Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

7" Tablet €99 Aldi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭jellyboy

Will these be hidden behind the cash registers (as I've discovered before for small items) or will they be on shelf display then?

As far as I'm aware they will be behind the desk
    I'm queueing as I type ,soon as I see a staff member il ask

I'm surprised that I'm the only lunatic waiting :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

jellyboy wrote: »
    As far as I'm aware they will be behind the desk
    I'm queueing as I type ,soon as I see a staff member il ask

I'm surprised that I'm the only lunatic waiting :D

ehh not really surprised. Ya do know it is 10 on a sunday they open? Fair play to ya though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Queueing outside aldi at 8am...not sure if that's dedication or craziness :)

They are being ticketed ...
    I'm number 4 in the queue ,but there is nobody else here....

There is only 8 per store ...

I'm glad that I have managed to get up from my fluffy cotton sheets and feather down quilt to wait in the greyness

Little feckers better enjoy and want them !:D

Queueing outside aldi at 8am...not sure if that's dedication or craziness :)

Complete and utter craziness
    I actually have a cert that says that

I think it's given at birth in Cork :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Feck... was just gonna head down around 9:45.
    Fingers crossed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭madmoe

I here outside the one at Newlands Cross and I'm the only one here so far.....

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Feck... was just gonna head down around 9:45.
    Fingers crossed!

Depending on where you live and the number of staff in store that snaffle them ..
    Staff where I am have got 4 of the 8
    I say that with 99.9 percent certainty as I'm 5/6 and there is not a sinner around me ..

Plus I want to know that other lunatics are queueing in solidarity with moi :D

madmoe wrote: »
    I here outside the one at Newlands Cross and I'm the only one here so far.....

I am not alone....
    Must be only mad people queueing then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Machinehead

I am not alone....
    Must be only mad people queueing then :D

My daughter got something similar to one of these (Onyx branded) in Oz last year. She said they had at least a hundred people queuing to get one then. I'm here since 8:30, still the only one - should have stayed in bed longer. Although got to see a nice sunrise;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

billie1b wrote: »
    Sorry was at the DDoc with the little fella

PIPO Smart-S1 7 Inch Android 4.1 Jelly Bean Tablet PC with RK3066... http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B009JT0KOE/ref=cm_sw_r_udp_awd_8z5Osb1255Q86

This is it, just under £60 now

won't deliver to my address

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭cathalj

6 people at palmerstown.

Make that 8, no tickets being given out though.

Fyi, 10 tickets now been given out at palmerstown - all gone .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭bizz213

Which Aldi in Cork are you at Jellyboy?

cathalj wrote: »
    Fyi, 10 tickets now been given out at palmerstown - all gone .

6 here at Newlands Cross, no tickets given out so far.

Bingo!

PS: The only had 4 or 5 in stock in Newlands Cross branch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Great success! Gone mind after 1/2 hr queue. Looks like only 4 in stock though. I was no 4!

Got one , happy days - hope you all got sorted too.

Tralee store on john Joe sheehy road still has 2 left as of 5 mins ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭billie1b

casio4 wrote: »

Where abouts are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭billie1b

casio4 wrote: »

Where abouts are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Anyone in either of the Carlow stores? Should I bother my arse when the only have a few per store and staff buy most of them?

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭GREENGEKO

got to carlow store,hanover road at 9am....no one there...about 8 waiting there from 9.30am onwards....when we got inside and lined up at the till the manger said there was only 6 shipped and one per customer...so the last few in the queue werent to happy about it

but i got mine thks to the info at boards.ie - cheers Captain Morgan

dont know about the others

ALDI Graiguecullen
    Church Street
    Co Carlow Graiguecullen

ALDI Bagenalstown
    The Parade
    Co. Carlow Bagenalstown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

finglas has none. I was there around 11 and was asked out of curiosity. people there before it opened.
    I did get a solar system for my sons bedroom though.... way better than a tablet:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭morgana

What a joke though - I will never understand why they advertise heavily and then only have a few in stock. Why bother if you are most likely not get one and then just get annoyed ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Super hoop

I got 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Super hoop

I got 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Super hoop wrote: »
    I got 2.
    Super hoop wrote: »
    I got 2.
    And they both seem to be working.

Got one in Aldi Coolock at about 10:30. There was one in the display cabinet that they had overlooked and they'd been telling people that they were sold out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭kenobee

7" is a good compromise between portability and size.

kenobee wrote: »
    7" is a good compromise between portability and size.

That's what my wife says :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

morgana wrote: »
    What a joke though - I will never understand why they advertise heavily and then only have a few in stock. Why bother if you are most likely not get one and then just get annoyed ?

To get people into their stores, and then sell them some other crap or groceries

• Registered Users Posts: 190 ✭✭lucky333

4 or 5 per store? What a load of bollix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

I got the Goclever one in Tesco. With money off vouchers and staff discount €65 and no queuing around an hour ago.

trad wrote: »
    I got the Goclever one in Tesco. With money off vouchers and staff discount €65 and no queuing around an hour ago.

Chalk & cheese though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Chalk & cheese though

You are probably talking 70 euro if you are buying chalk and cheese as well.

so what are people's opinion on these now that you have had time to fiddle with them

racso1975 wrote: »
    so what are people's opinion on these now that you have had time to fiddle with them

Are we still talking tablets here ?

Well tell me about the tablet here and pm me the other stuff :-)

racso1975 wrote: »
    Well tell me about the tablet here and pm me the other stuff :-)

Looks and feels great ..
    Good clarity and response

Can't say to much about speed as wifi is super crap where I live..
    My house is factbook and telling other teenagers how cool they look and dodging off school so should be ok for above

Pm on the way big boy ;)

Looks and feels great ..
    Good clarity and response

Can't say to much about speed as wifi is super crap where I live..
    My house is factbook and telling other teenagers how cool they look and dodging off school so should be ok for above

Pm on the way big boy ;)

The one I bought is an Xmas present for me dad but glad to hear it is responsive and good clarity! I assume it has access to the Google Play store?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭styron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭danjo-xx

Think I will stick to the Disprin:D

Are they any of these cheapie tablets that will work off a modem/dongle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

Noticed this tablet as well but thought it'd be just another crappy one.
    Was i wrong.
    Is this special in some way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭wilford

trad wrote: »
    Are they the one's that are on sale tomorrow for €79 for the day as part of Tesco's Advent calender promotion?

Noticed this tablet as well but thought it'd be just another crappy one.
    Was i wrong.
    Is this special in some way.

Be god they are special ,even more special because I have 2:D

As per the previous posts ,3 year warranty makes it worthwhile ..
    Bricks and mortar etc etc
    With the vouchers in the Indo last weekend made it

• Registered Users Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Lissavane

wilford wrote: »
    Are they the one's that are on sale tomorrow for €79 for the day as part of Tesco's Advent calender promotion?
    Did you read the thread title? Is there anything to indicate that this item will be sold by Tesco? Do you imagine for a moment that Tesco would give a 3 year guarantee on anything they sold?
    No is the short answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭wilford

Lissavane wrote: »
    Did you read the thread title? Is there anything to indicate that this item will be sold by Tesco? Do you imagine for a moment that Tesco would give a 3 year guarantee on anything they sold?
    No is the short answer.
    Read what I wrote in the post again,I asked a specific user who had bought a tablet in Tesco a question,I can read,I did see the thread title and don't need you or anyone else to tell me this,Thanks.

Lissavane wrote: »
    No is the short answer.

Ha - you owe Wilfred an apology !
    Guilty of not reading things properly yourself.
    Feeling at all foolish !! :-)