Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dublin Picture Game 2.0 (read the rules in post #1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

345c7pe.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

the convention centre?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

I was actually thinking the Grand Canal-Bord Gais Energy-Daniel Liebeskind-Whatever They Can Think of next Theatre

No. Neither are correct. Quite cold

Hmmm, it was all the angles that threw me off. It looks incredibly familiar

Its in quite an unusual spot. I'm surprised they went to so much effort when most people passing would be oblivious to it

Its not that development beside Heuston by any chance, I'm racking my brains and this is all I can think of.

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

Atirum of the Dublin COunty Council building? or Eircom Building by Hueston

Yep, its just as you walk of of Superquinn Heuston South Quarter. Looking up wards.

2441lwp.jpg

sc_ss_irishtown-garda-station1_zps0a585640.jpg
    Copyright Irish Architecture Foundation

Irishtown Garda Station?

Slunk wrote: »
    Irishtown Garda Station?

Got it in one. Far too easy

Edit: D'Oh, I should have changed the url name. Not that you cheated or anything :D

Ive no pictures at the moment so fire away

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,328 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Here's a fairly easy one:
    7A52022D9E72459A9E6E8ADA0D91F3B7-500_zpsddc43ba1.jpg

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

The former Burton's on George's/Dame Street, latterly the Philips shop.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,328 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

BeerNut wrote: »
    The former Burton's on George's/Dame Street, latterly the Philips shop.

Yep! Well that pic is actually above Spar, Dame St. but it's the same building.
    5342547826D74F96A936A529DBCF055E-500_zpsec00df72.jpg

Name the building, and bonus points for its former purpose:
    building.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,011 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Is it the O'Brien Institute - DFB training centre (and formerly an orphanage)?

It isn't. I've kept it inside the canal ring: I'm not a monster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,490 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Alliance Française http://maps.google.ie/?ll=53.34177,-6.253731&spn=0.00326,0.010568&t=m&z=17&layer=c&cbll=53.342165,-6.254378&panoid=Stl3Q39oOiC0QlHhXPnv5g&cbp=12,187.98,,0,-28.42

It seems it was the Kildare Street Club: http://maps.osi.ie/publicviewer/#V1,716244,733834,7,9

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Benjamin_Woodward
    Woodward collaborated in particular with the O'Shea brothers. James and John O'Shea were stone carvers from County Cork. They, along with London sculptors, carved the abundant decorative stonework at Trinity, showing owls, lizards, cats and monkeys, as well as other flora and fauna. Later the O'Sheas carved stonework at the Kildare Street Club, including the famous window piece showing the club members as monkeys playing billiards. Some stories tell of the O'Sheas getting into trouble and possibly even being sacked for carving cats or monkeys at the Oxford University Museum.

Nice one Victor, you are correct. The view is from College Park, across the cricket pitch.

It's not my turn but I'll throw in a quick one.

1-84.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Dublin airport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

The old TEAM Aer Lingus building

Neeson wrote: »
    Dublin airport?
    The old TEAM Aer Lingus building

Afraid not- much closer to city centre!

The old smurfit building near the Botanic house?

Or poolbeg power station

Bingo! :)

PigeonHouseStation.jpg

Still no pics. Work away folks.

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭mtjm

What is(was) this and where is it located,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭vektarman

Iveagh baths? Bull Alley Street I think.

vektarman wrote: »
    Iveagh baths? Bull Alley Street I think.

Nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭uch

Dún Laoghaire Baths

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

uch wrote: »
    Dún Laoghaire Baths

Aka Rainbow Rapids

mtjm wrote: »
    What is(was) this and where is it located,
    Not in Dublin City though!

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Aka Rainbow Rapids

correct

Not in Dublin City though!

Dublin Picture Game: didn't say city Centre areas

Please stick to posting photos of Dublin City only from here on

correct

Give it to uch as they were also known as Dun Laoghaire Baths and I don't have any pics on my work PC either.
    mmcn90 wrote: »
    Please stick to posting photos of Dublin City only from here on

To be fair it doesn't restrict it to city in the OP.

Dublin Picture Game: didn't say city Centre areas
    To be fair it doesn't restrict it to city in the OP.
    It is the Dublin City Fourm all the same and otherwise some people may be tempted to post a picture of a boreen in Garristown or a shed in Balscadden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭uch

Work away, I headin' home

21/25

I'll throw one in so...
    DSCF3520.jpg

End of ncr beside park gates.

Yes, I'll have to post harder ones..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭goz83

It is the Dublin City Fourm all the same and otherwise some people may be tempted to post a picture of a boreen in Garristown or a shed in Balscadden.

So...does Dublin City include all the post codes to Dublin 24? Otherwise, what is the restriction? This should be amended in the OP and it's a great idea for a thread btw. A clue could be posted if its a photo of some suburbian area, such as Baldoyle.....

goz83 wrote: »
    So...does Dublin City include all the post codes to Dublin 24? Otherwise, what is the restriction? This should be amended in the OP and it's a great idea for a thread btw. A clue could be posted if its a photo of some suburbian area, such as Baldoyle.....

Exactly, it's Dublin, not LA. There's a thread over in cool vids that does similar (with street view screen shots) for the whole country and they manage fine. Would entice more traffic if it's the whole county too. ;)

goz83 wrote: »
    Exactly, it's Dublin, not LA. There's a thread over in cool vids that does similar (with street view screen shots) for the whole country and they manage fine. Would entice more traffic if it's the whole county too. ;)
    The former thread went on to something like 5000 posts without much problem. I don't recall people posting pics from outer areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭goz83

Jaysus, i've never felt so isolated living in dublin 13 :eek:

Still....What are the restrictions? What do you class as the city? Is it just D1 & 2, or do you include 3 & 4 too? What about D5, which is not as city like as dublin 6, or Dublin 8 for that matter?

I never seen the other thread, but would love to know what the actual restrictions are? I consider the areas with post codes to be part of Dublin city, even though a great deal of it is residential. I don't want to spoil the thread either, but an answer to my original question would be helpful, as i'd like to join in, but don't want to breaking any unwritten rules.

Where's this...
    DSCF4202.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Thomas St

tricky D wrote: »
    Thomas St
    And I thought that was hard! Well done...