Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Parkrun..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

py wrote: »
    Parkrun is whatever an individual wants it to be. They can walk, jog, run or race and that is what Parkrun is to some people.
    This - it's been everything from a 25 minute time trial to an 8 months pregnant waddle for me. Just a fixture on Saturday morning at this stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Duzzie

vargoo wrote: »
    Only discovered parkrun this year, have ran abit for years, had only 4 done (and 2 volunteer) and picked up a knee niggle, which unfortunately turned out to be a degen permanent niggle.

Wish I'd never discovered it now, miss it. Still follow all the pages but going to stop as it's disheartening.

It doesnt have to be the end of parkrun for you. A lot of people volunteer but never run but see it as a great social event. It may be tough at first but volunteering can be hugely rewarding, particularly seeing / helping regulars improve. I know of a few who cannot run anymore due to dodgy knees. They now walk regularly for a bit of fitness and love socialising with the other parkrunners. I wouldnt give up on parkrun just yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,678 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Have been chasing a sub 21 for a while and thought I'd take a good crack at it today to see if I could get the elusive 20.xx.
    Stopped the watch after crossing the line at 21.01 and wondered if the parkrun timing gods would smile favourably on me. parkrun text later came through with a time of 21.05 which I paradoxically felt a bit better about 'cos I hadn't "just missed" it.

Happened to look at the results later and saw that times had been adjusted (presumably some error) and my time was now 21.00

Arrgghhh........just one more second..........

11AGIhl.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭muddypaws

Murph_D wrote: »
    Beautiful setting. Lovely beach. Tide was in so sand a bit soft in places. Slight issue with course length too but I’m sure it will be sorted out in jig time!

We're planning on doing it next week. I try to avoid first events with a dog, just my thinking but I figure the organisers are under pressure for the first week and don't need any extra. It's a friend's birthday and not too far from Sligo - and it gives us our "N".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Have been chasing a sub 21 for a while and thought I'd take a good crack at it today to see if I could get the elusive 20.xx.
    Stopped the watch after crossing the line at 21.01 and wondered if the parkrun timing gods would smile favourably on me. parkrun text later came through with a time of 21.05 which I paradoxically felt a bit better about 'cos I hadn't "just missed" it.

Happened to look at the results later and saw that times had been adjusted (presumably some error) and my time was now 21.00

Arrgghhh........just one more second..........

11AGIhl.gif

That's the funniest I've read in awhile.

I was timer a few weeks ago and one of the lads I run with was also out to break 21 minutes... I timed him crossing the line at 21:01 and the other timer got him at 20:59.

But because there was an issue with the other timer at the start of the run we were using my watch as the main timer!.

I heard about that one for weeks lol

'Derek, there are no friends at the line pal' :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Bravestaar wrote: »
    Agreed. Poppintree is lovely.

Its a really lovely park isn't it?.

I love the final 200 meters, that sprint around the ponds is great. I know when I see the railings to my left I've approx 200m to go and put the boot down.

Its a pity the rest of the Ballymun regeneration didn't go so well.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Did Donabate for the first time on Saturday, it's a gorgeous park and a fantastic Cafe (doesn't seem to be rip off prices either). The course is a variety of out and backs which I really enjoyed as you get to see nearly everyone at some point in the run. A very friendly and sociable parkrun, would highly recommend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Chicken George

Did Donabate for the first time on Saturday, it's a gorgeous park and a fantastic Cafe (doesn't seem to be rip off prices either). The course is a variety of out and backs which I really enjoyed as you get to see nearly everyone at some point in the run. A very friendly and sociable parkrun, would highly recommend.

Yeah agree. It's my favourite parkrun around this part of the world. Always a good crowd and a great spot to push for a PB (if thats your thing).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭CassieManson

Marlay parkrun is cancelled for the next 3 Saturdays due to Longitude.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Waterford is getting a second parkrun at the end of August. Fantastic news. Unfortunately I'm not local to help but will definitely be down for a visit. Wishing them all the very best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭positron

I would assume Donabate Parkrun is not on this Saturday as they have Flavours of Fingal there this weekend (which is a brilliant day out for kids).

positron wrote: »
    I would assume Donabate Parkrun is not on this Saturday as they have Flavours of Fingal there this weekend (which is a brilliant day out for kids).

Looks like it isn't.

https://www.parkrun.ie/donabate/news/

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭Butterbeans

5th anniversary for Waterstown tomorrow.......cake! My first parkrun in over 6 weeks due to injury so looking forward to getting back to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

aquinn wrote: »
    Waterford is getting a second parkrun at the end of August. Fantastic news. Unfortunately I'm not local to help but will definitely be down for a visit. Wishing them all the very best.

Whereabouts in Waterford, do you know? I was in Dungarvan for a weekend away earlier in the year and our nearest runs were Tramore or Clonmel(!) - both around 45 minutes away by car. We passed in favour of a lie-in and a run along the coast where we were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

The Peoples park in the city was bring considered, not sure if it made the cut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,190 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Looking decidedly dodgy for Leinster parkruns this morning, with heavy rain and thunderstorms widespread. Check before you go!

https://www.met.ie/

Every plus sign is a lightning strike! Yikes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭KJ

First PB in just over 2 years today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Hesh's Umpire

Mountlucas in Offaly was cancelled due to the thunderstorms. My local one in Vicarstown went ahead - the storm had passed.

Ran Griffeen after all. Very warm. Could feel the calf that cramped two weeks ago, but it held up. Overtook the 30 minute pacer at 1k, but he passed me at the same point on the second lap, and I just couldn't generate any extra speed to stick with him. :o

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,533 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Killarney parkrun is moving to Killarney House & Gardens, right in the town centre, so should lead to a greatly increased turnout. Should be a lot faster too. Excited to try it out!

Whereabouts in Waterford, do you know? I was in Dungarvan for a weekend away earlier in the year and our nearest runs were Tramore or Clonmel(!) - both around 45 minutes away by car. We passed in favour of a lie-in and a run along the coast where we were.

Hi, the Nature park which I never heard of but closer to the city so still a massive drive from Dungarvan. Handy for us from Dunmore East and same distance as to Tramore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,708 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    The Peoples park in the city was bring considered, not sure if it made the cut

I heard starting at far side of RSC plus 2 laps of the nature park (locally known as the eco park). Theres a connecting bridge that probably needs a bit of tiding up. Not sure I've seen it open since the Viking one year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,027 ✭✭✭opus

First running of Ballincollig Regional junior parkrun this morning, 185 excited participants :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Killarney parkrun is moving to Killarney House & Gardens, right in the town centre, so should lead to a greatly increased turnout. Should be a lot faster too. Excited to try it out!

I always wondered why it wasn't held there in the first place. Don't get me wrong, Muckross is lovely but a run inside Killarney itself is so much more likely to attract a decent sized crowd.

• Registered Users Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Seannew1

I always wondered why it wasn't held there in the first place. Don't get me wrong, Muckross is lovely but a run inside Killarney itself is so much more likely to attract a decent sized crowd.

Running around the National Park was always one of my aims so I feel quite sad to hear that it won't be there, especially as I'm visiting Killarney soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Seannew1 wrote:
    Running around the National Park was always one of my aims so I feel quite sad to hear that it won't be there, especially as I'm visiting Killarney soon!

Run Killarney 10k and HM goes through there every year

Seannew1 wrote: »

Killarney House & Gardens is still part of the National Park, so your wish will still be fulfilled!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭py

opus wrote: »
    First running of Ballincollig Regional junior parkrun this morning, 185 excited participants :)

Just noticed that Sportsfile have photos up from this event on their website for purchasing. Is this a usual thing for some Parkruns as it's not something I've seen at any of the events (Parkrun or Junior Parkrun) I've attended. I've always seen them posted on Twitter/Facebook but these are only for purchasing.

I assume it was difficult to get permission. Some of the footpaths can be a bit narrow, and even at 9.30 in the morning there can be a decent crowd there. I can't wait to see the route, Killarney house and gardens is basically where I do most of my running and I'll now be able to walk to my closest parkrun :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4 runnomnom

Just noticed that Sportsfile have photos up from this event on their website for purchasing. Is this a usual thing for some Parkruns as it's not something I've seen at any of the events (Parkrun or Junior Parkrun) I've attended. I've always seen them posted on Twitter/Facebook but these are only for purchasing.

VHI usually send a photographer to inaugurals and they provide the event team with access to the images within 48 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,282 ✭✭✭gucci

My wife emailed me at work last thursday with a list of possible camping destinations for next weekend within 2 hours of our house in the midlands UK......so a quick few clicks and i managed to narrow it down to the one with a parkrun within a mile :-)

Yes....I'm now officially an addict :-)

runnomnom wrote: »
    VHI usually send a photographer to inaugurals and they provide the event team with access to the images within 48 hours.

Yes the photographer was sent by VHI but I've never seen the pics for sale online before. Will dig into it a bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭bikeman1

I agree that the numbers should increase, if it is within walking distance of the town. I was in Killarney for the weekend and did the run there a few years ago. However, I had to get a taxi there and back for €10 each way to Muckross.

Muckross is lovely, but having it in the town will really suit the weekend warriors!

bikeman1 wrote: »
    I agree that the numbers should increase, if it is within walking distance of the town. I was in Killarney for the weekend and did the run there a few years ago. However, I had to get a taxi there and back for €10 each way to Muckross.

Muckross is lovely, but having it in the town will really suit the weekend warriors!

Exactly. Many tourists/weekend visitors do the Killarney parkrun, but I'm sure a lot more would if it weren't for the awkward location. This should change all of that, really looking forward to it now.

Bit disappointed though I won't get the chance to attack my PB on the soon to be defunct course. I know there's still a couple of weeks but haven't had time to do much running lately so wouldn't have a prayer of beating it.

I did the Muckross course as a tourist in May, thought it was lovely but was surprised the field was so small. Ran a relatively good time for an undulating course too! It will be interesting to see the new one and hopefully they'll get increased numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Is there actually any running club in Killarney?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,678 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

There's at least one - https://www.facebook.com/KillarneyValleyAC/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

DeepBlue wrote: »

Only set up in 2015.
    According to google the population of Killarney is 14,000.
    There must not be a huge running scene there.

After a bit of investigation, it seems that this has been happening as long as VHI have been sending their own photographer to parkrun inaugural events. Eg see here for the Narin parkrun set of pics on sportsfile.

The photos have also appeared on the facebook page as normal for Ballincollig Regional juniors (linky).

Most local runners are members of Gneeveguilla AC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I did the Muckross course as a tourist in May, thought it was lovely but was surprised the field was so small. Ran a relatively good time for an undulating course too! It will be interesting to see the new one and hopefully they'll get increased numbers.

Local for me and I done a few stints volunteering <--> One main reason that turned me off participating was the number of 'professionals' (GAA; running clubs etc etc).

I have decided however that I am due my first participation this coming weekend. I have printed off my barcode and I done a 3km walk this morning. I shall be walking and jogging as opposed to run this 5km but for me it is the taking part and the increase in my fitness that counts so Killarney shall have one extra(at least) this coming weekend :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭sonyvision

Running in waterstown this weekend. First attempt at been a pacer! So fingers crossed I can keep the pace flat and encourage all aound me.

• Registered Users Posts: 48 An tAlbanach

Walking my 2nd Scottish parkrun in St.Andrew's this week. Should be delightfully rainy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭GalwayGrrrrrl

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Local for me and I done a few stints volunteering <--> One main reason that turned me off participating was the number of 'professionals' (GAA; running clubs etc etc).

I have decided however that I am due my first participation this coming weekend. I have printed off my barcode and I done a 3km walk this morning. I shall be walking and jogging as opposed to run this 5km but for me it is the taking part and the increase in my fitness that counts so Killarney shall have one extra(at least) this coming weekend :)

Good luck for your first run. I run/walk parkrun too and can relax knowing the tailwalker always finishes last. Let us know how you get on.

Pacing at South Manchester parkrun this weekend - 32 minutes with the double buggy. Second weekend in a row pacing as I did 31 minutes with the double buggy at Albert Park in Middlesbrough last week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

kerry4sam wrote: »

Don’t mind the ‘professionals’. Especially the ones in GAA shorts. ;) Whether fast or slow, good runners always appreciate and understand the stage others are at - most parkrunners have taken the same journey. Club runners also are well used to hanging out with runners of all standards and won’t be a bit concerned. Have a great run!

sonyvision wrote: »
    Running in waterstown this weekend. First attempt at been a pacer! So fingers crossed I can keep the pace flat and encourage all aound me.

That'll be the only flat part of it so :D. I need to go back and do Waterstown again as I forgot my barcode the day I went, gorgeous course but lots of bumps! Best of luck with the pacing.

I did Glen River in Cork last Saturday for the 2nd time, I really really like this one, a nicer route than Ballincollig (sorry!) and a lovely bunch of super friendly volunteers. I hope their numbers pick up.

Back to Cabo this week, haven't run it in a good while and fully expecting to be totally banjaxed crossing the finish #speedbumps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,922 ✭✭✭deisedude

Whats the Mallow course like? Thinking of doing it tomorrow