Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

bothered by goats !

• 30-01-2020 12:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭

I live in a rural area in a detached house with some land attached. Big lawn, multitude of shrubs and trees planted. We have had trouble in the past with a particular "gentleman" who had horses on land with no food or grazing which meant they frequently broke out to enjoy our lovely grass. That problem was sorted. Lately a pair of goats have appeared and it is impossible to keep them out. They have eaten 2 new holly trees we got as a gift along with all else in their path. Everybody denies ownership of the offending animals, a puck and a nanny with one eye. Any ideas on how to get rid of them ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Eat them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Slaughter them and make them into a curry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,478 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I love goats. Maybe they should be trying to get rid of you!

• Registered Users Posts: 576 ✭✭✭R.F.

Do you know any Welshmen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

R.F. wrote: »
    Do you know any Welshmen?

I believe they prefer sheep, but the odd lad mightnt discriminate and stick her back legs down his wellingtons anyhow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

There was a trend here a few years ago of people dumping goats in nearby fields. Contact the council.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,869 ✭✭✭chooseusername

FTA69 wrote: »
    Too tough,
    wait for lovely little kiddy goats,
    unless maybe puck be gay,
    or one-eyed nanny past it.

Too tough,
    wait for lovely little kiddy goats,
    unless maybe puck be gay,
    or one-eyed nanny past it.

Just cook them for a long long time. Nicest parts of curry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Goat bothereder..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Foleyart

Too old and hoary to be eaten ! what about the GSPCA ?(I live in Galway) would they not take them away ?

Hoary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,865 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Countless vermin gnashing at my face
    Tear meat from my skull
    Swarming, rabid, features are erased
    Unrecognizable
    Body covered, rat filled innards
    Shred internal organs
    Heart and lungs consumed from inside but my pain doesn't end
    I have not died
    Devour, cesspool of vermin
    Devour, bloodthirsty rabid
    Bothered By Goats

Cannibal corpse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Handiest way of dealing with them is give them a pinch of meal in a bucket for a couple of days to tame them and when they start coming to a bucket for you load them into a cowbox and drive them a good distance from the house and turn them loose into a forest.
    It’s either that or get someone to shoot them.you could butcher them for dogs but you couldn’t eat them yourself.too tough and the puck is stink.
    Just pick a forest that’s not near a busy road for fear they would cause an accident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Foleyart

Hoary as in old ragged and decrepit. I don't have a trailer unfortunately but I may have to borrow one. Ah well !

FTA69 wrote: »

Nothing worse than a hairy curry. It’s a bit like commiting hari-kari

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭FGR

Bobblehats wrote: »
    Nothing worse than a hairy curry. It’s a bit like commiting hari-kari

Reading that made me think of how my grandparents used to eat 'hairy bacon'.

Between that and Crubeen I don't think I'd have had issues keeping my weight down - had I lived in that era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

Goat curry (as others have suggested) is really delicious once you cook it long enough!

FGR wrote: »
    Reading that made me think of how my grandparents used to eat 'hairy bacon'.

Between that and Crubeen I don't think I'd have had issues keeping my weight down - had I lived in that era.

A big dirty slab of bacon with a rind that hadn’t seen a proper shave is a thing of the past I hope

Thought crubeen is a fancy cheese For a moment but don’t much fancy rinsing the cheese off from between pigs toes ~ hairy / curry might well have been open to interpretation and so is that I suppose...

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭pawdee

Bobblehats wrote: »
    Cannibal corpse?

Goatwhore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,741 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

You goat to sort this out...

pawdee wrote: »
    Goatwhore.

From Louisiana I see. Pigs; deep south uuh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

have you tried talking to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I love goats. Maybe they should be trying to get rid of you!

Mason? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,517 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Shoot the bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

Who ya gonna call?

Goat-busters, obv.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,805 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

hqdefault.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

If everyone denies owning contact the Gardai and tell them they are on your property and surrounding landowners deny they own them.

They'll arrange for them to be taken away.

Had one local who fancied himself as a "cute heure" who would let animals without any tags into graze different fields that wouldn't be in use and deny they were his

Until, he was driving past the latest persons field and saw them being loaded up into a lorry with a couple of Gardai present

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,480 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Foleyart wrote: »
    Any ideas on how to get rid of them ?
    I smell a troll.

YMMV though if they are gruff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭perrito caliente

Marvellous creatures. Very brainy. Don't harm them.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,752 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Ring the local council as they deal with these cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,353 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Grand pair of bodhran?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Adopt them, make a YouTube channel dedicated to them, make money off their popularity.

Prepare to be addicted.