Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ladies and the heat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Sonny noggs

Bambi wrote: »
    That's why they should be working at a cooker :D

Correct - women ‘tied to the kitchen sink’ wasn’t misogyny at all, it was for their own sake. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 508 ✭✭✭d8491prj5boyvg

Well i can't vouch for what that poster meant but women do have more flexibility in clothing choice in many offices. If there is a female preference for warmth, this should be considered in their choice, especially if men can't dress cooler to even it out from their end. If they are wearing trousers, jumpers/jackets, vests, etc when cold then fair play.

An interesting thought on this is what happens when it is warm. Women have the option of skirts, dresses, etc. In a smart casual office, men could get away with short sleeved shirt and trousers. No shorts, no t shirt. I wonder how the AC gets set on that day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,020 ✭✭✭✭anewme

anewme wrote: »
    Its not different.

The poster said that in a typical women wore skirts.

In a typical office, most wonen are likely to wear trousers.

We have fights in the office too . someone wants the window open, someone wants it closed, id be more likely to agree with the poster who said the air con is fixed and people just think they are turning it up and down.

Well i can't vouch for what that poster meant but women do have more flexibility in clothing choice in many offices. If there is a female preference for warmth, this should be considered in their choice, especially if men can't dress cooler to even it out from their end. If they are wearing trousers, jumpers/jackets, vests, etc when cold then fair play.

Reverse it a bit. Stereotyping and generalisation can go two ways.

Could the OP be one of the office "Geansai Men"

The ones who go around with a patterned geansai made from the wool of an entire flock of sheep.

Then wonders why he he being slowly boileded alive and goes around moaning with a big red face on him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 508 ✭✭✭d8491prj5boyvg

Reverse it a bit. Stereotyping and generalisation can go two ways.

Could the OP be one of the office "Geansai Men"

The ones who go around with a patterned geansai made from the wool of an entire flock of sheep.

Then wonders why he he being slowly boiled alive and goes around moaning with a big red face on him.

Agree completely with the point being made. No need to make it personal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭yayaitsme

I work in retail and it's like summer heat everyday. The ladies that complain their cold won't put on a jumper while I'm sitting there melting. I'd only live the air con turned down another 4 or 5 degrees.

Agree completely with the point being made. No need to make it personal.

Nothing personal about it whatsoever.

Geansai man is a stereotype generalization in the exact same way OP references “chicks” in his office wearing nothing but complaining of the cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

This is just another thread about evil women screwing up everything for poor suffering men.

As someone who grew up in country with big temperature differences I find lack of insulation in many buildings in Ireland means they are freezing in the winter and most of the summer. There are maybe two days per year I'm not freezing in my office. So as an evil foregin woman used to higher temperatures in summer I have absolutely no sympathy for the whinging in this thread.

Btw I also remember when when a friend and I were travelling around Brazil. We were very happy when temperatures dipped to plesant 25 degrees but Brazilians were walking around complaining it's too cold. If you move to warmer country you should expect locals to respond to temperature differently than you. Not everyone's comfort temperature around the world should be set to that of Irish male. That's almost colonial attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,417 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Your openng post was that a "typical" office had women wearing skirts and flimsy tops. But then you say my experience is my experience and yours is yours. But still you feel qualified to define what a “typical” office is like.

Where are you getting these stats from?

Never worked in an office where there was a policy of women having to wear skirts.

Your comment about trans members of staff is also odd. Why would you not think that trans people work in offices ? They are in every walk of life.

I said "a typical office will OFTEN" I never said always. I said women have the CHOICE to wear the clothes that may make them more susceptible to cold. I never stated that women are or should be forced to wear anything. Those aren't stats, I'm not sure how you define stats, it doesn't really apply to what I said. I never stated what a typical office is or should be like, but please, don't allow that to stop you from misrepresenting me or being outraged.

I've never worked in an office where there was a policy enforcing the wearing of skirts, I never said that was something that happened. I'm not sure where that comment came from, are you directing that at me? Because it's not something I mentioned.

My comments about the trans people you mentioned were in relation to the fact that you mentioned them as being part of a (seemingly) sizable group in your office. I'd be surprised that there would be more than one trans people in most work environments, not because I have any issues with trans people (far from it) it is just a simple fact that by head of population trans people are quite rare so to have a grouping of trans people in one work place would be unusual. If you want to continue to labor this point go ahead, my point was that it seemed like you were painting a picture of an office environment where every conceivable minority was represented, perhaps in an attempt to create a fictional representation of what you see as being a "normal" office environment. Maybe what you said is an accurate representation of your workplace, it just appeared a little deliberately inclusive for the sake of making your point.

Glazers Out!

°°°°°

meeeeh wrote: »
    This is just another thread about evil women screwing up everything for poor suffering men.

As someone who grew up in country with big temperature differences I find lack of insulation in many buildings in Ireland means they are freezing in the winter and most of the summer. There are maybe two days per year I'm not freezing in my office. So as an evil foregin woman used to higher temperatures in summer I have absolutely no sympathy for the whinging in this thread.

Btw I also remember when when a friend and I were travelling around Brazil. We were very happy when temperatures dipped to plesant 25 degrees but Brazilians were walking around complaining it's too cold. If you move to warmer country you should expect locals to respond to temperature differently than you. Not everyone's comfort temperature around the world should be set to that of Irish male. That's almost colonial attitude.

You've summed it up beautifully.

Us men hate women, we're always looking for an excuse to blame women for everything, probably because you're all evil. We hate our mothers, sisters wives and daughters. Evil evil evil the lot of them.

Us Irish males just love our colonial attitudes. The Irish colonialism that never existed due to Ireland being subjugated by the colonialism of others is a massive problem that only affects the Irish male and not the Irish female.

You keep telling it like it is(n't).

Glazers Out!

nullzero wrote: »
    You've summed it up beautifully.

Us men hate women, we're always looking for an excuse to blame women for everything, probably because you're all evil. We hate our mothers, sisters wives and daughters. Evil evil evil the lot of them.

Us Irish males just love our colonial attitudes. The Irish colonialism that never existed due to Ireland being subjugated by the colonialism of others is a massive problem that only affects the Irish male and not the Irish female.

You keep telling it like it is('nt).

How do you explain then someone moving into a hot country and then whinging that people there don't tolerate colder temperatures as him.

°°°°°

How do you explain then someone moving into a hot country and then whinging that people there don't tolerate colder temperatures as him.

The same way I'd explain somebody moving to a colder country and complaining about the temperature there...

How d'ya like dem apples?

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Reviews and Books Galore

You sound like you are caught up in time warp from the 50's. Like a bad scene from Mad Men.

Its now 2019.

Id say 90 percent of women in our office wear trousers. The men can wear skirts too if they like, most dont wear ties, some like to wear ties and the trans people can wear what they like. No one bats an eyelid and we all get along fine.

You know, I was thinking that if men were skirts as the norm, and not just to make a pount, they nay be open to sexual harrasment claims.

Skirts riding up, up skirts, so in so forth. Just a funny thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,408 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Its not different.

The poster said that in a typical women wore skirts.

In a typical office, most wonen are likely to wear trousers.

We have fights in the office too . someone wants the window open, someone wants it closed, id be more likely to agree with the poster who said the air con is fixed and people just think they are turning it up and down.

I'd like to add to my original post.
    Traditionally in Ireland there was no such thing as air conditioning, most office block type buildings had a system where air was heated, cooled and blown out of a device called a cassette unit.You may have noticed them , a large square unit sitting in the ceilings of your office block.A condenser unit sat outside often on your roof or bolted to the side of your buildings. There was no exchange of air from outside to in.

Nowadays modern AC is becoming more prevalent, however AC does not work is Lenny from HR keeps opening windows , the principle of AC is that it moves air in and out of the building.

Modern buildings have their heating, AC ,lighting etc controlled by Buildings Maintenance System which means everything is pre programmed allowing for seasonal changes etc.

So if Lenny wants to to open windows and continue wearing his thermal vest , jumper and winter jocks he is really just being a bollix, clockwise if Claire from accounts wants to dress like a pornstar , she just needs a kick up the hole.Also if you work in a modern building you should notice very few windows actually open.

Right my fry is ready.

The same way I'd explain somebody moving to a colder country and complaining about the temperature there...

How d'ya like dem apples?

I'm not using it as dig at 'females' or 'males'.

It's proven that women get colder, not just in summer when they are coming into office almost topless according to some but also in winter. As it happens I agree it's easier to put on a cardigan than take off a shirt. But this whinging that hordes of women and ny times are out too get you is just stupid.

°°°°°

I'm not expecting people to adapt to me.

So what's your point then?
    I notice to only mentioned a man moving to a warmer country. I'm sure most Irish people, male or female would find the climate in a South American country difficult to adapt to, not just us horrible "colonial" Irish men who you seem to have such a number of issues with.

Glazers Out!

°°°°°

I'm not using it as dig at 'females' or 'males'.

Who is using it as a dig at anyone?
    I haven't.

Glazers Out!

So what's your point then?
    I notice to only mentioned a man moving to a warmer country .

Because that's what op was about. What am I supposed to do, invent that op was written by a woman just so your gender sensibilities won't be offended.

°°°°°

Because that's what op was about. What am I supposed to do, invent that op was written by a woman just so your gender sensibilities won't be offended.

But why does a person complaining about the temperature in another country have to be a man? I love hot weather but my wife can't stand it. What does that do to your gender sensibilities?

If you bothered to read the OP you'd have noted that they weren't complaining about the temperature in the country the now live in but the temperature in their office.

Glazers Out!

But why does a person complaining about the temperature in another country have to be a man?.

Because op is a man. Feel free to rewrite the op just to win an argument. This is getting a bit too ridiculous for me to continue.

°°°°°

Because op is a man. Feel free to rewrite the op just to win an argument. This is getting a bit too ridiculous for me to continue.

I'm not attempting to rewrite anything.

This got ridiculous when you started referring to Irish men as having a" colonial" attitude towards workplace temperatures.

I think women are fantastic, men and women have differences, they seem to illicit different responses from different people.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,547 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

This a personal “bugbear” for me. And it really does seem to gender divide.

The lads in the office sweating profusely under their shirt and tie while the women swam around in flimsy blouses.

Of course, any suggestion that a jumper be brought in is met with death stares as if you’d just insulted someone’s mother. Ridiculous carry on.

Social convention dictates that women wear light blouses in the way that it dictates that men wear a shirt and tie.

You suggest women wear a jumper and are confused at the negative reactions. You could equally suggest that men wear a lighter material. Short sleeve Cheese cloth instead of long sleeve cotton shirts buttoned up. But the reaction from most men would be similar.

It's exactly the same suggestion though. Social convention says we have to dress a certain way for work and it's hard to Imagine doing it differently for some people.

I'm not attempting to rewrite

This got ridiculous when you started referring to Irish men as having a" colonial" attitude towards workplace temperatures..

Actually you are now also rewriting my post not just op. I never said Irish men, I used irish male because that's what op is (to distinguish from being female and I presume Australian). I think your approach of insinuating stuff I didn't say to start some sort of a gender argument is pretty despicable.

°°°°°

Actually you are now also rewriting my post not just op. I never said Irish men, I used irish male because that's what op is (to distinguish from being female and I presume Australian). I think your approach of insinuating stuff I didn't say to start some sort of a gender argument is pretty despicable.

I never rewrote anything.

The OP spoke about the temperature in their office, you took that as being a complaint about the temperature in that country which it wasn't.
    You failed to comprehend the OP correctly.

I didn't start any sort of gender argument here, this thread was already about gender differences. You have failed to understand some pretty simple stuff on this thread and you have the nerve to accuse me of insinuating things you didn't say when all I did was quote you directly.

I'm at a loss as to what your point here is. The OP isn't complaining about the temperature in their adopted country, so you got the wrong end of the stick there. The thread is about the differences between men and women in relation to preferences of office temperatures so I'm not sure how I started a gender argument on a thread which is a gender argument.

This isn't my first time interacting with you and sadly this seems to be the level you're happy to operate at. I take exception to being told I'm rewriting things by somebody who hasn't failed to understand the basics of the conversation.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Reviews and Books Galore

Bit harsh? :P

Sure, weren't you, or another poster, insinuating that he was sexist or stuck in time?

°°°°°

Sure, weren't you, or another poster, insinuating that he was sexist or stuck in time?

It was another person.
    Misrepresentation seems to be popular on this thread. What's the point in bothering to read what someone says when you can just get offended by part of it and make all sort of nonsense statements attributing all manner of unpleasant things to them.

Glazers Out!

Didn’t start a gender argument?

Cheap shots about preferential treatment.

And accusing people of making stuff up when challenged.

????

Anyway I don't know about sexit but you can usually guess what direction post will be going once females is used instead of women.

No that was me.

A 2019 office being described like a set of mad men.

°°°°°

Didn’t start a gender argument?

Cheap shots about preferential treatment.

And accusing people of making stuff up when challenged.

I challenged the nonsense of men receiving preferential treatment. If you want to appropriate that as "making cheap shots about preferential treatment" that's up to you.

Nonsense has been made up, by you. You have attributed all sorts of nonsense to me, (being stuck in a time warp saying I said women are being forced to wear skirts and on and on). You have no business taking the moral high ground here but that won't stop you.

Glazers Out!

°°°°°

????

Anyway I don't know about sexit but you can usually guess what direction post will be going once females is used instead of women.

So using the term female is sexist now?

Glazers Out!