Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What car would you like to see re-introduced to the market?

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭Will_I_Regret

Wish they kept the Mitsubishi Evo series going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Casati

..apart from the rust

I only remember the metal bit on the pop out window rusting, but having said the one in our house was gone before it was 6 years old

Surprised nobody has mentioned the Honda HRV. There were a group of boards posters who continually recommended these yokes to anybody looking for a 7 seater- personally I could never see the attraction of having somebody wedged into the middle front seat beside the driver Berlingo style but they had a following

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Ikozma

An all new Ford Capri or Sierra would be nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,293 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

MK 1 Ford Focus with better dash materials soft touch all around and a touch screen where the radio was but still physical controls for the heating oh and DRLs as well. Also as a hybrid and electric car. Who knows maybe Ford will do it in the future.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Ms

Casati wrote: »
    I only remember the metal bit on the pop out window rusting, but having said the one in our house was gone before it was 6 years old

Surprised nobody has mentioned the Honda HRV. There were a group of boards posters who continually recommended these yokes to anybody looking for a 7 seater- personally I could never see the attraction of having somebody wedged into the middle front seat beside the driver Berlingo style but they had a following

That's not the HRV that's the FRV you are thinking off. Great car , classy and very clever for it's time.

I agree Honda should bring it back. The HRV is smaller and certainly not a 7 seater or even a 6 seater.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

AMKC wrote: »
    MK 1 Ford Focus
    Fantastic car that was.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Ikozma

Renault 5 or 19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

Possibly mentioned - Renault Fuego

Sporty looks

Ms

Wibbs wrote: »
    Fantastic car that was.

Yep it sure was.
    I wish Ford would do something radical and brave like that again.
    Darc19 wrote: »
    Possibly mentioned - Renault Fuego

Sporty looks

Nope not mentioned yet. Great pick.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Ms

Ikozma wrote: »
    Renault 5 or 19

The Renault 5 modernised as an electric car would be great alright but the on 19 I prefer the Megane. Just never liked the square dash in the 19 although the revamped model did look better inside and out. My Uncle had one for a few years before his Megane Classic.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Wibbs wrote: »
    While it doesn't look like one the new leccy Citroen Ami is pretty close to the concept of the 2CV.

OK top whack is 50 kph and range is entirely aimed at urban driving, but for 6000 of your finest yoyos you can't really go wrong. I doubt it could cross a ploughed field carrying a basket of eggs without breaking them, but still.

Not usually a fan of EVs, but there's one I absolutely love the idea of!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,654 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

MK 1 Ford Focus with better dash materials soft touch all around and a touch screen where the radio was but still physical controls for the heating oh and DRLs as well. Also as a hybrid and electric car. Who knows maybe Ford will do it in the future.

Regrettably, you're probably crediting Ford with more imagination than they posess.

When you see them slap the Mustang brand onto an ugly electric SUV you know they're bang out of ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,238 ✭✭✭saabsaab

galwaytt wrote: »
    Saab 900 with modern Tech.

+1 on that, with EV.

Ms

Regrettably, you're probably crediting Ford with more imagination than they posess.

When you see them slap the Mustang brand onto an ugly electric SUV you know they're bang out of ideas

Ye your probably right. Like a lot of manufacturers there best days are probably behind them.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭1874

The Renault 5 modernised as an electric car would be great alright but the on 19 I prefer the Megane. Just never liked the square dash in the 19 although the revamped model did look better inside and out. My Uncle had one for a few years before his Megane Classic.

The squared off look cold be very retro, Id suggest a Datsun Cherry, but in EV, havent even started on the xmas drink, be lunchtime. Really many older cars, with modern tech would look great, styling not rehashed much or at all, just the tech, that Matra, looks great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

E38 BMW. Only thing you could improve is the infotainment, new head unit job done, oh, and a plastic fuel tank.

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭leanin2019

Was always fond of the Honda Accord and was disappointed when they discontinued it

2_ffa05b4c-f93c-4bbd-a.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

leanin2019 wrote: »
    Was always fond of the Honda Accord and was disappointed when they discontinued it

2_ffa05b4c-f93c-4bbd-a.jpg

I agree totally, I blame Honda UK for that decision, they wanted to have only UK built models in Europe and hated the fact that the Accord was imported from Japan and decided to can it.
    Now look at the Honda EU lineup, I can't think of one model they make/made that would interest me.
    Civic Type R is just too focused for me.
    Luckily I have a Mk8 Type S Tourer so that will do for a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭JCJCJC

Mercedes W108/9

Mercedes_Benz_300_SEL_6.3_W109_Kaufberatung_1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭noelf

peasant wrote: »
    continuing with Renault

the electric R4 (or something similar ..simple,

Wow you were onto something there 👏

Renault to revive bestselling cars with electric makeover - sources
    By Reuters Staff

PARIS (Reuters) - Renault’s new boss Luca de Meo will revive some best-selling models from the 1960s to 90s era as electric cars under a turnaround plan aimed at improving sales and repositioning the struggling automaker, two sources familiar with the matter said.

De Meo is due to unveil his strategy update on Jan. 14, which is expected to focus on the product ranges the company will bet on - including a nod to Renault’s past.

The loss-making French firm has already announced 2 billion euros in cost savings and job cuts in its bid to improve margins and boost the group’s performance in an auto market hit hard by the COVID-19 pandemic and under pressure to produce cleaner vehicles.

De Meo, who has said he wanted to lean on the brand’s French roots, will unveil an electric version of the now-phased-out small 4L cars introduced in the early 1960s, the two sources said.

There will also be a revived, electric version of another popular 1970s and 1980s model, based on the R5 or its successor the “Super Cinq”, the sources added.

Renault declined to comment.

“Luca de Meo is very focused on the products, and his strategy plan will be too,” one of the sources said.

Among other Renault brands, the group will also present three new electric models for the Alpine sportscar label, the sources added.

One of Renault’s challenges will be to create distinct identities for each of the brands, which also include Dacia and Lada.

The company has already flagged that it wants to focus on a smaller number of ranges and hone in on profitable products, as well as potentially exiting some markets, reversing the global push based on volumes under former boss Carlos Ghosn.

Sources had previously told Reuters that well-known but ailing models like the Espace minivans could be among those that are now phased out.

Reporting by Gilles Guillaume, Writing by Sarah White; Editing by Kirsten Donovan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭davidglanza

Rs500 cosworth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,472 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Weirdly I like the new Mustang thingy- commercially they are right to milk their “premium” brand/badge - the German big three have after all made their fortunes doing this- there is a lot of value to be exploited from the Mustang badge so Ford are dead right to do so.
    Got a great review in Autocar, but is £57k list price in England. Making it over €60k here which is E Class territory so v remains rubbish be seen where it’ll fit. Guess they’re going after Tesla etc here at this price point

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,476 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Saab Sonett III, I have been obsessed for years. In a similar vein style-wise Datsun 240z

Ms

Citroen AX. I think it could be a perfect small electric car for Citroen.
    One on my cousins had an original one and I still remember that drive up the M1 and he saying it's his own little Ferrari lol it was that loud practically screaming the poor thing was.
    Long time since he had that now. Last time I seen him and his wife they had a Citroen C5.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

The old 3 door Ford Sierra (cosworth preferably) I remember my cousins in London had the old 3 door for years and I said if they ever wanted to get rid I would buy it, great until my aunt wrote it off coming out on new Ross one evening.

Opel Manta

Escort XR3i

Mazda 323f (with the pop up lights)

Nissan Patrol

Ford rs200

Mitsubishi Galant

There’s an app/games called top drives that’s like top trumps for cars and they have the majority of all the makes of cars and old models on there (along with some of the more out there ones, donkervoot, de tomaso, Ruf etc) and my god it’s like car porn going through some of the old makes and models there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Purgative

Limbo123 wrote: »
    This!

Had that car back in "aw feck". Beautiful, beautiful car. Never the same since a motorcyclist jumped the lights and hit me head on.

Sold it when we got married :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,472 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Citroen AX. I think it could be a perfect small electric car for Citroen.
    One on my cousins had an original one and I still remember that drive up the M1 and he saying it's his own little Ferrari lol it was that loud practically screaming the poor thing was.
    Long time since he had that now. Last time I seen him and his wife they had a Citroen C5.

They have an even smaller lighter yoke called the Ami just out. More of a Renault Twizzy rival. Doubt it’s in Ireland yet if ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,336 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Brand new MK2 Escort if you're feeling flush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

alias no.9 wrote: »
    Brand new MK2 Escort if you're feeling flush

I was looking on that site last week after coming across it over on the classics thread. I would certainly love to treat myself to a fresh Mk1 someday.

• Registered Users Posts: 29 DroidJoi

RX7 FD3S

Skyline R34

I didn't bother with the "manufacturers" name as the cars had a unique identity and a class apart from the normal models by said manufacturers.

I can't post links. Hopefully someone else can.

RIP to the above. Some excellent memories.