Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seriously Agressive Taxi Driver

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

juan.kerr wrote: »
    I don't really understand this point. OP wanted to get somewhere and pay the least amount. The driver wanted to go an alternative route that it seems would cost more. Given that he started acting the p***k I certainly wouldn't have obliged him.

It's not the OPs problem that the taxi driver had 3 'bums' in a row.

I don't turn a taxi down because it's a 10 year heap of s***e, no reason he should be able to turn down a passenger because he lives locally.

In fairness the driver advised that he wanted to go that way and would settle up for whatever the OP usually pays.

From the account it seems like it was only after this issue that the driver started getting rude. For short trips it makes a big difference if the driver can make it back quick as he can skip the holding pen if he's back quick enough (20 minutes?).

The OP originally used the word bum and that start reads more like banter but of course it's difficult to ascertain from text.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Didn't you know, the world owes Taxi drivers a living

• Registered Users Posts: 24,841 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Orim wrote: »
    In fairness the driver advised that he wanted to go that way and would settle up for whatever the OP usually pays.

From the account it seems like it was only after this issue that the driver started getting rude. For short trips it makes a big difference if the driver can make it back quick as he can skip the holding pen if he's back quick enough (20 minutes?).

The OP originally used the word bum and that start reads more like banter but of course it's difficult to ascertain from text.

There was an issue with him, his demeanour and his attitude from the moment I mentioned the word 'Glasnevin'. The fact it makes a big difference to him getting back to his holding pen is not my problem. I wasn't going to oblige anyone with an attitude like that in any regard. There was no banter just rudeness and an aggression that wasn't acceptable and it is being dealt with at present. It seems that I am not alone in having these issues when taking a taxi from the airport rank so hopefully something will get done and I would encourage others to go down a similar road and complain if they have to receive 'service'.

For any taxi drivers reading the thread .. I believe by my experiences in Dublin over the years that the vast majority of taxi drivers provide a good service to the public and that this individual and his kind are in the minority. However going by comments on here and some others from felow airport staff there could be an issue with a cross section of drivers who operate from the airport so be warned and don't take any crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭oisindoyle

EnterNow wrote: »
    Didn't you know, the world owes Taxi drivers a living

The world owes no one a living .It is rather unusual for a moderator to make a sarcastic comment ,which has only one aim and that is to incite some more anti taxi driver comments .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

From the account it seems like it was only after this issue that the driver started getting rude

You're kidding, right?

And you believe him?

Maybe it's just me but I expect civility from any service provider. This is hardly civil:
    What ? thats a bit derogrity what are you trying to say

repsol wrote: »
    Most,not all ,most taxi drivers are scumbags.!
    Well no Most are not scumbags .There are SOME bad apples in the taxi business but the vast majority of drivers are decent and honest
    You only have to look at the way they behaved in the past at protests.They roughed up Charlie Bird,they threw objects at Gardai who could not retaliate because the cowards had their wives and kids with them..!

Were you there ?

Rather than make inaccurate comments about an incident from the comfort of your armchair ,perhaps it would be far better if you knew the FACTS,before you made up stories.
    There was a march at the time of deregulation and Charlie Bird was reporting from it .
    His wallet was stolen NOT by any taxi driver but by some teenage louts who joined the protest.One of the "robbers" was caught by some taxi drivers and handed over to the GARDS,,,,FACT
    NO objects were ever thrown at the GARDS at this protest or any protest ,again you are incorrect .
    A garda motorcycle was pushed over ,this wasnt done by any Taxi driver .At the march members of a socialist group for reasons best known to themselves joined the protest (as they do with every protest /march in the city) and it was some of their members who got agressive ,,,,FACT

They object to any suggestion of improving car standards etc and then can't figure out why there are too many taxis! !

Really do they ? Three years ago there were numerous marches by Taxi drivers asking for MORE regulation and BETTER STANDARDS,so again the comfort of your armchair and inaccurate comments are shineing through[/QUOTE]

• Registered Users Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

I take it by your response that you are a taxi driver yourself Oisin.No, I was not present at the demos but I know a couple of Gardai who were on duty and I am repeating what they told me.It is obvious from reading the above posts and from the opinion expressed by most people that there are only a few good apples in the business.Every time there is a "strike",lots of drivers who are not union members are intimidated into staying at home despite the fact that they are self employed and entitled to work.The rank at the Gresham is a notorious no go area for most drivers as it has a stranglehold on it by a collective of toerags who think they have a divine right to it.Then there is the well documented racism in the business.Primetime did an hour long programme on the business a few months ago and barely scratched the surface.The majority of cars used are nothing short of embarressing.They may pass an NCT (which is not above suspicion) but they are mainly dirty and old.I am afraid most peoples idea of an average taxi driver in Dublin is a rude ,aggressive,poorly educated,tracksuit wearing,Sun newspaper reading,racist ,****heap driving ,gob****e who will try and rip off anyone he can and thinks the world owes him a living.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

Strumms wrote: »
    There was an issue with him, his demeanour and his attitude from the moment I mentioned the word 'Glasnevin'. The fact it makes a big difference to him getting back to his holding pen is not my problem. I wasn't going to oblige anyone with an attitude like that in any regard. There was no banter just rudeness and an aggression that wasn't acceptable and it is being dealt with at present. It seems that I am not alone in having these issues when taking a taxi from the airport rank so hopefully something will get done and I would encourage others to go down a similar road and complain if they have to receive 'service'.

For any taxi drivers reading the thread .. I believe by my experiences in Dublin over the years that the vast majority of taxi drivers provide a good service to the public and that this individual and his kind are in the minority. However going by comments on here and some others from felow airport staff there could be an issue with a cross section of drivers who operate from the airport so be warned and don't take any crap.

I was just playing devil's advocate based on my reading of the post. This comes especially from the fact that a) your initial responses read like banter and b) there is a point that you state that the driver started was getting thick and aggresive.

As I have commented I refuse to get a taxi from the airport because of this attitude so I'm not against you. However there is a touch of ambiguity based on the OP which I was pointing out. You have cleared that up now.

I believe the major issue with taxis in Dublin, not just limited to airport, is that they a lot of them don't treat it as a service industry. It's just driving to them.
    You're kidding, right?

No and I've explained my rationale above.
    And you believe him?

Do I have any reason not to?

Depending on the journey I've settled up with drivers both above and below the metered price.
    Maybe it's just me but I expect civility from any service provider. This is hardly civil:

I agree.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 StankyStevie

Sounds like every taxi driver here in London, misarable gits, you've probably learnt a lesson not to be so polite andd apologise to the driver, sod 'em.
    It's all swings and roundabouts in the taxi field, some you win - some you lose...

• Registered Users Posts: 24,841 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

In fairness I think you might be alone in interpreting my original post and subsequent comments on that experience that at any time myself and the driver were involved in any type of banter. I usually like having the craic with taxi guys talking about the football, politics general stuff and have had some very insightful conversations and good experiences mostly.

I have a friend who up to 2 years ago was a taxi driver, I spoke with him this morning and he verified some stories regarding the airport rank and the one opposite the Gresham and some of the characters and the goings on there. To be honest for the number of people in the business you can probably expect that there will be a minority who will be like that and who see the world and everyone in it being owing them a living rather than taking any pride in the industry and seeing themselves as service providers with required standards rather than just drivers.

.No, I was not present at the demos .

So you have no right to comment on something you know nothing about,you werent there.I told you what happened,who was involved gave you FACTS and the outcome .NO taxi driver was involved .
    .It is obvious from reading the above posts and from the opinion expressed by most people that there are only a few good apples in the business..

Well no it is not obvious .As I said there are a few bad apples in every walk of life and the taxi business is no exception .You will only ever hear people complain about drivers and never hear anything good.Some people just have an "inbuilt" distain for drivers ,for whatever reason .I could mention a number of names of here for example .
    If you get 10 taxis over a period of time and have ONE bad experience ,that's the only one you/people are going to remember.

.Every time there is a "strike",lots of drivers who are not union members are intimidated into staying at home despite the fact that they are self employed and entitled to work..

Taxis drivers dont go on "strike" they withdraw their services
    Many many drivers who withdrew their services are not members of any organisation.As for your "intimidation" comment ,what proof have you that they were told to stay home ?
    .The rank at the Gresham is a notorious no go area for most drivers as it has a stranglehold on it by a collective of toerags who think they have a divine right to it...

And you have proof of this or is it from reading forum comments from people who only make assumptions about things

.Then there is the well documented racism in the business....

What "well documented racism" is that then ?

.Primetime did an hour long programme on the business a few months ago and barely scratched the surface.....

The Primetime programme was instigated at the behest of TAXI DRIVERS who were and are fed up with the lack of regulation in the business .The programme highlighted dodgy dealings with some people working in the NCT ,It also highlighted an africian driver who doubled jobbed (worked on Dub Bus ) and then drove a taxi .It also highlighted another africian driver who "hired" out less than roadworthy cars and didnt look for proper documents from the person looking to hire the car .

.The majority of cars used are nothing short of embarressing.They may pass an NCT (which is not above suspicion) but they are mainly dirty and old......

Again you are talking utter nonsense.All cars are not dirty and old.Every taxi has to get an NCT test and pass and also another SGS taxi test and pass .If the car/s are not roadworthy or meet the standars requried then thye are not passed out .So I would suggest you stop making wild idiotic comments and If you have proof of irregularities within the NCT I suggest you report it to the GARDS IMMEDICATELY

.I am afraid most peoples idea of an average taxi driver in Dublin is a rude ,aggressive,poorly educated,tracksuit wearing,Sun newspaper reading,racist ,****heap driving ,gob****e who will try and rip off anyone he can and thinks the world owes him a living.

Given the level of nonsense and inaccurate "knowledge" you have about the business ,the above comment doesnt even warrant a response .

• Registered Users Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

oisindoyle wrote: »
    So you have no right to comment on something you know nothing about,you werent there.I told you what happened,who was involved gave you FACTS and the outcome .NO taxi driver was involved .

"Well no it is not obvious .As I said there are a few bad apples in every walk of life and the taxi business is no exception .You will only ever hear people complain about drivers and never hear anything good.Some people just have an "inbuilt" distain for drivers ,for whatever reason .I could mention a number of names of here for example .
    If you get 10 taxis over a period of time and have ONE bad experience ,that's the only one you/people are going to remember.
    They just hate them for no reason?

"Taxis drivers dont go on "strike" they withdraw their services
    Many many drivers who withdrew their services are not members of any organisation.As for your "intimidation" comment ,what proof have you that they were told to stay home ?"
    My missus is a copper and several taxi drivers had cars damaged because they were accused by other drivers of not as you call it "withdrawing their service"
    "And you have proof of this or is it from reading forum comments from people who only make assumptions about things"

Proof?This is a forum.It is not a court and you are not a barrister (if your spelling is anything to go by).I am entitled to give my opinion and if you don't like it I suggest you go and sit in the Kesh for 3 hours for NOTHING!

"What "well documented racism" is that then ?"

It has been widely reported on the TV and in the broadsheet newspapers (they are the ones on the shelf beside The Sun,lots of big words and no page 3 girls).I have personally been asked by 2 taxi drivers to pass black drivers on the rank and take the first white driver, once in Navan and once on Dame St.

"The Primetime programme was instigated at the behest of TAXI DRIVERS who were and are fed up with the lack of regulation in the business .The programme highlighted dodgy dealings with some people working in the NCT ,It also highlighted an africian driver who doubled jobbed (worked on Dub Bus ) and then drove a taxi .It also highlighted another africian driver who "hired" out less than roadworthy cars and didnt look for proper documents from the person looking to hire the car ."

Why did you mention the word African twice?Are African taxi drivers not taxi drivers? As for the "double jobbing " argument, there is no limit on the number of hours drivers do as taxis do not have a tachograph.A driver doing 40 hours in a bus and 20 hours in a taxi per week is no more dangerous than a "full time taxi driver"(love those stickers:D) doing 60 hours in his taxi.It is still 60 hours driving in total.

"Again you are talking utter nonsense.All cars are not dirty and old.Every taxi has to get an NCT test and pass and also another SGS taxi test and pass .If the car/s are not roadworthy or meet the standars requried then thye are not passed out .So I would suggest you stop making wild idiotic comments and If you have proof of irregularities within the NCT I suggest you report it to the GARDS IMMEDICATELY"

I didn't say "all" taxis were dirty.With regard to my NCT comment I refer back to Primetime.The defective car which was hired to the reporter had a valid NCT.Seriously do a class or get the kids to spell check for you

"Given the level of nonsense and inaccurate "knowledge" you have about the business ,the above comment doesnt even warrant a response .
    "
    So you give me a response anyway.:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭HydeRoad

The minister responsible for this shambles, Noel Dempsey, fecked off into the sunset with his obscene pension when he couldn't bear the mortification of having his ass handed back to him on a plate at the last election.

This man had every opportunity to straighten out the taxi industry, raise standards across the board, and leave some kind of legacy for himself as having contributed at least something of worth during his inept and under-achieving career. Instead, in the best Fianna Fáil tradition, he managed to make a sow's ear of everything, and do everything the exact opposite way it should have been done, and against all the best advice he was being given at the time.

Little different might have been expected of him, and sure enough, when his goose was finally cooked in 2010, he slinked off, with his wallet full, and a pension out of all proportion to his achievements, and out of all proportion to what this country could afford after Fianna Fáil had ravaged it. Needless to say, he hasn't been heard of since. I hope the driveway to his house is still getting priority treatment from the gritters every winter.

I greatly fear that the present FG ministerial incumbent, Leo Varadkar, would look rather vacant if asked what might be done to straighten out the taxi industry. He never quite manages to look ontop of his brief at the best of times. In fact, it is hard to comprehend what he actually does in office, as he is hardly ever heard from, on transport matters.

Is it any wonder it is the law of the jungle out there?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,960 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Is a passenger obliged to pay a fare if they haven't been taken to their destination through no fault of their own?

The reason I ask is that my wife took a taxi at the airport one morning after coming in on the overnight New York flight. The driver made a few grumbles about waiting for a few hours and they getting only a short journey. She is fairly assertive and said that she wasn't interested in how long he was waiting - it was his choice to enter the airport queue.

Anyway a few kms away he got a puncture on the M1 heading north. He told her he didn't have a spare and that she would have to get out and walk up to junction 4 and flag/call another one. (It was dark and wet and she had luggage). He also requested the fare on the meter. She stated in no uncertain terms that she was not getting out, that he was obliged to arrange another taxi to complete the journey and that she wouldn't be paying the fare. He responded that he was calling Swords Gardai. Please do she responded.

He got out and made a a couple of calls and told her that the Gardai would be there shortly to deal with the fare evasion issue. Great she said. They will also be impressed that you were prepared to dump a female out on the side of a motorway on a dark wet morning at 6am and that you don't have a spare wheel which you are legally obliged to have in a SPSV.

He obviously thought about it a bit more because he got out again and made another call and a second taxi arrived. He demanded the fare again but she told him to stuff it.

Was he legally obliged to demand the displayed fare in those circumstances? He didn't pursue it anyway. (The second taxi driver was a gent and was shocked about what he heard).

• Registered Users Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

No the contract she entered and him were to get from A to B He did not fulfill his side.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

I take it by your response that you are a taxi driver yourself Oisin.No, I was not present at the demos but I know a couple of Gardai who were on duty and I am repeating what they told me.It is obvious from reading the above posts and from the opinion expressed by most people that there are only a few good apples in the business.Every time there is a "strike",lots of drivers who are not union members are intimidated into staying at home despite the fact that they are self employed and entitled to work.The rank at the Gresham is a notorious no go area for most drivers as it has a stranglehold on it by a collective of toerags who think they have a divine right to it.Then there is the well documented racism in the business.Primetime did an hour long programme on the business a few months ago and barely scratched the surface.The majority of cars used are nothing short of embarressing.They may pass an NCT (which is not above suspicion) but they are mainly dirty and old.I am afraid most peoples idea of an average taxi driver in Dublin is a rude ,aggressive,poorly educated,tracksuit wearing,Sun newspaper reading,racist ,****heap driving ,gob****e who will try and rip off anyone he can and thinks the world owes him a living.

Super post nail on the head.

The reason I ask is that my wife took a taxi at the airport one morning after coming in on the overnight New York flight. The driver made a few grumbles about waiting for a few hours and they getting only a short journey. She is fairly assertive and said that she wasn't interested in how long he was waiting - it was his choice to enter the airport queue.).

As said before SOME drivers grumble ,but most take it on the chin.He should have (like most)just bitten his lip take the journey and that be it .
    that he was obliged to arrange another taxi to complete the journey and that she wouldn't be paying the fare. He responded that he was calling Swords Gardai. Please do she responded.

The driver is under no obgligation or law to arrange another taxi .If he was on a radio he could have called in to see if another car was in the area.

He obviously thought about it a bit more because he got out again and made another call and a second taxi arrived. He demanded the fare again but she told him to stuff it.).

Again it could have been handled a little better,but your wife is obliged and should have paid the fare.Most drivers would come to some sort of an arragement ,maybe reduce the fare a little or and some passengers would offer something .Your wifes attitude wasnt exactly polite either regardless of the situation saying things like "she told him to stuff it."

Was he legally obliged to demand the displayed fare in those circumstances? He didn't pursue it anyway. (The second taxi driver was a gent and was shocked about what he heard).

As above .

• Registered Users Posts: 16,523 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Again it could have been handled a little better,but your wife is obliged and should have paid the fare.Most drivers would come to some sort of an arragement ,maybe reduce the fare a little.
    The driver wasn't able to provide the service required ,bring passenger from A to B as agreed.By law are you still obliged to pay for that service ?

If the driver has no legal obligation to call another taxi would it not be in their trade's interest to have a code of conduct for this type of thing, since we regularly hear taxi drivers referring to their "profession".

Would she have been entitled to be taken back to the airport as he didn't fulfill his part of the "contract"?

Can he legally ask a pedestrian to get out and walk on a motorway with luggage in the dark and rain?

Why was he keen that the Gardai didn't arrive on the scene? Surely if he was entitled to his fare he should have really called them instead of pretending to.

I notice you evaded the spare wheel part! He was therefore operating with a vehicle not fit for purpose. Can he legally demand a fare in those circumstances?

• Registered Users Posts: 20 acousticguy

Anyway a few kms away he got a puncture on the M1 heading north..

Isn't walking on the Motorway Illegal? Who would be at fault is she had to walk I wonder. Herself or the taxi driver by forcing her/tricking her into commiting an illegal act.

http://www.rsa.ie/Documents/Road%20Safety/Leaflets/Leaf_booklets/motorway_driving.pdf

"You must not enter a motorway
    IF you are walking, cycling or moving animals"

Your wifes attitude wasnt exactly polite either regardless of the situation saying things like "she told him to stuff it."
    In fairness that was after all the shenanigans he got up to. If he had been decent about it, arranged another taxi, had a spare wheel, didn't tell her to get out, pretend to be ringing the Gardai etc. she would have had no problem coming to an arrangement with him.

Isn't walking on the Motorway Illegal? Who would be at fault is she had to walk I wonder. Herself or the taxi driver by forcing her/tricking her into commiting an illegal act.

http://www.rsa.ie/Documents/Road%20Safety/Leaflets/Leaf_booklets/motorway_driving.pdf

"You must not enter a motorway
    IF you are walking, cycling or moving animals"
    Notwithstanding the situation with my wife, in an emergency situation, one is entitled to walk on a motorway hard shoulder - e.g. to reach an SOS telephone.

The regulation apply to general use of a motorway by pedestrians, cyclists etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭coolisin

I've only had an issue once hailing a cab in town, stepaside please, ah I'm at the end of my shift blah blah blah, grand fook off then, min €25 fair ill get somebody else.

Cheers myself and the next taxi driver had a great bit of banter about it.

As from Dublin airport my dad was a taxi driver for awhile back in 2000 and had a airport pass, he didn't care because he said for every one short hop fair you got about 5 decent ones.

But it's always being there, that sh1t attitude of the short trips only experienced it once with a friend.

Now I don't bother with the rank I call a taxi company who do a fixed charged drop and pick up.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,305 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

He got out and made a a couple of calls and told her that the Gardai would be there shortly to deal with the fare evasion issue. Great she said. They will also be impressed that you were prepared to dump a female out on the side of a motorway on a dark wet morning at 6am and that you don't have a spare wheel which you are legally obliged to have in a SPSV.

He obviously thought about it a bit more because he got out again and made another call and a second taxi arrived. He demanded the fare again but she told him to stuff it.

I think she was very naive to sit in the car and allow the taxi driver to make all the calls. What happens when 2 more cars pull up and some of the boyos get out. Seriously she should have called the Guards herself or at least let someone know what was going on and keep an open line.

Regarding the racism issue just look at this site
    http://irishtaxi.org/forum/index.php/topic,20523.0.html?PHPSESSID=kj2lhp3d9cvm6a55e5m0b2u964

Just look at the avatars the 'lads' are using.

Also at the Burlington rank I have never once seen a black driver queueing. I have seen an otherwise respectable looking taxi driver shouting obscenities at a black driver who happened to drive by. Unfortunately I didn't know which taxi was his.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,000 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Wishbone, as the law stands your OH has to to pay the fare on the meter and the driver isn't obliged to discount it if asked. Likewise, he isn't obliged to call another taxi in the event of a breakdown or stoppage.

Common sense would suggest that he should have done otherwise given the circumstances; at the very least he should have done was to have seen her safely off the side of the motorway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Regarding the racism issue just look at this site
    http://irishtaxi.org/forum/index.php/topic,20523.0.html?PHPSESSID=kj2lhp3d9cvm6a55e5m0b2u964

Just look at the avatars the 'lads' are using.

Is this about the ministrel?

Sure Lyons tea used them for decades

Turned a generation of Irish tea drinkers into flaming racists :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭Shifty11

Dublin airport should implement a two tiered system. One for drivers only looking for long haul journeys, and one for drivers looking for the short ones. SIMPLE

[They just hate them for no reason?

Seems so, judgeing by some of the comments so far.

[My missus is a copper and several taxi drivers had cars damaged because they were accused by other drivers of not as you call it "withdrawing their service"

Your missus who saw the cars being damaged I presume then she took them into custody and charged them ?

[Proof?This is a forum.It is not a court and you are not a barrister (if your spelling is anything to go by).I am entitled to give my opinion and if you don't like it I suggest you go and sit in the Kesh for 3 hours for NOTHING!

Well if you are going to make accusations you should back them up with proof, otherwise it falls in line with your other inaccurate /false comments from the comfort of your armchair

It has been widely reported on the TV and in the broadsheet newspapers (they are the ones on the shelf beside The Sun,lots of big words and no page 3 girls).

So you believe everything you see on tv and read in the papers? It must be lovely being so gullible.
    If you are referring to a recent story regarding drivers with green lights .This "story " was concocted by a so called "journalist" from a particular website .I personally know 5 african drivers who had them and 4 eastern european drivers .
    When this so called journalist was asked by numerous bodies for proof of so called "racism" she couldnt supply any ,nor could she explain why so many non irish drivers had them either.
    It was a non story and shoddy "journalism ".
    I'm an Irish Times reader and would not and have not read "da sun".As for your reference to page 3 girls ,well since I am gay it doesnt do it for me .
    Perhaps it does for you ,but since you are married to a "ban garda" perhaps not!

[Why did you mention the word African twice?Are African taxi drivers not taxi drivers? As for the "double jobbing " argument, there is no limit on the number of hours drivers do as taxis do not have a tachograph.A driver doing 40 hours in a bus and 20 hours in a taxi per week is no more dangerous than a "full time taxi driver"(love those stickers:D) doing 60 hours in his taxi.It is still 60 hours driving in total.

Why did I mention Africian driver?Well we are not talking about train drivers here or crane drivers ,it is about taxi drivers afterall .Maybe your intelligence couldnt work that one out and erm because the show WAs about 2 africian drivers in particular.

[I didn't say "all" taxis were dirty.With regard to my NCT comment I refer back to Primetime.The defective car which was hired to the reporter had a valid NCT.Seriously do a class or get the kids to spell check for you

Oh right so you are back tracking .
    the Primetime programme revealed dodgy goings on with some people who worked within the NCT setup,the defective car was hired out by this particular african individual who was hireing out cars that were shown to be defective and payments were made to NCT individuals to pass out defective cars.
    So whats your point ......??????????
    As for my spelling ,it is rather hard typing on this phone whilst watching paint dry !

If the driver has no legal obligation to call another taxi would it not be in their trade's interest to have a code of conduct for this type of thing, since we regularly hear taxi drivers referring to their "profession".

No he hasnt any legal obligation to call another taxi.The whole incident obviously could have been handled better by both parties as it seemed they got off to a bad start .
    Secondly,if he wasnt part of a radio company,how could he call another ,but as I said the whole incident could have been handled better by both parties.Code of conduct doesnt come into it ,common sense does.

Would she have been entitled to be taken back to the airport as he didn't fulfill his part of the "contract"?

He had a puncture how could he bring her back to the airport?
    Can he legally ask a pedestrian to get out and walk on a motorway with luggage in the dark and rain?

Without having to keep repeating myself ,the whole incident could have been handled better by both parties involved.
    Why was he keen that the Gardai didn't arrive on the scene? ?
    You should contact him and ask.

I notice you evaded the spare wheel part! ?

Not intentional .

He was therefore operating with a vehicle not fit for purpose. Can he legally demand a fare in those circumstances

Well he was operating a vehicle fit for purpose ,he got a puncture ,it happens .Perhaps he had a spare wheel and couldnt change the wheel.But it is all conjecture .Yes he can ask for the fare even if the passenger was a tad rude as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Notwithstanding the situation with my wife, in an emergency situation, one is entitled to walk on a motorway hard shoulder - e.g. to reach an SOS telephone.

The regulation apply to general use of a motorway by pedestrians, cyclists etc.
    The driver should not have been on the road without a spare wheel and when he broke down on the motorway should have walked to the nearest sos phone and called for local breakdown assistance or called for a tow truck from his own mobile!
    Wishbone, as the law stands your OH has to to pay the fare on the meter and the driver isn't obliged to discount it if asked. Likewise, he isn't obliged to call another taxi in the event of a breakdown or stoppage.

Common sense would suggest that he should have done otherwise given the circumstances; at the very least he should have done was to have seen her safely off the side of the motorway.
    As the law stands this driver was acting illegally by not carrying a spare wheel and also by dropping a passenger off on a motorway!

Common sense would dictate the driver should have rang for a tow truck to have his unroadworthy car taken off the motorway as changing a wheel on the motorway hard shoulder or slip roads is an offence, and then asked the passenger to pay what was on the meter.