Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Lahv Lahn, De WashYerHandz Edition so to speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Question:

Wat is de dumbest or most inapproriate "Well done! Well done!" ever delivered by Mr. Duffy.

I nominate the short story winner from last week in Waterford via Vietnam:.

Caller:
    I was adopted at birth
    Mr. Duffy: Well done! Well done!

Or yer man with the makey uppy name.
    Joe: And what do you do in real life?

Caller: I'm a programmer

Joe: Oh wow .. well done well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭0lddog

Any of ye get the impression that The Duffer has been prevailed upon to reduce the use of misery to fill the show ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,742 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

0lddog wrote: »
    Any of ye get the impression that The Duffer has been prevailed upon to reduce the use of misery to fill the show ?

No.

Always pressing the misery button.

Like the modus operandi seems to be ..ignore all the good stuff , and hammer any little kinks that may arise in a huge and complicated campaign.

That seems to be the media objective.

To this poster anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭0lddog

No.

Always pressing the misery button.

Like the modus operandi seems to be ..ignore all the good stuff , and hammer any little kinks that may arise in a huge and complicated campaign.

That seems to be the media objective.

To this poster anyway.

I found myself having to listen to it for a few minutes that were misery free

Just a fluke so :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,521 ✭✭✭cozar

0lddog wrote: »
    I would say he has been advised to bring the misery level down but he just can’t help himself and keeps reverting back to his old ways as that’s all he knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,480 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Joe asking the homeless man what part of Henry Street he slept on last night, why would such detail be important? He congratulated him after the man said Arnotts doorway...fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,742 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Joe asking the homeless man what part of Henry Street he slept on last night, why would such detail be important? He congratulated him after the man said Arnotts doorway...fair play.

Strong bang of ‘ entitlement’ off the lad.

Just sayin......nothing against him.

It will be interesting to hear Joe's tone when discussing Boris tomorrow. Will it be sneery as it has been all along or will it be all kindness and compassion? Same with Tubbs when he comes back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

sligojoek wrote: »
    It will be interesting to hear Joe's tone when discussing Boris tomorrow. Will it be sneery as it has been all along or will it be all kindness and compassion? Same with Tubbs when he comes back.

Don't forget D'Arcy too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

I heard Tubridy's dulcet tones this morning - he's back!
    I switched off after the 50th mention of 'kindness' at about 09:05am

I don’t know about this damned virus and how it behaves, but it’s being very persistent with me. I had taken an antibiotic to treat what I thought must be a secondary bacterial infection, but this didn’t work at all. My chest has been tightening up adult again, but thankfully responding to an old asthma inhaler, Symbicort, I very rarely have to resort to. Peak flow & oxygenation much improved again by it, but temperature going up in the evenings. This is going on for weeks now, the virus seems to switch off the immune system quite persistently so it can replicate. Yet still I’m holding the worst of it reasonably well at bay, but has me in terrible form. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

I don’t know about this damned virus and how it behaves, but it’s being very persistent with me. I had taken an antibiotic to treat what I thought must be a secondary bacterial infection, but this didn’t work at all. My chest has been tightening up adult again, but thankfully responding to an old asthma inhaler, Symbicort, I very rarely have to resort to. Peak flow & oxygenation much improved again by it, but temperature going up in the evenings. This is going on for weeks now, the virus seems to switch off the immune system quite persistently so it can replicate. Yet still I’m holding the worst of it reasonably well at bay, but has me in terrible form. :(

No I think that's the Ciara Kelly Thread........

giphy.gif
    Always thinks he looks like a bald black African American Leo Varadkar so to speak.

Joking aside, sorry to hear you're poorly petal. I'd ask Mr. Duffy to give you a call so to speak but you're far too young......

Wonderful BBC journalist in UK ICU.

What's your experience in the UK?

HSE can't talk to press, for some reason.

Nurse's letter from yesterday

Positive reaction to HSE and rightly so.

Looking for callers especially from de Yew Kay.

Insoide an ICU Unit so to speak in de same hostible as Bojo. Are Yew in de Yew Kay? Email us on de simplest email in de wurlild.

De yewman level is yewman so to speak. Letter from de front line and dat from yesterday.

Enormous amount of positive reaction to de HSE and dat.

No Joe Exotic on de promo so a good chance he'll feature today so to speak.

Snap so to speak

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭manodepeeple

Wonderful BBC journalist in UK ICU.

What's your experience in the UK?

HSE can't talk to press, for some reason.

Nurse's letter from yesterday

Positive reaction to HSE and rightly so.

Looking for callers especially from de Yew Kay.

Mix 'em all together for 75mins to produce another €450k worth of bile, sotospeak. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 8,195 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Awful shame theres no pubs open around the vicinity of st. Thomassssss hospital in London that joe could ring

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

If Joe loves the UK so much why doesn't he move there?

No I think that's the Ciara Kelly Thread........

giphy.gif
    Always thinks he looks like a bald black African American Leo Varadkar so to speak.

Joking aside, sorry to hear you're poorly petal. I'd ask Mr. Duffy to give you a call so to speak but you're far too young......

Almost 60 can be ancient if it suits Mr Duffy’s purpose.

withless wrote: »
    If Joe loves the UK so much why doesn't he move there?

Couldn't afford to live on the salary he'd command over there. He couldn't afford to live in Toxteth with the salary he'd command over there tbh.

There's not a meeja organisation in de wurlild outside of Ireland who'd pay him more than €40k a year, not de 10 toymes dat he "earns" here.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Couldn't afford to live on the salary he'd command over there. He couldn't afford to live in Toxteth with the salary he'd command over there tbh.

There's not a meeja organisation in de wurlild outside of Ireland who'd pay him more than €40k a year, not de 10 toymes dat he "earns" here.
    Get a grip. Enough of your old guff. Knickers.

withless wrote: »
    Get a grip. Enough of your old guff. Knickers.

How's yer wibbly wobbly wunder so to speak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,248 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Did he look for you to send him pics caller?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,053 ✭✭✭✭zell12

84 year old man seduces a woman in her 20s

84years old, a teenager so to speak.

Jack is on the other line isn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭shearforce

Jack's on the other line I assume, for a right old cringefest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

_Name of the father_ bloody good film ....

• Registered Users Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Hes on the line. Joe's lame set up is viable from space

BPKS wrote: »

You're not new here.

Jack ryan on line 2
    Or maybe 84 is too young

zell12 wrote: »
    84 year old man seduces a woman in her 20s

There’s hope for us all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

She found her sugar daddy? Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,053 ✭✭✭✭zell12

BINGO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Different age group ?

No sh!t Joe, I thought she herself sounded around 80!!!

"Do you have a grandad?" fecking eejit!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

shearforce wrote: »
    Jack's on the other line I assume, for a right old cringefest

Bingo

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭KevRossi

This story all over Twitter yesterday and today . More examples Liveline calling people rather than it being a caller driven show.

Bingo Jack

Mr. Duffy's laugh at times is beyond patronising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭shearforce

this aul lads bored out of brain ringing random numbers

BPKS wrote: »

BINGO, so to speak.

He had a lovely stroke.

Loren is in Bray - I thought she was in Orange County

People all.over the country trying this oul trick now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,969 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

which is worse, him trying this upbeat stuff, or the doom and gloom with added death ?

Jack Ryan? Was there a clear and present danger so to speak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,928 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Makes a nice change for a wrong number to actually amount to something, instead of the arsehole with fumble fingers just hanging up with no word of apology.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

2smiggy wrote: »
    which is worse, him trying this upbeat stuff, or the doom and gloom with added death ?

That's a tough question to answer caller.

People all.over the country trying this oul trick now

Give me something to do tomorrow I suppose:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,097 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Would love it if the woman he rang first who didn't help him rang up.