Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Sixmilebridge won U21 A Championship. Not sure of the final score but were 9 points up in injury time. 2 very soft goals conceded by the Cratloe keeper gave Bridge the edge. Up to the 3rd goal the game was very competitive.

Clare Minor Footballers won there 2nd playoff match this evening beating Limerick in the Gaelic Grounds :)

1-9 to 10 points i think the score was and i am of the belief that they now play Cork again in the semi-final which will be on in Cusack Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

As mentioned above ^^^
    Munsyer MFC semi-final pairings known
    24 April 2011

Munster Minor Football Championship Semi-Final 2nd Playoff Result

Clare's win in the final playoff game means that the fixtures for the semi-finals of the Munster MFC have been confirmed.

The Banner's 1-10 to 0-10 success against Limerick earns them a home semi-final against Cork, while in the other last four game Tipperary will entertain Kerry.

Both games will be played on Wednesday 18 May at 7pm

Munster Minor Football Championship Semi-Final Fixtures
    Wednesday May 18th @ 7:00pm
    Tipperary v Kerry in Semple Stadium Thurles
    Cork v Clare in Cusack Park Ennis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Gael85

Munster Minor Football Championship Semi-Final 2nd playoff
    Clare 1-10 Limerick 0-10
    Clare qualified for the Munster Minor Football Semi-Final against Cork by virtue of a three point victory over Limerick at the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday evening. Clare started strong and built up a 1-2 to 0-0 lead in the first quarter with Adrian Murrihy raising the green flag. The impressive Danny Frewen scored Limerick’s first point in the 17th minute and three further Frewen points and white flags from Limerick’s Francis O’Riordan and Danny Neville meant Clare’s lead was reduced to 1-4 to 0-6 at the interval.
    Clare’s play improved in the second half, creating numerous goal chances which they failed to convert meaning that entering the final quarter, the sides were level at 1-6 to 0-9. However, Clare full-forward Niall Hickey helped put his team back in front with 3 pointed frees and when the impressive Clare midfielder Conor Cleary kicked a point from play in injury time, it sealed a hard fought victory for the Banner County.
    Teams -
    Clare: Darren Sexton; Conor Gavin, Jamie Malone, Oisin Vaughan; Stan Lineen, Darragh McDonagh, Craig O’Brien; Alan O’Neill, Conor Cleary (0-2); Eoin Cleary (0-2, 0-1 free), Ciaran Devitt, Adrian Murrihy (1-0); Martin O’Leary (0-1), Niall Hickey (0-5, 0-4 frees), Daragh Bolton
    Subs: William Flynn for Adrian Murrihy (injured), Joey Rouine for Daragh Bolton, Jack Scanlon for William Flynn, James Sweeney for Craig O’Brien
    Limerick: David Condron; Kevin Brosnan, Brendan McCarthy, Kevin O’Donoghue; Eoin O’Donnell, Shane O’Connor, Sean Barrett; Dara Tracey, Tommy Griffin; Dean Lillis, Denis O’Dea, Francis O’Riordan (0-1 free); Danny Neville (0-1), William Shanahan, Danny Frewen (0-7, 0-3 frees)
    Subs: Jamie Quaid (0-1) for Francis O’Riordan (injured), Eoin Roche for William Shanahan, Kieran Larkin for Danny Neville, Kevin Meade for Denis O’Dea
    Referee: Jer Lynch (Kerry)

Clare play Kerry tomorrow evening is first round of Championship and here is the team:

TEAM IN FULL
    1.Eibhear Quilligan E.O.Cuileagain Feakle
    2.Jack Browne S.O.deBrun Ballyea
    3.Niall O Connor N.O.Conchuir Newmarket
    4.Seadna Morey S.O.Mora Sixmilebridge
    5.Martin Moroney M.O.Maoiruanaidh Parteen
    6.Jamie Shanahan S.O.Seanchain Sixmilebridge
    7.Gearoid O Connell G.O.Conaill Ballyea
    8.Colm Galvin C.O.Geailbhean Clonlara
    9.Tony Kelly © A.O.Ceillaigh Ballyea
    10.Alan Mulready A.O.Maoilbhride Sixmilebridge
    11.Cathal O Connell C.O.Conaill Clonlara
    12.Frank Melody F.O.Maoileidigh Newmarket
    13.Shane O Donnell S.O.Donaill Eire Og Ennis.
    14.Oisin Hickey O.hIci Meelick
    15.Aaron Cunningham A.MacCuinneagain Wolfe Tones na Sionna.
    16.Keith Hogan K.O hOgain Clooney/Quin
    17.Jarleth Colleran J.O.Cailarainn St Josephs Doora/Barefield
    18.Peter Duggan P.O.Duigain Clooney/Quin
    19.Shane McGrath S.MacGrath Feakle
    20.Dave Barry D.deBarra Clooney/Quin
    21.Brian Carey B.O.Ciara Sixmilebridge
    22.Damien Moloney D.O.Maolomhnaigh Meelick
    23.Eoin Enright E. MacIonnrachtaigh Kilmaley
    24.Oisin O Brien O.O.Brien Clonlara

Delighted to see Shane O'Donnell playing as a fellow townie and hopefully he bags a few scores.

A lot is expected of this team and on paper they are very strong. Same midfield as last year and some superb forwards. Best of luck in the campaign ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I'd imagine ye are favourites for Munster this year, along with Waterford. Good to see. Tony Kelly is supposed to be an incredible prospect.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

Hard to know with minors, but Clare look to have a right good team this year. If they can set a solid half-backline, Kelly and Galvin in front of them and that full-backline behind them will make them a very hard team to break down. On top of that they have some good individual forwards and the likes of Cunningham and Hickey could be very effective with decent supply.

You'd have to rate their chances but as I said, minor teams are unpredictable. History is against them and presuming they get over Kerry, they'll be vulnerable facing the traditionally strong winner of the loser's section. If they perform to the level they're capable of they'll be a serious proposition though.

Orizio wrote: »
    I'd imagine ye are favourites for Munster this year, along with Waterford. Good to see. Tony Kelly is supposed to be an incredible prospect.

i'd say we are alright. A lot of experience in big match games for most of them and they all have great ability. We have the best midfield in the competition for sure anyway so hopefully they can supply the 2 fast forwards inside.

You won't really know the score with the Munster minor championship until the first two rounds are over. Last year's first round would suggested that Cork and Tipp were the best two teams in the competition, yet neither of them made the final. It also would have suggested that Waterford were well ahead of Clare, yet Clare ended up beating them in the Munster final.

Clare v Limerick

Cusack Park, Ennis

Throw in 6.30pm

This should be a cracker of a game, with both sides itching for Division 1 hurling. For us, it is vital we get promoted to avoid a third year in Div 2. Limerick will be feeling good coming up against our young side, but losing home advantage is a big factor going against them. However I feel confident that we can win this.

This is Clare's first senior match where County pride is seriously on the line imo. We were beaten badly by Limerick back in Februrary. Our hurling has improved since then but this will be this squads biggest test yet.

C'mon the Banner!!

Minors won 6-24 to 1-8 against Kerry tonight. Led 1-12 to 1-5 at the break. Kerry were very competitive last year so that's a good result. Cork will now meet Kerry, and Tipp will play the winner for a meeting with Clare in the semi-final. Limerick meet Waterford in the other semi-final.

Henno30 wrote: »
    Minors won 6-24 to 1-8 against Kerry tonight. Led 1-12 to 1-5 at the break. Kerry were very competitive last year so that's a good result. Cork will now meet Kerry, and Tipp will play the winner for a meeting with Clare in the semi-final. Limerick meet Waterford in the other semi-final.

Some serious demolition job done in the 2nd half there alright. Very surprised that both Cork and Tipp lost especially Cork to Limerick easily enough. Hopefully we wont lack a competiive game now before our semi-final who will have 2 more games played.

Only one more if it's Tipp that come through but yeah it's not ideal. The last few years have shown that coming through the loser's section is no disadvantage anyway.

http://gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/2804111607-banner-sweating-on-the-fitness-of-key-trio/1/

Conor McGrath being 50/50 for Saturday is not good, but hopefully he will pull through. Sounds like he got a nasty dead leg last Friday. Gerry Quinn injured is no real concern tbh, and the fact the media consider him key to our campaign is ridiculous. James Mc looks like he will be available for selection alongside Quinn. Darach Honan's knee problem has been resolved too I believe.

For Limerick, O'Shaughnessy has retired and they are otherwise at full health.

eroo wrote: »
    http://gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/2804111607-banner-sweating-on-the-fitness-of-key-trio/1/

Conor McGrath being 50/50 for Saturday is not good, but hopefully he will pull through. Sounds like he got a nasty dead leg last Friday. Gerry Quinn injured is no real concern tbh, and the fact the media consider him key to our campaign is ridiculous. James Mc looks like he will be available for selection alongside Quinn. Darach Honan's knee problem has been resolved too I believe.

For Limerick, O'Shaughnessy has retired and they are otherwise at full health.

McGrath's injury happened in the first 5 mins of the U21 final. You could see straight away that his movement was limited enough but still played whole game. He would be a big loss as he is such a slick hurler.

Clare 2-13 Limerick 4-12

Backs need to be sorted.

Devastated tbh.

HL2 final: Limerick leave it late against Clare

30 April 2011

Limerick 4-12
    Clare 2-13

Limerick are back in the top flight following a hard fought win over Clare in the Allianz NHL division two final at Cusack Park this evening.

Cusack Park, Ennis was the venue for this division two final between the two sides that looked the most impressive throughout the campaign, although Clare did struggle at times, while Limerick cruised into the final.

This was meant to be one sided match as Limerick were strong favourites to take the title and more importantly make a swift return to the top flight, but Clare were never going to go down without a fight as their performance showed.

Both sides know the importance of playing in division one and the determination on display was evident as every ball was battled for with tenacity and from early on this looked like a game that would go down to the wire.

In what was a pulsating contest, there was very little between the sides and indeed for long periods it looked as if Clare would upset the odds, but Limerick's late flourish turned the tide in their favour as they yielded 1-3 without reply.

Clare were the first to get off the mark when Liam Markham pointed in the first minute after a mix up in the Limerick defence. Jonathon Clancy soon followed up with a wide as the Banner set up to upset the odds.

A brilliant run by Richie McCarthy saw the Limerick centre forward lay the ball off to Seanie Tobin, who buried the sliotar into the back of the net to produce the game's first goal. However, it was Clare that had the lion's share of the possession and some fine scores by Nicky O'Connell kept them in front.

By the 30th minute it was 0-8 to 1-3 to Clare and then a long ball by Seamus Hickey looked to have deceived Clare goalkeeper Donal Touhy, but he stopped the ball on the line, only for the unfortunate 'keeper to fumble his pick up and the sliotar rolled over the line to put the Treaty a point ahead.

Full forward Kevin Downes then pointed and the same player won a free shortly after, which McCarthy pointed to leave three between the sides as half time approached. A further point by Paul Browne really left Clare reeling as the trailed by 2-6 to 0-08 at the interval, when indeed Clare should have been a lot closer or maybe even ahead.

Clare got the perfect start to the second half when Darach Honan rounded Gavin O'Mahoney and headed goalwards before blasting the sliotar past Nicky Quaid to reduce the gap to the narrowest of margins.

Following some deliberations between referee James McGrath and his umpires, John Conlon was awarded a point when a free out looked to be on the cards after a foul on Wayne McNamara. This left the sides level just five minutes into the second half.

Then Tobin added to his tally when he was quickest to react after the sliotar had come back off the upright and the corner forward pointed to move Limerick in front once again. Touhy went some way to making up for his error when he climbed high to catch the sliotar and stop a certain point from a long range Browne effort.

Conlon was on target to restore parity as Limerick reacted by bringing on the experienced Niall Moran for Graham Mulcahy. However, Conlon took a pass from Clancy and he fired over yet again to edge Clare in front and it was evident that the banner were beginning to believe in themselves.

McCarthy replied for Limerick after he made room to score despite the attention of two Clare defenders. Straight from the puck out though an excellent pass by Conlon found Conor McGrath who ran on and fired to the net to leave the score 2-11 to 2-08 after 51 minutes. Game on!

Ryan hit a bad wide form Limerick before Honan left four points between the sides after he tapped over on his left. Limerick needed a quick response and they got it when Declan Hannon found himself in space to shoot past Touhy and we were back to a one-point game.

The impressive Conlon was causing the Limerick defence all sorts of problems and he scored a fine point in the 55th minute to double their lead. Substitute Caimin Morey was booked just seconds after coming on for an off the ball incident involving Damien Reale as down the other end of the field before Downes set up Donal O'Grady for a point.

The sides exchanged wides as the game entered the final six minutes, while both defences worked tirelessly to cut out any threat. Nonetheless, it was the energetic Browne that scored the next point and what an excellent one it was. The midfielder sprinted down the middle and tapped over on his left. This score lifted Limerick and moments later Downes scored their fourth goal after he raced in from the left to fire to the net.

It was all Limerick at this stage as Hannon scored a fine long range point as Clare looked shell shocked to be trailing by 4-11 to 2-13 with three minutes remaining. Clare pushed forward in their droves, but the Limerick defence defended heroically and Niall Moran pointed for Limerick in the dying moments, which was the last score of the game.

Clare 2-13 Limerick 4-12

Backs need to be sorted.

Devastated tbh.

Very disappointing in the end alright. i actually thought the backs played very good in patches especially O'Donovan in 2nd half. Cooney was very poor though. Got wrong side of Downes on 3 or 4 occasions and got punished for it.

First issue to address is the keeper. Touhy was very poor again. 2nd goal was a joke to concede and the last goal he was beaten at the near post and he was on the ground befor Downes had hit it.

Clancy and Ryan were brutal IMO and should have been taken off much earlier. Honan took his goals very well but he can still improve in a lot of aspects of the game. McGrath got no ball into him all game. Conlon was very good and Lynch broke the ball well but never looked like scoring. Thought the midfield was on top for a lot of the game until the last 8 mins where we seemed to get out-run.

Hopefully the structure is changed so we have division 1 hurling next year as its the only way we will improve. The basis is there for a good team but need to tighten up in a lot of areas. First touch was poor at times, hand-passes not going to the man, taking scores and decision making were all lacking at times.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭ballykev

Clare were Brutal, the major issues are we dont really have any players that can lead and stand up and be counted.

we are in serious trouble at center back, full back and for a goalie. dillion and cooney were absolutely destroyed. Tuohy makes too many mistakes like what was he at for the second goal.

our half forwards cannot win their own ball out of the air, conlon played well in the second half all his points came from breaking ball, he never caught a ball clean out of the air. on the other hand limericks half forward line won alot of ball particularily their number 12.

Vaughan should be played at midfield, that is his position not at corner back. possibly would chnace dillion in the full back line he was there last year and played ok he is clearly too slow and cannot turn for intercounty center back.

we clare are in serious trouble we will be down for a long time. and to say that the structure should be chnaged to we can play 1st divison hurling is pure nosense if we were good enough we would be playing 1st divison hurling. even if we were playing in the first divison we would come straight back down again as we are simply not good enough and that is a fact.

The team has not progressed one bit under O Louglin he must be under serious pressure now. in the championship cork or tipp will hammer us, we might have a slight chance against cork not a hope against tipp, tipp would beat us going in reverse and anybody doesnt think that needs there head examined.

rubbish forwards i.e ryan, morey, mcmahon, lynch who is five or six years on the panel now other serious county teams must laugh when they see him, he has never done anything nor never will so why is he still there. and no backs with and we have no stand out leader. Clare are gone for a long long time.

Sorry but I couldn't disagree with you more ballykev. It's attitudes like that that will keep us down.

This is a very young team, with some fine hurlers. However, we need Div 1 hurling. There is more pride in playing KK, Tipp etc as opposed to hammering Down.

Our half back line and general defending all over needs to be sorted. Our lads have been following the ball rather than the man far too much. I was shocked that Clancy and D Mac played so poorly after some fine exhibition hurling against Carlow.

It is heartbreaking to be in the lower tiers of hurling again next season but never give up.

Sorry but I couldn't disagree with you more ballykev. It's attitudes like that that will keep us down.

This is a very young team, with some fine hurlers. However, we need Div 1 hurling. There is more pride in playing KK, Tipp etc as opposed to hammering Down.

Our half back line and general defending all over needs to be sorted. Our lads have been following the ball rather than the man far too much. I was shocked that Clancy and D Mac played so poorly after some fine exhibition hurling against Carlow.

It is heartbreaking to be in the lower tiers of hurling again next season but never give up.

AH you are fair funny more pride in playing the cats or tipp, we will be be playing tipp during the summer and we will see where our pride gets us ah too funny you are now.

yeah i was shocked Clancy and D Mac played so poorly after some fine exhibition hurling against Carlow. shur they will get another chance next year. ;)

what attitudes exactly will keep us down, the truth hurts maybe ;)

best of luck with the comedy career ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

Was at the game and here are my thoughts...

The team needs serious work on their speed. Limerick were waltzing through at times in the first half. There is a severe lack of pace up front, and Dillon clearly doesn't (yet) have the pace for centre-back.

I'd disagree with Ballykev, I thought the half-forwards could well win their own ball, but the corner-forwards, Colin Ryan especially, couldn't. McGrath at least has that turn of speed, as does Honan, and Honan had a great cut off the Limerick FB. Ryan didn't win one ball all through the 2nd half, out of about 7/8 attempts.

Another thing which baffled me was the use of a third midfielder for about 5-10 mins at the start of the 2nd half. What was the point? I mean, you play to your strengths. At the minute, a strength of Clare's is getting Honan isolated on his marker.

Using a third midfielder means that they then have a sweeper who cleans up everything going in and doubling-up on Honan (which is what happened before it was changed back).

Daft from the management.

They are a young team yet and lack that bit of nous. Hopefully that'll come, but Clare has a long, long way to go before we're properly competitive again.

I'd love to see some outside influence in the management set-up. We've yet to break away from the 95/97 nostalgia group.

ballykev wrote: »
    AH you are fair funny more pride in playing the cats or tipp, we will be be playing tipp during the summer and we will see where our pride gets us ah too funny you are now.

yeah i was shocked Clancy and D Mac played so poorly after some fine exhibition hurling against Carlow. shur they will get another chance next year. ;)

what attitudes exactly will keep us down, the truth hurts maybe ;)

best of luck with the comedy career ..

They'll learn more playing against the Cats and Tipp than against Carlow.

Clare were Brutal, the major issues are we dont really have any players that can lead and stand up and be counted.

we are in serious trouble at center back, full back and for a goalie. dillion and cooney were absolutely destroyed. Tuohy makes too many mistakes like what was he at for the second goal.

our half forwards cannot win their own ball out of the air, conlon played well in the second half all his points came from breaking ball, he never caught a ball clean out of the air. on the other hand limericks half forward line won alot of ball particularily their number 12.

Vaughan should be played at midfield, that is his position not at corner back. possibly would chnace dillion in the full back line he was there last year and played ok he is clearly too slow and cannot turn for intercounty center back.

we clare are in serious trouble we will be down for a long time. and to say that the structure should be chnaged to we can play 1st divison hurling is pure nosense if we were good enough we would be playing 1st divison hurling. even if we were playing in the first divison we would come straight back down again as we are simply not good enough and that is a fact.

The team has not progressed one bit under O Louglin he must be under serious pressure now. in the championship cork or tipp will hammer us, we might have a slight chance against cork not a hope against tipp, tipp would beat us going in reverse and anybody doesnt think that needs there head examined.

rubbish forwards i.e ryan, morey, mcmahon, lynch who is five or six years on the panel now other serious county teams must laugh when they see him, he has never done anything nor never will so why is he still there. and no backs with and we have no stand out leader. Clare are gone for a long long time.

I'd agree with most but not all of what is said here.

1.The spine at the back needs to be sorted out badly. Touhy cant be put in goals again this year anyway. Concentration levels are poor. Maybe Kev Brennan from my neck of the woods. Cooney isnt a full back IMO but i think he should be accomadated in the team. Dillon kept on getting overrun in the center but he is one of our better hurlers aswell.

2.Nearly sure Conlon caught at least 3 balls yesterday and was easily our best player. Clancy was brutal and is not a ball winner, think he would be suited as a substitute when the game breaks up and Lynch is just not up to inter-county standard. Its fine breaking the ball but he cant do anything with it when he has it.

3.McMahon was just pathetic and has had enough chances now so he should be given the boot of the squad. McGrath is a class act but he cant do anything if he doesnt get any decent ball into him. Honan is a bit of an inigma but is clearly too good to leave out of our team. Ryan just doesnt seem to perform in a lot of games.

4. Sparrow will need a MSHC win if he is going to keep his job which i cant see us getting. Really dont think he has the experience or back-room team for this current squad. The sooner Davy gets back to clare the better or else the likes of the U21 management with Jamsie O'Connor. The future is bright for Clare but it may take 2 or 3 more years until the recent crop of U21 & minors come true.

5. Our physicality and fitness needs to improve big time if we have any chance of progressing. Limerick looked an awful lot stronger and fitter yesterday.

I'd agree with most but not all of what is said here.

1.The spine at the back needs to be sorted out badly. Touhy cant be put in goals again this year anyway. Concentration levels are poor. Maybe Kev Brennan from my neck of the woods. Cooney isnt a full back IMO but i think he should be accomadated in the team. Dillon kept on getting overrun in the center but he is one of our better hurlers aswell.

Too true. You mean Phillip Brennan? He was the No. 1 iirc.

I'd have Dillon at FB, but I haven't a notion of who'd be available for CB.

Bugler? McInerney? Gerry Quinn's definitely gone isn't he?
    2.Nearly sure Conlon caught at least 3 balls yesterday and was easily our best player. Clancy was brutal and is not a ball winner, think he would be suited as a substitute when the game breaks up and Lynch is just not up to inter-county standard. Its fine breaking the ball but he cant do anything with it when he has it.

In fairness to Lynch, he scored 3 or so from play yesterday as far as I know.

Agreed though, he isn't up to standard.
    3.McMahon was just pathetic and has had enough chances now so he should be given the boot of the squad. McGrath is a class act but he cant do anything if he doesnt get any decent ball into him. Honan is a bit of an inigma but is clearly too good to leave out of our team. Ryan just doesnt seem to perform in a lot of games.

McMahon was poor yesterday, but you can't deny how effective he is if he gets the right ball in. Isolate him, high balls in and we know what he can do (RE Limerick a few years ago, scored two goals that day).
    4. Sparrow will need a MSHC win if he is going to keep his job which i cant see us getting. Really dont think he has the experience or back-room team for this current squad. The sooner Davy gets back to clare the better or else the likes of the U21 management with Jamsie O'Connor. The future is bright for Clare but it may take 2 or 3 more years until the recent crop of U21 & minors come true.

Agreed that a change is needed, but think that an outside man should be brought in.

5. Our physicality and fitness needs to improve big time if we have any chance of progressing. Limerick looked an awful lot stronger and fitter yesterday.

Fitness possibly, but we certainly don't lack for strength.

It's speed we're missing, and it killed us yesterday.

Brennan from eire og could give him a chance or fahy from the bridge there is no one else i can think off.

agree re conlon if he could use his strength a bit more he would a serious serious player.

i stand by everything else I said N.O.C was our best player IMO

Brennan from eire og could give him a chance or fahy from the bridge there is no one else i can think off.

agree re conlon if he could use his strength a bit more he would a serious serious player.

i stand by everything else I said N.O.C was our best player IMO

kev Brennan was the one i was talking about. As a townie'i know he is a good organiser,communicator and leader. Heard good things about Fahy alright but not in a position to comment on him.

i thought Paul Browne was well on top in battle with NOC. I thought Liam Markham was much better. But the midfield was pretty good yesterday, it certaintly wasnt a problem anyway.

kev Brennan was the one i was talking about. As a townie'i know he is a good organiser,communicator and leader. Heard good things about Fahy alright but not in a position to comment on him.

i thought Paul Browne was well on top in battle with NOC. I thought Liam Markham was much better. But the midfield was pretty good yesterday, it certaintly wasnt a problem anyway.

NO'C was too busy trying to help out the half-back line, had an amount of desperate interventions. Midfield went well alright, had to help out their HB line an awful lot though.

I would agree with Ciaran's sentiment on fitness. Our lads were playing catch up in some cases and our speed development just is not there. How Limerick's first goal was allowed to happen is beyond me.

We need seperate backs and forwards coach, or even just a hurling coach.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

If Limerick played direct ball into their forwards besides trying to walk the ball in we would have been destroyed altogether.

Dillion is not an intercounty centre back, he was terrible yesterday, always out of position, let his man drift away from him the whole time, Limerick were able to stroll though the heard of the Clare defence almost at will.

Honan took his goal well, be he has to be the most infuriating player to watch, he just doesn't look like he's interested in being there, at one stage in the second half someone was running though, he just stood still and allowed the player run directly at him.

Tuohy, thanks for trying, now go away, if an under 12 goalie tried to rise the ball on the goal line while facing the net he'd be dropped immediately, same has to happen now.

Sparrow did not adapt to anything quickly enough, 3 man midfield, wtf, all that meant was Limerick played an extra man in front of Honan the whole time. There was also no intensity for the whole game, I don't condone dirty play at any stage, but I don't think there was a malice hit in the whole game.

I was in Limerick for the Munster match yesterday, the difference in facilities between Thomond Park and Cusack Park was immense, TP really makes Cusack Park look like a sh1th0le

<snip>
    Clare delivered a fairly solid performance the other night considering what was at stake and tbh they had the game by the scruff of the neck twice until two very soft goals let a rattled Limerick back into the game. Ultimately the lack of experience at the back cost them and another year in Div 2 is a very big price to pay for it.

As usual the full forward line suffered from poor quality supply but to be fair on the odd occasion they got good low ball they capitalised fully. Conlon delivered a big performance when needed as per usual and Fergal Lynch was effective as well. More than anything this shows the extent to which a lack of muscle is holding the team back. Lynch is probably the least skillful of the six or seven forwards used but next to Conlon he delivered the best performance because he had the physical power to take the ball into contact and break tackles.

In midfield Liam Markham really stepped up to the plate and showed a lot of potential. He is athletic and a good distributer of the ball, but probably still doesn't have the engine to play 70 mins at the highest level. The same is true of Nicky unfortunately but there is no doubting his hurling. Again he drifted in and out of the game but was comfortably the most skillful player of the four midfielders. His distribution was poor however and is probably the biggest thing he needs to work on.

At the back, Cian Dillon should have been relocated much sooner and it's debatable as to whether he should have started there at all. Diarmuid McMahon did a good stop-gap job there last year and given that Bugler, Dillon, or McInerney are long term solutions for No.6 it would have been the safe call. Can't helped now but the sooner Pat O'Connor fills out the better because he is badly needed there. The half-backline remains our weakest line and until we can afford to take Nicky out of midfield it's likely to continue to cause us problems.

Finally, Vaughan and DoD are not natural corner-backs but they look to be our best options there for now. Both have plenty of pace and if O'Donovan's positioning sense improved he could arguably become a long term option there. Cooney is probably a better corner back than either but we simply have no other option at No.3. It is a massive problem and there's no obvious solution.

Overall, three main problems plagued us in the league campaign. The first is the failure to settle a half-backline. Partially this is due to Pat Donnellan's loss of form but primarily it's because Dillon, Bugler, and McInerney aren't up to No.6 at this level. McInerney is No.7 or nowhere as he doesn't have the instincts for No.3. Dillon is now a man without a country but if his agility improved sufficiently he could be an option at wing-back or midfield. Bugler is also an option in both those positions but his stationary striking and all-round flightiness doesn't seem to be going away.

The second problem is use of possession and in particular the type of ball our forwards have to live off. In Honan, McGrath, and Colin Ryan we have three very skillful and dangerous forwards, and in Honan's case we have one of the most unique talents in the game. However our lack of physical strength means we cannot afford to be playing ball to our forwards that is 50/50 or less. In fact, hardly any team in hurling does this anymore and it is in my view the biggest failing of Sparrow's reign. Limerick very quickly adapted to the support play advocated by O'Grady and surely showed that it is not the tactical wizardry that some seem to think it is. In fairness we have improved somewhat around the field in giving the man in possession an option but we still have little enough in the way of a pattern of creating scoring chances beyond driving the ball up the field and hoping the forwards win it.

Finally, our all round lack of physical power is an issue which is arguably above all, the single greatest impediment to us competing with the better teams in the game. Out inability to consistently drive through tackles, to stand up the man in possession and force him backwards, and to compete for ball on the ground puts us at an immediate ad massive disadvantage against more seasoned teams. It is no coincidence that the three physically weakest teams in the game at the moment are Clare, Offaly, and Wexford and they are also the three at the fringes of the top table. This problem only exacerbates the issue with ball distribution as we are playing a brand of hurling which is totally out of sync with our physical capabilities.

All in all the fact that we have to face another year in Div 2 is an utter disaster. To say that we are in anyway 'better off' because of it shows frankly incomprehensible stupidity. Young players like we have at the moment will learn and adapt quickly and a run of games against Galway, Waterford, Cork, Dublin and so on would be of absolutely massive benefit to them. It would bring them on a ton. However, the current system makes it extremely difficult to build a new team and we will next year face an Offaly team with two years of this Div 1 experience behind them. It is going to be very difficult. Hopefully, Croke Park will see sense. It wouldn't be their form however.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

If you don't agree with someone elses post debate it without belittling a poster

Clareman wrote: »
    If you don't agree with someone elses post debate it without belittling a poster

Belittling players is ok though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

If you want an infraction or ban it is.

Clare are simply not good enough, and if we were good enough we would be playing division 1, This since of entitlement that we should be playing in division 1 is fairly silly now and is being pushed by the management and the media. Limerick went down and came straight back up. Clare are simply not good enough. and that is a plain and simple fact. IMO Clare did not look like winning the other night.

Presume we are able to chat about the club championships.

Anyway they start this weekend with 3 games in both senior & intermediate (doing intermediate because i'm a townie :p).

This is the draw.
    Group 1 Group2 Group 3 Group 4
    Clonlara Cratloe Bridge Crusheen
    Killenena Whitegate Tulla Newmarket
    Broadford Scariff Tones Clooney-Quin
    Smith O'Briens Inaghmona Mills Ballyea
    St.Josephs Tubber Clarecastle Kilmaley

This weekends fixtures are: Group 1
    Clonlara v St.Joseph's Doora/Barefield @ Sixmilebridge 1pm

Group 2
    Cratloe v Tubber @ Cusack Pk 6.45pm

Group 4
    Newmarket v Ballyea @ Cusack Pk 5.15pm

all these games are being played due to the participation of some players with the clare senior football team. Remaining round one fixtures are next week.

Odds are: Bridge 9/2, Clonlara 6/1,Cratloe 7/1, Blues 10/1, Crusheen 12/1 Clooney 16/1,Kilmaley 20/1,Combo 22/1,Maggies 25/1,Tulla 28/1,W Tones 33/1,Joes 40/1,Ballyea 50/1,Mills 50/1

I'll go with Clonlara for this. Very balanced team all round IMO.

Intermediate Championship 2011:
    Group 1 Group 2
    Parteen Eire Og :D
    Sixmilebridge Ogonnelloe
    Crusheen Meelick
    Clarecastle Feakle
    Bodyke Ennistymon
    Ruan Corofin

Presume we Townies are favourites again. I'll keep the fate and say we get promoted this year. Good mix of youth and experience along with a big panel. A lot of talk about emmigration in summer though. Corofin,Ruan & Feakle providing the main competition.

This weekends fixtures:
    Group Two
    Eire Og v Ogonnelloe @Tulla 1.15pm
    Meelick v Feakle @ Sixmilebridge 2.30pm
    Ennistymon v Corofin @ Ruan 1.15pm

Presume we are able to chat about the club championships.

Anyway they start this weekend with 3 games in both senior & intermediate (doing intermediate because i'm a townie :p).

This is the draw.
    Group 1 Group2 Group 3 Group 4
    Clonlara Cratloe Bridge Crusheen
    Killenena Whitegate Tulla Newmarket
    Broadford Scariff Tones Clooney-Quin
    Smith O'Briens Inaghmona Mills Ballyea
    St.Josephs Tubber Clarecastle Kilmaley

This weekends fixtures are: Group 1
    Clonlara v St.Joseph's Doora/Barefield @ Sixmilebridge 1pm

Group 2
    Cratloe v Tubber @ Cusack Pk 6.45pm

Group 4
    Newmarket v Ballyea @ Cusack Pk 5.15pm

all these games are being played due to the participation of some players with the clare senior football team. Remaining round one fixtures are next week.

Odds are: Bridge 9/2, Clonlara 6/1,Cratloe 7/1, Blues 10/1, Crusheen 12/1 Clooney 16/1,Kilmaley 20/1,Combo 22/1,Maggies 25/1,Tulla 28/1,W Tones 33/1,Joes 40/1,Ballyea 50/1,Mills 50/1

I'll go with Clonlara for this. Very balanced team all round IMO.

Intermediate Championship 2011:
    Group 1 Group 2
    Parteen Eire Og :D
    Sixmilebridge Ogonnelloe
    Crusheen Meelick
    Clarecastle Feakle
    Bodyke Ennistymon
    Ruan Corofin

Presume we Townies are favourites again. I'll keep the fate and say we get promoted this year. Good mix of youth and experience along with a big panel. A lot of talk about emmigration in summer though. Corofin,Ruan & Feakle providing the main competition.

This weekends fixtures:
    Group Two
    Eire Og v Ogonnelloe @Tulla 1.15pm
    Meelick v Feakle @ Sixmilebridge 2.30pm
    Ennistymon v Corofin @ Ruan 1.15pm

Fancy Clonlara or Newmarket for senior with SMB with serious outside chance

Ruan for the Intermediate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

Shannon Clonlara v St. Josephs 1p.m. S. McMahon

taken from ClareGaa

Senior Hurling

Clare v Cork/Tipp, Semple Stadium or Gaelic Grounds 19/06/11

Senior Football

Clare v Cork, Pairc Ui Chaoimh 22/05/11

U21 Hurling

Clare v Limerick, venue TBA 21/07/11

Minor Hurling

Clare v Cork/Tipp, venue TBA 24/06/11

Minor Football

Clare v Cork, Cusack Park 18/05/11

Junior Football

Clare v Cork, Pairc Ui Chaoimh 22/05/11

Intermediate Hurling

Clare v Tipp/Cork, Semple Stadium or Gaelic Grounds 19/06/11

Clare are simply not good enough, and if we were good enough we would be playing division 1, This since of entitlement that we should be playing in division 1 is fairly silly now and is being pushed by the management and the media. Limerick went down and came straight back up. Clare are simply not good enough. and that is a plain and simple fact. IMO Clare did not look like winning the other night.

You say this despite the fact that Clare led by four points mid-way through the second half, dominated the game for long stretches in both halves, and were primarily undone by soft goals? It's a peculiar analysis to say the least. Could you explain why?

i Just felt we we never really looked like putting them away as every time Limerick went forward they looked dangerous despite our dominance that you speak off. This is mainly due to the fact that we are lacking in all the key positions full center back mid field is all right nothing special , center and full forward and our half forward line cannot win their own ball. and in case i forget a goalie

It was a poor game limerick just have the players that stood up and were counted in the key positions half forward line won a lot of ball and their center back was actually a center back of inter county standard and full forward line could score

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

It appears it is Henno.
    Darrach Honan labeled a one trick pony on clare fm's sideline view,ffs:rolleyes: What a trick though is my response:cool:

what age is Darach? 21? 22?

He's only a kid learning his trade,:(

It was a poor game limerick just have the players that stood up and were counted in the key positions half forward line won a lot of ball and their center back was actually a center back of inter county standard and full forward line could score

Yeah, their centre-forward was so good he was taken off with 15 minutes left. Their full-forward line scored 3-3 and ours scored 2-3. Phenomenal difference alright. So basically a squad that is 3/4s under the age of 22 lost a game because of a few soft goals and you've decided to say that they and are rubbish are being laughed at.

I've no problem with people offering an intelligent criticism of a team that actually has some specifics. What you've offered is a million miles away from that.

Yeah, their centre-forward was so good he was taken off with 15 minutes left. Their full-forward line scored 3-3 and ours scored 2-3. Phenomenal difference alright. So basically a squad that is 3/4s under the age of 22 lost a game because of a few soft goals and you've decided to say that they and are rubbish are being laughed at.

I've no problem with people offering an intelligent criticism of a team that actually has some specifics. What you've offered is a million miles away from that.

What i said is that we are lacking in all key positions, which is the truth believe it or not. Clare are in all fairness whoever you speak to are v poor or rubbish Wat ever way u want to it put, its a fact. and if a certain player lines out at center forward in the championship cork or tipp will be laughing as we will be destroyed. You might not think so but i afraid that is the case.

We are bad in all key positions and are just rubbish?

That is one of the most ill conceived posts I have seen in a while. Could you be any less specific? You haven't a clue what you're talking about.

For the rest of us who still have hope for the future.. we are now looking ahead to the Championship. What will our half back line look like? Domhnaill is definitely nailed down for corner back I would say, he seemed quite comfortable there. Also, is it time to look at Brennan in goals? He has played 1 match this year afaik(Waterford Crystal Cup), but with a few challenge matches behind him maybe he should replace Tuohy?

We are bad in all key positions and are just rubbish?

That is one of the most ill conceived posts I have seen in a while. Could you be any less specific? You haven't a clue what you're talking about.

For the rest of us who still have hope for the future.. we are now looking ahead to the Championship. What will our half back line look like? Domhnaill is definitely nailed down for corner back I would say, he seemed quite comfortable there. Also, is it time to look at Brennan in goals? He has played 1 match this year afaik(Waterford Crystal Cup), but with a few challenge matches behind him maybe he should replace Tuohy?

what planet are u on so in what key position are we actually seriously good??

Clare team for championship Goals ? K.Brennan Eire og
    Donellan , Mcinery, Donovan
    NOC, ? Quinn (seems to be a lost cause though should be a leader of the team but seems to have no real interest) markham
    C.Ryan. P Vaughan

Clancy, Conlon, Collins
    Mcgrath, Honan, Mcinery (Cratloe)

Have to give youth a chance after all lynch and mcmahon are past it ...

what planet are u on so in what key position are we actually seriously good??

Clare team for championship Goals ? K.Brennan Eire og
    Donellan , Mcinery, Donovan
    NOC, ? Quinn (seems to be a lost cause though should be a leader of the team but seems to have no real interest) markham
    C.Ryan. P Vaughan

Clancy, Conlon, Collins
    Mcgrath, Honan, Mcinery (Cratloe)

Have to give youth a chance after all lynch and mcmahon are past it ...

The fact that you have put Gerry Quinn into a Championship line up reaffirms my belief you are clueless!

Do you know how many games he has even played this year?

The fact that you have put Gerry Quinn into a Championship line up reaffirms my belief you are clueless!

Do you know how many games he has even played this year?

he has not played that many but he is still on the Panel. despite not playing any games of note. he is still more than likely is the best center back in clare if he could get his head right. The question is, Is this possible? Highly unlikely pity really he could be an excellent player.

Now just name your championship team eroo, and less of your childish responses with all our serious intercounty players that u think we have.

The Clare team I named is by no means that good we dont really have anyone else. cork or tipp will both beat us by 8-10 points. Clare will be at the top of our game and tipp/Cork will go through the motions and beat us pulling up. FACT

he has not played that many but he is still on the Panel. despite not playing any games of note. he is still more than likely is the best center back in clare if he could get his head right. The question is, Is this possible? Highly unlikely pity really he could be an excellent player.

Now just name your championship team eroo, and less of your childish responses with all our serious intercounty players that u think we have.

The Clare team I named is by no means that good we dont really have anyone else. cork or tipp will both beat us by 8-10 points. Clare will be at the top of our game and tipp/Cork will go through the motions and beat us pulling up. FACT

Not played many? He has not started a single game for Clare this year, including pre season. He is not the best centre back at the moment, and hasn't been for some time regardless of where his head is at. He's not a leader either, he is making a mockery of the game by saying he'll play.

My team:
    1.Tuohy
    2.Vaughan
    3.Cooney
    4.Donal O'D
    5.Donnellan
    6.Dillon
    7.P O'Connor
    8.NOC
    9.Markham
    10.Lynch
    11.Conlon
    12.Clancy
    13.Morey
    14.Honan
    15.McGrath

Cooney at 3,Dillon at 6 and Tuohy in goals are 2 uncertainties, and I would put Morey in instead of Ryan as he has impressed me more over the season as well as being physically stronger.

What do you expect exactly when we are building a new team from scratch? The fact that you are naming Kevin Brennan in goals and starting Gerry Quinn who has played almost no hurling, even at club level, for the last two years shows you haven't clue what you are on about.

You named Clancy and Sean Collins in the same half-forward line when anyone who has watched Clare over the last two years knows that is utter madness because it makes the line too light. Vaughan has been given a chance at midfield by every Clare manager he's played under and not one of them have thought he was up to it. Nicky O'Connell has been our outstanding player for the league and you want to take him out of midfield and put in two players who have barely played there at all, and when they have they've been off the pace.

You want to put Pat Donnellan corner back despite him having no experience there whatsoever. You want to put McInerney full back despite him having to be moved out of there in the one game he played full back this year. You want to drop Conor Cooney when he's the most natural corner back we have and he being the one full backline player who was excellent for us last year. Have you actually watched Clare play at all this year apart from the Limerick game? You really seem to have a very poor grasp of the shake up for places and the form players are in, and you seem to have no idea at all about how players have got on in the positions you're naming them in.

There isn't a single person in Clare hurling who doesn't recognise that we have a challenge on our hands in building a new side, but that doesn't mean they have to resort to badly informed sweeping statements, and ludicrous suggestions about line-outs that have no basis in reality whatsoever. That doesn't mean they start feeling sorry for themselves and start whinging about being rubbish and spouting abuse about players. People like yourself are only good for gloating and waving the flag when we are winning, and slating the players and everything to do with them when we aren't. There's more to hurling than 'good' and 'bad' you know. Or maybe you don't.