Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Off Topic Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,256 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

The Nal wrote: »
    What a tool. I hope he comes back and gets sparked again.

The Fail though - "Till, who last fought in May against Jorge Masvidal"

That hook blasted Till into last year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

John Kavanagh liked this tweet. Tin foil hat time

https://twitter.com/JelcicLuka/status/1121349128317960192?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Why tin foil hat? John was well looked after by Conor from my understanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,396 ✭✭✭Gamb!t

Ush1 wrote: »
    Why tin foil hat? John was well looked after by Conor from my understanding.
    Maybe things changed?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

Gamb!t wrote: »
    Maybe things changed?

Maybe he is just liking it in support?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭ASOT

I'd say TJ wished he was a boxer rather than an mma fighter, Jarrell Miller only got a 6 month ban for filing three different tests, one for epo. That's mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,901 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

USADA are about to send a swat team to Costas house.

https://www.instagram.com/p/Bw_kyFBBLlV

Christ, looks like the bleedin' hulk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭xckjoo

Christ, looks like the bleedin' hulk!
    No need to collect blood and urine sample there! Just wave the test in his general direction :D

xckjoo wrote: »
    No need to collect blood and urine sample there! Just wave the test in his general direction :D

His p*ss will melt the cup!

Weird record has been broken by Bobby Knuckles today, the longest time a champ has held the belt without defending it. Unfortunate considering Romero missed weight and doesn't count. 512 days taking over from McGregors 511.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Squatter

Conor gets around.

D52A_bzWkAEM2YK.jpg

(Pro 14 Rugby awards night in Dublin on Saturday)

But didn't he say something nasty about gays recently? Presumably Nigel has forgiven him.

Mod: Clearly has nothing to do with MMA..moved to the off topic forum

Squatter wrote: »
    Conor gets around.

D52A_bzWkAEM2YK.jpg

(Pro 14 Rugby awards night in Dublin on Saturday)

But didn't he say something nasty about gays recently? Presumably Nigel has forgiven him.

Can you clarify what he said? Being gay doesn't make one a snowflake either, maybe he doesn't give a funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,601 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I assume he's he talking about a slur he used to refer to somebody, who wasn't gay. Butbnitbas that was 2017

There was also this "accusation".
    "I’m starting to think this guy has a thing for me, it's kind of a weird vibe I’m getting from him.

"Why do you want me to think about you so much when I don’t need to? Why am I always on your mind?

"I'm starting to feel like it's a weird gay thing, as a man I have my rights and I don’t like another man coming on to me.

"I don’t go that way and I have the right to be a straight man.

Paulie was getting desparate at that point. Before the Artem payday came along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Mellor wrote: »
    I assume he's he talking about a slur he used to refer to somebody, who wasn't gay. Butbnitbas that was 2017

There was also this "accusation".

Paulie was getting desparate at that point. Before the Artem payday came along.

Didn’t he also constantly refer to someone who’d battered Artem as a fagg*t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭pastorbarrett

He did. Certainly not his finest hour. He did publicly support marriage referendum, however.

So he insulted someone who wasn't gay, how does this make him homophobic? I don't think someone who's homophobic would publicly push the gay marriage referendum and celebrate the result.

That's literally what the first paragraph in my post referred to. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fall_Guy

So he insulted someone who wasn't gay, how does this make him homophobic? I don't think someone who's homophobic would publicly push the gay marriage referendum and celebrate the result.

Didn't you know? Everyone who is thoughtless / careless / ignorant / ill-informed enough to have ever used a gay slur to refer to someone they feel lacked bravery is a gay-hating monster, even if there's clear evidence to suggest otherwise......so that's everyone who was ever a teenage boy in Ireland up to about 5 years ago we can write off as being straight up homophobes so. Its great. What a time to be alive.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

How did he end up going to the Pro14 awards night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭pastorbarrett

Does what he wants.

Can you clarify what he said? Being gay doesn't make one a snowflake either, maybe he doesn't give a funk

No I can't. I wouldn't be much of a follower of McGregor's quasi-literate social media scribblings.

But I recall reading a report about him tweeting something that, even by his sewer-level standards, was offensive to gay people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Does what he wants.

Laughed out loud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,161 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

CatFromHue wrote: »

Suv

Free bar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,210 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Fall_Guy wrote: »
    Didn't you know? Everyone who is thoughtless / careless / ignorant / ill-informed enough to have ever used a gay slur to refer to someone they feel lacked bravery is a gay-hating monster, even if there's clear evidence to suggest otherwise......so that's everyone who was ever a teenage boy in Ireland up to about 5 years ago we can write off as being straight up homophobes so. Its great. What a time to be alive.

Well to be fair, your comparison is irrelevant.

You are entitled to agree with what he said or to think that people should be allowed to say whatever they want without repercussion. Or even you might say that he didn't say those things.

But you can't really justify what a grown man says by comparing it to a group of 13 or 14 year kids talking shite.

Does what he wants.

There are limits...................

yep - thought normal society was giving him a wide berth in general.

Love how McGregor is claiming the 1billion in sales. That's all Irish whiskeys. You can be sure Proper twelve accounts for a tiny percentage of that 1bn

That's exactly why he posts that nonsense so people post it everywhere. Free publicity.

He tweeted this earlier.

https://twitter.com/mookiealexander/status/1125509616815632385?s=19

Conor McGregor. Twitter Diva.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fall_Guy

Fall_Guy wrote: »

Well to be fair, your comparison is irrelevant.

You are entitled to agree with what he said or to think that people should be allowed to say whatever they want without repercussion. Or even you might say that he didn't say those things.

But you can't really justify what a grown man says by comparing it to a group of 13 or 14 year kids talking shite.

Yeah that's a fair enough shout. I'll revise that sentence and instead replace teenage lads to "the vast majority of males I interacted with up to about 5 years ago".

The general point being a certain level of ignorance/ thoughtlessness does not necessarily amount to homophobia I'm my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,397 ✭✭✭xtal191

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,012 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Taisumov has no right to be saying anything

McGregor called him out for PED use. He popped for Winstrol last year.
    His suspension was up on Wednesday, obviously just trying to put himself about.

He's busy solving the housing crisis.. fair play to him though.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BxitTW9oxUe/?igshid=1trcocufephjq

Mod: Nothing to do with MMA, moved to the correct thread...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

He's busy solving the housing crisis.. fair play to him though.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BxitTW9oxUe/?igshid=1trcocufephjq

Mod: Nothing to do with MMA, moved to the correct thread...

This is fantastic. First I’d heard of it.

Is he paying for these 8 homes himself?

I must be cynical. If he is buying those houses outright and giving them to those people that's a great act of generosity.

I wonder though is he selling the houses to the council or renting the houses out under the HAP scheme?

I must be cynical. If he is buying those houses outright and giving them to those people that's a great act of generosity.

I wonder though is he selling the houses to the council or renting the houses out under the HAP scheme?

Even if it's the latter it's a hell of a good thing to do that he doesn't have to do at all.

He gets well deserved flac for certain things and rightly so but hopefully he gets the recognition for this he deserves. It isn't the first time he done something for the homeless situation Ireland either and I'd imagine he does alot that goes unreported as it seems to be something he genuinely cares about.

I wouldn't make assumptions either way. Not really any info in that post about the houses:
    3 bedroom houses, designated for families that currently reside in hotels around the capital, without a home to call their own.

Could just mean that those were the conditions of the planning permission. Not that any one person designated them as such unilaterally. Or as someone else mentioned, there might be schemes where developers put up the capital and build with a contract to let to Council.

ASOT wrote: »
    Even if it's the latter it's a hell of a good thing to do that he doesn't have to do at all.

He gets well deserved flac for certain things and rightly so but hopefully he gets the recognition for this he deserves. It isn't the first time he done something for the homeless situation Ireland either and I'd imagine he does alot that goes unreported as it seems to be something he genuinely cares about.

If it's the latter it's not a charitable exercise, it's for profit. Nothing wrong with that, people need homes and businesses need to make money but I'm not sure what way his social media post is trying to frame it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

From building houses to the bighouse the next day

If it's the latter it's not a charitable exercise, it's for profit.
    Not really.
    Social/Affordable house isn't really profitable. Which is why no developers target the backlog on the waiting list. Probably doing well to break even, unless Dublin costs have changed since I left.

But if a "developer" was willing to make a loss from the start.You could achieve much more with a $200k loss than you ever would with a $200k donation to a charity.

Not really.
    Social/Affordable house isn't really profitable. Which is why no developers target the backlog on the waiting list. Probably doing well to break even, unless Dublin costs have changed since I left.

But if a "developer" was willing to make a loss from the start.You could achieve much more with a $200k loss than you ever would with a $200k donation to a charity.

Who says the housing is social or affordable? I can tell you renting to the council under the HAP scheme is profitable as I know a few landlords with HAP tenants.

Even if the council purchased the houses outright from McGregor he would still make a profit easily.

Who says the housing is social or affordable? I can tell you renting to the council under the HAP scheme is profitable as I know a few landlords with HAP tenants.
    HAP is a form of social housing. But HAP is a contribution for normal properties.
    Seems unlikely to be 8 normal houses for anyone.
    Even if the council purchased the houses outright from McGregor he would still make a profit easily.
    1. Build some houses
    2. Sell to council
    3. Profit

If it were that easy we'd all be millionaires.

HAP is a form of social housing. But HAP is a contribution for normal properties.

The ownership of the property is not socialised, the payment for rent is. It is a private landlord. Why do you think HAP is such a controversial scheme? People have accused that it's a government handout to private landlords.

1. Build some houses
    2. Sell to council
    3. Profit

It's obviously not "that easy", do you have the capital to build houses or purchase land to begin with? You can apply this logic to any business.

Go to the property forum, you'll read many threads were people have been outbid on houses by the local council.

1. Build some houses
    2. Sell to council
    3. Profit

Do you have access to the capital to purchase the sites, and build the houses?

Developers who made the big money during the boom, the likes of your man Johnny Ronan or Sean Dunne etc. are not geniuses (genii?) - they just have the contacts and knowledge which allow them to get access to capital to build.

For a "normal" person, if you do happen to have a spare million quid knocking about, you might not want to take the risk of putting it all in the one basket. If you have tens of millions of your own money, or a million quid of the Bank's money, you won't care so much about the risk.

The ownership of the property is not socialised, the payment for rent is. It is a private landlord. Why do you think HAP is such a controversial scheme? People have accused that it's a government handout to private landlords.
    That's exactly what I described. :confused:
    And like I said, there are no HAP properties. You can't build houses for HAP.
    So that's unlikely to be what it is.
    It's obviously not "that easy", do you have the capital to build houses or purchase land to begin with? You can apply this logic to any business.
    And if have the capital the only obstacle to making a profit, it would be easy to get a loan.
    Go to the property forum, you'll read many threads were people have been outbid on houses by the local council.
    I'm not sure what your point is. I'm aware the council buy private houses.
    That doesn't mean a developer can offload to the council for guaranteed profit.

Anyway, we've no details in the above. Pointless speculating.
    Maybe they're all actors.