Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Boardsie's own (or family/friends) cars for sale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

Bogwoppit wrote: »
    My own 142 skoda rapid for sale here https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25077528

Any advice on the ad appreciated.

Any advice on getting this to shift a little quicker?
    Only a few enquiries and only 1 that I’d call serious but not able to view until next week at the earliest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭All in all

Only a few enquiries and only 1 that I’d call serious but not able to view until next week at the earliest.

Bar reducing price there isn’t much that you can do. Most things will sell if the price is right. From a quick look price looks reasonably okay. I have found selling cars privately I have always got more calls approaching the weekend.

It all depends on your situation and if you are committed to buying something or looking to import something. How much difference will a few hundred euro make to you versus a quick sale. If it was me I would probably hang tough until after weekend and possibly reduce to €6950.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

Your price definitely seems quite good, so I wouldn't be in a hurry to drop it yet. I suppose at around 7k, you're kinda at the price where a lot of people will contemplate going dealer rather than private, so you might have to hold on a bit longer.
    Finally, with travel restrictions finally opening up within the next week, that should help you too. Certainly not a nice time to be trying to shift stuff when half the country is afraid to travel too far

Thanks guys, new car bought so would like to shift but won’t let it go for silly money.
    Got a text today “ Would ya take 5k for the car ”
    Erm... no

• Registered Users Posts: 11 Seageebee

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-147-low-miles-high-spec-e999-nct-amptaxed/25038163?campaign=3

Has served me well for about 4 years, fun to drive, I liked it so much I bought another 147, a 2008.

Thanks guys, new car bought so would like to shift but won’t let it go for silly money.
    Got a text today “ Would ya take 5k for the car ”
    Erm... no

Gone

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭DUBLIN_person

Haven't posted in a while but here's mine.
    Any tips on the ad appreciated.

(Slightly) Negotiatable on price.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2010-seat-leon-1-9-tdi-btcc-kit/25192709

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭younggalway

Might as well share my own yoke here. Any hints/tips for a sale folks?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2019-seat-leon-1-5-tsi-fr/24938672

Sold, at long last. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Chevy RV

Hello Folks,

Have a look and don't all rush me together:D

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/jaguar-x-type-2-0-d-le-09my/25092663

Thanks for looking.

Chevy RV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭GavMan

I'm going to be listing my own Alfa 147 for sale soon and I'm looking for opinions on what it might be worth.

Its a 2008 Stromboli Grey Blackline Edition. Just shy of 150k KM on the clock. 1.6 Petrol. Serviced with TI Autos. Will have 6 months Tax, NCT till November (not an extension) and 2 new front tyres. Nothing majorly out there in terms of spec. 17in Alloys, A/C, etc.

Bodywork is in good nick for 12 years. Blacktrims could do with a touch up to be fair. Engine and gearbox are in great shape. T/Belt and W/Pump done by TI about 15k km ago which was a routine change. This is the 3rd belt on the car. Technically I am the 2nd owner but this was a prereg by Airton Motors to keep it on the old CC tax rate which is 514. New battery in November 2019.

On the other side of the coin, needs a new handbrake cable and front passenger door handle to pass the NCT which I am getting done. It will need new discs and rear pads within the next 9-12 months and a brake fluid change in that time. Bit of kerb rash on the front passenger alloy and driver seat squeaks a little but I'm sure I could grease it if I located the squeak.

Truth be told, I would gladly spend the money on it and run it till the engine claps out. Invest in a few modcons for her. But the sad reality is I've 2 small kids. no ISO fix and not much boot to speak of. When I have to take them anywhere in it, its a bit of a ballache.

Thankfully I'm in no rush to sell so I can sit on it for a good while if needs be. I would feel really raw letting it go for less than 1500 but that could be just the emotional attachment to the car. I'm sure it would shift quickly for a grand but time is not of the essence so I don't want to go low ball. This is a good example and would see someone on the road for many more years to come. That being said, if I'm dreaming, let me know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭richardsheil

Selling for a friend who is averse to doing it himself.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-s40-2008-1-8-taxed-oct-2020/25328749

It's a nice car, owned last 4 years

• Registered Users Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭gussieg

Selling for a friend who is averse to doing it himself.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-s40-2008-1-8-taxed-oct-2020/25328749

It's a nice car, owned last 4 years

must have been good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,872 ✭✭✭djan

http://www.adverts.ie/20957448

Selling on behalf of my dad, who has owned it for close to 12 years. Any tips or feedback welcome.

And if anyone is interested, I'm sure we can come to an agreement :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭accensi0n

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1999-nissan-almera-1-4-low-mileage-nct-july-21/25407159

Sadly the day has come where I'm going to part with my invincible Almera, her two greatest enemies could not defeat her, sea salt air and precious metal thieves.

PM me if interested, would much prefer to sell to a boardsie, cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,293 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

accensi0n wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1999-nissan-almera-1-4-low-mileage-nct-july-21/25407159

Sadly the day has come where I'm going to part with my invincible Almera, her two greatest enemies could not defeat her, sea salt air and precious metal thieves.

PM me if interested, would much prefer to sell to a boardsie, cheers.

That's a very tidy looking car. I stuck it in the bangernomics thread so that might help move it on. Good luck with the sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Hi All,

Selling my own bangereconomics vehicle.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a4/25435049

Car is in good condition given its age and mileage.

Good bit of work done to it during my ownership.

Few faults but nothing major.

Appreciate any feedback on the ad and price. Thanks Mac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Hi All,

Selling my own bangereconomics vehicle.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a4/25435049

Car is in good condition given its age and mileage.

Good bit of work done to it during my ownership.

Few faults but nothing major.

Appreciate any feedback on the ad and price. Thanks Mac.
    During your ownership is very vague - could be anywhere from 3 weeks to 3 years. Saying the clutch was done in that time gives no real indication as to how much mileage or time has passed since.

No mention of tax?

Is the bonnet open in the photos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Forgot to add my own earlier today. Been a nice car for the last year, but time to move on.

Exactly a year to the day since I bought it, now want to get back in a 4wd.

And yes, I know the asking price is strong money, wiggle room in there ;)

NzRhZDg4NzI4MDRkMmE2OTBiMjdhYTAzMDdiMmZkYzmfPMaFznCO9OALne0EnS0taHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTE5MDM5OTR8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-e46-318ci-m-sport-coupe/25429588

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Top Dog wrote: »
    During your ownership is very vague - could be anywhere from 3 weeks to 3 years. Saying the clutch was done in that time gives no real indication as to how much mileage or time has passed since.

No mention of tax?

Is the bonnet open in the photos?

Thanks for the feedback...changed to ‘last 2 years’.... tax is up....Bonnet is closed....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭n1ck

Edit - sold already! Less than 24 hours :D

My wife's Qashqai is now for sale as I'm working from home and she barely drives so don't need two car.

Not really sure what to put in the ad so would love some feedback.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2008-nissan-qashqai/25435582

• Registered Users Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭gussieg

also sold already good going guy

• Registered Users Posts: 17 neekolas86

I have it posted it across Adverts, DoneDeal, Facebook Marketplace and CarZone.

Adverts allowed me to post all my 23 pics so I'll share that link below. DoneDeal and Facebook only allowed 10 photos.

https://www.adverts.ie/car/volkswagen/polo/2017-volkswagen-vw-polo-1-2-tsi-match-edition-petrol-dsg-90-ps-5dr-1-owner/21066667

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Just put up my Golf GTI for sale. Have it on Carzone will put it up on DoneDeal in the coming days.

https://www.carzone.ie/search/202007291860967/advert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

CIP4 wrote: »
    Just put up my Golf GTI for sale. Have it on Carzone will put it up on DoneDeal in the coming days.

I'd go away and take some proper photos in the daylight instead of ones you happened to have on the phone. It's a €30k sale. Half of them make it look like a dealer is selling it.

GLWS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,872 ✭✭✭djan

Nice car albeit with a high enough mileage. I'd recommend taking a new set of photos during golden hour all at the same place. Start off outside from all sides with enough detail to check wheels and then do a couple interior shots including boot. Will come across a lot better given the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,056 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

You're selling a north of €30k car. The photos need to be taken in the same spot, show all of the interior and exterior. It's dealer money and needs to be presented as such.

Thanks all will get better pictures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,477 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Wording on the ad is spot-on.
    Some of the pics are cut off at the top though. I’d also get rid of the showroom pictures.
    Try and get 8 exterior pictures. 4 flat on the sides of the car, and another 4 covering each corner. Basically 45 degrees from each other if you get me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭con747

You need to change this "Remainder of Manufacture Warranty to January 2020".

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

con747 wrote: »
    You need to change this "Remainder of Manufacture Warranty to January 2020".

Thanks for that should be 2021 changed now.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Wording on the ad is spot-on.
    Some of the pics are cut off at the top though. I’d also get rid of the showroom pictures.
    Try and get 8 exterior pictures. 4 flat on the sides of the car, and another 4 covering each corner. Basically 45 degrees from each other if you get me.

Yes makes sense to cover all angles of the car will get them this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,056 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

Lash it up on Autostadt FB too, cars shift on that from word of mouth.

I am looking to purchase a History Check through www.motorcheck.ie to add to my listing and provide to a prospective buyer. I see there is a 3 for €30 offer vs 1 for €20.

Would anyone here like to purchase one of the extra History Check vouchers for €10 if I were to buy the 3 for €30?
    https://www.adverts.ie/vouchers/motorcheck-ie-history-check-voucher/21126667

Updated nice photo edition :)

Still waiting for Carzone to update the photos its so much slower than DoneDeal.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volkswagen-golf-gti-2-0tsi-d7f-245bhp-2018/25522326

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,590 ✭✭✭tossy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭Mad_Mike

As any of you who follow the Bangernomics thread will probably know, my daughter recently moved on from her 1st car
    I have now listed it for sale. Ad is as honest as I can be, but if anyone has any questions, please ask
    She spent approx 900 Euros on the car and it has done 10,000kms since Feb 2019

SOLD

Any of you selling a car would surely want to provide the car's History Report for a prospective buyer. I have 2 vouchers left @ €10 each if you're interested :)

https://www.adverts.ie/vouchers/motorcheck-ie-history-check-voucher-valued-at-20-eur/21126667

neekolas86 wrote: »
    Any of you selling a car would surely want to provide the car's History Report for a prospective buyer. I have 2 vouchers left @ €10 each if you're interested :)

https://www.adverts.ie/vouchers/motorcheck-ie-history-check-voucher-valued-at-20-eur/21126667

Buyers do history reports not sellers. A buyer keen to show me a history report would be a red flag.

tossy wrote: »
    Buyers do history reports not sellers. A buyer keen to show me a history report would be a red flag.
    So I was overly generous in providing a prospective buyer my vehicle history report when asked and should have allowed the buyer to do their own history check? Dang. Could have saved €30 :P

neekolas86 wrote: »
    So I was overly generous in providing a prospective buyer my vehicle history report when asked and should have allowed the buyer to do their own history check? Dang. Could have saved €30 :P

Big time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭unhappys10

Don't have a for sale ad anywhere, just thinking of selling.
    162 520d msport auto
    Due first test next week, booked in.
    98k miles.

20200807-085418.jpg
    20200807-085324.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭statto25

Selling my trusty Leon after 3 years of ownership
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/seat-leon-fr-184-technology/25586649

Sad to let it go but my little lad now has more machinery than a Sam Plant Hire depot so need a far bigger boot

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭cocopops

Our 141 D Hyundai i30 1.6 Diesel Deluxe has just gone up on Done Deal. A pleasure to drive. NCT until 08/2022.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/hyundai-i30-1-6-deluxe-blue-drive/25589278

• Registered Users Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

tossy wrote: »

Why so?

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭User1998

Why so?

I’d sometimes give a history check with cars I’m selling but if someone is trying to persuade you not to do your own check it might suggest that the check they provide is forged or missing details. Unlikely but possible. Good example would be being provided with an Irish only history check for a car that was wrote off in the UK as the UK history won’t be on the report.

My 2017 Polo sold yesterday for €13.9k. I did have a few other offers that were slightly higher but this buyer was the first in line for a viewing and even came in from out of out town to view so I gave his offer priority. He was happy, I was happy and the vehicle looks to be in great hands going forward so all-in it was a fine deal. I hope you guys are successful in selling your vehicles and please do reach out to me on adverts.ie if you want one of my 2 remaining Vehicle History vouchers. Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭statto25

statto25 wrote: »
    Selling my trusty Leon after 3 years of ownership
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/seat-leon-fr-184-technology/25586649

Sad to let it go but my little lad now has more machinery than a Sam Plant Hire depot so need a far bigger boot

She's gone lads....no I'm not crying, you're crying

statto25 wrote: »
    She's gone lads....no I'm not crying, you're crying

I'm not crying it's just raining on my face :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

My turn lads, the Corsa is up for sale. Delighted to have it but with no sight of an office return any time soon, it just makes sense to sell.

Just need to take some fresh interior pictures.

https://www.adverts.ie/21232406

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/opel-corsa-2012-limited-edition-1-2l-4dr-petrol-taxed-may-21-nct-may-22/25624043

YjE5ZjE4ZGRhZGRhNWViZjBhYjlmNTIwNzk5YTU0NjHkbKe1BPIUWag2l4fwQI9WaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTM2Mzg3MDV8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

advertsfox wrote: »
    My turn lads, the Corsa is up for sale. Delighted to have it but with no sight of an office return any time soon, it just makes sense to sell.

Just need to take some fresh interior pictures.

https://www.adverts.ie/21232406

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/opel-corsa-2012-limited-edition-1-2l-4dr-petrol-taxed-may-21-nct-may-22/25624043
    And it's sold... and to a fellow boardsie as his first car, congratulations mate! :) Safe to say this thread works.