Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

"when you know, you know"

• 07-08-2018 3:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭ginandtonicsky

Is there a more annoying phrase in the English language?

First time I remember hearing it was an acquaintance of mine who got engaged to a girl he'd met online three months earlier. Marriage lasted four months, so I guess he knew he knew, until he...didn't know anymore.

Love Island seems to have brought it back into fashion lately. Heard someone say it at work last week. Read it over on PI earlier. I'd throw it up there with "the one" and "soulmates" when it comes to bullsh1t platitudes people throw out when talking about romantic love.

Have you ever said it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

No.

It used in common parlance. Seems to be popular with Joe Duffy / Ray D'Arcy loyal following.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

When you know, you know, you know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭J. Smith

If I said it, I said it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Much prefer non romantic love myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

It is what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    It is what it is.

Sure it is, to be sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭valoren

It's a more romantic variation of the phrase "You'll do"

valoren wrote: »
    It's a more romantic variation of the phrase "You'll do"
    If it's a more romantic variation of the phrase "You'll do"– it's a more romantic variation of the phrase "You'll do".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Virtanen

"It's always in the last place you look"

Of course it is, you're not going to keep looking after you've found it, are you? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,687 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Virtanen wrote: »

Of course it is, you're not going to keep looking after you've found it, are you? :rolleyes:

Or "where did you last see it?". If I feckin knew that it wouldnt be lost in the first place :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,253 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Who the hell keeps looking? Of course it's in the last damn place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Virtanen

Echo echo echo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Katgurl

I just read that post you referenced op. The smugness was bouncing off the screen.

It's nice to be nice it's my most despised catchphrase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,807 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Out of a lot of phrases it doesn't really bother me unless people use it after only a few days of being together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

I used it at about 4am in a casino in my town. I had been standing watching the roulette table for about 10 minutes then decided to play. Lumped a tenner on some numbers and won €150. An old Chinese guy had been standing, notebook and pen in hand, trying to calculate the odds and failing on every bet. He looked at me and said "how did you do that?"

"When you know, you know" says I and sauntered off to cash in my winnings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

what will be, will be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    It is what it is.

This is it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

fergus1001 wrote: »
    what will be, will be

Que sera sera

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭Pamela Landy

"We have a robust policy <something> going forward."

At the end of the day, it is what it is. You know yourself, when you know you know. No word of a lie.

Sure look

They didn't lick it off a stone but the apple doesn't fall far from the tree either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

We are where we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Virtanen wrote: »
    Echo echo echo...

...echo P'TANG zoom-boing.

We are where we are.

And that's what it's all about, at the end of the day.

Candie wrote: »
    And that's what it's all about, at the end of the day.
    And if that's what it's all about, at the end of the day – that's what it's all about, at the end of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭ginandtonicsky

Ah here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

"I know"
    Cybil Fawlty, 1979.

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭GMSA

What's for you won't pass you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Look obviously like ya have to go with your gut.

Follow your intuition.

When you know you'll know

And when you see it, you'll know.

Can't explain it til you feel it.

What s for you won t pass you.

And Look, sure if it's meant to be it'll be