Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Forum Closed  

28-05-2004, 22:55   #1
TomTom
Hosted Moderator

HMod: Keystone
Christanity derived from paganism

I am just reading the da vinci code here and there is a section on how the catholic beliefs were derived for a majority of pagon symbols as set up constantine. I've searched the web and found lots of different bits and pieces. I was just wondering if you could tell me what you know on the subject.
Espically the voting on Jesus stance as the son of god.
Advertisement
29-05-2004, 11:11   #2
davej
Knuthy!

I'm no expert on the subject (and i haven't bothered to 'become' one by googling) but obviously a lot pagan traditions were incorporated into christianity. Things like cycles of fasting and feasting, celebrations at Spring time etc. Does the date the 25th of December have any bearing on when Jesus was supposedly born (3 days after the Winter Solstice) ? Was he really crucified in the Spring, coincidentally at a time of rejuvenation in Nature ?

Organised religion probably began with the first agrarian societies as it played a very functional role in day to day life. These traditions weren't going to simply go away once Christianity came along..

davej
30-05-2004, 00:59   #3
Suaimhneach

A lot of catolic celebrations were placed at the same time as pagan ones to cover the old ways and introduce the new.

Granted the calender is so out of whack that it only reflects this occasionally.

It was all adapted for change.
02-06-2004, 16:13   #4
Banned

Some of the borrowing was quite conscious and deliberate, Christmas is an example; the best date one could put for Christ's birthday would be some time during the lambing season if the shepherds felt it necessary to be out at night, but Christmas is the time of the celebration of the nativity, not an aniversary and it was chosen to coincide with and compete with Pagan ceremonies.