Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour de France 2020 | Stage 18 (Méribel - La Roche-sur-Foron, 175 km)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭De Bhál

fair fcuks to Porte getting back up to the group.

Good to see Landa moaning

• Registered Users Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭Itziger

The Sky lads having an ould chinwag at 60kph. Hehe.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭Itziger

De Bhál wrote: »
    fair fcuks to Porte getting back up to the group.

Good to see Landa moaning

Why the Landa hate? He had a go today at least.

Porte had a bit of help from the JV lads too.

• Registered Users Posts: 863 ✭✭✭jack01986

Going to be close for the cutoff.

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

Looks like 36 -37km

that is 38min

Sam sitting on 31min and 16km left...

I say he is sound....

• Registered Users Posts: 9,596 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Itziger wrote: »
    The Sky lads having an ould chinwag at 60kph. Hehe.

They're wavering perilously close to each other!!

Can't imagine having a conversation at 40kmph nevermind at 60+ kmph :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭JazzyJ

26' 42" to Bennett's group :)

31' now, starting last climb.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,155 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

joujoujou wrote: »
    Kwiatkowski - stage win.

Carapaz - polka dot jersey.

Hirschi - red number.

I hope. ;)

Bingo. Great scenes at the end

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

A supporter got very close towards the end

• Registered Users Posts: 1,751 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

cut off will be 40:15

• Registered Users Posts: 14,001 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Need a photo finish for that!

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Subpopulus

Well, that was a strange finish.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,276 ✭✭✭kenmc

He's already at 31, with a climb to do :(

• Registered Users Posts: 10,155 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Cut off is 40:16

We should be grand

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

kenmc wrote: »
    He's already at 31, with a climb to do :(

it's an uncategorised climb and then it's 10km of descent, and he has 8 or 9 minutes in hand, get the cigar out Sam

• Registered Users Posts: 14,001 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Ineos would be great craic if they had the same riders but took the sunweb approach to just fcuk the GC.

Itziger wrote: »
    Why the Landa hate? He had a go today at least.

Porte had a bit of help from the JV lads too.

Movistar movie on Netflix and he came across a bit of a pain in the hole

• Registered Users Posts: 13,730 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

CowboyTed wrote: »
    Looks like 36 -37km

that is 38min

I say he is sound....

That works out at a 112kph avg required.

7 mins to do 16km

• Registered Users Posts: 510 ✭✭✭WH BONNEY

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    A supporter got very close towards the end

I taught the Gendarmerie was going for his gun :eek:

WH BONNEY wrote: »
    I taught the Gendarmerie was going for his gun :eek:

I was hoping it was Carapazes dad or something, the state of him.

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

Inquitus wrote: »

7 mins to do 16km

He can loose 40.1 min on the stage... (refined)

He was down 31min at the last time I checked with 16km left...

That means he can loose 9 min more over 16km... So he has what the winner completed in plus 9min...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭Keeks

7 mins to do 16km

Do the math again.....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭happytramp

7 mins to do 16km

Only if he stops cycling for the next 31min.

How many points available in the stage tmw and Sunday? Assuming worst case and Sam scores no more, and Sagan gets them all....?

Keeks wrote: »
    Do the math again.....

Speed = distance / time

X = 16 / (7/60)

X = 16 / 0.11666

X = 137kph

Based off
    CowboyTed wrote: »
    Looks like 36 -37km

that is 38min

I say he is sound....

As of now they have 36 minutes according to the on screen clock.

How many points available in the stage tmw and Sunday? Assuming worst case and Sam scores no more, and Sagan gets them all....?

Answer my own question ; looks like potentially 140, 2xintermediate sprints @20 and 2xstage win tmw and in Paris @50.

I excluded the itt from that, same points as intermediate sprint, 20

As of now they have 36 minutes according to the on screen clock.

That makes alot more sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭happytramp

20 at the intermediate
    50 at the final

In theory, Sagan could end up 18 points ahead of Sam going to Paris.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,895 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Sagan and Nico Roche rolling home same bunch... 28 mins after winner.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)