Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Should veganism get it's own forum or subforum? Vote now..

• 21-02-2020 1:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,773 ✭✭✭✭

Seems I've raised a cuffuffle with a hand grenade in the vegan 2020 thread.

Important points that posters from a farming background are having posts deleted over in the appointed vegan and vegetarian forum have been raised.
    They've pointed out that they are not banned from posting but have been warned that it's now only about dietry advice.
    It seems this "dietry advice" has set up in the farming forum. Trouble is it's a farming forum. Prolapses and circlips are the order of the day not b12 and Seventh Day Adventists. It's fun and all. But is it necessary?
    It'll be a conversation that'll never end. And perhaps people's ego's won't let it end.

So should we have a dedicated vegan v's the world forum or subforum have it out no holds barred, take no prisoners. Or just a softer version where posters won't be getting posts deleted or been warned by mods to stay on about "dietry advice".

I can't be the only one that's fed up of coming onto the farming forum and the first thread is Vegan 2020 or vegan makes your penis bigger or whatever on the farming forum.

Vote for should veganism have it's own special forum for posters to have it out and to leave the farming forum to ford5000's and calves with swelled navels. Cos tbh lads you're turning people off with this constant never ending repetition about veganism on here.

Should veganism get it's own dedicated forum off the farming forum? 24 votes

Yes.
    87% 21 votes
    No.
    12% 3 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,624 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Three points.

1. There is one vegan forum, surely that’s enough for any world.

2. Veganism is a lifestyle choice (religion) rather than a farming ethic, it doesn’t belong here in a farming forum.

3. Just no, because NO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,203 ✭✭✭emaherx

Important points that posters from a farming background are having posts deleted over in the appointed vegan and vegetarian forum have been raised.
    They've pointed out that they are not banned from posting but have been warned that it's now only about dietry advice.
    It seems this "dietry advice" has set up in the farming forum. Trouble is it's a farming forum. Prolapses and circlips are the order of the day not b12 and Seventh Day Adventists. It's fun and all. But is it necessary?
    It'll be a conversation that'll never end. And perhaps people's ego's won't let it end.

So should we have a dedicated vegan v's the world forum or subforum have it out no holds barred, take no prisoners. Or just a softer version where posters won't be getting posts deleted or been warned by mods to stay on about "dietry advice".

I can't be the only one that's fed up of coming onto the farming forum and the first thread is Vegan 2020 or vegan makes your penis bigger or whatever on the farming forum.

Vote for should veganism have it's own special forum for posters to have it out and to leave the farming forum to ford5000's and calves with swelled navels. Cos tbh lads you're turning people off with this constant never ending repetition about veganism on here.

You took part in plenty of that conversation yourself one of the first few posters to lay down their view then woke up this morning pointing the finger at others.

One thread that you don't like hardly requires its own sub forum. Should chit chat about Sunday football get its own sub forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,773 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

emaherx wrote: »
    You took part in plenty of that conversation yourself one of the first few posters to lay down their view then woke up this morning pointing the finger at others.

One thread that you don't like hardly requires its own sub forum. Should chit chat about Sunday football get its own sub forum?

It's constant never ending veganism 24/7 on this forum now.
    It's the only non farming topic that has it's own thread on this forum.
    You've posted yourself that it's non farming related and it's human dietry related. Start up a thread about soccer in the vegan and vegetarian forum and see how you get on.

In chitchat it's just that. There's a brief discussion and that's that.
    Football and soccer have their own forums. Archaeology and Palaeontology have their own forums.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

its
    dietary
    vs

It's constant never ending veganism 24/7 on this forum now.
    It's the only non farming topic that has it's own thread on this forum.
    You've posted yourself that it's non farming related and it's human dietry related. Start up a thread about soccer in the vegan and vegetarian forum and see how you get on.

In chitchat it's just that. There's a brief discussion and that's that.
    Football and soccer have their own forums. Archaeology and Palaeontology have their own forums.

Where? I only see it in one thread lately, creating a subforum will only invite more of the same.

I never mentioned it was dietry only? I said I didn't comment on threads when it's dietry only as I have no argument there, that is why I've had no reason to comment over there. You have made some slanderous statements and singled me and 2 others as the cause. I have never started any vegan threads hear or anywhere else and have only commented in defense of farming and people's right to eat meat as you and many others have also done.

Maybe we should create subforums for all topics that don't interest you directly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I can't be the only one that's fed up of coming onto the farming forum and the first thread is Vegan 2020 or vegan makes your penis bigger or whatever on the farming forum...

Wrong - Say my name - you repeatedly included a bunch of outright lies in your comments on that thread. You also slandered a number of posters.

As for you being tired of seeing threads about vegan stuff here - apparently you were one of the very first out of the traps on that 2020 thread throwing insults by way of reply for good measure. For sure "cos you're turning people off" with that type of bull**** or do you think that posters here have to ask you can they post? Btw you forgot the Gtfo with that option on your poll...

Great way to preach to others btw. :rolleyes:

Oh come on for God sake the pair of ye.

Brian recognizes there's a problem here.
    And that this forum is not for the veganism debate when there's a perfectly titled forum called 'Vegan and Vegetarian' just made for talk about veganism and dedicated threads on such should be posted there.

If it was about spraying docks or pulling ragworth then that's a different story.

It was bad enough being bombarded by billboards without the billboards being posted on the farming forum.
    Ye can see what's obviously occurring..

I'm all for free speech and all but there comes a point when you know the m#ckey is being taken.

It's a stupid idea. I voted yes to be subversive. I'm not even a farmer.

Oh come on for God sake the pair of ye.

Brian recognizes there's a problem here.
    And that this forum is not for the veganism debate when there's a perfectly titled forum called 'Vegan and Vegetarian' just made for talk about veganism and dedicated threads on such should be posted there.

If it was about spraying docks or pulling ragworth then that's a different story.

It was bad enough being bombarded by billboards without the billboards being posted on the farming forum.
    Ye can see what's obviously occurring..

I'm all for free speech and all but there comes a point when you know the m#ckey is being taken.

Yes, let us not talk about the elephant in the room!

Why not look to ban vegan talk altogether here instead of wanting a free for all sub forum. I believe AH already covers that by the way.

But why the need to single out 3 of us? Especially when you are guilty of the same. You have even sent me a PM in support of some of my comments in that very thread which you are suddenly so against this morning.

Looking at your poll at the moment, people in this forum are divided as to whether or not it should be discussed here myself included, but I'm not sure burying the issue is all that helpful overall. You don't need to read every thread in the forum for a start. As I haven't seen to much vegan discussion in the other threads since the vegan2020 one was created.

Oh come on for God sake the pair of ye. Brian recognizes there's a problem here.

You are in your ****e. An apology would be a good place to start. Btw the 2020 thread was posted by a regular on here - maybe have a word with them and stop flinging crap at others.

Btw Brian says no

Perhaps a better idea would be to look at the charter and what is acceptable to post in a farming forum rather than encouraging even more of your malarkey.

Someone mentioned the hunting / shooting forum - this is included in their charter
    Hunting is legal, ethical and morally sound. This is an accepted axiom of this forum and discussions about whether or not hunting itself is an ethical or legal activity are not permissible;

All such discussions will be deleted without exception. However, discussions on the ethics of specific hunting techniques or practices is permitted, but such discussions will be required to adhere to the rules more strictly than most other discussions.

This is a hunting forum so if you're anti-hunting, we recommend that you don't post and don't read any posts; you are going to be offended. If you must post, please remember the first rule of the shooting forums - Be Civil to one another - and the above rule regarding discussions about ethics.

Change that to farming and we're done.

https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2055967436/1/#post110136349

Yes, let us not talk about the elephant in the room!

Why not look to ban vegan talk altogether here instead of wanting a free for all sub forum. I believe AH already covers that by the way.

But why the need to single out 3 of us? Especially when you are guilty of the same. You have even sent me a PM in support of some of my comments in that very thread which you are suddenly so against this morning.

For the first Em you sent me a pm and I responded. That's all.
    And it was over some ludicrous thing a vegan poster posted and I replied to.

I mentioned you three. Sorry if I did now but ye are the most prolific posters to reply to any posts on veganism.
    And to break it to ye. Ye''ll get even more outlandish claims from vegan posters just to wind ye up.
    As I said it'll be a never ending affair.
    If you're feelings are hurt I do apologize but. That's just it.

Vegans post for attention. You're giving to them on here.
    And the thread wouldn't be started on a farming forum if it wasn't looking for any.

They have their own forum. Let them post on it.
    If it's farming related. Post here.
    But a thread titled "Vegan 2020" has no place here. It's a wind up.

I can’t beleive this is even a topic of conversation here.

It’s like contemplating a “which beef breed produces the best steaks” sub forum over in the Vegan forum.

If vegans want to be involved in farming discussions they need to open a thread over there and we will be glad to go over and school them. Vegan discussions in my mind have no place here, no more than any other fascist discussions, religious ideology or eating disorder.

_Brian wrote: »
    I can’t beleive this is even a topic of conversation here.

It’s like contemplating a “which beef breed produces the best steaks” sub forum over in the Vegan forum.

If vegans want to be involved in farming discussions they need to open a thread over there and we will be glad to go over and school them. Vegan discussions in my mind have no place here, no more than any other fascist discussions, religious ideology or eating disorder.

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

For the first Em you sent me a pm and I responded. That's all.
    And it was over some ludicrous thing a vegan poster posted and I replied to.

I mentioned you three. Sorry if I did now but ye are the most prolific posters to reply to any posts on veganism.
    And to break it to ye. Ye''ll get even more outlandish claims from vegan posters just to wind ye up.
    As I said it'll be a never ending affair.
    If you're feelings are hurt I do apologize but. That's just it.

Vegans post for attention. You're giving to them on here.
    And the thread wouldn't be started on a farming forum if it wasn't looking for any.

They have their own forum. Let them post on it.
    If it's farming related. Post here.
    But a thread titled "Vegan 2020" has no place here. It's a wind up.

Well maybe I did, but it's ok for you to reply to ludicrous vegan posts? But you do it an appropriate amount and I do it too often?

I mentioned you three. Sorry if I did now but ye are the most prolific posters to reply to any posts on veganism. And to break it to ye. Ye''ll get even more outlandish claims from vegan posters just to wind ye up.As I said it'll be a never ending affair. If you're feelings are hurt I do apologize but. That's just it.Vegans post for attention. You're giving to them on here.And the thread wouldn't be started on a farming forum if it wasn't looking for any.They have their own forum. Let them post on it.
    If it's farming related. Post here.But a thread titled "Vegan 2020" has no place here. It's a wind up.

You can fuk off with that PA ****e. You didnt 'mention' anything - you went all out guns blazing accusing others of all sorts and you're still at that crap. No 'feelings' involved - you slandered other posters.

And btw you were one of the very first posters on the 2020 thread making comments and throwing the insults around and have continued to do so on that thread - posting around 20 comments there. So preaching to others doesnt wash Say my name.

I'd say your doing a good enough job of trying to wind posters up here alright.
    As said the vegan 2020 thread was posted by a regular here or you ignoring that to keep flinging crsp. Report something if you dont like it - don't attack posters for discussing a topic.

I'm away to shovel some more real ****e ... bye

My religion teacher had this on her wall and I will always remember it. It's obviously about a more serious period in time but applies just the same it is always OK to speak out.

503474.jpg

These discussions are farming related and effect farmers. Maybe it is pointless but speaking out is a right.

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

One thing...

Eh that's another 'No' Say my name

Brian isnt supporting your hairbrained scheme of having a dedicated subforum here btw - just in case you imagined otherwise.

Calm yourselves.

There'll be enough vegans for us all in time to debate with and repetition over.

It just shouldn't be constantly on a farming forum with a dedicated thread.
    Am I off your Christmas card lists?

Calm yourselves.

There'll be enough vegans for us all in time to debate with and repetition over.

It just shouldn't be constantly on a farming forum with a dedicated thread.
    Am I off your Christmas card lists?

Like you were ever on anyone’s Christmas card list 😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,841 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Some people have too much time on their hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,914 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

What's a vegan?

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

What's a vegan?
    Veganism is the beginning and the end of vegetarianism.

(I understand that to be the genuine origin of the term.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

What's a vegan?

Best avoided.
    (Runs for cover)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,972 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

My religion teacher had this on her wall and I will always remember it. It's obviously about a more serious period in time but applies just the same it is always OK to speak out.

503474.jpg

These discussions are farming related and effect farmers. Maybe it is pointless but speaking out is a right.

I speak up to protect Socialists, Trade Unionist and Jews, they can take the vegans if they like .........and say my name as wellðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜

Slava Ukrainii

I speak up to protect Socialists, Trade Unionist and Jews, they can take the vegans if they like .........and say my name as wellðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ðŸ˜

Ah here now Bass.
    I never done ya no harm. Only that you're fleecing freisian bull rearers..;)

Shoot the messenger why don't ye.

Right I'm off to hack Bass Reeves boards account and start a golf thread in the Geography and Geology forum.

Ah here now Bass.
    I never done ya no harm. Only that you're fleecing freisian bull rearers..;)

Shoot the messenger why don't ye.

Right I'm off to hack Bass Reeves boards account and start a golf thread in the Geography and Geology forum.

Could not resist it open door and all that

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,291 ✭✭✭tanko

If the Vegans can make this bloody rain stop for a few months i'll consider becoming a Vegan myself:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,607 ✭✭✭memorystick

Yes. Over on politicalirish.com

tanko wrote: »
    If the Vegans can make this bloody rain stop for a few months i'll consider becoming a Vegan myself:D

I like the rain.
    It’s sad, like the lives of the vegans smelling all the nice bacon being fried around them.

Not sure what's more ironic the current pole result or the amount of vegan talk in this thread :D

All part of my cunning plan!

Let the little fishes take little bites then...

I rename the forum. Woohohaha..

All part of my cunning plan!

Let the little fishes take little bites then...

Have you been a closet lettuce Lucy all along amd now your springing some sort of trap for the rest of us ?

Wouldn't be the first :D

Let me see - there was the all gaa playing - 'farming night noon and morning' farmer and there was one who claimed they wanted to farm dogs for meat. Then there was the one who claimed not to be a V but turned both he and his wife were - I'm sure there are other plenty similar plants - just we can't see them for all that methane and CO2 we are all producing :pac:

gozunda wrote: »
    Wouldn't be the first :D

Let me see - there was the all gaa playing - 'farming night noon and morning' farmer and there was one who claimed they wanted to farm dogs for meat. Then there was the one who claimed not to be a V but turned both he and his wife were - I'm sure there are other plenty similar plants - just we can't see them for all that methane and CO2 we are all producing :pac:

I’ll miss the cows, but all the soy and other grains the vegans will be growing here in a cavan will be a boon to the local economy. Lads fixing ploughs amd combines will be minted.

Not to mention hover tractors.

with lifebelts

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mod note: Right, a few points to clear up before this thread is closed.

Firstly, if you have issues with a thread, PM one of the mods first. You all know this already, discuss it before acting. This is, after all, a discussion forum.

On the subject of this being for farming threads only, there are a number of ostensibly farming threads in V&V so there's nothing untoward about having a vegan thread opened here. We've had them opened here in the past and undoubtedly will again in the future.

We've had a number of PMs in the last number of months from posters saying they were denied the right to reply to claims and statements made on threads before a restriction on who could post was placed on those threads.

Their forums, their rules.

We are a discussion forum here and we discuss issues related to farmers and farming. We don't place restrictions on what or who can post except in extremely rare circumstances and even then only as a last resort when all other requests and directions have been ignored. You're big boys and girls here and well able to fight your corners, too much so at times:p

Now, we've raised the above issue with Admin and, tbh, I'd forgotten about it but I will certainly raise it again tonight.

If the vegan thread title offends then I'll certainly change the title to be more reflective of this forum.

Like I said at the beginning of this post, please raise any issues you have here either by reporting a post or sending one of us a PM and we can discuss the issue and options with you before a decision is made.

I'll close this thread now, folks, and go back to calving a heifer, she's surely open by now.

Buford T. Justice.