Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calf Prices 2014

• Registered Users Posts: 24,370 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

75 each for 2 fr bulls not be/fr

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

What mart was that

joejobrien wrote: »
    What mart was that

Out of yard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

biddy2013 wrote: »
    75 each for 2 fr bulls not be/fr

For export I hope, I hope the farmers here have learnt something out of the present disaster

rancher wrote: »
    For export I hope, I hope the farmers here have learnt something out of the present disaster
    no wicklow calf company, think they go to farms in ireland. These where good enough calves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

rancher wrote: »

could lads still not band them and finish as bullocks ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

no wicklow calf company, think they go to farms in ireland. These where good enough calves.

Is that Mr sca##on ? Was in he's yard a few years ago sum set up.

think so, local agent picks them up here

• Registered Users Posts: 6,887 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

What are fresian calves making,i have 9 to go to the mart nxt week

• Registered Users Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Bodacious wrote: »

Not very cheap for yourman if he lost the cow as a result :o

Wonder what will he resell them at ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭charityboy

He has a grand batch of 12on donedeal for 60 euro each , might ring and offer 600 for the lot ðŸ˜႒

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Timmaay wrote: »
    Not very cheap for yourman if he lost the cow as a result :o

oh I know and I feel for him but where do you go to get money back on that lad at E520 2 days old whether you go buying milk replacer or putting him on a cow..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

kevthegaff wrote: »
    What are fresian calves making,i have 9 to go to the mart nxt week

Did u sell i have
    15 fr bulls about 10 days old

goin tom ill let u know

Suss AA and HE if ya can

• Registered Users Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

If they hadnt started shipping the FR calves so early this year there would have being a good market for them. Typical local crowd working on farmers behalf :rolleyes:couldnt wait for a few weeks. High seas is currently a problem and there are little livestock getting on board the ferries due to restrictions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Sold me je bull. calves.

how much?

how much?

15 a piece. Taking 5 tomorrow and more as soon as I have them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Reggie. wrote: »
    Suss AA and HE if ya can
    I seen a good few he being sold between 160-360. aa anything from 90 to 260 didnt see as many. I cant see any of the higher priced ones leaving much behind them. i was in cootehill friday night and 165-200kg he heifers selling from 320 -400 for a suckled one. would these not be a far better option with a lot of the problems behind them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Miname wrote: »
    I seen a good few he being sold between 160-360. aa anything from 90 to 260 didnt see as many. I cant see any of the higher priced ones leaving much behind them. i was in cootehill friday night and 165-200kg he heifers selling from 320 -400 for a suckled one. would these not be a far better option with a lot of the problems behind them.

Cannot understand calf prices at times. The prices paid for coloured calves is often crazy .. Those light suckler heifers are way better value. This time next year they are capable of being 500kgs while the coloured calf might be o350at the best.

Miname wrote: »

Cheers for that. Yeah strange difference on the price alright. Heard AA will be hard got as there is a high demand for them this year

yup we sold 2 angus stock bulls yesterday:D

All the lads that buy off the calf farms said to me that AA are getting more popular and stocks are tight

ye, these fellas came from longford

Interesting as most AA stock bulls around here are bought from Longford. So your the source ;)

AA bull 200 BB bull 250 fr 80 55 and 35 jex 10 euro bid brought him home

What will ye do with him?