Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Newcastle United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2022/2023

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Another place for us all to rant and be miserable.

HWTL

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Will Pardew still be around in another three years time - since the last thread started? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

2014/15 thread, hmmm, the way things are at the min there will only be about 30 posts in that time

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭TaosHum

Awww, was hoping to get first post :(

Damn you Moneymaker!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 910 ✭✭✭PauloConn

Yaayy, new thread.....
    nothing like a clean slate to help you forget why you can't stand Pardew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

I believe this is the first Newcastle United thread in sometime that Shola Ameobi will not dominate discussion.

Sad, sad times.

HTL.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,374 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

Anyone got some Fabreeze? There's a fierce smell of Pardew in here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,292 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

5PqU27.jpg

So, what's this about Jong Il-Gwan possibly moving to Newcastle in January? Some sort of North Korean wonderkid I hear?

Chronicle research suggests Mike Ashley has to spend £10million to survive - and that 62% of teams with less than four points after seven games go down

Newcastle United’s bad start is bad news – and Alan Pardew is now battling the history books if he is get the Magpies out of their early-season mess.

The Chronicle has pored over the history books to pick out Premier League trends, and the outlook is not great for teams that have just four points after seven games.

Thirteen of the clubs banking four points or fewer after seven games went on to go down – a whopping 62%.

Eight stayed up but here is where it gets really interesting for United fans urging the club to learn from Premier League history.

Only TWO of the 21 who have started as badly as United this year have stayed up by sticking with their manager – and FIVE of the eight who stayed up took evasive action before the month of October and changed bosses to keep them up.

The unlucky men to go were Gary Megson (West Brom), Sammy Lee (Bolton), Juande Ramos (Tottenham), Paolo Di Canio (Sunderland) and Ian Holloway (Crystal Palace). Four of them left or were sacked in October, allowing their clubs to upgrade and climb away from the basement.

The findings are remarkable, worrying – and should be enough to jolt anyone of a black and white persuasion out of the complacency that they won’t get dragged into a relegation battle.

Mike Ashley should need no reminding that a bad start is difficult to wipe out. Last time United went down, in 2008/9, they were actually better off than they are at the moment.

Back then, Newcastle had five points from seven. Those points had been collected from a fixture list that included four fixtures against teams that had finished in the top seven – including Arsenal and Manchester United.

This year, United have taken four despite facing just ONE team that finished in the top seven last season: Manchester City, which was on the opening day. Three of their opponents finished below them last season but they still haven’t managed a win.

This is not to suggest that Newcastle are already down, of course. But to read Mike Williamson saying things like Newcastle go into the international break “on a high” and to see the players lining up to support Pardew suggests that the overriding feeling in the Magpies camp is that they will turn a corner soon.

They might do. Newcastle’s squad is better than their current league placing suggests and their next game against Leicester – who leak goals themselves – offers Pardew an opportunity to build on the foundations of a battling point at Swansea.

But let’s not kid ourselves: the anxiety and upset of Newcastle fans is not without merit. The Pardew protests are borne of a deep-rooted fear at the direction the club is going in – and if history is anything to go by, they appear to be justified.

So should Ashley ditch Pardew now?

Well the evidence suggests that a managerial change in October makes a difference. West Brom, Bolton, Spurs, Sunderland and Crystal Palace all upgraded either in October and September and all clambered to survival.

In fact, the ONLY club to finish in the top ten after such a bad start was Tottenham – who broke the bank to take Portsmouth’s then-manager Redknapp and then furnished him with serious money to make it work.

There is even worse news for Ashley – he will probably have to get his hand in his pocket to save Newcastle too. The average price of mounting a salvage operation is £10million.

Of the sides that managed to stay in the division after their poor start, virtually all of them invested in January.

Bolton in 2007/08 spent £12million while Redknapp – somehow – persuaded the Spurs board to spend a whopping £39million. More realistic amounts were spent by Sunderland – £2.5million last January on three players – and Crystal Palace, who wheeled and dealed with £3million.

But standing still and reflecting on a summer of recruitment, as Ashley had hoped to do in January, is simply not an option.

See you in the Championship fellas.

Another day, another excuse, with Alan Pardew now laying the blame for his failings at the door of this summer's recruitment drive, stating he needs 'big players' in January to pull the club out of the mess he has put it in:

“This club needs big players because we are a big scalp for any team. For Swansea, we would be a big scalp. Forget where we are in the league. We need big players and our big players need to stand up. We also need to create more big players and that’s what we are trying to do.”

Oh how things have changed within the space of a few months. This is what Pardew said earlier in the summer:

“We have more depth and more quality. It was fairly obvious he listened to me at the back end of last year and the support I’ve had in terms of the signing of the new players is exactly what was needed. I’ve nothing to moan about now in terms of what’s happened this summer. We have a strong squad, perhaps the biggest and best I’ve ever had in terms of options so we’re in a great position."

Everyday this man remains employed is a miscarriage of justice.

Oh, and Yanga Mbiwa is back in the France squad. Funny that.

There are too many ridiculous things going on at the club. Ashely has to be taking the mickey out of the club and supporters. I can come to no other logical explanation for keeping pardew. Even the PR is laughably bad and so full of holes. I cant accept that anyone could do a worse job even if they tried

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

I was expecting a sacking in the days leading up to the internationals tbh, get new man in with a good week of training before the next game but alas ...

GT_TDI_150 wrote: »
    I was expecting a sacking in the days leading up to the internationals tbh, get new man in with a good week of training before the next game but alas ...

That would be the logical thing to do.

So it won't happen.

He'll sack Pardew on the 31st January at 11:59pm after signing no players and we're bottom on 7 points(we were awarded a 3-0 victory when an opposing team felt sorry for us and didn't turn up).

Mike Williamson has admitted Newcastle United are currently “miles apart” from the top teams, but insisted Alan Pardew was the man to lead the club forward.

In what has become a trait in recent weeks, the defender is the latest senior member of the dressing room to come out and back his boss.

Newcastle will continue their so far elusive search for a first Premier League win when they face Leicester City at home this weekend.

A win could take them out of the bottom three, something of a minor triumph for a club that should have far greater ambitions given the financial stability Newcastle enjoy.

But Williamson agreed with his manager with regards to what United can hope for in this current era.

He said: “The strength of the league is phenomenal and I think if you look at the budgets we’re miles apart from the top teams, but it’s a target for the not too distant future because we’re looking to build every year.

“We want to cement ourselves as a top-seven team, and the manager and everyone else is working so hard to make that a reality.”

Asked whether Pardew was the best hope for the club, Williamson said: “He certainly has the right credentials. He’s come in and in terms of the teams, we have been building.

“We’ve had some difficult periods over the last four or five years, but in terms of consistency, training discipline, structure and mentality, he’s the right man and there are exciting times ahead.

“He’s a fantastic manager. He’s got a wealth of experience at every level and he’s the focal point of the club so he is going to come in for criticism at a big club with the expectations we have.”

Williamson did admit that the past few weeks have been difficult.

Everyone, from owner to manager and players, has been forced to live under intense scrutiny after a poor start to what had promised to be a good season.

Williamson, speaking in an interview with Shoot magazine, said: “It’s the profession and to play or manage at this level you need thick skin.

“People are entitled to their opinion because they come along and support the team.

“Sometimes it can be a bit fierce, but that’s the industry we are in, and we’re just trying to communicate that we’re trying all we can to get that win.

“We’ve got the same goals as the fans and if it’s a case of blocking it out then that’s what we need to do.”

Williamson acknowledged his team’s home form in 2014 had been nowhere close to good enough.

It’s one of the many reasons why St James’ Park has to become a place opposition teams fear again, starting with the visit of newly-promoted Leicester this weekend.

Williamson said: “The manager has actively been trying to rectify this because we want St James’ Park to be a fortress. It’s a fantastic stadium and the fans are incredibly loud.”

What credentials does he have Mike? Getting relegated? Sacked from a job IN LEAGUE ONE?

This sycophantic bull**** being churned out by League One standard cobblers like him drives me crazy.

It's like a cult of personality has taken over at the club.

Again, I ask: What credentials does P45due have?

Of course williamson is going to defend Pardew. What other manager would put up with Williamson as a first choice centre back? He must be thanking his lucky stars!

No doubt he was informed of his standing and instructed to pound the pavements in support or else face ending his career in League 1

So will the village idiot still be around after we drop points against yet another poor side?

We haven't even come to the tough run of games yet. We could and probably will be bottom by Christmas. Unless Burnley and QPR are nice enough to continue to be hopeless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭BArra

While I agree Obertan is a liability, I would say Obertan has performed a bit better than the past few seasons.
    Cabella just isn't adapting as quick as others have. He goes down so easilly and then gets stroppy when he dosent get a free.

BArra wrote: »
    While I agree Obertan is a liability, I would say Obertan has performed a bit better than the past few seasons.
    Cabella just isn't adapting as quick as others have. He goes down so easilly and then gets stroppy when he dosent get a free.

Poor signings and/or poor management are forcing us to use previous failures. Dressing them up as a reasonable option is galling tbh. He may have looked better recently but the level has been so bad he has looked above average

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Apparently the new screen at SJP is a safety concern. Mike Dean having a look at it according to Twitterers.

TV screen in danger of falling off and the club have stopped giving food to the press.

Such an embarrassing club to follow right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭bazual

Leicester
    SUBS: Hamer, Hammond, Vardy, King, Knockaert, Wasilewski, Nugent.

Leicester XI: Schmeichel, De Laet, Konchesky, Drinkwater, Morgan (c), James, Albrighton, Schlupp, Moore, Cambiasso, Ulloa.

Newcastle

SUBS: Elliot, Haidara, Anita, Abeid, Cabella, Perez, Armstrong.

Newcastle XI: Krul; Janmaat, Coloccini (c), S.Taylor, Dummett; Sissoko, Colback, Tiote; Obertan, Cisse, Gouffran.

4-5-1 again, does this man ever learn????? we are at home for sake, against Leicester!!!!!

Has riviere been dropped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,475 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Off a cliff, hopefully.

injured

Kick off at 4pm now lads.

10 past 3 and we are not losing, whoop

B0PDF8hIEAAVJVX.jpg

Tiote injured in the warm up

Cmon Leicester!

There's the warning shot.

desperately hoping for a heavy loss to be honest, beginning to hate the club

This is absolutely woeful, even by P45due standards.

It does not matter how you dress up the likes of obertan and williamson, they may have a good game now and again but they are far below PL standard.

Cisse???

#pardewed

this will give ye a laugh anyway

https://vine.co/v/ObmF29uViE1

ruddy ek

Sunderland loosing 8 nil and I cant really enjoy it

M5 wrote: »
    Sunderland loosing 8 nil and I cant really enjoy it

That was as poor as we've played all season. We're getting WORSE.

Will he be sacked? Of course not.

Moneymaker wrote: »
    That was as poor as we've played all season. We're getting WORSE.

Will he be sacked? Of course not.

Ashley is winding up the fans, im convinced. There is no other logical reason for keeping this clown in charge

@NUFC_Stats
    This is Vurnon Anita's 63rd Premier League appearance. He has 1 goal and 2 assists in that time! 4425 mins!

:eek::eek::eek:

That's former Holland international and Ajax Academy graduate Vernon Anita.

Pardewed.

Oh **** me.

barn door cisse? :confused::mad::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Loads of us watching the 2nd half of this game now I'd say. Great to have a 4pm kick off on a day with no 5.30 game.

Win a match. Still in bottom 3.

Pardew Progress.

Very fortunate to win that, thought Leicester deserved a point at minimum.

Papering over gigantic gaping cracks.

A disappointing victory, if such a thing.

Just prolongs the stay on an inept manager that looked ready to crack in the final 5 minutes this evening.

Fair play to Gabby though.

If obertan is your star performer (and to his credit he probably has been in the last 3), be afraid, very afraid!

Never felt so negatively about a win in all my life. At home to Leicester and we have to fúcking grind out a win.

Look, we're not world beaters but let's be honest, we're much better than that. We deserve better.

Obertan was great but the rest of the team look so abject and we have zero creativity.

A very lucky win. In fact, our first league win since May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Didn't even bother to watch the game today. Can't see that changing in the foreseeable future either. Really starting to despise the club and the poison atmosphere that comes with it.