Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weekly WW2 Trivia Questions

• Registered Users Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

1: Identify the 2 aircraft involved in the last dogfight of the European theater, and what was unusual about the result of this engagement.
    A Piper Cub unarmed spotter plane named 'Miss Me' of the U.S 5th Armoured and a German Feisler Storch, also a spotter plane, met over Germany in April 1945. Lt Duane Francies (pilot) and his observer, Lt William Martin dove on the Feisler and fired their .45 Colts, bringing the German plane down. They landed and captured the pilot and German observer. It was the only German plane shot down with a handgun.

2: Identify the first type of Monoplane to operate from a U.S. Aircraft Carrier.
    The Brewester Buffalo

3: Where and when did the British Fleet score its first victory against the Axis during WW2 ?
    In Mid March 1941 in the battle of Cape Matapan against the Italians in the Mediterranean

4: How many submarines did the U.S lose in the Atlantic ?
    3, S-26 on Jan 24th 1942, R-12 on June 12 1943, and a boat named Dora on Oct 12 1943

5: When did the heaviest and most severe raid on London by the Luftwaffe take place ?
    May 10-11 1941 when over 1400 were killed and 1800injured, Westminster Abbey and the House of Commons were hit.

6: When did the last air raid on Berlin by the Western Allies take place ?
    Saturday April 21st @ 09:25 by the U.S. 8th Air Force.

7: Which Allied General was code named 'Duckpin' ? Was it a: Devers, b: Eisenhower, or c: Truscott
    Eisenhower

8: What was the code name of the unsuccessful 1943 attempt to kill Hitler by putting a bomb in his plane ?
    Operation Flash

9: What was known as the 'Gibraltar of the South Pacific' ?
    Rabul on New Britain Island

10: Who was Eva Brauns sister Gretl married to ? and what was his eventual fate?
    Herman fagelein who was executed by Hitler in 1945

Looks like Arnhem44 has it in the bag again ;) well done

will post new questions in a day or 2, as i'm up to me goolies in work atm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

:p hmmmm i think your watch is broken...

Mousey- wrote: »
    :p hmmmm i think your watch is broken...

yep, sorry all, im travelling about atm without my main reference books, back sunday

apologies :o

Here's the next 10 questions

1 : Name the top 5 German Fighter Aces of WW2?

2 : How many Allied POW's were forced to work for the Nazi German war machine?

3 : What was the Japanese strength on Okinawa in April 1945 in troops and planes?

4 : Identify the German passenger ship that was stalked by a U.S.Navy warship until the German Captain scuttled, rather than be sunk or siezed in 1939?.

5 : What was the strength of the French Air Force when the war began?

6 : Identify the aircraft considered by many to be the best torpedo bomber of WW2?

7 : Identify the pilot who flew more combat missions than anyone else in WW2?

8 : What was the name of the Law, in German, that made the families of German Generals responsible for the Generals actions?

9 : Identify the Italian Commander who invaded Egypt from Lybia in September 1940?

10 : Which American Broadcast Newsman made the following quip after Italy joined the war
    "Italy looks like a Boot, and behaves like a Heel"

jeasus lads :confused: you were ALL issued with a shovel, dig around for fuck sake

the panzers are closing in loike :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I don't have a shovel for any of these so I will stick with the bible and the PanzerFaust :)
    marcsignal wrote: »
    Here's the next 10 questions

Guess None

3 : What was the Japanese strength on Okinawa in April 1945 in troops and planes?

4 : Identify the German passenger ship that was stalked by a U.S.Navy warship until the German Captain scuttled, rather than be sunk or siezed in 1939?.

6 : Identify the aircraft considered by many to be the best torpedo bomber of WW2?

8 : What was the name of the Law, in German, that made the families of German Generals responsible for the Generals actions?

9 : Identify the Italian Commander who invaded Egypt from Lybia in September 1940?
    Rodolfo Graziani who made a pig's ear of it.

10 : Which American Broadcast Newsman made the following quip after Italy joined the war
    Walter Winchell

(thank you google)

• Registered Users Posts: 821 ✭✭✭FiSe

Will not look for it or google it so here what I think I know:

E. Hartman, H. Graf, W. Nowotny, G. Barkhorn, H. Bar

1000 aircraft /?/

Tricky question Avenger, Val /?/

That's just about it. Didn't use the spoiler thingy as I don't think that my few answers are correct anyway

and the answers are....

A: Eric Hartmann (352 kills), Gerhard Barkhorn (301 kills), Gunther Rall (275 kills), Otto Kittel (267 kills), Walther Nowotny (255 kills)

A: Approx 2 million

A: 100'000 Troops and 3000 Planes *edit - thanks Dinter*

A: Colombus

A: 3'600 including aircraft in the Colonies, only 1'400 were in France at the time.

A: The Italian Savoia-Marchetti Sparviero (believe it or not)

7 : Identify the pilot who carried who flew more combat missions than anyone else in WW2?
    A: Luftwaffe Ace and Stuka pilot Hans Ulrich Rudel, who according to German records flew 2530 missions

A: Sippenschaft (apprehension and arrest of next of kin) written by Robert Ley and passed in August 1944.

A: Marshal Rodolfo Graziani

10 : Which American Broadcast Newsman made the following quip after Italy joined the war "Italy looks like a Boot, and behaves like a Heel"
    A: Walter Winchell

good effort Fise & Morlar, and it looks like Morlar wins the sticky bun this week :D

Ok, judging by the viewing count, a lot of people seemed interested, but the questions were probably too obscure, so the next ten will be a little more general and maybe we should all agree not to use google ???

will post tomorrow (hopefully);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Are you sure about the answer to 3?

Excluding the Okinawan conscripts (although there is no real difference between them and British conscripts from Jersey for example) the figure seems extremely low.

Sorry I'm not being pedantic just actually wondering. I'd answered a few of these but forgotten to post!! Just as well because my answer for manpower was a multiple of 10!! :D

Dinter wrote: »
    Are you sure about the answer to 3?

Excluding the Okinawan conscripts (although there is no real difference between them and British conscripts from Jersey for example) the figure seems extremely low.

Sorry I'm not being pedantic just actually wondering. I'd answered a few of these but forgotten to post!! Just as well because my answer for manpower was a multiple of 10!! :D

ooops :o you're right Dinter ! I missed a Zero there it should be 100'000 men sorry

Ok here's this weeks questions.

I've included some multiple choice ones this week so everyone at whatever level can have a stab at them, but be warned, there's a few bastards in there too :D

Do we all agree not to use google ? whatever, see how we go.

Good Luck ;)

1 : Which one of these countries declared it would be non-beligerant on Sept 2nd 1939?
    Italy, The Soviet Union or Japan ?

2 : Which type of ship was the largest lost by the U.S. in Okinawa ?
    Destroyer, Light Cruiser, Heavy Cruiser, Escort Carrier, or Fleet Carrier ?

3 : Which Italian City was subjected to the worst bombing raid (in Italy) of the war ?
    Rome, Naples or Turin ?

4 : When did the U.S.'officially' declare that war with Germany had ended?
    May 7th 1945, Jan 1st 1946, or October 19th 1951 ?

5 : Can you identify this aircraft, used on the eastern front by the Germans as a spotter/recon aircraft ?

6 : Other than the name, what was eerily unusual about the German U-Boat U-666 ?

7 : Here is a pic of Adolf and Eva in Berchtesgarten with their 3 dogs, can you name them ?? (from left to right)

8 : Identify the French General who conquered Monte Cassino in Italy?

9 : Approximately how many bombing incidents from aircraft were there in Ireland (that's neutral Southern Ireland) during WW2?

10 : How long did the Dutch hold out against the German invasion in 1940?

will post answers this day next week

Italy

Destroyer

Turin

1951, de nazification.. nuremburg etc...

no idea, thats a model though :)

never found / unkonwn fate ?

no idea

no idea

No idea 2 or 3?

surrendered after 4 days.... and in certain places resisted for 7 days (the only one im certin of :))

1. Italy

2. destroyer /?/

3. Turin

4. 1946 /?/

5. BV 141

6. ?

7. ? I should now that Shepperd's name if nothing else

8. ?

9. 16

10. 1 week

and this weeks answers are.....

1 : Which one of these countries declared it would be non-beligerant on Sept 2nd 1939? Italy, The Soviet Union or Japan ?
    A : Benito Mussolini made the declaration for Italy

2 : Which type of ship was the largest lost by the U.S. in Okinawa ? Destroyer, Light Cruiser, Heavy Cruiser, Escort Carrier, or Fleet Carrier ?
    A : Of the 36 ships lost, none was larger than a Destroyer.

3 : Which Italian City was subjected to the worst bombing raid (in Italy) of the war ? Rome, Naples or Turin ?
    A : Turin on Nov 20th 1944

4 : When did the U.S.'officially' declare that war with Germany had ended? May 7th 1945, Jan 1st 1946, or October 19th 1951 ?
    A : October 19th 1951, Britian France and Australia declare that war with Germany ofically ended on July 9th 1951

5 : Can you identify this aircraft, used on the eastern front by the Germans as a spotter/recon aircraft ?
    A : Blohm & Voss BV 141 well done Fise;)

6 : What was eerily unusual about the German u boat U-666
    A : The U-666 was Listed as missing in the North Atlantic on 10 Feb, 1944. There is still no explanation for its loss. All 51 crewmen were also lost. well done Mousey, if that was a guess it was a good one;)

7 : Here is a pic of Adolf and Eva in Berchtesgarten with their 3 dogs, can you name them ??
    A : From left to right: Negus, Stasi and Blondi.
    *(Hitler detested Eva's Dogs)

8 : Identify the French General who conquered Monte Cassino in Italy?
    A : General Alphonse Juin

9 : Approximately how many bombing incidents were there in Ireland (that's neutral Southern Ireland) during ww2?
    A : 16 SPOT ON Fise!!

10 : How long did the Dutch hold out against the German invasion in 1940?
    A : answers between 4 days & 1 week are ok.

Well done Fise & Mousey :) Looks like we have a tiebraker, so here's your tiebreaker question.

Q: What was the main difference between Japanese Kamakazi and German Sonderkommando Pilots at the end of the war??

i seen this on a tv show :D (dogfights)
    in the show the sonderkommando pilots used to ram enemy planes and then eject from their damaged plane.
    Kamikazees didnt eject, they wanted to die "honourably"

Kamikazes were Navy pilots and as long as Germans had very small Navy 'air force' this must be it :D

This is what I think:

There are more differences:
    - kamikaze attacks were widely used from 1944 /?/ onwards
    - kamikaze were attacking ships rather than aircraft
    - they were using dive bomb attack increased by the impact of the aircraft afterwards
    - kamikazes had one way ticket only, no matter of the outcome of the attack. They were not coming back

- the Sonderkommando pilots were still an experimental unit used in a couple of attacks /wouldn't know how many/
    - they were aimed to attack Allied bombers
    - ramming of the enemy plane was the tactic used
    - after attack pilot meant to used a parachute to get him into safety from his wrecked aircraft , this was nice in theory, but useless in practice, not to mention that pilot on the chute was a legitimate target for the enemy fighters in this case
    I suppose that's it

Q: What was the main difference between Japanese Kamakazi and German Sonderkommando Pilots at the end of the war??

you're both right again

A: The answer i was looking for here, was that the German pilots had the option to parachute to safety, so you both covered that aspect.

So here's another 3, and we'll do a best out of....

Q1: what was the overriding reason for the American campaign to capture Guadalcanal in the Pacific?

Q2: Identify the SS General who met Alan Dulles of the OSS, to try to negotiate peace in March 1945

Q3: Which WW2 campaign is considered to be the most spectacular series of victories gained over a British army?

Q1: what was the overriding reason for the American campaign to capture Guadalcanal in the Pacific?

Q2: Identify the SS General who met Alan Dulles of the OSS, to try to negotiate peace in March 1945

Q3: Which WW2 campaign is considered to be the most spectacular series of victories gained over a British army?

runways/emergerncy stop for damaged bombers

no idea :(

north africa? until el alemain

Ahhh, not good, not good :(

1. Emergency landing strip for damaged bombers?
    2. Who's Allan Dulles? Himmler? Haven't got a clue
    3. First I was thinking of Belgium, France, Dunkirk... But I'll stick to Japanese advance in the 'Indo-china'

A :The Japanese were building an airstrip that would threaten Australia with land bombers

A : SS General Karl Wolff smuggled to Switzerland, he also met with General Lyman Lemnitzer on the same trip.

A : The German Campaign in North Africa to capture Tobruk in 1942, according to the history of the campaign as it is recorded in the official South African version.

Looks like Mousey has it on Q3 well done ;)

A few more multiple choice ones this week.....

Q1 : Who were known as the Golden Pheasants ?

Q2 : What was the German code name for the bombing of Coventry on Nov 14-15 1940 ?
    a) Moonlight Sonata?
    b) Operation Greif?
    or
    c) Operation Cicero?

Q3 : What was the Allied 'Operation Gambit' ?
    a) Cardboard and wooden aircraft and tanks assembled in Southern England to decieve German air reconnaissance?
    b) The false info fed to the Germans regarding the Normandy landings, suggesting it would take place in Calais?
    or
    c) The British submarine mission that went in close to the French coast in advance of the Normandy landings ?

Q4 : How did the Germans let the British know, they were aware that the Aircraft on some of the airfields in southern England were made of wood and cardboard?

Q5 : Who was the only General to land with the first wave of troops at Normandy?

Q6 : What did the initials SHAEF stand for?

Q7 : Other than the British, which nations had the most, and the least number of squadrons in the RAF by the time the Allies invaded France.

Q8 : Identify the first U.S ship attacked by enemy fire in 1941?

Q9 : Who did the French sign an armistice with on the day that the Pétain Government set up its headquarters in Vichy, June 24th 1940 ?

Q10 : Who said "I made a mistake, I will pay for it with my life, if my life can still serve as payment"
    a) Rudolf Hoess Commandant of Auschwitz?
    b) Mussolini?
    c) German Field Marshal Keitel?
    or
    d) German Colonel General Alfred Jodl?

Good Luck ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Q4 : How did the Germans let the British know, they were aware that the Aircraft on some of the airfields in southern England were made of wood and cardboard?

Please let it be . . . 'They dropped wooden bombs on them'.

• Registered Users Posts: 371 ✭✭bealbocht

A few more multiple choice ones this week.....

Nazi Party leaders ( colour of thier uniforms)

Q2 : What was the German code name for the bombing of Coventry on Nov 14-15 1940 ?
    a) Moonlight Sonata?

c) The British submarine mission that went in close to the French coast in advance of the Normandy landings ?

The success of the invasion would indication the did not know about them ??

Q5 : Who was the only General to land with the first wave of troops at Normandy?
    General Matthew Bunker Ridgway, "he insisted on a combat jump into Normandy before D-Day, June 6, 1944. The citation to the OLC on his DSC said that in the Normandy jump he "exposed himself continuously to fire" and "personally directed the operations in important task of securing the bridgehead over the Merderet River.His recollection of his jump was slightly less reverential. "I was lucky," he said. "There was no wind and I came down straight, into a nice, soft, grassy field. I recognized in the dim moonlight the bulky outline of a cow. I could have kissed her. The presence of a cow meant the field was not mined."" http://www.arlingtoncemetery.net/ridgway.htm

Supream Headquaters Allied Expeditional Force

Q7 : Other than the British, which nations had the most, and the least number of squadrons in the RAF by the time the Allies invaded France.
    1,790 Britain
    141 Poland
    88 Canada
    86 Czechoslovakia
    73 New Zealand
    56 Fleet Air Arm
    21 Australia (53 - 32 born in Oz but had GB passports hence classed GB)
    26 Belgium
    21 South Africa
    13 France
    8 Ireland
    7 United States
    2 Southern Rhodesia
    1 Palestine

I suspect you will name a civilian ship , torpodoed in the Atlantic, but can find no evidence, prior to 8 dec 1941, so ...
    "It's not quite clear. It could have been the USS West Virginia, which may have been hit with a torpedo launched from a Japanese minisub.
    Or it could have been the USS Utah, the first to be hit from the air. " (lost the source)

Q9 : Who did the French sign an armistice with on the day that the Pétain Government set up its headquarters in Vichy, June 24th 1940 ?
    2 days after with Germany (and probably one day after Italy declared war) Italy

Q10 : Who said "I made a mistake, I will pay for it with my life, if my life can still serve as payment"
    b) Mussolini?
    or

Dunno , gonna guess
    A:Hoess

Fair Play bealbocht :)

I'll leave posting the answers for a week or so in case you have a challenger ;)

Any Takers Lads ????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Patton??

b) Mussolini?
    or
    A said some thing along those lines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 +Jim+

A1: Term applied to certain members of the Nazi Party (usually high-ranking)

A2: Moonlight Sonata?

A3 : c) The British submarine mission that went in close to the French coast in advance of the Normandy landings

A4 : When the British government decided to commence construction of decoy airfields (headed by Colonel Sir John Turner), two different types were planned, named as 'Q' and 'K' sites.'K' sites were daytime airfields equipped with dummy aircraft, while 'Q' sites operated at night and tried to lure the enemy with sets of lights arranged to look like a real operational airfield. In October 1941, a German reconnaissance plane was shot down over Britain and among the items recovered from the wreckage was a map with half of the 'K's clearly marked as decoys.
    Sources: http://www.websitedcm.com/boulmer/1940.htm
    D-day deception: Operation Fortitude and the Normandy invasion By Mary Barbier

A5 : Brig. Gen. Theodore Roosevelt, Jr. (4th Division) landed with the first seaborne assault wave on Utah Beach.

A6 : Supreme Headquarters Allied Expeditionary Force

A7 : Care is needed here to distinguish between available figures of RAF squadron strength at the time of Battle of Britain (1940) and the invasion of France (1944) I haven't been able to find figures accurate as of June 1944 so my answer will be an estimate based on the 1940 figures.
    Most: Poland
    Least: Palestine

A8 : US merchant ship Robin Moor, attacked and sunk by U-69 (Kptlt. Metzler), 21/05/1941. Condemned and denounced by Roosevelt, becomes another argument for US entry into the war
    sources: http://www.usmm.org/ww2.html
    http://www.worldwar-2.net/timelines/war-at-sea/atlantic/battle-of-the-atlantic-index-1941.htm

A9 : Italy

A10 : I can find evidence to show that all four men at one stage made statements similar to the above, but no evidence to show that the above quote is attributable to any one of the four. I guess I'll go with Rudolf Hoess.

Phew, that was a lot of work.
    Jim

nice 1 lads :) keep em coming ;)

answers will be posted in a few days

Sorry for the delay in posting the answers lads :o

A : The select group of Nazi Officials who were permitted to wear the gilded swastika.

a) Moonlight Sonata?
    b) Operation Greif?
    or
    c) Operation Cicero?
    A : Moonlight Sonata

a) Cardboard and wooden aircraft and tanks assembled in Southern England to decieve German air reconnaissance?
    b) The false info fed to the Germans regarding the Normandy landings, suggesting it would take place in Calais?
    or
    A : C - The British submarine mission that went in close to the French coast in advance of the Normandy landings ?

A : They dropped dummy wooden bombs on them.

A : Brigadier General Theodore Roosevelt, 4th Division on Utah Beach.

A : Supreme Headquarters Allied Expeditionary Force

A : The Canadians had 42 squardons and the Yugoslavs had 1

A : A German U-Boat attacked the Robin Moor, a freighter, on May 21st 1941.

A : Italy

b) Mussolini?
    or
    A : Mussolini

Great effort lads !! Looks like (taking a few technicalities into account) +JIM+ wins the sticky bun this week, but it was a pretty close call, Well Done +JIM+ :)

but just to clarify, on a few of the answers requested:

Q4: Was in relation to the period coming up to the D-Day Landings, when in April 1944 a German Recon Aircraft dropped wooden bombs on an American Decoy Airfield in southern England. Despite this a point was awarded to +Jim+ for his answer, which is also technically correct.
    The example I gave was sourced from a Documentary about Jasper Maskelyne

Q5: Was related to the Normandy beach landings, as opposed to operations that took place beforehand. However Bealbocht earned a point for his answer to that one for the additional info supplied (which I wasn't aware of).

Q7: Related to Squadrons as opposed to Foreign Pilots serving in the RAF

if there are any further queries ? just post :)

Will post another 10 later this week ....

• Registered Users Posts: 371 ✭✭bealbocht

Extra point for
    "I could have kissed that cow"

Its a great phrase, in the context.

They were good questions. I had to research all of them , execpt the Italy one. Dont know if I could put similar up, but will look into it.

On another note, I was in the Ilac Library (dublin) and was looking at the newspaper archives. (this was the online stuff, normally pay-per view, but free in the library)
    I was actually looking up the 3*/4/5 July 1916, and it was an increadible read.
    Battle of the Somme stuff. Naturally they forgot to mention the huge carnage. But more or less, the whole front page was given over to war reports.
    But there a great little paragraph about , there still being marshal law in Dublin, and a question was put to Asquith, "did he think , perhaps it was time to lift the marshal law, as it would aggrivate the locals".
    Asquith, did not agree! Also various other stuff about home rule, redmond and the Ulster unionists. And there was talk of partition. in 1916 ffs. It was obviously alwasy on the cards, so no wonder DeV would not to the treaty negoiations.

but anyway,, WW1 stuff I know, but point being, I would highly recommend anyone to use the service, if they get the chance, to look up similar to see how it was reported in Ireland at the time.

*oddly enough, the first thing that really struck me, was that the 1st July, (first day of the somme) was a saturday. (dont ask why, unless you have a lot of time on your hands)