in communities with an increasing number of foreigners is, for me, how you judge racism. And racism goes both ways.

If Ireland was so racist and unwelcoming they wouldnt be coming here. We had no colonial links or anything like that to explain it.

jackboy wrote: »
    She clearly meant the comment in a negative way. She was suggesting that it was a weakness that Leo has.

And then denying it until she found out it had been recorded...
    The mask slipped and I think its fair to say a lot of ppl dont like what they saw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

JupiterKid wrote: »
    That throwaway comment by that election candidate just shows you the calibre - lamentable at best - of the politicians and wannabe politicians in this country. Anyhow, she made a full apology so that should be that...

Why?

So anyone can say anything and as long as they make a full apology everyone just forgives and forgets?

No that's not how it works, nor should it be.

odyssey06 wrote: »
    If Ireland was so racist and unwelcoming they wouldnt be coming here. We had no colonial links or anything like that to explain it.

They come because of the myth of it being a land of a hundred thousand welcomes has been so successfully promoted people believe it not realising it was just the dollars that were really being welcomed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Her comments have been blown out of proportion. Everyone knows what she meant.

She doesn't deserve to have her career ruined because people want to feel offended!

What career? She was never elected in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,306 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

What career? She was never elected in the first place.
    She is also a solicitor...you think she might have a bit more common sense...
    I think she has been elected to the Seanad twice as well?

gmisk wrote: »
    She is also a solicitor...you think she might have a bit more common sense...
    I think she has been elected to the Seanad twice as well?

Well the Seanad seems to be the holding pen for failed politicians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,306 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Well the Seanad seems to be the holding pen for failed politicians.
    I don't disagree but just pointing out she was elected to it twice

True. Just refering to her failure to be elected by the public.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Why would she speak like this of someone in her own party? What did she hope to gain?

Why make reference to the n word?

Why deny you said it, only to be caught out with a recording? thats the most telling part imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

She should have just called him a scrote. (allegedly)
    No one to offend there.

jay1988 wrote: »
    She's in my constituency and i have a son with severe autism, she won't be getting my vote anyway, not because of what she said, I don't have much of a problem with that, but because she was at the door the other night and could barely string a sentence together, hadn't a clue what to say when questioned on disability services and assessment waiting times, she's only in there to try ride on the coat tails of Richard Bruton who would be quite popular in the area.

She's a dope, paying lip service to people's concerns purely as a mechanism to try to get elected and board the gravy train. It's quite possible that every politician is like this, but when we start voting for the ones who are openly and flagrantly showing their true colours then we've lost all hope.

With regards to the disability services thing, she parked her brand spanking new VW camper van with her mug splashed on the side of it outside the Beachcomber/Supervalu in Killester there recently. When she posted a photo of it up on the footpath, people lashed her out of it saying she was causing a nuisance for people with mobility issues and sight difficulties. Her response was "get a grip", until that caused another sh1tstorm. She is the only one who won't be getting any preference on my ballot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

I think common sense should prevail here and Catherine Noone should assemble a properly representative group of 'special' autistic N*****s to support her theories. Perhaps they could all then go on a bus tour of the Country broadcasting her wisdom to the people.....

I honestly felt a bit sick yesterday researching her track record - For me she's a walking, talking representation of everything that's bad about how idiots are nominated for the joke that is the Seanad and then feather their crappy nests for years getting paid for their idiotic views and wittering on about nothing.

It's like some bizarre political version of Channel 4's Big Brother watching the coverage from the Seanad - Morons on a gravy train who nobody wanted doing the bare minimum to stay in there so they can keep their thick snouts in the trough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Maybe the Irish people are to blame ultimately.

They had an opportunity to abolish the Seanad presented to them on a plate.
    The screwed it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

cjmc wrote: »
    I don't think she said anything wrong and should not have apologised to him. Or to the autism association either.

"If Leo thinks theres no homeless crisis then he must be blind"

"OMG my little angle is blind, this is soooo insensitive to her, apologise and then resign or be fired because an apology is an admission of guilt"

F**k off lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,542 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Bambi wrote: »
    "If Leo thinks theres no homeless crisis then he must be blind"

"OMG my little angle is blind, this is soooo insensitive to her, apologise and then resign or be fired because an apology is an admission of guilt"

F**k off lads.

The word "blind" has a number of applications. The word "autistic" does not.

Tony EH wrote: »
    The word "blind" has a number of applications. The word "autistic" does not.

"Blind" only has one application. It's just commonly used because it was around before everyone got their knickers in a twist up on their high horse over the use of words. Unlike "autism"

The application of "Has difficulty in relating to others" is fine as a criticism of Varadker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,542 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

"Blind" only has one application.

No it doesn't. Back to school for you.

blind

adjective
    adjective: blind; comparative adjective: blinder; superlative adjective: blindest

1. 1.
      unable to see because of injury, disease, or a congenital condition.
      "a blind man with a stick"
      • (of an action, especially a test or experiment) done without being able to see or without having relevant information.
        "a blind tasting of eight wines"
      • Aeronautics
        (of flying) using instruments only.
        "blind landings during foggy conditions"
    2. 2.
      lacking perception, awareness, or judgement.
      "a blind acceptance of the status quo"
      • not controlled by reason.
        "they left in blind panic"
      • not governed by purpose.
        "a world of blind chance"
    3. 3.
      (of a corner or bend in a road) impossible to see round.
      "two trucks collided on a blind curve in the road"
      • (of a door or window) walled up.
        "fresco paintings on the blind windows"
      • closed at one end.
        "a blind pipe"
    4. 4.
      informal•British
      not the slightest (used in emphatic expressions).
      "this declaration is not a blind bit of good to the workers"
    5. 5.
      (of a plant) without buds, eyes, or terminal flowers.
      "planting too shallowly is the most common cause of bulbs coming up blind"
    verb
    verb: blind; 3rd person present: blinds; past tense: blinded; past participle: blinded; gerund or present participle: blinding

1. 1.
      cause (someone) to be unable to see, permanently or temporarily.
      "the injury temporarily blinded him"
    2. 2.
      deprive (someone) of understanding, judgement, or perception.
      "he was blinded by his faith"
      • confuse or overawe someone with (something they do not understand).
        "they try to blind you with science"
    3. 3.
      informal•dated
      move very fast and dangerously.
      "I could see the bombs blinding along above the roof tops"
    noun
    noun: blind; plural noun: blinds
    1. 1.
      a screen for a window, especially one on a roller or made of slats.
      "she pulled down the blinds"
      • British
        an awning over a shop window.
    2. 2.
      something designed to conceal one's real intentions.
      "he phoned again from his own home: that was just a blind for his wife"
      • North American
        a camouflaged shelter used for observing or hunting wildlife.
        "a duck blind"
    3. 3.
      informal•dated
      a heavy drinking bout.
      "he's off on a blind again"
    adverb
    adverb: blind

without being able to see clearly.
    "he was the first pilot in history to fly blind"

You realise that all the usage of blind, stems from the first definition, as per my post and as per the example I used?

Of course you do, good chap.

You realise that all the usage of blind, stems from the first definition, as per my post and as per the example I used?

Of course you do, good chap.

That's not what you said, though, is it good chap? You said there's only one meaning / definition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

She's not stupid. Just not one bit streetwise enough to be in that game.

No she really is stupid.

Even FG think so now seeing as they are keeping her away from the media in case she makes a bigger fool of herself.

Doesn't matter either way now anyway she is finished.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 26 Hate Actually

Do you think she hung up after the call to clear things up and thought....phew that went well!
    Do you?

How do you know that he's not on the spectrum?
    But if he's on the spectrum, than doesn't that mean that probably a quarter of the population are on the spectrum. And then there's the argument that we're all on the spectrum.

Or maybe she's trying to hide the fact that she herself is on the spectrum.

golfball37 wrote: »
    She meant his empathy skills, don't deflect. The voters will have their say on her ultimately. If the Twitter nazis had their way nobody would be allowed stand for election.
    I always thought it was sociopaths who were the ones most known for lacking empathy, not autistic people. If it's only that that she's pin pointing, then maybe we should consider if Leo is a sociopath. If he were made kill a cat with his bare hands, do you think he'd be less inclined to get the usual nightmares afterwards?

DarTipp wrote: »
    I don't think her and leo get on anyway even before this !
    Hence the reason of calling him autistic. It's the perfect insult. You see anyone would begin to doubt the way they conduct themselves after being called autistic. And with that doubt comes a lack in confidence. Your mind is not in the place it should be. And if your self conscious in an interview, are you going to stutter less??? And then the more nervous you come across, the more the viewers begin to wonder if you really are autistic. And that's just what she (forget her name) wants. It's the perfect blow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

Hence the reason of calling him autistic. It's the perfect insult. You see anyone would begin to doubt the way they conduct themselves after being called autistic. And with that doubt comes a lack in confidence. Your mind is not in the place it should be. And if your self conscious in an interview, are you going to stutter less??? And then the more nervous you come across, the more the viewers begin to wonder if you really are autistic. And that's just what she (forget her name) wants. It's the perfect blow.

All grand in theory.

But is it not a major own goal sabotaging her political career?

Or is getting to Leo worth it to her..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

I think from Catherine Noone's point of view a heterosexual leader of FG would be easy to manipulate . Leo of course is immune to her powerful sexuality .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,256 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Every whole blessed fecker is on the spectrum now. The spectrum is also a great place for fellas in need of a dose of cop on to hide out.

Can't see why it would matter if he was in the autistic spectrum.
    I know some people on it & they are great!
    Straight talking, no passive aggressive bull**** , & no lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭NSAman

Leo is "autistic" and Philip is Gay... is nothing sacred anymore?

bubblypop wrote: »
    Can't see why it would matter if he was in the autistic spectrum.
    I know some people on it & they are great!
    Straight talking, no passive aggressive bull**** , & no lies.

I think your last line proves Leo (and also practically every politician) isn't on the spectrum.

He seems very honest to me, & I'm not a FG voter, but he's seems to say it as it is.