Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Height of Depression

• 21-07-2019 3:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,885 ✭✭✭✭

What is the height of Depression for you ??? For example your in a venue and a certain song or person comes on and you immediately feel depressed

Mine is sitting in a quite pub with those corny classic radio stations (RTE gold) on. Just so depressing and really doesn't help the atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,918 ✭✭✭gifted

PTH2009 wrote: »
    What is the height of Depression for you ??? For example your in a venue and a certain song or person comes on and you immediately feel depressed

Mine is sitting in a quite pub with those corny classic radio stations (RTE gold) on. Just so depressing and really doesn't help the atmosphere.

Find a new pub

Those who suffer from clinical depression. I won't be insensitive as to compare my trivial annoyances...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I'd hardly class a mix of music from the 60s to the 90s as depressing.

I honestly don't know if anything depresses me like that. Maybe a week of rain and being stuck inside all day every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

OP does not know what depression is.

Thought that myself.

Plus, can there be a height of depression, by it's very definition, Surely it's the depth of depression?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,698 ✭✭✭Feisar

Depression is a serious thing, I like to call what I have misery.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭threetrees

If you think that's depressing then you've never been depressed. Try not being able to get out of bed in the morning, feeling totally and utterly useless, worthless and unloved. That is depression.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

Those who suffer from clinical depression. I won't be insensitive as to compare my trivial annoyances...

Yea, but you know what the OP means though don't you, it's like when i get hungry and i tell myself I'm starving, I'm not really but you get the point, you can be insensitive if you want, I'm sure people with actual depression won't get too bothered about someone on the internet exaggerating their emotions a tiny teeny little bit

Feisar wrote: »
    Depression is a serious thing, I like to call what I have misery.

And that's the case for most of us. Sounds like what the OP has is boredom.

It was probably that time when I couldn't lift my head from the pillow and days lost all shape and sense. I didn't want to die but nor did I want to live. A very long sleep was my preference so that when I woke the awfulness would be gone. It doesn't work that way unfortunately and every now and then the Black Dog appears and the misery descends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Going back to the town in which I spent my secondary school years.
    I always find it grim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,155 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Reading the opening post :)

From reading threads over the years on boards, whenever a thread appears about depression theres seems to be an inordinate amount of posters who have depression or what they perceive to be depression, i know its a really serious illness but is it that prevalent in every day life or just a higher percentage of people on boards who claim to have it compared to the average in the real world

Also, can one self diagnose depression or has it to be a doctor ? I don't think anyone close to me has depression that i know of, or maybe they do and they're good at hiding it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Height of depression? Feeling hopeless, struggling to find a reason to live, not being able to feel anything positive, to name but a few.

After Hours or not, mental health is not something to joke about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Dee Dee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,998 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

If you can go out to the pub or wherever, you are most likely not clinically depressed. Bored maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

There are many valid reasons to be bored / depressed, if anyone would care to start a list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,203 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

threetrees wrote: »
    If you think that's depressing then you've never been depressed. Try not being able to get out of bed in the morning, feeling totally and utterly useless, worthless and unloved. That is depression.

I think it’s surely a question for the individual themselves to answer as to what causes them to feel depressed. The idea that others can answer that question on behalf of someone else is, in and of itself, I think anyway - depressing.

Not being able to get out of bed in the morning, feeling totally and utterly useless, worthless and unloved is not depression. They are symptoms. My point is that it isn’t for other people to tell someone whether or not they are or aren’t experiencing depression. It’s causes, symptoms and effects can be different for everyone. I think we need to get away from this often promoted narrative that a person can only be experiencing depression if they fit a specific set of criteria.

That’s the basis of a clinical diagnosis, certainly, but IMO it’s limiting the scope of our understanding of depression and what causes it and how to treat it and alleviate the symptoms while addressing the underlying cause of the persons experiencing ill mental health, and if possible - to determine ways and methods to prevent people from experiencing ill mental health in the first place.

Or, y’know, we could get hung up on labelling it like it’s just another identity for people who are into that sort of thing, and not the mental condition that it has actually been recognised as such that there are different circumstances, levels, and degrees to which it can impact upon a persons ability to cope with life and the nuances of mental health.

jaxxx wrote: »
    Height of depression? Feeling hopeless, struggling to find a reason to live, not being able to feel anything positive, to name but a few.

I don’t know if you’re familiar with gallows humour, but it’s actually a useful tool in helping people’s understanding of mental health conditions. I don’t think it’s helpful to treat mental health as some sort of sacred cow that should be above being viewed from a humorous perspective, even one you may personally vehemently disagree with.

I think it’s surely a question for the individual themselves to answer as to what causes them to feel depressed.

My thoughts exactly, plenty jumping down the ops throat for what they perceive not to be depression, do they own the rights to the symptoms of depression, no way should they be dictating what defines depression.

I think a lot on here feel the need to stand up for something defined by a narrow set of parameters, "you couldn't be depressed if you're able to get up in the morning " what a load of bull, the banks don't give a fcuk if you're depressed as long as you pay the mortgage, depressed or not life goes on and bills have to be paid, but lets not get in the way of the faux outrage brigade willing to identify/pretend to have depression just to sound righteous on an anonymous discussion forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,122 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Well, alcohol is a depressant, so....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Irish Praetorian

There's actually quite a few of us dealing with depression (and the often co-morbid anxiety) in the LTI forum here if any of you want to maybe drop in and just say hello or even just take a look at what some people go through.

I can't say I've been the most severely affected by any stretch of the imagination but even in my limited experience, I've found a bit of human contact, even over a forum, can help.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

People need to relax with the OP's choice of words and that coming from someone who has, and indeed by times still does, struggle with depression.

There is something pretty grim about a rainy Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

everlast75 wrote: »
    Well, alcohol is a depressant, so....

Yes a central nervous system depressant not a psychological depressant.
    Of curse any form of drug abuse can cause or worsen depression. But it's not because alcohol is a CNS depressant although CNS depressants can cause rebound anxiety.

jaxxx wrote: »

AH has handled the topic of depression very well over the years.

Such as the current thread; https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=75955119

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Look up the word depression.

Then be grateful you don't have it if this is all that "depresses" you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Its that simple?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,810 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

For me it's being at the sea side/beach.
    It's a very happy place but it can also feel very lonely looking out.

Cheer up

threetrees wrote: »

It's not a competition bro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

There is something pretty grim about a rainy Sunday.

Sure didn't U2 write a song about how depressing Sundays are..?

I did exactly as you suggested, I looked up the word depression, and the circumstances the OP has described fits the bill -

Depression is a state of low mood and aversion to activity. It can affect a person's thoughts, behavior, motivation, feelings, and sense of well-being. It may feature sadness, difficulty in thinking and concentration and a significant increase/decrease in appetite and time spent sleeping, and people experiencing depression may have feelings of dejection, hopelessness and, sometimes, suicidal thoughts. It can either be short term or long term. Depressed mood is a symptom of some mood disorders such as major depressive disorder or dysthymia; it is a normal temporary reaction to life events, such as the loss of a loved one; and it is also a symptom of some physical diseases and a side effect of some drugs and medical treatments.

Depression (mood)

That being said, I wouldn’t recommend anyone rely on the internet to start self-diagnosing. I would encourage people to visit their GP if they find they are experiencing difficulties with their mental health in the same way I’d recommend someone experiencing difficulties with their physical health, the first thing they should do is make an appointment with their GP. That way they receive a legitimate diagnosis from someone who is qualified at least to perform a cursory initial examination, and not just some random person on the Internet with their own ideas as to what constitutes depression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

gifted wrote: »
    Find a new pub

Hopefully not one of my regular haunts, of which there are roughly a dozen...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,357 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

OP feels melancholic in pub with no atmosphere. Thats not depression. The heights (depths) of depression would keep you away from the pub, would mean you would scarcely notice any music, never mind what songs and what station is on and many other life limiting mental paralyses.

My advice, never drink alone and find something better to do than visiting pubs during the day when they're dead or you really may have depressive illness to cope with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Height of depression is looking at things like beams and doorknobs in a new light. You’ve not even entry level!

Bobblehats wrote: »
    Height of depression is looking at things like beams and doorknobs in a new light. You’ve not even entry level!

Sounds like you’re describing thetan level achievements in Scientology tbh with that post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Sounds like you’re describing thetan level achievements in Scientology tbh with that post.

Ok maybe light is the wrong choice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

Ffs lads, you all know full well what the OP was referring to. Considering the fact that yee know well how serious actual depression is you'd think you wouldn't make such a big issue out of something as trivial as someone using a word incorrectly in a boards thread. There is a genuinely wonderful thread about depression in this forum already - if you feel the need to talk about depression you know that that's the thread to be in, instead of self-indulgently using an unrelated thread to act "more informed" than others. It's pure attention seeking.

OP, something that makes me feel very temporarily miserable is seeing back to school ads when the summer holidays have only begun *shudder.*

Bobblehats wrote: »
    Ok maybe light is the wrong choice

Ahh I was only messing, there’s enough people getting anxious about how people express themselves in this thread already without adding to it :D

Ironically, policing how other people express themselves is one of the leading causes of people losing hope and experiencing low self-esteem which in turn are two of the leading causes of ill mental health best described as depression!

Awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭mistersifter

I'd feel WAY worse in some packed-out night club where you cant hear yourself speak over Rhianna and Beyonce songs; some overpriced kip full of people that model themselves on reality tv 'celebs'.

give me the quiet RTE gold pub any day over that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

OP, how dare you liken your momentary misery to depression.

Real depression is being completely unable to function as a sentient being, save for the 63.77 posts per day one somehow manages to post to Boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

I'd feel WAY worse in some packed-out night club where you cant hear yourself speak over Rhianna and Beyonce songs; some overpriced kip full of people that model themselves on reality tv 'celebs'.

+1 to that sentiment every time, I don't know this whole depression thing is over exactarated big time from what I can see, as I said in another thread earlier there are three people in our circle claiming "disability allowance" for "depression" and they're no more depressed than my dog, it's purely to get a free €200 per week on the Social (two of them working cash in hand as well as claiming), I'm getting very fed up of it to the point that next week I'm going to report the two that I know to the Department, feck that myself and OH are the fools getting up for work at 6 in the morning to be paying for these scrongers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Irish Praetorian

Yeah maybe there is a distinction going on here between peoples meanings of depression.

Speaking from my own experience, theres no real hard and fast rule of sad/depressing places. I could be alone in a dingy room reading old books and I might be content as you like. On other hand, I was actually at a family gather of sorts to celebrity a milestone birthday, surrounded by family (all of whom Im on decent terms with) good food and drink, all I could do was just try and keep my eye off the pile of steakknives in the corner.

Its really in the eye of the beholder I think; an old pub might be a reminder of happy memories to one and a grim reminder of death to others. Cest la vie I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Way too many people are taking the OP's post literally.

Anyway, myself, I really hate overcast days where you can't even see bit of blue in the sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

hearing irish people sing....

olé olé olé olé olé

and my heart sinks and i rest my head in my hands :o

OP, my post is an honest account of my experience with clinical depression however I do know exactly what you mean. Just like someone else posted a person can be 'starving' but not really. We can be sensitive regarding certain words.

Since the stigma surrounding mental illness has started to lift there have been an influx of people saying they are depressed or suffer from anxiety. Its impossibly to know with any certainty because the human experience is far from quantifiable. There are a number of factors needed in order to give a formal diagnosis of clinical depression but even then it can manifest differently from person to person.

These are;
    An obvious disinterest in most or all activities.
    A change in eating habits leading to significant weight loss or weight gain.
    Trouble sleeping or excessive sleeping.
    Fatigue or loss of energy.
    Feeling worthless.
    Difficulty concentrating.
    Indecisiveness.
    Intrusive thoughts of death or suicide, including suicidal ideation and/or planning.

These symptoms combined will lead to a person being unable to live their lives fully. It truly is a horrible illness. That doesn't mean though that it needs to be a sacred cow. Its important to discuss how clinical depression impacts people and also how certain people will latch on to the label because it feeds their victim mentality or use it to avoid personal responsibility. For some there is something very seductive about being mentally unwell.

To Gonehome, Claiming DA on the basis of a diagnosis is a personal issue and no matter how aggrieved you feel it's unfair to assume they aren't being truthful. Do you have evidence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Bed for 4 weeks. Employer calling relentlessly after 2. Sitting in the shower for hours straight with the warm water the only comfort. Keeping quiet in room so housemate would not cop it. Avoiding all human contact. Not nice at all.

Horrific actually :-( . Nobody knows except a therapist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I guarantee you if someone on a thread said "that's really retarded" and I complained about the word retarded being offensive, posters would be jumping all over me saying some shite like "language has evolved" or "he wasn't talking about physically or mentally disabled people".

As soon as someone mentions depression in a non literal sense though everyone is up in arms. It's the same if someone says "I'm really OCD" when they don't literally have obsessive compulsive disorder. There will be dozens of posters having a go about how OCD is a really debilitating disorder.

I find it odd. And really depressing too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,353 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I have OCDC.

Same as regular OCD, but it rocks.

• Registered Users Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Hobosan

Everytime I hear about a death on Everest. The depression is extremely mild, but the height... lads, the height is no joke.