Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
18-10-2015, 09:57   #1
celtic_oz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 638
Ball moves on downswing

Yesterday while taking a shot from the rough the ball moved just before the club head made impact. Movement was approx 2mm from original position.

Do I penalize myself one shot and play where it now lies or replace and take again or drop and take again?

Thanks
celtic_oz is offline  
Advertisement
18-10-2015, 10:13   #2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 867
It depends if it was seen on the high definition camera and the presenters were discussing if you should call a penalty on yourself or not.

If you can overcome the morals of the situation and realise that we are not tour pros but hacks, 😣 maybe even very good hacks but hacks non the less.

Have you ever broken any other rules like giving or receiving advice or touching the line of your putt, or moving loose impediments on the green while your on the fairway.
People break these rules all the time without a second thought. I think your being hard on yourself.

Bottom line is you didn't move the ball deliberately you didn't gain an advantage so I'd say your ok.
But if you were to penalise yourself it would be 1 stroke and the ball should be replaced from where you last played.
Montgolfier is offline  
Thanks from:
18-10-2015, 10:35   #3
celtic_oz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 638
Mentioned it to the guy I was playing with who said 2 stroke penalty.. Had no idea if should pick it off the green and walk back and hit again.
celtic_oz is offline  
18-10-2015, 10:42   #4
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 867
Quote:
Originally Posted by celtic_oz View Post
Mentioned it to the guy I was playing with who said 2 stroke penalty.. Had no idea if should pick it off the green and walk back and hit again.
The best way 2 understand whether it 1 or 2 strokes is: One stroke if it's accidental for example hitting the ball in a hazzard or out of bounds. Two strokes if you gain an advantage like sweeping loose impediments on the green while your ball if off the green.
Montgolfier is offline  
Thanks from:
18-10-2015, 10:47   #5
Hoof Hearted2
Registered User
 
Hoof Hearted2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by Montgolfier View Post
It depends if it was seen on the high definition camera and the presenters were discussing if you should call a penalty on yourself or not.

If you can overcome the morals of the situation and realise that we are not tour pros but hacks, 😣 maybe even very good hacks but hacks non the less.

Have you ever broken any other rules like giving or receiving advice or touching the line of your putt, or moving loose impediments on the green while your on the fairway.
People break these rules all the time without a second thought. I think your being hard on yourself.

Bottom line is you didn't move the ball deliberately you didn't gain an advantage so I'd say your ok.
But if you were to penalise yourself it would be 1 stroke and the ball should be replaced from where you last played.
None of the above, if a ball moves after you have started your swing there is no penalty.
I can't remember the exact rule or if it's once you've started you backswing or your downswing, either way, there is no penalty.
Hoof Hearted2 is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
18-10-2015, 10:57   #6
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5,294
Would this apply?
I think in essence its down to the question whether you caused the ball to move or not.
Boskowski is offline  
18-10-2015, 11:02   #7
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 867
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoof Hearted2 View Post
None of the above, if a ball moves after you have started your swing there is no penalty.
I can't remember the exact rule or if it's once you've started you backswing or your downswing, either way, there is no penalty.
Dead right. rule 18-2b
Montgolfier is offline  
18-10-2015, 11:32   #8
fullstop
Registered User
 
fullstop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Montgolfier View Post


Have you ever broken any other rules like giving or receiving advice or touching the line of your putt, or moving loose impediments on the green while your on the fairway.
People break these rules all the time without a second thought. I think your being hard on yourself.

Bottom line is you didn't move the ball deliberately you didn't gain an advantage so I'd say your ok.
But if you were to penalise yourself it would be 1 stroke and the ball should be replaced from where you last played.
You can move loose impediments on the green when you're in the fairway, no?
fullstop is offline  
18-10-2015, 11:34   #9
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullstop View Post
You can move loose impediments on the green when you're in the fairway, no?
No, only when on the green
Boskowski is offline  
Advertisement
18-10-2015, 11:38   #10
Hoof Hearted2
Registered User
 
Hoof Hearted2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullstop View Post
You can move loose impediments on the green when you're in the fairway, no?
Yes of course you can, there's nothing in the rules to say otherwise.
Hoof Hearted2 is offline  
18-10-2015, 11:52   #11
fullstop
Registered User
 
fullstop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boskowski View Post
No, only when on the green
Rule 23 states you can remove loose impediments unless the ball and loose impediment lie within the same hazard. Where from this is it assumed you can't move a loose impediment when you're off the green and the impediment is on it?
fullstop is offline  
18-10-2015, 12:15   #12
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5,294
I stand to be corrected, yes, apparently you can remove loose impediments both on and off the green.
Thats what happens when you simply parrot what another player told you. Apologies.
But you need to be careful it seems. Sand for example is classed as a lose impediment on the green but not off the green.
Boskowski is offline  
18-10-2015, 12:21   #13
fullstop
Registered User
 
fullstop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boskowski View Post
I stand to be corrected, yes, apparently you can remove loose impediments both on and off the green.
Thats what happens when you simply parrot what another player told you. Apologies.
But you need to be careful it seems. Sand for example is classed as a lose impediment on the green but not off the green.
Yes I thought it might have been sand that threw you! Or the pitchmark issue whereby you can repair one that is on the green while you're off the green but if the pitchmark is also off the green you can't.
fullstop is offline  
18-10-2015, 12:26   #14
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 867
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullstop View Post
You can move loose impediments on the green when you're in the fairway, no?
My bad I was thinking of removing loose impediments on the fringe while your off the green. For example if your putting from the fairway or fringe and there is sand in your line on the fringe it can't be removed.
Montgolfier is offline  
Thanks from:
20-10-2015, 21:51   #15
billy3sheets
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 705
Abu Dhabi 2012, MCIlroy incurs a 2 stroke penalty for brushing away sand that was OFF the green in his line. Luke Donald pointed it out to him.

McIlroy:. "My ball was maybe six feet off the green and there was a lot of sand between it and the hole. I just brushed the sand away and as soon as I did it Luke said, 'You can't brush sand off the fringe.' I knew straight away he was right. I wasn't thinking clearly and just made a very stupid mental mistake."
billy3sheets is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet