Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tinder for Boreds

He's who I'm trying to be though.

Ah would ya stop. The state of him. He's a total try hard! Just be your best self and give women more credit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,422 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

KiKi III wrote: »
    Maybe that’s the problem? I spent years trying to become what I thought guys wanted from me. Only recently I’ve placed huge focus on trying to be who I want to be.

I made it a big project: Therapy, books, apps, journals all aimed at accepting and liking myself. It’s hard work but I’m slowly getting there. Too soon to see how it impacts my dating life, especially with Covid, but I feel more hopeful than I have in a long time that there’s someone out there for me.

It's exactly what I do, keep looking for fault every single day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭accensi0n

There's a right bang of desperation in this thread.

That's not desperation you're smelling.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Barry's I'm afraid. Does that mean the deal's off?

giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

One is a limey imposter, and the other represents trademark Cork modesty.

I'll stick with me Italian coffee then. No, the other kind.

Fallons tea the best of the lot IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,918 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

With social distancing now the norm is it time for boards to help single people connect with a dating forum? Obviously it'll be very chast but could lead to something horizontal or at least emotional eventually, when the vaccine arrives. I have no idea how it would be structured or moderated what with all the catfishing these days. Or is this just a terrible idea bought on by my own isolation?

oooh

*updates profile pic*

5bad5bba1f0000390122a1bd.jpeg?ops=scalefit_630_noupscale

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 784 ✭✭✭LaFuton

Sounds like you’re a man with road frontage to offer.

I’ll up my offer of frozen pizza and teabags to a spaghetti bolognese and a beer.

sweet. if i can have the beer and spag bol at same time im yours

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

It's exactly what I do, keep looking for fault every single day.

Here are some of the things I’ve been doing. Some are corny, some might seem weird, but the combination of them all is helping me a lot:

- write down three things every day you like about your appearance (I have really low self-esteem in this regard so some days this is hard but I find three things to write down even if I don’t fully mean them)
    - give yourself two compliments for things not to do with your appearance
    - write a gratitude list detailing small things you’re grateful for that day and why
    - pay extra attention to my skincare and hair (plenty of time to do that at the moment)
    - listen to a guided meditation on self-love
    - listen to podcasts on empowerment
    - talk to supportive friends as much as possible
    - therapy once a week (I’m doing CBT right now and it sounds like it would be really helpful for you too because it’s all about dismantling beliefs we’ve built up about ourselves that aren’t based on facts)

Sounds like you could do with making a change - this is just what’s working for me, you might find a different set of tools/ activities/ exercises that work for you

I'm afraid you can only be yourself friend.

Why would you want to be anybody else?

I'm afraid you can only be yourself friend.

Why would you want to be anybody else?

Because they’re better looking/ more popular/ more successful etc

So you convince yourself if you’re more like them you’ll be those things too.

Except it never seems to work out that way.

It's possible to like both Lyons and Barrys y'know.

That’s just silly talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

It can't be straightforward back-pedaling past moving goalposts. One minute you're speaking for all women ("we" do have it easier), the next you're fobbing it off as subjective experience. You would be minced in a real debate.

Good technique Bert. You must have the ladies lining up as you trounce them in debates. Such a fashioner of vistas, they call him the Boorman.

Because they’re better looking/ more popular/ more successful etc

Except it never seems to work out that way.

It can't work out that way; they had their life path and you have yours.

Of course you can be inspired by these kinds of people but you cant be like these people.

I'm inspired by loads of people in loads of different ways but I'm my own person - good or bad.

This is why I have a real problem with certain aspect of social media and indeed celeb culture; it foists a very unhealthy idea of what is the 'ideal' upon people that a lot of people simple can't aspire to; it then creates any amount of anxiety and pressure as a result. It's bollocks.

That’s just silly talk.

Perhaps, but on the other hand I'm covered both ways for those who have more discerning tastes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,408 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

But he looks like a Ken doll!. Why would you want to look like a plastic man with no genitals?

Others (not all) outgrow that mentality at a young age. Eastwood and McQueen were role models in mid-teens. Then adulthood intervened and I had to find myself. Learned swiftly that fantasy and going it alone in the world were significant drawbacks. As for self-pity, the most futile thing in the world. Realised I could never second-guess the past, and had to let go of matters beyond my control. Went out of way to socialise, observing and making mental notes along the way. Developed self-awareness and became attuned to the concept of "emotional intelligence". Confidence grew as I established an identity, which was more or less fully formed by early twenties. From there, it wasn't difficult to meet women without having to resort to online dating. Away from the pub cliché, joining assortment of clubs and spin-offs from those. Avoiding falling into a comfortable rut, retaining a sense of curiosity and willingness to try new experiences. Which informs my sensibility around the fairer sex.

Oíche mhaith.

It can't work out that way; they had their life path and you have yours.

Of course you can be inspired by these kinds of people but you cant be like these people.

I'm inspired by loads of people in loads of different ways but I'm my own person - good or bad.

This is why I have a real problem with certain aspect of social media and indeed celeb culture; it foists a very unhealthy idea of what is the 'ideal' upon people that a lot of people simple can't aspire to; it then creates any amount of anxiety and pressure as a result. It's bollocks.

Oh I fully get why it doesn’t work.

But I also get why people (including me) try it. It’s very easy to fall into the trap of “well nobody likes the real me so I’m going to go and try to be someone else”.

When you start thinking like that, it’s very often faulty thinking in the first place and it’s not actually true that nobody likes the real you.

Feelings aren’t facts. Easy to say, hard to remember and believe when times get tough.

But I also get why people (including me) try it. It’s very easy to fall into the trap of “well nobody likes the real me so I’m going to go and try to be someone else”.

When you start thinking like that, it’s very often faulty thinking in the first place and it’s not actually true that nobody likes the real you.

Feelings aren’t facts. Easy to say, hard to remember and believe when times get tough.

Certainly and look, it's an easy enough trap to fall into, but it's always worth remembering that people prefer other people to be how they really are.

I appreciate it's not easy though. There's a lot of pressure out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,918 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

...wrong thread

• Registered Users Posts: 371 ✭✭garyskeepers

Im in.. Time to ride my way through Boards :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Ultrflat

Let us all know how that works out for you :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Feisar

There's a right bang of desperation in this thread.

In fairness if I was single during this lock down the smell of desperation off me would be wafting down your WiFi.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I hope you like Star Wars T-shirt’s, greasy ponytails, and neckbeards.

Don't be hard on yourself man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

How long is your ponytail?

You should really include that in your bio.

Roisin Ingle did a 20-minute interview with the owner of Sex Siopa today on the Irish Times Women's podcast and, long story short, a vibrator's on its way to me in the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭drake70

Roisin Ingle did a 20-minute interview with the owner of Sex Siopa today on the Irish Times Women's podcast and, long story short, a vibrator's on its way to me in the post.

If you had bought yesterday, 10% of the sale would have gone to Women's Aid

drake70 wrote: »
    If you had bought yesterday, 10% of the sale would have gone to Women's Aid

I know :(:(

Shame I didn't hear it on time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭drake70

I know :(:(

Shame I didn't hear it on time.

Ah well, good luck with your purchase ;)

I did notice that most of the items aimed at men are sold out.

The lads must be having a harder time getting through this lock down.

The ones in Dealz are better.

drake70 wrote: »
    Ah well, good luck with your purchase ;)

I did notice that most of the items aimed at men are sold out.

The lads must be having a harder time getting through this lock down.

By the time I went on almost everything was sold out. I spent significantly more than planned!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Don't make assumptions about all of us ladies, that's not fair.
    I absolutely never go for a man on his looks, ever.
    It's only what's on his bank statement that's important.
    Not the length of his road frontage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

Throw up a photo of yourself there and we'll kick off the auction.

Sure im willing to offer two sheep and wee pig to her good self. Considering I don't know were im going to get the above animals.

Whoa if the poster a man and not interested, I rather spend time with me farm animals. That is if I had a farm or animals for that matter

oooh

*updates profile pic*

5bad5bba1f0000390122a1bd.jpeg?ops=scalefit_630_noupscale

Thats one sexy frog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

I was think about coding up a dog dating app and you have an associated human with the dog. Man you always need some sort of gimmick.

I'm not at the stage of isolation where i'm willing to post fanny pics, but come back to me if the lockdown gets extended again.

When the lockdown over you will probably want a shears to hack down whats growing out from below your waist, fanny nah try Afro

• Registered Users Posts: 371 ✭✭garyskeepers

Ultrflat wrote: »
    Let us all know how that works out for you :pac:

yeah you're first :)

Kylta wrote: »
    When the lockdown over you will probably want a shears to hack down whats growing out from below your waist, fanny nah try Afro

Au contraire, I have more time than ever for “personal grooming”.

anyone know where i might get a moulding of my penis done?
    real question

(no not mold off, mould of)

LaFuton wrote: »
    real question

I don’t.

But I have so many follow up questions...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭Homelander

There was a girl on Reddit shared a story of her younger curious teenage years, she took one of her mothers dildos and used it vigorously on herself..... eventually after examining it in more detail on one occasion she discovered it was a molded dildo that was presumably based on her dad.

hey leave me out of this

N

Why would anybody give a fu©k what people though about them. If you can't be yourself in life, your only living a lie. I'd rather see a person (warts n all as the saying goes). Even if I dont like that person they get my respect. I mean can you imagine a person leading you to believe that there a prince/princess, only to find later on that this person is actually Satans son or daughter. You can change your personality for the better to make yourself a good person etc. But I'm fu©ked if I'd change who I am for anybody to like me. Its the person who likes you and not your fake persona that counts.

LaFuton wrote: »
    real question

Get a 3D casting kit on amazon.

Homelander wrote: »
    There was a girl on Reddit shared a story of her younger curious teenage years, she took one of her mothers dildos and used it vigorously on herself..... eventually after examining it in more detail on one occasion she discovered it was a molded dildo that was presumably based on her dad.

Who the feck would even touch someone else's dildo?

Feisar wrote: »
    Who the feck would even touch someone else's dildo?

Lad in work,came home.one evening to find his kids and neighbours kids out on the green, chasing each other, with his wives collection

(They were all like 7 or 8,so v.innocent)

Lad in work,came home.one evening to find his kids and neighbours kids out on the green, chasing each other, with his wives collection

(They were all like 7 or 8,so v.innocent)

funniest thing I read in a while, cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Im in too. Down to 48:1 now.

Don't you mean 24:1... or 48:2 ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Ultrflat

yeah you're first :)

?u=https%3A%2F%2F66.media.tumblr.com%2F89d998a866bfa2e8984fd860e6b76cac%2Ftumblr_pfk92cGCsr1w1s8lso3_500.gif&f=1&nofb=1

I don’t.

But I have so many follow up questions...

ask away :)