Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How long have you off for Christmas?

• 10-12-2018 11:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭

Me? 2 days (25th & 26th)

How about you?

How long have you off for Xmas 413 votes

0 (working)
    0% 0 votes
    1 (Turkey Anyone?)
    6% 27 votes
    2 (Good King Wenceslas)
    5% 23 votes
    3 (Wise Men)
    9% 40 votes
    4 (more years!)
    7% 32 votes
    5 (Golden Rings)
    4% 20 votes
    6-10
    5% 21 votes
    11-15
    24% 101 votes
    I'm a teacher
    30% 128 votes
    I'm on the dole
    5% 21 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭Aussie Sean

25th, 26th and 27th. That's fine by me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Try_harder wrote: »
    Me? 2 days (25th & 26th)

How about you?

Snap :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭irishfeen

None unfortunately :(

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

2 weeks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

irishfeen wrote: »
    None unfortunately :(

What you work at?

I miss having the 27th too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭mulbot

4 weeks,badly needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭bri007

Same! Had a guy come into work and was giving out about how he only has a week and a half off this year the way Christmas has fallen on!! I just smiled and said nothing.... :(
    Me? 2 days (25th & 26th)

How about you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Stheno wrote: »
    2 weeks

Same here.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,424 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

An Taoiseach says I’m not allowed time off this festive season

mulbot wrote: »
    4 weeks,badly needed

what you do?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

17 days

Get off the internet and back to work! Those bedpans won't empty themselves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

About 10 days but I'll be on call for some. Just have to hope there are no calls :/

What you work at?

Public servant running an essential service.

BTW this is paid work only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭mulbot

what you do?

Facade installation

Public servant running an essential service.

Garda? Medic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Starting a week of nights Dec 23rd. Whatever ****ing doctors Leo was speaking about it certainly bypassed me. Pretty ****e but has to be done.

Garda? Medic?

Water Curator

Starting a week of nights Dec 23rd. Whatever ****ing doctors Leo was speaking about it certainly bypassed me.

I'm glad I dont work nights! I was taking 24th as A/L but changed it as I'm travelling and work will break my journey- and hopefully we'll get off early!

Water Curator

Uisce Éireann?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

About time we had a leader who isn't afraid of getting the whip out...

Is his bf working over Xmas?

Uisce Éireann?

Over my dead body! Council :)

You'll be UE soon enough lol :pac:

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,533 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Adminning don't stop for XMas…..

You'll be UE soon enough lol :pac:

As I say over my dead body!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Off St Stephens Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tringle

2 and finding it really tough as i always had 10 days to 3 weeks and usually took my "summer holiday" then.

Beasty wrote: »
    Adminning don't stop for XMas…..

Mine does for Public Holidays! (And weekends!) Pen pushing M-F only!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Two glorious weeks, baby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Finish 21st, back 2nd. Mandatory holidays though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Patww79 wrote: »
    Finish 21st, back 2nd. Mandatory holidays though.

Would hate to have to take mandatory holidays at this time of year. I want to be off in summer at a time of my choosing where possible good weather long evenings and stuff to do. I’m off the 25th and 26th and it’s more than enough thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rapul

Something similar finish up the morning of the 23rd (night shifts) and back in on the 5th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I work Christmas day and Stephens day this year but get 10 days off after for my trouble

• Registered Users Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

Wow lots of people working between Christmas and New Years. We're off from 21st until the 2nd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,673 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Last day tomorrow, not back til the 27th for 2 days then not back til the 2nd (hols included, delighted!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,068 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Worked Christmas day/Stephen's day last year, so have both off this year, on nights for New Years Eve.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,929 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I'm thinking from the 24th (inclusive) till Wednesday the 2nd - or possibly just take the Thursday and Friday as well.

I will keep the work phone around during the days most people are back though just in case anything happens.

Upside of this is complete flexibility in my day to day working location. If I need/want to work from home I can without needing approval or taking annual leave to cover stuff like deliveries or repairs etc.

I don't abuse it though, put in 10 hour days and I'm always around when needed. For me it's a fair trade.

21st Dec - 7th of Jan. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

11 days but will end up working one day somewhere inbetween Christmas Day and New Years. So not too bad although normally I wouldn’t have to work at all between Christmas and New Years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Finish on Friday 21st. Back 2nd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,353 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Noveight wrote: »
    Two glorious weeks, baby.

Likewise. And will have to do another month after the break before another week off.

Hardship.

Edit: For clarity, I only do a three day week. Just in case anybody was feeling sorry for me! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,965 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Three days - 25th, 26th, 27th
    Tuesday is the worst day for Christmas Day to fall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Finished Dec 21st.
    Back in the office jab 2nd .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Played it smart in work with holidays and volunteered to work Christmas Day, so that got me any days off i asked for, plus the normal sat/sundays off which gives me about 12 days off :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭redshoes15

12 glorious days. Much needed. Spent over 20 years only having the 25th off so I’ve done my fair share I think ��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

18 days. It is going to be glorious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,886 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Working 24th, 25th & 26th.

Have New Year’s Eve off at least.