Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Concrete Placing on the Farm

• 09-09-2020 10:29pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭

Have a good bit of concrete work to do around the farm over the next few years.

Silage Pits, Cattle holding yards and roadways mostly, possibly a slurry pit too at some stage.
    Not looking forward to dealing with 45 Newton concrete for a silage slab!! eek.png

Was thinking that maybe I should look at purchasing a power screed ( the one man operated type)
    I'd imagine there is no point buying a poker as its a thing that can be hired in whenever I've shuttering hired.....

Any opinions would be appreciated

• Registered Users Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Are you already experienced in concrete work?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

cjpm wrote: »

Silage Pits, Cattle holding yards and roadways mostly, possibly a slurry pit too at some stage.
    Not looking forward to dealing with 45 Newton concrete for a silage slab!! eek.png

Was thinking that maybe I should look at purchasing a power screed ( the one man operated type)
    I'd imagine there is no point buying a poker as its a thing that can be hired in whenever I've shuttering hired.....

Get someone else to do it would be my advice.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Great yoke. Bought one last year. No more screeding with a 4x2 or as I saw once an 18 ft length of 7x3 that must have been soaked in lead. Feck that carry on. 2 lads with rakes and a good eye another pulling the magic screed and you'll never look back.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭cjpm

Are you already experienced in concrete work?

Have laid plenty over the years, but need to be a bit more savvy about it. Hard to get lads to help with that type of work, hence the need to take some of the effort out of it. I’m thinking a power screed would be a big help....

Great yoke. Bought one last year. No more screeding with a 4x2 or as I saw once an 18 ft length of 7x3 that must have been soaked in lead. Feck that carry on. 2 lads with rakes and a good eye another pulling the magic screed and you'll never look back.

What type exactly did you buy Foxy? Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 33,693 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Cavanjack wrote: »
    Get someone else to do it would be my advice.

You'll end up with empty pockets and learn nothing doing that :)

What type exactly did you buy Foxy? Thanks

Honda engine and 10 ft angle profile blade. Bought a 12ft blade after for another job.

Thanks for that Foxy. Where did you buy it and what did you pay? If you don’t mind me asking. PM if you wish

Do you think it would manage 45N concrete with a 16ft blade? The 45 is tough stuff.....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,060 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Well its either water or sweath,its your choice

Thanks for that Foxy. Where did you buy it and what did you pay? If you don’t mind me asking. PM if you wish

Do you think it would manage 45N concrete with a 16ft blade? The 45 is tough stuff.....

A good eye for levels is a real help. Cuts out a lot of the raking. I saw a100 m3 pour done with a16ft screed free hand. Wet up the concrete or else the sweat dripping off your nose will do it for ya :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Dunedin

. Wet up the concrete or else the sweat dripping off your nose will do it for ya :)

Adding water weakens the concrete

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,060 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Dunedin wrote: »
    Yeah probaly shortens the life span from 100 to 80 years.silage slab poured here and levelled with just a rake and a tamp in 95 still doing the job 25 years later.whats underneath is more important than the drop of water

• Registered Users Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Dunedin wrote: »

and invalidates the quality guarantee.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xG-pYrmKrs

• Registered Users Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

listermint wrote: »
    You'll end up with empty pockets and learn nothing doing that :)

Or a sore back and a bad job if you don’t know what you are doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,486 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I see the sense in doing smaller bits yourself to build competency at concrete work.

But larger More complex jobs I’d rather see done by someone already skilled at the job.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Just a point when using a power screed, my builder who's at the job all his life(not to say that makes him an expert!) but he tends to leave slight hollows in yards when he's power screeding large areas without guide timbers. Any narrower passages where he has timbers to work off are perfect.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    Just a point when using a power screed, my builder who's at the job all his life(not to say that makes him an expert!) but he tends to leave slight hollows in yards when he's power screeding large areas without guide timbers. Any narrower passages where he has timbers to work off are perfect.

You right about the magic screed not being as good for a perfect finish. Like you would get working off timber. You also need the concrete wetter but it’s a really super job that makes concrete work so easy. If it’s not the parlour floor your doing it doesn’t have to be millimetre perfect. If anyone will be doing work themselves it’s a great little machine for ithe price

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Wildsurfer wrote: »

Very difficult to get it bang on with no small hollows using power screed alone as opposed to screeding with timbers. It’s only after rain you notice the hollows.

But it’s a hard days work pulling timber screeds as mentioned in posts above.

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭sandman30

Power screeds are easy to hire, from any hire centre. Would have to hire it good few times before it's paid for. Also no issues with engine seizing up from lack of use etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,143 ✭✭✭✭Water John

The other way of looking at it is, if one was doing a handy bit over a year or two, a screed and poker would be enough kit. You'd also probably save on one labour unit, which is often the most difficult part. Once you had your job complete you could always sell the kit.
    Having the option of hiring is great and came in very useful some time back when the poker gave up on a job. A back up plan is important when sh1t happens.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Grueller

I am paying 50% tax on farm income due to off farm job. There are 2 brothers locally here that will work for €120 per man on a Saturday through the books. They do serious work too as they are at it every day with a specialist concrete crew. What they would do in one day would take myself and the boss three days. Also the boss is now in his seventies so help for heavy work is scarce.
    Point is through the books they actually cost me half from my hand so €120 paid out or passing favours back and forward with neighbours, hiring gear etc. I know what I do.