Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish country singers struggling in time of Covid

Shur Blindboy was begging in the paper there a while ago..

Leave her off..she's kinda hot..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

It's braindead music, pure ****e. But I would sympathise with anyone struggling.

I'm not giving that rag a click, but no OP, radio play means fück all financially speaking unless they have gigs to promote.

There's a whole industry of musicians, technicians and crews really struggling at the moment and they will be among the very last to return to work.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,276 ✭✭✭kenmc

Good. In the context of country and western cr@p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

My Mother and her new partner met at an Irish C&W festival. They love the music, the dancing, and the socialising aspect of it all. I'd hope they get an opportunity to enjoy it all again very soon.

I've noticed there's a lot of cynicism on here about things that other people find enjoyable.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,255 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

quit Jivin' me, turkey

• Registered Users Posts: 12,846 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I've noticed there's a lot of cynicism on here about things that other people find enjoyable.

Especially from you

• Registered Users Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

I'm okay with country music dying off because of covid 19

• Registered Users Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

"My damn wife just left me,
    Muh dog ran away.
    Muh cattle got hungry,
    Cos someone stole my hay.

Then I crashed my big tractor,
    And ruptured my spleen.
    And to cap it all off,
    I got covid-19."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Blaze420

They won’t be stuck for a few new lyrics after Covid anyway - stories about the angst of shovelling **** with your bare hands cos the shovel is broken, your shoes are worn out so you can’t walk the road but the hardware stores are closed anyway over some twangly guitar chords. It will be a golden age for them

• Registered Users Posts: 8,975 ✭✭✭pgj2015

PsychoPete wrote: »
    I'm okay with country music dying off because of covid 19

Exactly, maybe all the culchies will come to their senses and ask themselves what the hell they were doing jumping, and yee yawing with other culchies pretending they are from Texas.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,884 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

My Mother and her new partner met at an Irish C&W festival. They love the music, the dancing, and the socialising aspect of it all. I'd hope they get an opportunity to enjoy it all again very soon.

I’d be more cynical about the young lady on giving it the fûcking poor mouth, like nobody else is feeling it financially and missing something or things they also enjoy doing... she can collect her covid payment, spend her time wisely, write a few songs and quit the poor mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

If it ain't Waylon - it ain't country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

https://www.thesun.ie/tvandshowbiz/5497398/cliona-hagan-country-artists-struggling-late-late-country-special-cancelled-covid/

I understand their woes, but there does seem to be a strong element of begging for attention here.
    That live shows is the only thing keeping them float.
    Does local radio play not even help a little...

That link and images should come with a warning - attractive lady, lanky streak of piss then attractive lady.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,369 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

But your whole persona is built around being an elitist cultural snob?

Arghus wrote: »
    But your whole persona is built around being an elitist cultural snob?

Hoi!!..What's wrong with that?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,839 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Blaze420 wrote: »
    They won’t be stuck for a few new lyrics after Covid anyway - stories about the angst of shovelling **** with your bare hands cos the shovel is broken, your shoes are worn out so you can’t walk the road but the hardware stores are closed anyway over some twangly guitar chords. It will be a golden age for them

You're thinking of 'Merican country music. Irish country music is all about how lovely people are, and how lovely places are. They tend to shy away from the negative nature of 'Merican country music.

Classics like 'Brown Eyes', 'Cottage in the Country' and literally anything by Big Tom.

I always find it hard to feel for musicians tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,240 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Post does not fit with poster's posting history...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,917 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

I remember the early days of TippFM and Tipp Mid West radio in the late 80s-1990s. The majority of music was rock, pop music from the 70s, 80s and 90s. They went full in on the diddly eye and paddy whackary from the early 2000s up until very recently. TippMW was playing rock music from the likes of Bon Jovi and The Who the other day. Both stations lost a lot of listener playing country and Irish.

Ah, I think the whole country music revival thing is kind of cute..

Probably a belting night out..good looking country girls..

• Registered Users Posts: 13,839 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I remember the early days of TippFM and Tipp Mid West radio in the late 80s-1990s. The majority of music was rock, pop music from the 70s, 80s and 90s. They went full in on the diddly eye and paddy whackary from the early 2000s up until very recently. TippMW was playing rock music from the likes of Bon Jovi and The Who the other day. Both stations lost a lot of listener playing country and Irish.

It's when they start playing the rock music, my parents turn it off. They love the country and there's only about 2 stations that play it that can be picked up.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,285 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Big country stars who have spent years going around the country pulling a few grand a nights work complaining of hard times. Give me a break.

• Registered Users Posts: 85,392 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

"My damn wife just left me,
    Muh dog ran away.
    Muh cattle got hungry,
    Cos someone stole my hay.

Then I crashed my big tractor,
    And ruptured my spleen.
    And to cap it all off,
    I got covid-19."

You'll sell 5 nights out in Croke Park :p

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,282 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    You'll sell 5 nights out in Croke Park :p

* Subject to licence

• Registered Users Posts: 6,439 ✭✭✭touts

I suppose it is true that the Country and Western business has been hit particularly hard. Most of the deaths were from the over 80s who make up their followers. They are a niche market that was already in serious decline. If you are 31 and bet your career on the average life expectancy figures in Ireland suddenly spiking to 90+ then something like Covid-19 is the last thing you need.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,157 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

She has a very plastic looking head.

I dunno..She's looking well on that bale of hay..

Of course you'd have to see tubridy with the feckin hat though..

Zaph wrote: »
    * Subject to licence