Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How many cars have you owned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,310 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

2004 - 2001 Opel Corsa
    2006 - 2004 A4 1.9TDi
    2007 - 2004 Mazda RX8
    2009 - 2006 Opel Astra OPC
    2011 - 2008 2L diesel Toyota Auris
    2018 - 2015 2L diesel Toyota Rav 4
    2020 - 2016 2.5L diesel Toyota Hilux
    2021 - 2019 Nissan leaf.

Best car was the A4. A perfect all rounder. Plenty fast, very comfortable and ultra reliable. That 1.9Tdi engine was perfect IMO. Sold her far too soon and on a silly impulse.

2L diesel Auris was a close 2nd. Loved that car. Absolutely bullet proof and plenty poke.

Ironically, the Hilux was my worst buy. I loved the jeep, but it gave me no end of trouble and I had to move her on.

Currently driving a Leaf while my wife has a Tucson for the kids. I'd say we won't be changing either car for a good while!

What Jeep? You didn't have any Jeeps. Maybe you mean the Rav-4. Aa far as I am aware the Hilux is a pick-up by Toyota and certainly not a Jeep.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭krissovo

I was in the public service (UK & Germany) for 15 years so didn't have much money for the early part of my career and I think it shows :D

I think its 26 in total and a mixed bag of cars.

Volvo 66 (crankshaft through engine block)
    Renault 5 basic spec (rusted to nothing)
    Vauxhall Cavalier Mk2 GLS (wrote off on country road by friend)
    Citroen AX GT (wrote off, telegraph pole)
    1275 GT mini (first car I managed to sell in tact)
    Renault 18 TLS (rusted to nothing)
    Mk1 Golf GTI (failed MOT for rust and sold for parts)
    Escort XR3i (failed MOT for rust)
    Renault 5 GT Turbo (sold privately, met my German wife, moved to Germany and we had kids)
    1971 VW Camper (Sold to pay for wedding)
    Renault 21 estate (crashed on autobahn after falling asleep)
    Opel Corsa (given for free by friend for 3 months and then scrapped)
    Daihatsu Grand Move (First brand new car and the low point of my car ownership but cheap and reliable, she got the car in divorce)

Got a job in the private sector during my divorce so now had a bit more money :D

MGZR 120 (Brand new, kept for 15 years and was converted to a track car after 8 years)
    BMW 325c (company car 3 year lease)
    BMW 520 (company car, 2 year lease)
    Mercedes C class (company car, 2 year lease)
    1976 VW Westfala Camper (still own)
    Mercedes E200 estate (Brand new, 1st trade in)
    Volvo XC90 (brand new, gave to my 2nd wife)
    1966 VW camper split screen (still own)
    Mercedes AMG 6.3 CLS (The ultimate car of my ownership and sold to export company)
    Nissan Leaf 40kw (brand new, great car but needed more range)
    Tesla Model 3 LR (brand new, poor quality paint and fitting so traded in at higher cost of price)
    Dethleff’s Motorhome basically a fiat ducato (2015 2nd hand and still own)
    Mercedes EQC - Current car

krissovo wrote: »
    I was in the public service (UK & Germany) for 15 years so didn't have much money for the early part of my career and I think it shows :D

I think its 26 in total and a mixed bag of cars.

Volvo 66 (crankshaft through engine block)
    Renault 5 basic spec (rusted to nothing)
    Vauxhall Cavalier Mk2 GLS (wrote off on country road by friend)
    Citroen AX GT (wrote off, telegraph pole)
    1275 GT mini (first car I managed to sell in tact)
    Renault 18 TLS (rusted to nothing)
    Mk1 Golf GTI (failed MOT for rust and sold for parts)
    Escort XR3i (failed MOT for rust)
    Renault 5 GT Turbo (sold privately, met my German wife, moved to Germany and we had kids)
    1971 VW Camper (Sold to pay for wedding)
    Renault 21 estate (crashed on autobahn after falling asleep)
    Opel Corsa (given for free by friend for 3 months and then scrapped)
    Daihatsu Grand Move (First brand new car and the low point of my car ownership but cheap and reliable, she got the car in divorce)

Got a job in the private sector during my divorce so now had a bit more money :D

MGZR 120 (Brand new, kept for 15 years and was converted to a track car after 8 years)
    BMW 325c (company car 3 year lease)
    BMW 520 (company car, 2 year lease)
    Mercedes C class (company car, 2 year lease)
    1976 VW Westfala Camper (still own)
    Mercedes E200 estate (Brand new, 1st trade in)
    Volvo XC90 (brand new, gave to my 2nd wife)
    1966 VW camper split screen (still own)
    Mercedes AMG 6.3 CLS (The ultimate car of my ownership and sold to export company)
    Nissan Leaf 40kw (brand new, great car but needed more range)
    Tesla Model 3 LR (brand new, poor quality paint and fitting so traded in at higher cost of price)
    Dethleff’s Motorhome basically a fiat ducato (2015 2nd hand and still own)
    Mercedes EQC - Current car

A life in cars :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Laszlo Cravensworth

AMKC wrote: »
    What Jeep? You didn't have any Jeeps. Maybe you mean the Rav-4. Aa far as I am aware the Hilux is a pick-up by Toyota and certainly not a Jeep.

Meant the Lux.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Some great lists of cars in here!! Here's mine, starting from 2006, not the most exciting list but that's the joys of spending too much time looking at bangernomics threads :pac:

'99 Seat Ibiza 1.0 - died after a few short months of abuse

'95 Opel Astra Saloon 1.4 - wouldn't die, just refused to

'89 Golf GTI 8V - think it was a cut and shut, awful car, kept for maybe a fortnight

'97 Toyota Trueno ae111 - had it for 2 years and was stolen and burnt out on me

'99 Opel Astra saloon 1.4 - great car, cost €150 and kept me on the road for the guts of a year

'02 Berlingo 1.9d - rough but reliable

'95 BMW 520i - a truly bad car, nearly everything broke/failed in it

'88 Toyota Carina II 1.6 - Perfect reliability & a blue velour interior - what's not to like!

'93 Toyota Corolla XLI - not much to say other than super reliable and cheap to run

'89 Pajero mk1 2.5td - fun machine, but didn't keep it for long

'94 Toyota Hilux surf/4runner - class jeep, until the chassis split apart

'96 Citroen Xantia TurboD - only had this for a few months as I left the country but was probably the most comfortable car I've had, a real pleasure to drive

'94 Pajero LWB 3000v6 - had in Australia, lived in it for a bit - feckin brilliant jeep with a lovely exhaust note

'97 Mitsubishi Magna 3.5 DOHC v6 - very powerful car, but surprisingly bland

'92 Pajero SWB 2.5td - back in Ireland - rough machine, but did the job

'95 Pajero LWB 3000v6 auto - back in Aus again, very dawdly in auto

'94 Camry 2.0 Auto - Aus again, slow and uneventful, Carina II was nicer imo

'06 Citroen C4 1.4, was in the family for a decade, grand car couldn't fault it

'98 Toyota Caldina GT-T, still have it, fun oddball car

'07 Peugeot 207, same as the citroen was in the Family, bought it for myself for a few months - did the job well

'95 Pajero 2.5td SWB - Irish model - great jeep, still have it but only used off road for now

'91 Mercedes 190E 1.8 - lovely classic, ultra reliable and nice to drive, raging I sold it but space ran out

'95 Transit LWB Hi-top - Campervan, restored & built this, loud and slow but gets me where I want to go.

'95 Toyota Curren - track car, super fun, sold it for nothing due to space issues

'09 BMW 318i saloon - Grand car, not sure why I bought it - let it on again fairly quickly

'08 Mini one 1.4 - turd. currently looking to replace it

Think that's about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭DM_2092

Just the one: Skoda Citigo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Lurching

'00 Polo 6N2
    '97 106 GTI
    '91 Skyline GTST
    '99 Lancer Evo VI
    '73 2002 Tii
    '05 Golf Mk5 1.4
    '08 335D E92
    '99 TT 225
    '12 320D F30
    '86 Defender 90
    '98 330TD W210

Pretty mixed!
    Still have the 320D, 2002, Land Rover and Merc, but the Merc engine is going in the Land Rover and the body is being scrapped this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

1998 - ‘88 Nissan Micra 1.0
    2000 - ‘93 Ford Escort 1.4
    2003 - ‘99 Mitsubishi Carisma 1.6
    2009 - ‘05 Honda Accord 2.2 CTDi
    2018 - 181 Hyundai Ioniq BEV

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭quodec

After more than 40 years driving this is the first time I've written down a list of cars I've owned. Enlightening experience to be honest. So here goes.
    Began driving as a teenager in 1979 and was insured in my aunt's car, a 1975 Fiat 127. Then two years later I bought my first set of wheels:
    1981 - 1976 Datsun 120Y 1.2 - Lovely little runner. Unfortunately crashed it in snow going to work. A bruised ego and write-off followed!
    1982 - 1977 Lancia Beta 1.6 - Rare hatchback (no one else I knew ever drove one!) Poor electrics and rust prone. Traded it in after 6 months.
    1982 - 1977 Datsun 100A 1.0 - 2-door. Economical but basic run around. Frugal though and reliable. Traded it in after a year.
    1983 - 1979 Datsun 140J 1.4 - Nice comfortable reliable car. Took me all around the country. Traded down after a year for money reasons.
    1984 - 1977 Toyota Corolla K30 1.2 - Basic reliable car. Great engine. Kept it for two years before cash sale and cash purchase followed.
    1986 - 1980 Toyota Corolla DX 1.6 - Big change in car design from the K30. Ongoing problems with heater but kept it for 3 years.
    1989 - 1984 Ford Sierra 1.6 - Big and comfortable for marriage and new arrivals! Spark plugs prone to damp! Traded it in after 4 years.
    1993 - 1988 Daihatsu Charade 1.0 - Small and basic but indestructible. Constant problems with wet footwells I remember.
    1995 - 1988 Toyota Carina II 2.0 - Great car but couldn't keep petrol in it! Moved up seven years with its trade-in.
    1997 - 1995 Toyota Carina E (XLi) 1.6 - Good reliable family car, not as much fun to drive as its predecessor!
    1999 - 1995 BMW 3 (E36) 1.6 - Had some cash and impulse-bought a Beemer! Lovely driver but impractical for 3 kids. Trade in so!
    2000 - 2000 Renault Scenic 1.6 - 1st purchase of brand new car. Back to basics with family runaround. Unreliable with lots of repairs!!
    2004 - 2004 Peugeot 307SW 1.6 - Another new buy and a vast improvement on the previous. Reliable, had 7 seats and no faults.
    2005 - 1995 Honda Civic 1.6 - 4-door saloon. 2nd family car. Lovely driver but attempted robbery+broken ignition meant a quick trade-in.
    2006 - 1999 Ford Fiesta mk4 1.3 - Great little 2nd car runaround. Very few problems, bar the bright green colour!
    2007 - 2006 Saab 9-3 1.8. Another impulse purchase. Lovely drive with cream seats. Lost her on a corner and ended up in a field. Write-off!
    2010 - 2005 Ford Focus mk2 1.6 - Saloon model. Back to basics following the Saab. Reliable but uninspiring.
    2011 - 2011 Seat Ibiza 1.2 - Scrappage deal for Fiesta. Another new buy. Very reliable 2nd car. Mrs quodec loved it for the 8 years we had it.
    2013 - 2009 Ford Focus 1.6 TDCi - First diesel after 22 years driving. Comfy though a little noisy. Decent mpg. Trade-in after two years.
    2015 - 2011 Toyota Avensis 2.0 - Second diesel. Comfortable and plenty of poke. Sat-nav + reverse camera even! Nice mod cons!
    2017 - 2013 Kia Sportage CRDi 1.7 - My 3rd diesel. Fine engine and nice interior. Sunroof but no sat-nav though.
    2018 - 2015 VW Passat B7 1.6 - Current 1st family car and probably the best diesel I've had! Comfortable + lively yet frugal engine. A joy!
    2019 - 2015 VW Golf Mk 7 1.6 - Current 2nd family car. 1.6 engine not as responsive as the Passat's but Mrs quodec loves its versatility.

So 23 cars and most of my adult history wrapped around them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,982 ✭✭✭McCrack

quodec wrote: »
    After more than 40 years driving this is the first time I've written down a list of cars I've owned. Enlightening experience to be honest. So here goes.
    Began driving as a teenager in 1979 and was insured in my aunt's car, a 1975 Fiat 127. Then two years later I bought my first set of wheels:
    1981 - 1976 Datsun 120Y 1.2 - Lovely little runner. Unfortunately crashed it in snow going to work. A bruised ego and write-off followed!
    1982 - 1977 Lancia Beta 1.6 - Rare hatchback (no one else I knew ever drove one!) Poor electrics and rust prone. Traded it in after 6 months.
    1982 - 1977 Datsun 100A 1.0 - 2-door. Economical but basic run around. Frugal though and reliable. Traded it in after a year.
    1983 - 1979 Datsun 140J 1.4 - Nice comfortable reliable car. Took me all around the country. Traded down after a year for money reasons.
    1984 - 1977 Toyota Corolla K30 1.2 - Basic reliable car. Great engine. Kept it for two years before cash sale and cash purchase followed.
    1986 - 1980 Toyota Corolla DX 1.6 - Big change in car design from the K30. Ongoing problems with heater but kept it for 3 years.
    1989 - 1984 Ford Sierra 1.6 - Big and comfortable for marriage and new arrivals! Spark plugs prone to damp! Traded it in after 4 years.
    1993 - 1988 Daihatsu Charade 1.0 - Small and basic but indestructible. Constant problems with wet footwells I remember.
    1995 - 1988 Toyota Carina II 2.0 - Great car but couldn't keep petrol in it! Moved up seven years with its trade-in.
    1997 - 1995 Toyota Carina E (XLi) 1.6 - Good reliable family car, not as much fun to drive as its predecessor!
    1999 - 1995 BMW 3 (E36) 1.6 - Had some cash and impulse-bought a Beemer! Lovely driver but impractical for 3 kids. Trade in so!
    2000 - 2000 Renault Scenic 1.6 - 1st purchase of brand new car. Back to basics with family runaround. Unreliable with lots of repairs!!
    2004 - 2004 Peugeot 307SW 1.6 - Another new buy and a vast improvement on the previous. Reliable, had 7 seats and no faults.
    2005 - 1995 Honda Civic 1.6 - 4-door saloon. 2nd family car. Lovely driver but attempted robbery+broken ignition meant a quick trade-in.
    2006 - 1999 Ford Fiesta mk4 1.3 - Great little 2nd car runaround. Very few problems, bar the bright green colour!
    2007 - 2006 Saab 9-3 1.8. Another impulse purchase. Lovely drive with cream seats. Lost her on a corner and ended up in a field. Write-off!
    2010 - 2005 Ford Focus mk2 1.6 - Saloon model. Back to basics following the Saab. Reliable but uninspiring.
    2011 - 2011 Seat Ibiza 1.2 - Scrappage deal for Fiesta. Another new buy. Very reliable 2nd car. Mrs quodec loved it for the 8 years we had it.
    2013 - 2009 Ford Focus 1.6 TDCi - First diesel after 22 years driving. Comfy though a little noisy. Decent mpg. Trade-in after two years.
    2015 - 2011 Toyota Avensis 2.0 - Second diesel. Comfortable and plenty of poke. Sat-nav + reverse camera even! Nice mod cons!
    2017 - 2013 Kia Sportage CRDi 1.7 - My 3rd diesel. Fine engine and nice interior. Sunroof but no sat-nav though.
    2018 - 2015 VW Passat B7 1.6 - Current 1st family car and probably the best diesel I've had! Comfortable + lively yet frugal engine. A joy!
    2019 - 2015 VW Golf Mk 7 1.6 - Current 2nd family car. 1.6 engine not as responsive as the Passat's but Mrs quodec loves its versatility.

So 23 cars and most of my adult history wrapped around them.

Impressive recall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭passatman86

quodec great write up
    Nice selection of cars
    Cool you had a 95 civic and avensis like me

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Some great lists of cars in here!! Here's mine, starting from 2006, not the most exciting list but that's the joys of spending too much time looking at bangernomics threads :pac:
    Kinda embarrassing C, but since 05 I've just had the one. :eek: :o If I was plopped into a new car I'd be like a caveman faced with a microwave. I'd scratch myself, fart and then start hitting things with a rock and then run away screaming when it beeped at me. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Kinda embarrassing C, but since 05 I've just had the one. :eek: :o If I was plopped into a new car I'd be like a caveman faced with a microwave. I'd scratch myself, fart and then start hitting things with a rock and then run away screaming when it beeped at me. :D

My wife has had 3 since 1992 and 2 of those are in the last 5 years. She uses none of the technology available apart from pairing her phone
    Peugeot 106 base model, zero options > Volvo XC 90 (2016) > BMW I3 (2019)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭arsebiscuits82

Got my first car in 2005

2005-2007 - Opel Corsa 1.2 5 door. Basic but did the job as a student. Saved up during my placement year and had this for final year. Blew a gasket, other than that a great run around. Drove the pants off it.

2007-2010- 2002 Ford Focus Zetec TDCi (115bhp). Some step up from the corsa. Absolutley loved the power in it compared to the corsa. Great car though coming up through Cavan a strut or something broke in the rear suspension and threw me sideways on a corner. Coming the other way was a truck. I decided to aim for the ditch and hope for the best. Luckily I wasn't driving like I would have been normally as I was in no panic home and managed to regain control of the car. Had to stop for 15 minutes to compose myself after. Front brake disc seized on way to Dublin. The plastic piece that connects the clutch cable to the pedal broke on me on coming off a motorway. Bearing went 2km from home.

2010-2011- 2006 Mondeo TDCi Zetec (130bhp). It was my first big car and planned to keep it until it stopped driving. It had 48k miles on it when I got it and 63k when the fuel pump went and took injectors, fuel lines and turbo with it. Was going to cost 3k to repair so I got rid of it. Sickened.

Went carless for a few years and had met herself so ended up on her insurance for a while, 2006 Toyota Corolla Luna 1.4. Bullet proof car, her brother still drives it.

2014-2015- 98 Golf GTTDi, bought it with 223k miles on the clock for €1800, sold it with 265k on the clock for €1850. Great car but the little ones were planned so needed something bigger.

2015-2016- 2001 Passat. Grand yolk, nothing special. Had it's issues but sold it on.

2016-2017- 2005 Saab 9-3 1.8T. Loved that car too with the cream leather. The speedo kept sticking but other than that a great car. Changed as I got promoted with work and needed a diesel for more miles and the fuel card!

2017-2018- Back to the Fords. 2011 Mondeo 2.0 TDCI. Great car, got it with 63k km and passed it on with 110k km. I had no reason to change and was very happy with it until.....

2018-2021- 2015 Mondeo 2.0 TDCi Titanium. I saw and test drove this one. White with 18" alloys, half leather, body kit, rear tints. All bar a sat nav. A weapon of a yolk. Got rid of it this year as it was on HP, over half way paid for and as I have a company vehicle now which I'm paying BIK on. Sad to see it go, but it wasn't getting used, I only did 5000km last year in it.

In between all these I've had some sort of company jeep/van since 2007..
    1998 Escort Van (i think it was a 98)
    1999 Renault Kangoo
    2002 VW Caddy
    2002 Mitsubishi L200
    2009 Kangoo
    2004 Hilux
    2012 Caddy
    2014 Caddy
    2017 Caddy
    2015 Transit Connect
    2020 Hilux- BIK is high on this so it's being swapped soon 2 seater commercial.

In the family we've had:
    The 2006 Corolla
    2012 Quashqai +2
    2013 Renault Megane Scenic.

Currently saving for my next car. The plan is to buy outright a fresh 5 series, A6 or E class or whatever tickles my fancy in a few years time. No rush and it might never happen. I'll probably take a lump off the mortgage instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,868 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

I feel bad, feels like i haven't spread my car seeds far enough over the last 15 years:

2002 Seat Ibiza - Loved it, but my wallet HATED it. So many things went wrong on it. Timing slipped, fan belt snapped, spark plugs popped out of the engine.
    2000 Toyota Corolla SR - Loved it but some heartless person rear ended it and Insurance thought it wasnt worth fixing
    2011 Mazda 6 - Never put a foot wrong outside of some DPF issues early in its tenure.
    2018 BMW 5 Series - Have it 2 months, still blown away by it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Vicxas wrote: »
    spark plugs popped out of the engine.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Wibbs wrote: »

Someone must have misthreaded one at some stage, Helicoiling them is a pain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,865 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

I've lost count at this stage of all cars I've had, so here's a list of daily drivers. And I've forgotten the dates of a lot of them too :(

2008-2010: 1999 Fiat Bravo 1.2. Fresh license, 18 years old. Road trips, acting the maggot. Fun times, first proper freedom
    2010-2011: 2000 Fiat Bravo 1.2 van. Handled like it was on rails
    Early 2012: 1997 Ford Fiesta 1.2. A grand yoke, a bit rusty

2012-2013: 1998 Peugeot 406 1.9TD. Hape of sh*te
    2013: 1999 Peugeot 406 1.9TD. Pure legendary car it was, and still is

Late 2013-Early 2014: 1999 BMW 520i. Ran on the cheap
    Mid 2014: The return of the same red 406 above. Heaven
    Late mid 2014: 1997 Mercedes C200 petrol. Another legend of a car
    October 2014: 2000 Mercedes C220CDI. Sir Jaspers fake taxi
    Late December 2014-January 2015: 1995 Mercedes C220D. Big Tom, could climb up a wall
    February 2015: 2000 Toyota Corolla 1.9D. Humpy ugly rusty yoke
    March 2015: 1996 Citroen Xantia. Kindly lent to me by Kilian Manning
    May 2015: 1997 Peugeot 406 1.9TD. Re enforcing the French electric stereotype
    July 2015: 1998 Peugeot 406 1.9TD. Identical to the car above for some reason.........
    January 2016-September 2016: 2000 Mercedes C220CDI. Classy machine
    September 2016 - January 2017: 2004 Toyota Avensis 1.8. Brave move away, was high spec
    January 2017 - September 2017: Same Mercedes C220CDI above
    October 2017-January 2019: 2006 Toyota Avensis D4D. The brownfingered car. Definetly one of the best daily drivers I've had from a maintenance point of view

January 2019-September 2019: Peugeot 607 2.2HDI. Pure comfort
    September 2019 - January 2020: 1989 Nissan 300ZX twin turbo. Stepping out of weekend car territory for the job. Smiles per gallon and very smokily tail happy

January 2020 - August 2020: Same Peugeot 607. Pity about the gearbox. And the modules. And that some idiot worked on it before me

August 2020 - present: 2001 Volvo S60 2.0T. Deceptively fast, this ones a keeper for as long as I can! I've finally settled, I think :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Mazda 626 coupe 2.0i 89" - very first car, and yes, it had stupid bumpers and neon lights. Made that 90hp so much faster! :pac:

Opel Calibra 2.0 redtop 91" - First car in Ireland and it was all black with big stupid wing! ( still not grown up)

Nissan sunny 1.4 94" - had it 4 months, because Calibra obviously died.

Peugoet 406 1.8i 00" - first proper normal car. Loved that thing, most reliable car I ever owned. Very comfy.

Mercedes clk200 00" - Good car, but costed me a fortune, because my mechanic wasn't very good. Nice car, but I was too young and stupid for it.

Mazda mx5 1.8 10th Anniversary edition 99" - Still the most fun I ever had behind the wheel. Miss it a lot. Definitely want to own another mx5 in my lifetime.

Nissan Skyline r33 4 door, 399hp 94" - Most stupid thing I owned, impossible to drive on any surface, unless you want it wheel spin sideways everywhere. Still loved it, but it was a car that thought me a lesson "Being able to buy a car you like, does not mean you can afford to run it".

Subaru Impreza WRX 2.0 06" - It was red and no arse wing. Loved it and the car I miss the most. The sound alone made it worth having. Had to sell it as I moved to another city and it was getting too expensive do to 120km trips each day. I really miss it a lot. :(

Alfa Romeo GT 1.9Jtdm - Loved it, its the reason why I fell in love with Alfa and understand, why Alfa drivers swear by them. The only thing I hated was Diesel engine. Its my very first Diesel and I just hate everything about their characteristics.

Seat Ibiza Cupra 1.8 171" - My very first brand new car. It was something I wanted and could afford. I love it, a specially when most people don't know what it is capable of. Very stealthy. Wanted to change it, to get something similar with 4 doors, but needless to say pandemic had different plans. So I am keeping it now for longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭bluezulu49

Driving since 1977. 7 cars in 44 years.

!997 to 1982 1973 mini 850
    1982 to 1987 1979 Alfa Sud. Handled great but could only be relied on to let you down when you needed it.
    1987 to 1990 1987 Peugeot 205 1.7 diesel
    1990 to 1993 1990 Peugeot 309 1.9 diesel
    1993 to 1998 1993 Peugeot 309 1.9 diesel
    !998 to 2004 1998 Citroen Xsara estate 2.0 diesel
    2004 to date 2004 Peugeot 406 hdi 2.0 estate. Most comfortable and reliable car I have ever had. Currently has 164,000 miles. I do not intend to change it until it dies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

"Being able to buy a car you like, does not mean you can afford to run it".

This should be the banner in this forum for the poor lads trying to insure mad cars under the age of 28.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭hooch-85

11 cars in 16 years a mixture of Jap and German

91 Toyota Starlet Gi
    95 Honda Civic EG3
    96 Honda Civic MB1
    00 Honda Civic EM1 VTi
    04 VW Golf MK5 2.0 TDi
    04 BMW 320cd E46
    06 VW Golf GTi MK5
    08 Audi A4 B8 TFSi
    16 Ford Fiesta ST (bought new)
    15 VW Golf GTD MK7
    15 VW Golf R MK7 (currently own)

• Registered Users Posts: 2 The Tactical Nuclear Penguin

"Being able to buy a car you like, does not mean you can afford to run it".

Took me far longer than i care to admit to realise this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Vicxas wrote: »
    This should be the banner in this forum for the poor lads trying to insure mad cars under the age of 28.

Insurance amd Tax is the easy part. I was already used to pay 1.5k ish eu for insurance. And you can just pay it and its sorted. The real issue comes up when you see petrol bills and when you need to do work on car. Cars that are heavily modified like this are hard to keep running, because every time you look for " Modified Jap import" parts. Becomes really expensive and a massive headache. I bit more then I could chew and learned my lesson. Though I have no regrets. I owned and drove daily car that was a dream of mine. Bad experience is an experience too. You do good if you learn from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Purgative

bluezulu49 wrote: »
    Driving since 1977. 7 cars in 44 years.

Fair play Blue, you looked after them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,049 ✭✭✭appledrop

Snap Vicxas, I've also only had 4 cars in 15 years!

• Registered Users Posts: 42 shirazhyder84

When i used to live in the middle east:
    1994 Bmw 325i coupe (Loved it! - was reliable)

2002 Bmw 325xi sedan (loved it! - not reliable)

2008 Honda Accord 3.5 V6 (Absolutely loved the raw power of V6 - super reliable)

2009 Lexus IS300 (brilliant luxury - super reliable)

2009 Audi Q5 2.0t (great grip and engine - not reliable)

Ireland:
    2004 520i Sedan (Old shape, excellent to drive and reliable)

2005 520i Sedan (Good engine - not reliable)

2008 520i Sedan (Absolute disaster in terms of reliability)

2012 Vw Cc 2.0tdi (Beautiful car, good engine, reliable)

2015 VW Passat 2.0tdi (Good engine and auto gearbox - reliable)

2016 BMW 520d (loved it - great to drive and look in msport, reliable)

2016 X5 (current)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

I'm just realizing how few cars I owned. Not that should be surprising, I tend to keep each for a very long time, so it makes sense.
    If we strictly look at "mine" cars, meaning they were exclusively under my usage (registration is a bit of a different story, especially before I moved to Ireland), it would just be 5 cars over 22(!) years.

1984 Renault 5 Parisienne
    1993 Peugeot 405
    1997 Alfa Romeo 155
    2001 Renault Megane Coupe' (first Irish car)
    2006 Alfa Romeo 159 (current)

---

If I were to add cars that were pretty much "shared usage" with my dad back when I still lived in Italy, there are only two more

1987 Alfa Romeo 75
    1998 Alfa Romeo 156

Just proving the "keep them forever", while I didn't buy the current 159 new, I did get it whereabouts 2013, so it's been 8 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭TheBigGreen

2001 Ford Focus 1.4 petrol 3 door
    2004 Ford Focus 1.8tdci Sport 3 door
    1994 Honda Civic GTi SOHC (NZ)
    1990 Toyota Starlet GT Turbo (NZ)
    1988 Suzuki Super Carry (wish I brought her home from NZ)
    2010 Skoda Octavia vRS TDI
    2010 Audi A6 S Line 2.0 TDI (current)

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    I'm just realizing how few cars I owned. Not that should be surprising, I tend to keep each for a very long time, so it makes sense.
    If we strictly look at "mine" cars, meaning they were exclusively under my usage (registration is a bit of a different story, especially before I moved to Ireland), it would just be 5 cars over 22(!) years.

1993 Peugeot 405
    1997 Alfa Romeo 155

---

If I were to add cars that were pretty much "shared usage" with my dad back when I still lived in Italy, there are only two more

1987 Alfa Romeo 75
    1998 Alfa Romeo 156

Just proving the "keep them forever", while I didn't buy the current 159 new, I did get it whereabouts 2013, so it's been 8 years.

You need a good "Irish" car like a Toyota Corolla under your belt, or, you know, you'll only ever be a blow in :pac:;) BTW, I loved my 159.

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Detritus70

Roughly in order from 1989 to present:

Owned by my parents and used by me before I got my own car:
    1986 E30 BMW 318i
    199something Daihatsu Applause 1.6 16v 4WD

My own
    198something Daihatsu 1 liter, 3 cylinder 4WD microvan
    198something Subaru 1800 L series 4WD estate
    198something Kadett D in BROWN (as RCR would say)
    1979 VW Transporter 1.5 diesel
    1984 VW Transporter 1.6 diesel
    1982 Mercedes 200 diesel W123, adored that car
    1988 Mitsubishi Colt 1.4 petrol Hatchback, loved that car

Also driven by me, but not owned by me, 1998 Renault Megane Van, 2004 Ford Focus Van, 2009 Ford Transit Connect, all company vans I could take home and used as my everyday transport.
    2000 Mazda MX5 1.6 (belonged to my ex) and too many rentals to count or remember.

1984 Mercedes 200 petrol automatic W123
    1973 Ford Cortina 2.0 GXL Automatic
    200something Ford Focus estate 1.8 TD
    2006 Ford Focus CMAx 1.8 TDCI
    2002 Polo 1.4 4 door sedan in RED
    2005 Transit Connect
    2005 Ford Focus CMax 2.0 TDCI
    200something Renault Twingo 1.1, belonged to my mother, but used by me, those things are a blast!

Currently in use:
    2002 Ford Fiesta JH1 1.6 petrol, because fcuk it, I don't drive much.
    But also
    1999 BMW GS R 1150GS, will be used for commuting as often as possible, because I am moving to Rheinland Pfalz, one of the sunniest areas in Germany and hoping to get max miles out of it.

Fully Automated Luxury Gay Space Communism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I started driving on a full license in 2004 when I was 17 (wasn't allowed buy my own car before then and rightly so). I'm now 35.

Year of car, car, length of ownership, Penalty Points Earned

1998 Rover 400 (1 year) - 0

2002 MG ZR (1 year) - 0

1999 BMW E46 318i (1 year) - 0

2004 Mazda RX8 (2.5 years) - 4

2007 Mazda6 MPS (1 year) - 0

2007 BMW E92 335i (3 years) - 6

2002 Ford Fiesta (stop-gap) (3 months) - 0

2013 BMW F30 330d (5 years) - 0

2016 BMW F82 M4 (current) (4 months) - 0 (so far)

Year of car, car, length of ownership

1998 Rover 400 (1 year)

2002 MG ZR (1 year)

1999 E46 BMW 318i (1 year)

2004 Mazda RX8 (2.5 years)

2007 Mazda6 MPS (1 year)

2007 E92 BMW 335i (3 years)

2002 Ford Fiesta (stop-gap) (3 months)

2013 F30 BMW 330d (5 years)

2016 F82 BMW M4 (current) (4 months)

Can you include the penalty points "earned" per car also :pac: My first car was a Rover 414i (very similar to the 400 - if not identical) - kept in six months, but remember it fondly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Can you include the penalty points "earned" per car also :pac: My first car was a Rover 414i (very similar to the 400 - if not identical) - kept in six months, but remember it fondly.

Job done! :D

I think when the 414i was updated with a new design it was renamed 400. Same thing with the 214i, it was renamed 200.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Love the addition of penalty points, I'd like it if you'd add "so far" next to your current car. :pac:

Job done! :D

I think when the 414i was updated with a new design it was renamed 400. Same thing with the 214i, it was renamed 200.

You're a saint compared to me - although 0 currently :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,174 ✭✭✭1huge1

This is quite a depressing thread :D:D

2 cars in 10 years (I'm 31 years old).
    • 2004 Volkswagon Polo Mk4 (1.2L) - 2011-2019
    • 2015 Ford Focus Hatchback ecoboost (1L) - current car
    No intention of changing any time soon :)

H3llR4iser wrote: »

1993 Peugeot 405
    1997 Alfa Romeo 155

---

1987 Alfa Romeo 75
    1998 Alfa Romeo 156

You sir I would respectably consider a car masochist given your history. Its like you alternate between a reliable workhorse and an Italian gamble.

1huge1 wrote: »
    This is quite a depressing thread :D:D

2 cars in 10 years (I'm 31 years old).
    • 2004 Volkswagon Polo Mk4 (1.2L) - 2011-2019
    • 2015 Ford Focus Hatchback ecoboost (1L) - current car
    No intention of changing any time soon :)

Please tell me that you love the odd track day / driving experience or that you have the opportunity to rent now and again the odd "good car".

We are obviously on two sides of the car ownership spectrum :D.

He's found two cars that are reasonably reliable, economical, fulfill most of his transport needs. Happy out.;)

Cars get you from "A" to "B", IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭tomtucker81

Have to jump into this thread just for the fun of listing my cars!!

1987 Toyota Starlet 1ltr (2001-2003) absolutely loved it, would buy one if i could find one now. Abused it, drove the country in it, Donegal, Kerry, Cork, Antrim. The car that got me going and experiencing the freedom of having a car.

2000 Citroen Saxo 1.1ltr (2003-2004) the starlet died(my fault... I didn't put the oil cap back on and the engine seized!!) small pedals and big feet. Small inside. Small... I just didn't like it.

2004 Skoda Octavia 1.4ltr petrol (2004-2008) first and so far only brand new car. Loved it. Comfort, reliability, space. Again, went everywhere in it. Kids came along and had all the space for them too.

2006 Hyundai Tucson 2ltr crdi (2008-2010) comfy. Didn't like the drive of it though, front wheel drive and I found it very giddy in the wet.

2005 Skoda Octavia 1.9 tdi (2010-2012) back to reliability! Loved it. Toured the country in it again playing music, had the space for the gear, the mpg was huge and it could be fun to drive.

2004 Hyundai Santa Fe 2ltr crdi (2012-2016) solid, reliable. Comfy to sit in, good view of the road, awd and couldnt get the back to step out despite my best efforts. Solid if unspectacular.

2006 kia picanto 1.1ltr petrol (2016 - 2017) big step backwards here... Personal reasons, i ended up with this second car in the house while she got the bigger one.... Anyway, it was very very small. Yet almost too much power for the size of the car. Did what i needed at the time.

2009 Mazda 6 2.2diesel (2017-2021) my longest serving car. Big step up from the previous. Got me back motoring and what a car. Plenty of space. Comfy. Plenty of power in it, a fun drive and stuck to the road. Loved this car.
    **it's still outside if anyone wants to offer!! **

2016 Mitsubishi Outlander phev (2021 - present) only have it a month. Really really like it. Seating position is important now(back issues) and this does it. Full spec inside which I love, i just love getting into this car every time. First experience of a hybrid or electric ... The economy is unreal!!

39 now, started with the starlet at 19 and progressed along. Interesting to see the recession years i was going back in years!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,174 ✭✭✭1huge1

Haha to each their own. Its economical, comfy and gets me from A-B. What else do I want from a car?

I'm renting an apartment in Dublin, I walk almost everywhere.
    Purgative wrote: »
    We are obviously on two sides of the car ownership spectrum :D.

He's found two cars that are reasonably reliable, economical, fulfill most of his transport needs. Happy out.;)

Cars get you from "A" to "B", IMHO.

Exactly, nail on the head, I love my Ford Focus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭Uncle Pierre

Going to jump in here myself. Am 48 years old, started driving as soon as I hit my 17th birthday back in 1989, and got my first car of my own a few years later:

1978 Toyota Corolla (1993 to '97) - uncle next door had owned this one from new, and it never gave a day's trouble. I still fondly remember many an adventure in it. :)

1983 Austin Maestro (1997 to '98) - a horrendous heap of ***** which I took over the running of my from father when the Corolla was finally on its last legs. Was only ever going to be a short-term thing.

1993 Toyota Corolla (1998 to 2004) - Back to the tried and tested!

2004 Nissan Almera (2004 to '05) - Only time I've ever bought a new car. Unfortunately only had it about 18 months before some eejit came round a bend too fast on a country road and smacked right into me. Wasn't injured myself, but the car was a write-off.

2001 Renault Laguna (2005 to '06) - Was bought in a hurry after the crash, when I just needed to get back on the road. Didn't like it.

2002 Rover 75 (2006 to '08) - Was bought purely for the looks. Yes, I know I was naieve. Proved troublesome beyond belief. Head gasket problems were the final straw.

2004 Ford Mondeo (2008 to '11) - As reliable as its reputation suggests.

2006 Hyundai Santa Fe (2011 to 2018) - Also reliable, and rugged too. Suited me from a practical point of view too. But clutch was wearing out in the end, other things needed attention too, and didn't want to spend big money on it at that stage.

131 Kia Ce'ed Sportwagon (2018 to 2020) - Not exactly what I was looking for at the time, but it ticked all the boxes. Bulletproof and economical too. Thought I'd have it a long time, but then...

142 Audi A4 Avant (2020 to present) - Saw this last year with low mileage and at a good price. Hummed and hawed for a long time since I hadn't actually gone actively looking to buy a car, but eventually decided to go for it. Very happy with it since then. Best I've ever owned and will hopefully have it for a long time to come.

And that's me done. :)

1983 Austin Maestro (1997 to '98) - a horrendous heap of ***** which I took over the running of my from father when the Corolla was finally on its last legs. Was only ever going to be a short-term thing.

Allegro, Princess, Avenger. I'd forgotten how bad those Leyland cars were. Thank my lucky stars I never owned one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

Purgative wrote: »
    Allegro, Princess, Avenger. I'd forgotten how bad those Leyland cars were. Thank my lucky stars I never owned one.

sheer prejudice, that Allegro was 14 years old when he got it

Isambard wrote: »

Maybe, but I was in a few through colleagues and family.

Isn't that what opinions are though? Anyway the poster we are referring to had a Meastro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭Uncle Pierre

Isambard wrote: »

Yeah, but my father had owned it for probably eight or nine of those 14 years, and he'd say the same thing about it! :D

Poor oul' fella never had a decent car until all the pesky kids grew up and moved out, and I was the eldest of five, so he had to suffer on a bit more after Maestro as well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,232 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Considering that I have been driving for almost 50 years ,pro rata I have owned very few cars compared to some other posters.

I won't even attempt on the years .

Opel Rekord 2100 DSL
    Opel Rekord 2300 DSL
    Hillman avenger petrol.
    Renault 20tl.petrol
    Toyota Carina petrol
    Nissan bluebird 1.6 petrol.
    Nissan primera 1.6 petrol
    Nissan primera 2,0 DSL.
    Toyota avensis 2.0 DSL.
    Present car is 2015 Honda CRV DSL but I do most of my commuting in the jeep 2001 Nissan Patrol with almost 450 k kms on clock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Casati

orm0nd wrote: »
    Considering that I have been driving for almost 50 years ,pro rata I have owned very few cars compared to some other posters.

I won't even attempt on the years .

Opel Rekord 2100 DSL
    Opel Rekord 2300 DSL
    Hillman avenger petrol.
    Renault 20tl.petrol
    Toyota Carina petrol
    Nissan bluebird 1.6 petrol.
    Nissan primera 1.6 petrol
    Nissan primera 2,0 DSL.
    Toyota avensis 2.0 DSL.
    Present car is 2015 Honda CRV DSL but I do most of my commuting in the jeep 2001 Nissan Patrol with almost 450 k kms on clock.

First car was 2.1 Diesel Record? I remember a relative having a lime green one of those from late 70’s as a taxi for donkey years. Diesel would have been a rare beast