Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Potential Wind? Friday 21st Oct 2011.

Options
  • 10-10-2011 1:06pm
    Registered Users Posts: 698 ✭✭✭

Hello all,

Again I'm very new to this weather stuff... so go easy.... :)

Just looking at some charts for the future and noticed these pair...(See enclosed pictures).

Is it fair to say that a low pressure system centered near Ireland with tight isobars coupled with a strong Jet stream overhead would give rise to a good wind event?

OR are the two independent/mutually exclusive? that is, pressure at ground and jet stream...

Thanks again,
    T

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 9,010 ✭✭✭Tom Cruises Left Nut

I thought this was a curry related thread :o

• Registered Users Posts: 5,068 ✭✭✭Iancar29

You do know its 11 days out?..... this WILL change if not disappear altogether.

But in anyways in would be a windy day yes , nothing too dramatic though .

• Registered Users Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭Pangea

Iancar29 wrote: »
    He posted something similar two weeks in advance of ex Katia ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Tazio

Iancar29 wrote: »

But in anyways in would be a windy day yes , nothing too dramatic though .

Hi...thanks for the reply. I know it's ages away.. and in terms of our weather 'system' here in Ireland it's an infinite time off. Just posting as a thoroughbred amateur. Now off to read the thread about which weather station to buy.. ;)

Pangea wrote: »
    He posted something similar two weeks in advance of ex Katia ;)

That was a complete fluke... thanks all the same :D

Cheers lads,
    T..

Common isobars.... squash up a little bit more..... ;)