Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
04-04-2020, 16:30   #1
thelibertyboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 302
Sonoff emersion wiring

Hi I have a sonoff th16 with temp sensor my emersion has E,N,L(Black),L(Brown)

I have the wiring in and out in th16 and I'm using connector from the wires out to connect the emersion wires. theres only one live connector wondering should I intertwine the black and brown or only bridge the brown to brown on the connector?

Thanks
thelibertyboy is offline  
Advertisement
04-04-2020, 17:10   #2
Bruthal
Registered User
 
Bruthal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by thelibertyboy View Post
Hi I have a sonoff th16 with temp sensor my emersion has E,N,L(Black),L(Brown)

I have the wiring in and out in th16 and I'm using connector from the wires out to connect the emersion wires. theres only one live connector wondering should I intertwine the black and brown or only bridge the brown to brown on the connector?

Thanks
I would have kept the immersion switch in the setup.

So supply switched off, and L and N supply into TH16.
Out of it into immersion switch.

That way you just leave the immersion switch on, and at bath or sink. Sonoff then switches on and off what you have selected.

If you do go with just the sonoff, you leave out the sink wire, just have the bath one on it. You certainly do not want both on at a time.
Bruthal is offline  
(2) thanks from:
04-04-2020, 17:14   #3
banie01
Registered User
 
banie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6,895
Bruthal is spot on here.
Easiest way to do it is wire the Sonoff in before the immersion.

Leave switch in place set to on/bath and Sonoff to handle actual on/off.
banie01 is offline  
04-04-2020, 17:37   #4
thelibertyboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 302
Ah right so if I had of put them together it would blow the immersion?

Thank you!!
thelibertyboy is offline  
04-04-2020, 17:40   #5
Bruthal
Registered User
 
Bruthal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by thelibertyboy View Post
Ah right so if I had of put them together it would blow the immersion?

Thank you!!
No wouldnt blow the immersion itself.

Bath takes 13 amps, sink 9, both together 22 amps. Its a 20 amp circuit.

Also risk overheating the top of the immersion unit. Both on together is not good.
Bruthal is offline  
Advertisement
04-04-2020, 18:50   #6
onetime12
Registered User
 
onetime12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruthal View Post
No wouldnt blow the immersion itself.

Bath takes 13 amps, sink 9, both together 22 amps. Its a 20 amp circuit.

Also risk overheating the top of the immersion unit. Both on together is not good.
I did this a month or so ago.....

so the immersion is no longer heating up the water.

lucky our heating does this.

would i need to fully replace the immersion or the board?
onetime12 is offline  
05-04-2020, 09:03   #7
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by onetime12 View Post
I did this a month or so ago.....

so the immersion is no longer heating up the water.

lucky our heating does this.

would i need to fully replace the immersion or the board?
Could be the heater or the sonoff ,did u replace the immersion switch

The immersion switch does functional switching ( control)l+ local isolation, so shouldn't be replaced
Lwaker. is offline  
06-04-2020, 02:27   #8
onetime12
Registered User
 
onetime12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lwaker. View Post
Could be the heater or the sonoff ,did u replace the immersion switch

The immersion switch does functional switching ( control)l+ local isolation, so shouldn't be replaced
The immersion switch is gone iv ordered an exact one shud be here soon i was wondering usually the black wire is sink and brown is bath am i right in saying that??
onetime12 is offline  
06-04-2020, 03:19   #9
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by onetime12 View Post
The immersion switch is gone iv ordered an exact one shud be here soon i was wondering usually the black wire is sink and brown is bath am i right in saying that??
Usually

You have to test if it's not labelled or you're fitting the heater and can see the sink bath

There's been s few variations on the immersion heater wiring
Lwaker. is offline  
Advertisement
06-04-2020, 04:16   #10
Bruthal
Registered User
 
Bruthal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13,229
Yes the blue was once one of the element feeds.

That can be dodgy, as it is possible to connect an immersion incorrectly, such that the stat is bypassed when one element is selected on the bath sink switch.
Bruthal is offline  
06-04-2020, 13:20   #11
onetime12
Registered User
 
onetime12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lwaker. View Post
Usually

You have to test if it's not labelled or you're fitting the heater and can see the sink bath

There's been s few variations on the immersion heater wiring
Yeah i just took off the immersion cap brown is bath and i wired it up to a 13 amp plug still no movement balls 🀨
onetime12 is offline  
06-04-2020, 14:15   #12
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruthal View Post
Yes the blue was once one of the element feeds.

That can be dodgy, as it is possible to connect an immersion incorrectly, such that the stat is bypassed when one element is selected on the bath sink switch.
The blue feed is going back a bit

The brown and black were also sometimes different on newer heaters

The new controllers are more trouble than they're worth with Immersions
Lwaker. is offline  
06-04-2020, 15:37   #13
Bruthal
Registered User
 
Bruthal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lwaker. View Post
The blue feed is going back a bit
Yes must be back in the 80s. I remember them anyway.
Bruthal is offline  
06-04-2020, 16:32   #14
onetime12
Registered User
 
onetime12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lwaker. View Post
The blue feed is going back a bit

The brown and black were also sometimes different on newer heaters

The new controllers are more trouble than they're worth with Immersions
Think im just going to have to get the immersion replaced
onetime12 is offline  
06-04-2020, 16:54   #15
Bruthal
Registered User
 
Bruthal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13,229
Some immersions have an overheat cutout in them which can be reset.

Also the stat could be the problem. Quick tests can show what the problem is, by someone experienced in such matters.
Bruthal is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet