Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How contactable are you?

• 15-05-2021 4:10pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭

I am fairly bad. I usually do get back to people but sometimes I forget. Unless I am expecting someone to call I rarely answer and will have to call them back.

I'd often leave the house with no phone. Or leave it thrown around some place. Nobody is depending on me to be reachable at all times so tis grand.

What about the rest of ye? I'm sure there's someone here who designed a nuclear reactor that's used in many countries and if it starts melting down with some rookie behind the controls he will be the only one able to tell them how to stop it. There is probably another boardsie who lives on a Pacific island with only a satellite phone he doesn't bother charging, preferring to use smoke signals to notify other islanders about the party at his gaff.

• Registered Users Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

Pretty bad. Im not phone oriented at all. Or particularly people oriented either. Bit easier to get a hold of than Osama Bin laden was I'd say.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,318 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

No mobile coverage at home address so in reality don't txt me and expect a reply by return.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users Posts: 575 ✭✭✭SupaCat95

Depends on who you are?
    Only people who contact me have my phone number.
    If it work, dont contact me unless you been shot and bleeding out and you have been through every other name in the phone book.
    My time and I am off!

• Registered Users Posts: 28,856 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Absolutely fantastically uncontactable, it's bliss

• Registered Users Posts: 24,850 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

perfectly and easily contactable... phone apps, social media etc..

I respond efficiently ie. when I can...

I have a friend whom gets annoyed if you don’t respond ASAP to her, but I could be two hours or more waiting for a reply from her... she’s been like that for the 15 or so years since I’ve known her... she has an excuse now as she recently became a first time parent but still..

• Registered Users Posts: 13,036 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I can be reached anytime via my Only Fans page.

Linky...

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 16,464 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Easily contactable if I want contact with you, otherwise sit tight and prepare to wait or be ignored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Always have phone with me but if it's an unrecognised number and no voice message is left then I'm not getting back to you. The number of bogus calls and SMS around these days means you're likely to be put on a number blacklist.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Always have phone with me but if it's an unrecognised number and no voice message is left then I'm not getting back to you. The number of bogus calls and SMS around these days means you're likely to be put on a number blacklist.

Far better at night than by day - during the day/evening or weekends I might be out or not have the phone or have it buried or volume turned down in a pocket or be driving - but at night I’m generally attentive & available online.

For work - you’d better be awarding me a cheque fo a nobel prize if you’re even thinking of contacting me.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

I'm a bit old school in boards terms.

If the phone rings I answer it, if the doorbell rings I answer it.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Not very. I find phones to be very intrusive and I value my privacy. I don't bring or use my phone with me when I'm out to shops or in the company of others. Only on FB which I barely use these days.

I'll get back to you when I'm ready.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Jim Gazebo

if I'm resting or with the family I rarely am on the phone or even reply to anyone, or even check it, could be a few days for a reply to anyone. But the only exception (unfortunately) is work. I work a specialised job and get regular urgent calls to attend for short periods of time. I'm still young so I'm okay with it for now as the money is good but I'll be knocking it on the head in a few years.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭arctictree

I know a lad that bought a house in a rural area and only noticed after moving in that there was no signal. A well known local blackspot. Had to sell in the end and move on as he couldn't run his business from there.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

arctictree wrote: »
    I know a lad that bought a house in a rural area and only noticed after moving in that there was no signal. A well known local blackspot. Had to sell in the end and move on as he couldn't run his business from there.

The award for taking the nuclear option goes to your friend.

arctictree wrote: »

Hash tag didn't happen

I always have my phone with me, wouldn’t be without it, but I’m rarely contactable unless it’s within working hours or it’s family. I keep all “seen” or “read” notifications switched off but everyone knows by now I’ll have seen calls/messages and just not replied.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

My phone would be near me most of the time, and always on vibrate notification (sound on only if I'm expecting an important call). That way I can just screen whoever is texting or calling and decide if I want to converse. Unknown numbers can f*ck off. The friend who rings to talk about his job (again) for forty minutes without even asking how I am will mostly not have his calls answered unless I'm already insanely bored. The colleague who calls to talk about The Crown on Netflix can also go to voicemail.

Most others are fine. If I leave the house, phone is always with me if someone else is minding the baby.

Antares35 wrote: »
    My phone would be near me most of the time, and always on vibrate notification (sound on only if I'm expecting an important call). That way I can just screen whoever is texting or calling and decide if I want to converse. Unknown numbers can f*ck off. The friend who rings to talk about his job (again) for forty minutes without even asking how I am will mostly not have his calls answered unless I'm already insanely bored. The colleague who calls to talk about The Crown on Netflix can also go to voicemail.

Most others are fine. If I leave the house, phone is always with me if someone else is minding the baby.

There was a debate here a few weeks back on not answering unknown numbers. It got pretty heated with accusations of people “being on the spectrum” or “being triggered” for not answering unknown calls bandied around.

In terms of work, all notifications are off outside the working day. I’m available on WhatsApp and sms and for a call until about 9pm. Unknown calls are ignored unless I am expecting a delivery.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

There was a debate here a few weeks back on not answering unknown numbers. It got pretty heated with accusations of people “being on the spectrum” or “being triggered” for not answering unknown calls bandied around.

Nothing surprises me on Boards. People get accused of being paedophile sympathisers because they watch the weather forecast. If you're not being accused of something, you're doing it wrong :D

As much as I want to be.

Anything regarding work only when I am on the clock.

Family and friends always unless busy.

Anyone else, send an email or leave a voice mail and I might get back to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Snails pace

Feisar wrote: »
    I'm a bit old school in boards terms.

If the phone rings I answer it, if the doorbell rings I answer it.

I am the same. I don't understand the fear of a phone call or an unknown number. I'm very bad for emails. I prefer to pick up the phone to someone be it for a chat or if I need help fixing something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

I am the same. I don't understand the fear of a phone call or an unknown number. I'm very bad for emails. I prefer to pick up the phone to someone be it for a chat or if I need help fixing something.

It’s isn’t fear, it’s inconvenient being interrupted at any random point throughout the day. Computers communicate with each other using protocols in which the sender asks if the destination is there and is able to accept messages. I treat all my communications in the same way, if I am ringing you then I’m not stating you have to answer, merely that I would like to contact and you can get back to me when you are available, same for text messages. When somebody is ringing me I assume they are aware this is the protocol, in the past some people have become disgruntled because they believe in the outdated protocol that when they ring you’re then are expected to answer immediately, dinosaurs.

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Snails pace

begbysback wrote: »
    It’s isn’t fear, it’s inconvenient being interrupted at any random point throughout the day. Computers communicate with each other using protocols in which the sender asks if the destination is there and is able to accept messages. I treat all my communications in the same way, if I am ringing you then I’m not stating you have to answer, merely that I would like to contact and you can get back to me when you are available, same for text messages. When somebody is ringing me I assume they are aware this is the protocol, in the past some people have become disgruntled because they believe in the outdated protocol that when they ring you’re then are expected to answer immediately, dinosaurs.

I fully understand being contacted out of hours when your at work. I don't take calls between 1 and 2pm. After 6pm I don't answer the phone to unknown numbers. I don't have a work phone. Just one mobile number. I just mean in general some people don't like answering a phone. A cousin had an issue with a package. I asked if she called them. She said she didn't because it makes her anxious talking on the phone.

There’s that “fear” nonsense again. Like the other thread. Do you fear the emails you don’t answer? Or do you just choose not to answer them?

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭timeToLive

begbysback wrote: »

I go one step further and don't even return calls :D (unless it's family). If you really need me you can call me again or drop a message to say why you need me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

I fully understand being contacted out of hours when your at work. I don't take calls between 1 and 2pm. After 6pm I don't answer the phone to unknown numbers. I don't have a work phone. Just one mobile number. I just mean in general some people don't like answering a phone. A cousin had an issue with a package. I asked if she called them. She said she didn't because it makes her anxious talking on the phone.

But that isn’t actually an issue with “talking on the phone”, ask her to ring her mates then and see what she says. That’s an issue with asking for your money back, whether it’s walking into the shop or over the phone.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

I've my phone set to go to voice-mail very quickly. Rarely answer it. If I see a missed call or they leave a voice-mail I listen to it and make a decision if calling back or not. Depends on who it is and what they want or what I think they might want.

In no way, shape or form am I ever willing to be contactable at all times. Walking the dog for an hour, phone stays where it is. Out and about doing a few things, leave phone in car quite often unless it suits me to bring it. Annoys people quite a lot when I don't answer and don't call back but it is what it is.

Never answer a number I don't know. Never answer withheld numbers.

Disclaimer: not on spectrum, and I'm not afraid

• Registered Users Posts: 3,307 ✭✭✭HBC08

I am probably too contactable.
    I have 3 phones,my own phone and a work phone for 2 different jobs.
    I have the option to not answer my own phone and one of the work ones to an extent,the 2nd work phone is my own business and I'll answer it straight away 24/7.It's a seasonal business and only really rings for a 4 month period but it's relentless. It's a big stressor during that period but every call = money or something important.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,850 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

No problem with unknown numbers, I just answer them, in the main..

Hidden numbers I can’t abide whatsoever.....

Be it a business ( Bxxts the chemist I’m looking at you ) or a regular Joe soap, if you regularly ring people using hidden numbers you are a bit of a dose.