Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

"Analysts"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,180 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Have a thanks.

And you. From a real engineer. ;)

RubyGlee wrote: »
    A well known bank recently had positions available for customer champions. gave me giggle

The right person can do a lot with a role like that. I assume the loincloth and broadsword are provided? By the power of Greyskuuulll... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Saralee4

whats the story with 'engineering' too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

jimgoose wrote: »
    The right person can do a lot with a role like that.

Only if they get their ducks in a row :pac:

Saralee4 wrote: »
    whats the story with 'engineering' too?

Don't start... So many design based jobs now have 'engineer' added to the job title.

smash wrote: »
    Don't start... So many design based jobs now have 'engineer' added to the job title.

Don't panic, you just need a Key Driver. Presumably written in C... :)

• Registered Users Posts: 788 ✭✭✭parc

The world "Analyst" has to be the biggest bullsh!t word to make some one pretend they are more important than they are in their work description whilst at the same time being evasive and economical with their actual role. On social media sites every 3rd person is an "analyst" - and that's it!

Up there with a nail technician imo.

It's so common. Needs to be stigmatised to be rid.

An analyst analyses data to get information. Pretty clear job description but you seem to be having difficulty with it

parc wrote: »

An analyst analyses data to get information. Pretty clear job description but you seem to be having difficulty with it

Hah! That's not what happened when I had that gig testing suppositories in 1993.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

stimpson wrote: »

I've never been a Project Manager - they are the ones who are meant to ensure things happen, but are generally lazy or incompetent, but consider themselves important because they have the word Manager in their title. They are more deserving of you're ire than us poor Analyists.

change managers. they're what get me.
    they (usually) neither understand what they're changing the organization from, or what they're changing the organization to.
    Analysts are usually poor much put upon, lowly spreadsheet drivers.
    well I am anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭denismc

A term that is become more common where I work is "champion" as in " Right first time champion"
    It conjures up images of Usain Bolt or Mike Tyson when the reality is anything but.

Anyone who has a FB or Twitter account these days thinks they can be a digital marketing or SEO expert.

change managers...

Translation: Ye Olde Red-Hotte Poker be a-comin'... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Vice President is important yet it's not

When I left college and got my first office drone job I was on a floor with 400 other people and another 400 upstairs. The Vice President came in for a talk for my induction and I thought jaysus, this guy is the second in command, he's realy high up. One heartbeat away from the President as they say

I later found out there were over 30 vice presidents in the place, not impressed

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Vice President is important yet it's not

Junior Vice President

In certain companies General Manager far outranks VP. VP is a position for the CEO's simple relatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

PandaPoo wrote: »
    What else can you call a nail technician?

onychologist technician/engineer
    or
    Lead polyacrylamide plate surface coating consultant
    or
    Senior Executive Lacquer Application Specialist

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

They can call me whatever they want. with most of my tasks i'm a bean counter. Although ive moved into another position recently. I'll still be bean counting. But theres other stuff i'll need to do too. Probably sowing the beans or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,547 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Hey! That's the exact title of my job. People don't explain it to you because they presume you wouldn't understand.

I'd say 20 years a go before high speed broadband and social media people were more honest and direct about their role. Now it's all cloaked in language suggesting a position above their station which they have to broadcast to anyone who sees them.

Aww the world changed and Kermit doesn't understand how things work any more. That's pretty sad when you expose your ignorance for all to see like that.

Were Nail Technicians not manicurists in ye olden days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Aww the world changed and Kermit doesn't understand how things work any more. That's pretty sad when you expose your ignorance for all to see like that.

Who are you to assume what I know and don't know and write a nasty, spiteful post like that? You don't know me so don't be telling me what I know about anything.

You must be an analyst.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Can't believe this thread is so long and no one has mentioned the latest IT fad for " evangelists"

One former colleague of mine has his title as cloud computing evangelist on his LinkedIn

I however am a consultant, I basically waffle all day long

Who are you to assume what I know and don't know and write a nasty, spiteful post like that? You don't know me so don't be telling me what I know about anything.

You must be an analyst.

Kermit, I am... an analyst.

I'd like to explain it to you but you wouldn't understand. It involves working with technology invented in the 20 years so you wouldn't be able to keep up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

You must be an analyst.

You forgot the c in cyst...

He means anal-cyst. Kermit.

No point being whole sublte SC. Point of the thread is that Kermit needs the details spelled out for him if he's to have any chance of understanding

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Stheno wrote: »
    Can't believe this thread is so long and no one has mentioned the latest IT fad for " evangelists"

One former colleague of mine has his title as cloud computing evangelist on his LinkedIn

I however am a consultant, I basically waffle all day long

I forgot I'm an SME also

No point being whole sublte SC. Point of the thread is that Kermit needs the details spelled out for him if he's to have any chance of understanding

Dangling bait and think i'm going to bite?

Easier for me just to report your post for trolling tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

I'm sensing a lot of frustration here man. Have you considered a career change?

I forgot I'm an SME also

You're a small and medium enterprise? Some man for one man.

Don't feed...

...the analyst

Dangling bait and think i'm going to bite?

Easier for me just to report your post for trolling tbh.

You started a thread about taking the mick out of a job title YOU can't understand because it didn't exist 20 years ago and you call my response nasty and spiteful? Lolz all day long at that.

Have you had a job in the intervening 20 years?A lot has happened you know. A lot of information has been analysed and the irony is that you can enjoy the fruit of analysts labour even if you can't understand what they do.

Nope. I enjoy me job as an analyst. People who talk as nauseum about their job are fairly boring to listen to. Pity more people didn't keep it to general job description unless asked for more information.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

My job title includes the word 'Analyst'.

I didn't create it, the company did. I would imagine it's the same for most people.
    Yeah I don't see all these zillions of "analysts" at all. :confused:
    And sometimes it is the correct term for the job in that it involves analysis?

Yeah I don't see all these zillions of "analysts" at all. :confused:
    And sometimes it is the correct term for the job in that it involves analysis?

You can be accused of trolling for that kind of talk.

You started a thread about taking the mick out of a job title YOU can't understand because it didn't exist 20 years ago and you call my response nasty and spiteful? Lolz all day long at that.

Have you had a job in the intervening 20 years. A lot has happened you know. A lot of information has been analysed and the irony is that you can enjoy the fruit of analysts labour even if you can't understand what they do.

1. What age do you think I am? I'm probably younger than you so don't be patronising me about technology upon which my career path is based incidentally.

2. This thread, unbeknownst to you, is not intended to be a serious discussion on analysts but a broader discussion on job titles and specifications in particular the increasing abuse, for want of a better word, of terms like "analyst" and "engineer" etc

Nope. I enjoy me job as an analyst.

What do you do in your place of work? (generally) Describe your job.

People say "I'm an analyst". Love it. But what do you do?

The problem with the term analyst, and it applies to other terms too, is that it's too generic and wide. Is someone working on a shopping till an analyst? Technically you could make arguments.

I forgot I'm an SME also

Everyone's a subject matter expert at something. Your title holds no weight!

What do you do in your place of work? (generally) Describe your job.

People say "I'm an analyst". Love it. But what do you do?

Ah I get it. You don't understand that most people don't care to be bored with the details of other people's jobs so we have a convention of broadly describing the area of work. If people want more information, they ask. If I want to explain it to them, I do...

Most jobs will require a level of analysis of facts or figures. If anyone ever told me they were an analysist I'd ask them to elaborate.

I'm an "analyst". I don't describe myself as such but I could easily. In fact most office desk based jobs could be analysts.

Most jobs will require a level of analysis of facts or figures. If anyone ever told me they were an analysist I'd ask them to elaborate.

That's reasonable. In the appropriate setting, if I thought you might enjoy hearing the details of the information I analyse and the purpose of the work I do, then I'd certainly oblige.

I just don't get using a term that is getting more generic and it's meaning covering almost everything with every passing day, so much so that there is more than a hint of stigma becoming attached to it. I don't think that's a bad thing because I find those labels a bit evasive.

I'm an "analyst". I don't describe myself as such but I could easily. In fact most office desk based jobs could be analysts.

Oh your an "analyst"? See I'm just an analyst. You can make yourself a cheese and tomato sandwich and call you're a "chef". I probably wouldn't agree with you though.

I just don't get using a term that is getting more generic and it's meaning covering almost everything with every passing day, so much so that there is more than a hint of stigma becoming attached to it. I don't think that's a bad thing because I find those labels a bit evasive.

Kermit, sweetheart, people don't want to talk to you about their job. You must be great craic to chat with.

Oh your an "analyst"?

I said I was not an analyst but I could say i'm an analyst very easily. Plenty of people are doing that and I don't think it does any favours.

Just describe your job. There is NO point in saying, for example, "Analyst at AIB", "Analyst at Tesco".....it tells prospective employers and others absolutely nothing. It's evasive, lazy, intended to give an illusion of responsibility beyond what the reality is.

I said I was not an analyst but I could say i'm an analyst very easily. Plenty of people are doing that and I don't think it does any favours.

Just describe your job. There is NO point in saying, for example, "Analyst at AIB", "Analyst at Tesco".....it tells prospective employers and others absolutely nothing. It's evasive, lazy, intended to give an illusion of responsibility beyond what the reality is.

Are you interviewing me or something?

Someone go over to the Ladies Lounge or, alternatively, the beauty forum and tell them there is nothing technical about doing nails. We'll wait here.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 Smurph90

the nail technician joke went on way too long in here

Someone go over to the Ladies Lounge or, alternatively, the beauty forum and tell them there is nothing technical about doing nails. We'll wait here.

Eh I pay to get my nails done every two weeks minimum as I can't do them myself

Kermit will do them for you. He could do all the jobs he doesn't understand