Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racing Sims General Discussion / Chat Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

What wheel have you moved on from please?

The Fanatec Forza Motorsport CSR Wheel. But I think it was well broken towards the end. I don't think I was getting proper force feedback, the belt was slipping on it too. Every time I turned the wheel it sounded like an industrial zipper.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

ScumLord wrote: »
    The Fanatec Forza Motorsport CSR Wheel. But I think it was well broken towards the end. I don't think I was getting proper force feedback, the belt was slipping on it too. Every time I turned the wheel it sounded like an industrial zipper.

A huge jump in performance so, happy days. You'll be used to it and flying in no time.
    Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,950 ✭✭✭Doge

Posted a new thread for people to post pictures of their rigs and diy projects:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057721231

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Havent used my steering wheel for ages, but dusted it off last night and played a bit of Dirt Rally as I got it from the lads on board.ie as he did not wanted it off humble bundle.

I was never in to rally and I love track sims, but god, its freaking great. For the first time it feels comfortable and satisfying to drive a car on pc.
    I am horrible at seting up sterring wheel and I play Asseto Corsa with Default settings and it feels really meh. My biggest issue is breaking and steering constantly snapping on me. Havent had any issues in Dirt Rally though.
    I am still horrible at it and did only first career event with 4 maps. Finished like 4th overall lol, but I had a blast. I noticed that its like a work out as I work that wheel like crazy. Feels like I am going to break it hehe.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,684 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Best tip about wheels, every sim has different settings in windows and in game.
    Check the sim/game official forums for recommended dev settings, also people come up with their own settings also usually found on official or fan forums etc.

If you dont make the effort to get these settings your doing the sim and yourself an injustice, the difference between default wheel settings and dev recommended settings can be massive with most defaults being unplayable.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Dcully wrote: »
    Best tip about wheels, every sim has different settings in windows and in game.
    Check the sim/game official forums for recommended dev settings, also people come up with their own settings also usually found on official or fan forums etc.

If you dont make the effort to get these settings your doing the sim and yourself an injustice, the difference between default wheel settings and dev recommended settings can be massive with most defaults being unplayable.

Could you recommend a decent wheel for the PS4?

I mainly play the following: Dirt Rally, Assetto Corsa & Project Cars.

Sick of using a controller.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Veloce wrote: »
    Could you recommend a decent wheel for the PS4?

I mainly play the following: Dirt Rally, Assetto Corsa & Project Cars.

Sick of using a controller.

The G29 seems to be the best entry level wheel. Next level is the thrustmaster range, the next level after that is fanatec stuff. With anything more powerful than a G29 you're going to have to start looking at a sim rig to hold it all in place. By all accounts the G29 is a more than capable wheel, I haven't used one, I went the fanatec route early on, the good thing about fanatec stuff is it's fairly modular, but it's initially expensive.

I have both G27 and G29 , i prefer the G27 to be honest but both are great wheels, not top end by any means but considering some wheels cost 3 grand or more :)

G29 is probably easier to find than G27, really you cant go wrong with it.

If you can stretch a few more quid id go for the thrustmaster t300 or even t500 they would be the next step up from G27/G29.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Thanks for the recommendations. Will check them out.

For the last few months i was doing relatively good in Dirt Rally, the steering felt sensititive but thought nothing of it.

Today I realised i had steering saturation turned down to 20% instead of 100% so it was must sharper at turning than real life.

Not driving a car in real life i didnt realise it, and now at 100% I cant keep the thing on the road!

Going to have to relearn how to drive all over again! Bollocks!

A while back I bought an Eaton Fuller style shifter for Euro / American Truck Simulator (2), with the hope of making a DIY SKRS Shifter like this:

Unfortunately it uses air pressure in real life and I honestly don't have a clue how they managed to fit micro switches in there.

So now I'm after finding a cheap enough Replacement Scania Shifter and this thread on the SCS forums:

https://forum.scssoft.com/viewtopic.php?f=109&t=189431

And the wiring is all electrical making it much easier to hook up to an arduino:

RTS5jgu.jpg?1

• Registered Users Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Inviere

Set up the G920 there, good god the brake pedal isn't the best. I done the mod which involves removing the little rubber stopper from inside the brake cylinder, SO much better to use now! Loving the wheel & pedals, they're obviously entry level in terms of sim racing, but I caught them at €150 delivered on Argos there a week or two ago, & at that price it's a no brainer. Gone back up to £250 (sterling) now!

Made an offer on that scania gear shifter and what did the german seller do?

Ignored it and jacked up the price by over €17! FML

Inviere wrote: »
    Set up the G920 there, good god the brake pedal isn't the best. I done the mod which involves removing the little rubber stopper from inside the brake cylinder, SO much better to use now! Loving the wheel & pedals, they're obviously entry level in terms of sim racing, but I caught them at €150 delivered on Argos there a week or two ago, & at that price it's a no brainer. Gone back up to £250 (sterling) now!

The funny thing about the Brake Pedal, is that people used to mod the G27 brake pedal to make it more stiff like the G920/G29, so it feels more realistic!

You've done the opposite. I think it gets less stiff after a months use or so, thats what she said. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Inviere

Doge wrote: »
    The funny thing about the Brake Pedal, is that people used to mod the G27 brake pedal to make it more stiff like the G920/G29, so it feels more realistic!

You've done the opposite. I think it gets less stiff after a months use or so, thats what she said. :o

God no, out of the box it's WAY too stiff (the second stage where you hit the little rubber piece). I get what they were going for, but for me it didn't realistically convey the sense of a real brake pedal. With the rubber piece removed, it's obviously a lighter pedal, but I feel I've much more control over brake pressure now. Late braking was virtually impossible before the mod, & that's using a GT Omega wheel stand which has proper support!

Btw, is Dirt Rally worth 15 blips?

Inviere wrote: »
    God no, out of the box it's WAY too stiff (the second stage where you hit the little rubber piece). I get what they were going for, but for me it didn't realistically convey the sense of a real brake pedal. With the rubber piece removed, it's obviously a lighter pedal, but I feel I've much more control over brake pressure now. Late braking was virtually impossible before the mod, & that's using a GT Omega wheel stand which has proper support!

Btw, is Dirt Rally worth 15 blips?

Definitely worth it, one of the first big games to be fully playable in VR.

Dirt 4 is getting a huge backlash from the community for being too Arcadey, and no sign of VR yet.

I love Dirt Rally so much I bought it on Steam and PS4 with the VR DLC upgrade.

Its VR Ready out of the box on steam.

Its a tough game though and takes a lot of practice and patience, but once you master it, its totally worth it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,030 ✭✭✭zetecescort

looking for recommendations for an F1 game. recently got an xbox one after years away from gaming. used to play Grand Prix 2 and Grand Prix Legends on PC so looking for as much a sim as possible. don't mind going back a few years once it plays right, substance over fancy graphics.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Spudman_20000

looking for recommendations for an F1 game. recently got an xbox one after years away from gaming. used to play Grand Prix 2 and Grand Prix Legends on PC so looking for as much a sim as possible. don't mind going back a few years once it plays right, substance over fancy graphics.

Last year's F1 2016 game got very good reviews. The 2017 version should be out soon, so might be best to keep the powder dry until then.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,415 ✭✭✭.G.

Yeah 2016 was very good, the best in years. Would agree, hold off and see what the new one is like.

The only real sim thats available for console right now is assetto corsa.

Dcully wrote: »
    The only real sim thats available for console right now is assetto corsa.

Dirt Rally?

Ofcourse yes, i forgot it was on console.

I wasnt here in ages, but Forza 7 got demo out on pc and I really loving it, even with some of the flaws it has.

Anyone tried it? I know it will be written off fast here, but its still very enjoyable for pleb like me. Feels way better then FH3.

I am a bit annoyed with MS store pricing though. 69.99eu for normal eidtion on PC, when in Smyths its 49.99eu for xbox one... I really want digital version as I will be able to play on both.

I see cdkeys.com have full version for 83.99eu. Never had issues with them, but I only got games for steam etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,964 ✭✭✭Sitec

Do you think Gran Turismo Sport will live up to the hype? Would it be worth upgrading to the PlayStation Pro? I genuinely can't wait to get it, been way too long since a Gran Turismo release. It would want to be good considering the development time.

Sitec wrote: »
    Do you think Gran Turismo Sport will live up to the hype? Would it be worth upgrading to the PlayStation Pro? I genuinely can't wait to get it, been way too long since a Gran Turismo release. It would want to be good considering the development time.

I was extremely disappointed with GT series when they started off at ps3. Bought all of them and all very disappointing. Found forza games way better and got all of them sinse Forza 2.
    Got my key for Forza 7 tonight and will finally give it a go. Tried demo with g29 and it felt a lot better then horizon. Already bookmarked a few settings for wheel to set it up.

Thing is, I most likely will get new GT too. If its really good then might upgrade my ps4 to pro too.

https://blog.eu.playstation.com/2017/10/03/gran-turismo-sport-limited-time-demo-goes-live-on-9th-october/

My buddy got into the Beta program, he said the online racing was very good, very competitive.

I just think it's a shame that PP have decided to pretty much nuke the career mode this time around. I always loved starting out from scratch on GT.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,964 ✭✭✭Sitec

https://blog.eu.playstation.com/2017/10/03/gran-turismo-sport-limited-time-demo-goes-live-on-9th-october/

My buddy got into the Beta program, he said the online racing was very good, very competitive.

I just think it's a shame that PP have decided to pretty much nuke the career mode this time around. I always loved starting out from scratch on GT.

Thanks for the link, good review of the demo. Shame about the career mode. Same as yourself I loved working my way through from the supermini to the supercars.

Absolutely, I loved the weird way they went about the career mode, all the little features and challenges. Great fun.

There's gonna be a lot of disappointed people when they find out the hard way after already buying the game. Online racing isn't everyone's cup of tea.

Thats the thing, I love career part of the racing games. I loved in GT starting with a bucket and working my way up to cool race cars.

No career in new GT kind of kills it for me.

Anyway, after 100gb download I finally managed to play forza 7 around 7 o'clock. Got some steering wheel settings on youtube too.
    I know for all of you its just an arcade game, but I finally managed to enjoy myself with steering wheel and not just spin out on straights and constantly having car out of control like in all other sims I tried. Playing them all with default settings on wheel did not helped.
    Got as my first car a new Honda civic type R and its really fun and easy car to drive. Using paddleshift manual, no assists, but have abs on for now.

Anyway, its way better then horizon when it comes to play with steering wheel. And in general too I guess. Never was a fan of horizon spin off.

Thats the thing, I love career part of the racing games. I loved in GT starting with a bucket and working my way up to cool race cars.

No career in new GT kind of kills it for me.

Anyway, after 100gb download I finally managed to play forza 7 around 7 o'clock. Got some steering wheel settings on youtube too.
    I know for all of you its just an arcade game, but I finally managed to enjoy myself with steering wheel and not just spin out on straights and constantly having car out of control like in all other sims I tried. Playing them all with default settings on wheel did not helped.
    Got as my first car a new Honda civic type R and its really fun and easy car to drive. Using paddleshift manual, no assists, but have abs on for now.

Anyway, its way better then horizon when it comes to play with steering wheel. And in general too I guess. Never was a fan of horizon spin off.

Fair play man, so long as you enjoy it, keep her lit.

I loved Forza back in the day too, I played 1-4 religiously. They were all great fun online.