Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
02-06-2019, 19:34   #1
The Real B-man
Moderator
 
The Real B-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,595
RTE 2 No Signal

Hi all,

Having issues with RTE2 on a Amiko Mini Combo from the Kippure mast 30km away with a uhf loft aerial, All other Saorview channels are 93% Signal strength and 90% Quality, have done a transponder scan still doesn't make s difference!

Any ideas?
The Real B-man is offline  
Advertisement
03-06-2019, 09:02   #2
The Cush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 13,033
What issues are you having?
How are the other channels carried on that same frequency as RTÉ2, i.e. TG4, VM1/2, RTÉ News Now?
What are signal strength and quality readings for that mux/frequency?
The Cush is offline  
18-06-2019, 21:23   #3
Mav11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Real B-man View Post
Hi all,

Having issues with RTE2 on a Amiko Mini Combo from the Kippure mast 30km away with a uhf loft aerial, All other Saorview channels are 93% Signal strength and 90% Quality, have done a transponder scan still doesn't make s difference!

Any ideas?
Hi all, having the same issues with RTE2, TG4 and VM 1&2, not VM3 or RTE1.

Same setup as the OP except with an external aerial. The issue is intermittent but becoming more frequent.

Any help or advice would be much appreciated.
Thanks
Mav
Mav11 is offline  
19-06-2019, 00:15   #4
The Cush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 13,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mav11 View Post
Hi all, having the same issues with RTE2, TG4 and VM 1&2, not VM3 or RTE1.

Same setup as the OP except with an external aerial. The issue is intermittent but becoming more frequent.
As above, what are signal strength and quality readings for that mux/frequency?

Have you checked the cable connections between TV and aerial?
Aerial may require a small realignment?
The Cush is offline  
19-06-2019, 08:21   #5
Mav11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Cush View Post
As above, what are signal strength and quality readings for that mux/frequency?

Have you checked the cable connections between TV and aerial?
Aerial may require a small realignment?
Hi Cush

I presume that the mux/frequency are the yellow and red bars. These can go from zero with no signal, to 100% when the signal kicks in. As I said the problem is intermittent.

Would aerial alignment cause that? I would have thought if the aerial was out of line I would not get a signal at all, or RTE1 and VM3 would also be unavailable?

Thanks
Mav
Mav11 is offline  
Advertisement
19-06-2019, 09:40   #6
The Cush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 13,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mav11 View Post
I presume that the mux/frequency are the yellow and red bars. These can go from zero with no signal, to 100% when the signal kicks in. As I said the problem is intermittent.
Is there an amplifier anywhere in the system?
The Cush is offline  
19-06-2019, 15:08   #7
Mav11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Cush View Post
Is there an amplifier anywhere in the system?
No amplifier, straight from a dish and aerial on the roof to an Amiko mini combo box. Worked perfectly with no issues up to a few weeks ago!

Thanks
Mav
Mav11 is offline  
19-06-2019, 16:25   #8
The Cush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 13,033
What's the signal like when connected directly to the TV?
The Cush is offline  
19-06-2019, 19:04   #9
Mav11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Cush View Post
What's the signal like when connected directly to the TV?
Telly is too old, needs the Amiko. I think it may be a transmitter issue as there is no problems with it this evening and other posters seem to be experiencing similar problems.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/show...p?t=2057983967

Thanks
Mav
Mav11 is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet