Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Golf Society 2020

12346»

• Registered Users Posts: 20,804 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Apologies Charlie

See PM , Kingswood.

Again - even if your point has validity. People on this forum seriously have a right to privacy.

I fully admire self expression - but if we are going to call out people in the society like that. I won't be around anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,845 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

So do I get 50 free points because I was looking forward to playing in Portarlington but couldn’t play today :D

Seve OB wrote: »
    So do I get 50 free points because I was looking forward to playing in Portarlington but couldn’t play today :D

Did you win a can opener for captains.

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭doublecross

I read that as "50 free pints" which is very generous.
    Some lads are taking the GOY point waaaay too seriously.
    Have only played a few rounds of golf this year, gone a bit rusty but hope to get out in dromoland.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,448 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Guys, we are still working on trying to organise the Jug.

Just to officially note, given the way the year has been, and peoples ability/inability to attend, we're going to do Top 8 automatically qualifying for the Jug, with 4 Captains picks, rather than 10+2 in the normal full schedule of events.

Updated GOTY below. My mid-round blow up cost me a few slots. Incoming Captain with the lead, after a number of very solid results, but still plenty in the mix. Will leave it to the experts to run the permutations and calculations on all the potential outcomes

526264.JPG

Hope to see plenty of your there in the last event to close out the GOTY

My work, golf season, friend and family commitments seem to have all compressed into September and October. (I think many people have issues like this post lockdown). It seems everyone is trying to fit a summer into 2 months.

Disappointing not to make captains day (work) or remainder of year (friends / family). Best of luck with it all.

Space did an absolutely extraordinary job and was fantastic to have a really sound bloke like Cathal win his outing. CharlieIRL has been frustrated with his game for a few years - and if anyone plays with him, they can see, he looks like a single figure golfer for significant elements of the round. But seems to have very bad sections of his round. Hopefully the start of where his game should be - (Lol - hopefully that comes across a compliment, sounds harsh).

Organising an online, nationwide, part anonymous golf society, is nuts – so fair play to all involved. We don’t see, even a quarter of all that is involved.
    A significant disappointment is not having a captain’s night out and see Space make them moves. But we will sort that out at a later date with chicken wings on top. That is food by the way – not a dance move.

Space – I know at times this year it was very difficult, but you handled the adversity with great temperament, under very difficult circumstances. You probably could have killed someone at various points. But your fingerprints are all over the internet.
    During the year, there were people talking about repeating a year or events or life. I’m not a particular fan of this way of thinking. Adversity is a fundamental element of the human condition. A true test of you, us, or any organisation, is how it handles difficulty, crisis , unplanned events.

Space and the committee, showed remarkable flexibility, can do attitude. They should be immensely proud of themselves.
    For periods of the lockdown – one of the few things we actually had in life, was golf. Golf is often our little escape, oasis , or destress – but suddenly that became all a bit too real or surreal.

I didn’t play particularly good golf again this year (or for a couple of years) – But if I’m being honest, there was something amazing to be in total isolation, hitting a ball in almost empty landscape. Golf was genuinely of lesser importance. The very achievement of playing was understood and maybe far more appreciated.

So thanks again Space and the committee – in a time of adversity and anxiety, you gave us a little day of escape and connection with the world around us for a few hours.

Thanks again.

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭rickis tache

Since dubliners are now being discouraged to leave the pale, will there be a change to final outing? I understand this could change at any moment but best to be ready.

We're looking at our options and trying to follow the guidelines as best we can. Will update with any changes if necessary

• Registered Users Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭dennyire

MOD Delete

• Registered Users Posts: 4,507 ✭✭✭blue note

Just to suggest something that would require extra admin that I wouldn't have to do, you could consider playing two courses on the last day. In some sort of a similar way to a 5k run I did where everyone just ran any 5k route they wanted and submitted their times, you could nominate a course in dublin for the dub members to play and have palmerstown for the rest. It wouldn't be a perfectly fair competition, but everyone would get to play and if anyone moans about it you could tell them to get stuffed.

its great to see lads come up with all sorts of ideas

here's an idea....... why don't yiz join the society?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭dennyire

Seve OB wrote: »
    its great to see lads come up with all sorts of ideas

here's an idea....... why don't yiz join the society?

I put my back out 2 years and sadly that was the end of my golfing days so no chance of joining society.
    I still take an active interest and read this thread.

All I did was ask a valid question

• Registered Users Posts: 4,507 ✭✭✭blue note

I might try to make the last one if there's a free spot and join properly next year. The courses were perfect for me this year, portmarnock within walking distance, Tramore within walking distance on a weekend at home. But alas the dates were non-runners.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Folks, there's a super committee in place and they (like us all) have had a torrid year given the total unknowns of what things are going to be like for a pre-scheduled event in a pre-scheduled county in Ireland.

Let the committee make their decision but please refrain from Covid related posts here.
    Thanks all

Any Covid related post will be deleted, no problem with the post asking is the next event going to be looked at but lets leave it at that

My stuff for sale on Adverts inc. outdoor furniture, roof box and EDDI

My Active Ads (adverts.ie)

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭newindublin

For a (mostly) not Covid related post, I'll give a quick update on my own self.

Since the round at Gowran I only attempted one more, and was a an absolute wreck by the end. The back pain was too much to bear even with handfuls of pain killers I have been using to get through a round. Golf was officially off the table for me and it was back to the medical specialists offices.

Today I had an injection procedure called Rhizotomy, and am told most can expect 80-100% reduction in pain and should be able to resume golf in a 1-3 weeks time. I am really excited at the prospect of playing without the pain! So I will remind everyone not to take it for granted and a big thanks to the committee for their hard work in this extremely challenging year that provides all the members with so much enjoyment.

I will be keeping a close on how things shape up (I live in Dublin county) and hoping it works out to do one more round with boards society this year.

For a (mostly) not Covid related post, I'll give a quick update on my own self.

Since the round at Gowran I only attempted one more, and was a an absolute wreck by the end. The back pain was too much to bear even with handfuls of pain killers I have been using to get through a round. Golf was officially off the table for me and it was back to the medical specialists offices.

Today I had an injection procedure called Rhizotomy, and am told most can expect 80-100% reduction in pain and should be able to resume golf in a 1-3 weeks time. I am really excited at the prospect of playing without the pain! So I will remind everyone not to take it for granted and a big thanks to the committee for their hard work in this extremely challenging year that provides all the members with so much enjoyment.

I will be keeping a close on how things shape up (I live in Dublin county) and hoping it works out to do one more round with boards society this year.

Thanks NewInDublin, appreciate the sentiments. Good luck with the recovery, hopefully will see you on the course soon

Hi All,

I'm sure that most of you have taken it as read at this point, but to make it official, given the most recent updates from the Government in relation to the Covid guidelines, we have to cancel the event which was due to take place in Palmerstown this Saturday.

We're back in uncharted waters here, as we don't know if or when county borders may re-open.

We are toying with a number of different ideas and options if we can work out another entry in to the calendar. As soon as we know anything, we'll make sure to update everyone here.

Sorry folks, I guess 2020 is just the year that keeps on giving :(

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭ellinguistico

Hi there, would just like to register my interest to join your society this year. Hopefully things will get moving again in a month or two. Thanks!

Drop me a pm with your name, mobile, email, club and handicap