Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Things you don't see in GAA anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

managers in 'slacks'...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

An outfield player wearing big puffy 'keeper's gloves.

Helmets without face-guards.

Ground hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,869 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

If Mayo ever get over the line, you can be damn sure there'll be a return of Plan B.

Jaysus there's another oldie. Haven't heard that one since 2013 or so. First it was Tipp, then Dublin, then Donegal, then Clare, then Galway....

All these teams won an all ireland without breaching the fence, so they've to find a new county each time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,163 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    managers in 'slacks'...

Corks John Meyler wears slacks

• Registered Users Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

Ger Loughnane prowling the sideline in Thurles like the fella in braveheart saying "We're going to do it"

TOP LEVEL INTERCOUNTY PLAYERS who resemble beer barrels

No warm downs, players head straight to the bar after a match

• Registered Users Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭KevRossi

TUBS OF ICES! GET THE LAST OF THE TUBS OF ICES!

Back in the 70's you'd see an old man being led around with a woman with long hair, he was blind (supposedly). His call was 'Help the blind pliss'

Waiting until halfway through the last line of Amhran na bhfiann for the big roar, it comes way too early these days.

Bangers of cars needing a push start after the match and sitting 3 abreast in the front of the car.

Tranisitor radio pressed up to some oul fellas ear, with someone 4 rows back roaring up at him, constantly wanting to know the score of a different match. STFU!

Occupations on programmes.

'Maor' peaked caps and a rolled up programme as a sign of authority, none of yer fancy Hi Viz jackets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Ger Loughnane prowling the sideline in Thurles like the fella in braveheart saying "We're going to do it"

TOP LEVEL INTERCOUNTY PLAYERS who resemble beer barrels

No warm downs, players head straight to the bar after a match

#JIMMYKEAVNEY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Road-Hog wrote: »

A fan in a row in front of you turning around tinyou and saying ‘where is your shouting now’ when his team gets a score to go ahead in last minute of a game

Packed stadiums other than all Ireland final days

Pitch invasions on all Ireland final days. Will only ever happen again if a norn iron team wins a final again.
    Happened on sunday even.

Semi finals between dublin and mayo

I think itd happen if mayo won the all-ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭Radio5

People actually watching a match without taking out a mobile phone to take a picture/selfie/record some of the match or make/take a call so they can proceed to shout about being at a particular venue ( I'M UP IN DUBLIN FOR THE MATCH!) and mention how many drinks they had last night & how they're feeling today.

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭bodun

Sideline and umpire flags made from pieces of fertilizer bag nailed to the handle of a broken hurl

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

A full 10 aside U12 team piling out of the back of one of the Fiat Fiorino van in town leagues! :)

How we didnt suffocate! :D

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQRl6Pk49nvJXkoTesE5HUEvlfFvhu86dTpfY6zAVBaSaRcjFKi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,333 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Cow sh1te on pitches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Exiled1

Hairy jerseys.
    These were made of wool and were wonderful at soaking rain and sweat.
    They were rarely washed because of danger of shrinkage. Subs jerseys were never washed!
    On warm days, it was difficult to choose between the pong and the itch as to which was more awful.
    Thankfully they had disappeared by the early eighties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Tidy corner forwards with jerseys 3 sizes too big

Or full forward with one size too small a jersey and shorts two sizes too small just to show how big a crack of an ar** he had.
    If Mayo ever get over the line, you can be damn sure there'll be a return of Plan B.

I know some lads that have sworn not alone to invade but they plan on taking a bit of a souvenir of the occasion.
    PARlance wrote: »
    Cow sh1te on pitches.

Alright if dry in summer, not so nice if fresh.
    Trust me on that.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

PARlance wrote:
    Cow sh1te on pitches.

It's horse sh1t in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 relgoog

Mikasa gloves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,653 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

PARlance wrote:
    Cow sh1te on pitches.

Stoner wrote:

It'll be pure sh1te if anything like last year's super 8s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Gael85

Stoner wrote: »

I played a match in Killanarden recently and it was rabbit **** on the pitch :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭davegilly

BloodyBill wrote: »
    2. Swaying in the crowd at the old Pairc Ui Chaoimh and the fear of losing in Munster

Many is the great day we had down in the Pairc - place packed to the rafters. Repeat the following year down in Killarney. Great games. Unlikely or more than likely never to be repeated unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,230 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

delaad wrote: »
    Banners with, sometimes, witty comments on them,.....as at Down 93 final,

"The man in front is Mickey Linden"

I'm not sure,but think this one was on Hill 16 probably in 1984,

"Brian Mullins lays on more balls than Joanne Hayes"

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Conorbarry1984

Everyone from the under 12/14/16s arriving at training on their bikes from all over the parish, not a one these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Rasputin11 wrote: »
    Who was the minor football OBL?

TIPPERARY MINOR FOOTBALLER Aidan Buckley

Look him up back in 2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Gael85

Everyone from the under 12/14/16s arriving at training on their bikes from all over the parish, not a one these days

Kids driven everywhere by parents now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭Road-Hog

You see it a bit these days but not as often as years ago......auld fellas with the match program open on the page with the teams named, marking/ticking the scores and wides a player gets during a game

Stupid nick names on players is becoming rare also, ‘bubbles o’dwyer’ is probably the only one of the top players these days with one

Guys using term ‘slap-ball’ or ‘Schlap-bail’ depending on part of country you are from. Could/can never fully understand what the eff a slap ball means...? Can anyone enlighten me after all these years

Pat shortt/ John Kenny type underage coaches.....foaming at the mouth on the side line and false teeth continuously falling out

• Registered Users Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Fifty grades of shay.

Road-Hog wrote: »
    You see it a bit these days but not as often as years ago......auld fellas with the match program open on the page with the teams named, marking/ticking the scores and wides a player gets during a game

Stupid nick names on players is becoming rare also ‘bubbles o’dwyer’ is probably the only one of the top players these days

Guys using term ‘slap-ball’ or ‘Schlap-bail’ depending on part of country you are from

That's me, I like my own little stats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,333 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Cow sh1te on pitches.
    Stoner wrote: »

Let's not forget the sheep either! Sheep sh1te wasn't nearly as bad as the cows though.

There was a farm (with terrible land) adjoining our pitch back in the day and the fence was never as tight as the farmer. Regular gaps for the animals to get through would appear fairly regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

....the British Army commandeering GAA grounds...

https://www.rte.ie/archives/2019/0306/1034611-british-army-to-leave-gaa-grounds/

Hard to believe 20 years has passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Cow sh1te on pitches.

Great one.

And getting it in the face

• Registered Users Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭thesultan

shockframe wrote: »
    Puma Kings. Worn by about 2/3 of players from the late 80s to the late 00s.

Now rarely worn by anyone in a big match.
    Brick walsh

• Registered Users Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Let's not forget the sheep either! Sheep sh1te wasn't nearly as bad as the cows though.

There was a farm (with terrible land) adjoining our pitch back in the day and the fence was never as tight as the farmer. Regular gaps for the animals to get through would appear fairly regularly.

I think in Dublin with park pitches it's dog sh1te unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Gentleman Off The Pitch

Long sleeve jerseys
    Hurlers with shin guards
    Toweling on hurls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

The conventional sideline, maybe i'm totally wrong but i remember it being very rare that lads would score from a sideline, seems to happen in most games now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Great one.

And getting it in the face

As a Dub you knew you were in Indian territory when you were playing on spiral cow pats in grass half a foot long.

Stars of Erin, Marys of Saggart, Margarets, Boden (before they became all posh) we're looking at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,336 ✭✭✭arctictree

Remember playing a hurling match in the 90s with big cow pats in the field. Sliothar landed in one and the **** was flying from lads pulling!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭youngblood

No sleeve Jerseys..you know who you are....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Buses to away games, everybody drives now-a-days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Davys Fits wrote: »
    Kilkenny throwing Liam Mc Cup into the boot of the car.

Wicklow locking referees in the boot of the car.

John Mullane "I love me county" style interviews with a mob of people going mental behind him. Now days its all "Oh sure there a good side and they put it up to us and thankfully we got over the line".....

Some of the above are better off that you don't see them any more!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Pre-Christmas National League games.

Lads playing football with one glove.

Mikasa football gloves (the yellow cloth ones with the black dots).

Lads wearing their own shorts rather than the standard issue ones (although Brick Walsh always wears two pairs).

Auld lads sitting in the stand with a small radio held up to their ear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,336 ✭✭✭arctictree

hardybuck wrote: »

Lads wearing their own shorts rather than the standard issue ones (although Brick Walsh always wears two pairs).

An older player in our club refused to wear the club jersey when sponsorship first came in (he had his own non sponsor jersey). 'I'm not wearing some gangsters name across my chest' was his reasoning. Got away with it too until he retired. You got to admire someone with principles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭paul71

Suspiciously hairy minors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

John Mullane "I love me county" style interviews with a mob of people going mental behind him. Now days its all "Oh sure there a good side and they put it up to us and thankfully we got over the line".....

Some of the above are better off that you don't see them any more!

What do you think of that joe brolly!!!

paul71 wrote: »
    Suspiciously hairy minors.

We played in a street league final in 70s where their star player drove up in a car.

It was supposed to be unders but winning meant a lot to the Club chairman :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,971 ✭✭✭doc_17

You don’t see players taking a hit anymore without going down and having the physio and doctor come on and do that stupid **** like they’ve been hit by a hammer.Ok if it’s a hard hit but these lads aren’t even getting hit in the head in the first place.

What do you think of that joe brolly!!!

That was the most over hyped interview ever. Joe Brolly laughing all the way to the bank with that publicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

RTE TV ads for Triple A golden maverick, something to dose cattle with, or a hardware store in a wee town down the country

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭passremarkable

elefant wrote: »
    Umbro Specialis

Still have a pair of them!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭Road-Hog

RTE TV ads for Triple A golden maverick, something to dose cattle with, or a hardware store in a wee town down the country

Fertiliser ads during Sunday game highlights......pre 1996 the only live games we had were all Ireland semis and final......

Mentors wearing football boots on sideline with the ends of their pants/slacks tucked into their socks

Extra tight high cut shorts....with full definition of the butt crack visible......would be viewed as very ‘camp’ these rays

Getting changed into gear in car that you were transported to ground in as most places had no dressing rooms

Players (particularly forwards following a good/vital score) getting a celebratory slap on the arse from one of their teammates

Meath winning a championship game in Croke Park

Cork hurling teams giving opponents a thorough beating

Respect being shown to counties like cork kerry, kk, Tipp

Mothers with scarves belting refs around the head with their bag.

Okay, maybe that was just my Ma …..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

Paper hats in county colours......last seen in late 70's, early 80's