Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Biggest scandal in your workplace (Mod Note in OP)

• Registered Users Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Tomw86

blackwhite wrote: »
    The welfare & health regulations are that employees must be allowed to take 2 weeks' continuous leave.

Banks and financial institutions have anti-fraud guidelines that employees in certain roles must take a minimum 2 continuous weeks' leave every year.

This exactly - I actually think it would be much healthier to employees mental wellbeing to do 10 4 day weeks rather than be forced to take 2 weeks off straight.

Never works like that and some people prefer the latter, just my opinion though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭RedRochey

I think you are wrong here.

The two week rule is for Employee welfare & health

I worked for a company that did business in the states and the SEC I believed made us take two weeks to stop fraud, didn't say anything about welfare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

Sleepy is correct, min of two consecutive weeks must be taken in the leave year (whether you want it or not) and its not for employee welfare either.

Its exactly for the reasons Sleepy outlined, why else would other workplaces not stipulate a two week consecutive leave period if it was for employee welfare?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,981 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I've heard this before, it's a myth..

JFC :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,365 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Why do finance guys get away with this sh*t ?

If that were an IT guy his life would be over by now.

Because the close to the money you are the more you get paid and from that they get more leeway, but companies are more wary in today's climate.

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭IrishAlice

irish_goat wrote: »
    We had one in our office. Someone was ****ting on the floor and on the walls. Cleaners complained twice and management called a meeting basically telling whoever it was "to get help". Everyone suspected the office weirdo who had dodgy personal hygiene, loved to scratch herself in front of people and would pick her hair and eat it. She failed to submit security documents during her probabtion so was turfed out and the toilets have been unsoiled since.

Hhhhmmm I think I worked in this company, was it all the ladies in the office called into the meeting?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭partyguinness

This happened to me nearly ten years ago (not in Ireland). Oh God I have never written this down...not really a scandal but highly embarrassing and more suited to 'Horror work Christmas Parties'..:o

Basically Xmas party at my new work place (had only started in November). We knocked off at 2pm and straight to a bar/restaurant where we had sit down buffet and free drinks until 7pm. All staff were there and all the directors gone by 7. Notwithstanding the free drinks, we were on our best behaviour until the directors left. So then come 7pm the shackles came off completely.

(Background- there was really only 2 other staff I knew as we started together so there was a few others I just had not got to speak to. Turns out one of the guys was openly gay living with his partner etc- no issue there just nobody had told me that's all)

But anyway about 7-8 of us went off to hit the town. TBH...my memory from 7 onwards is very very sketchy plus it was a new city so not too familiar with the location.

To cut a long story short, we all ended up in a notorious gay bar/nightclub until 5am. I was so paralytic some gay guy...(oh God...this is hard) basically jumped on me and took me back to his place in a taxi..there was no 'action'. I have vague snippets of the taxi but that is it until the next morning.

I woke up the next morning bollock naked in bed next this complete random guy...TBH I believe I just passed out. Obviously could not get out of the place quick enough the next moring. Went for a shower, puked a few times and the guy was trying to get my number...:(

For the record I am not gay/bi/binary or whatever the term is these days.

I spent the next day in the absolute horrors..I was in some random strange housing estate 15 miles from home and asking for directions to the train station clutching a bottle of Lucozade...dry retching all the way home...in the dog house with my 8 mt pregnant wife who thankfully was out at work...:o I told her I ended up back at this house passed out on the couch after a party.

But Jaysus....it was embarrassing at work for next few weeks. Nobody said a word which was bloody worse. The gay guy with a knowing grin on his face sitting opposite me....I left that place the following June anyway (not related to that).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

I think you are wrong here. We have been told directly by management its an anti-fraud measurement.
    Sleepy wrote: »
    You're very trusting in the altruism of capitalists! ;)

Someone has to be otherwise the whole system will crumble :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭De Bhál

This happened to me nearly ten years ago (not in Ireland). Oh God I have never written this down...not really a scandal but highly embarrassing and more suited to 'Horror work Christmas Parties'..:o

jaysus, some tale. You win

• Registered Users Posts: 40,153 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I worked for a company that did business in the states and the SEC I believed made us take two weeks to stop fraud, didn't say anything about welfare

you are doing well to get any paid leave at all in the states.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Lotto story , before my time there, probably 20-30 years ago now.
    One guy a bit of an odd one , but everyone sort of looks after him , had a group lotto going I think, not many people in it.

Anyway same numbers every week, numbers come up, everyone thinks they won, turns out your man had changed the numbers ages before.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Worked with a guy who had been investigated and chased down by Charlie bird himself, due to charges of pimping out disadvantaged young men.

Worked with another guy who had been charged with having child porn.

Worked with a guy who was fired for threatening to kill co workers.

Worked with a guy who stayed behind when the call centre closed and was caught by the cleaners watching porn. Rather tame compared to the others above.

All in the same job, they were all in the same team at different times also.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

MD at a well known utility company I worked for was fired for having kiddie pics on his computer. Was a massive scandal at the time – there were a lot of high ranking people implicated although he was never actually named in the press.

I got moved out of my job for knocking up one of my team. It’s a bit more complex than that but that’s essentially what happened.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,081 Mod ✭✭✭✭ziedth

In what feels like a previous life I worked in retail for a relatively well known brand (Say 100+ stores in Ireland). Anyway, the role required me to travel a little bit and even though it seems like an exaggeration in the handful of years I was witness to the aftermath of six instances where managers (one female but all either marred, had kids or long term partner) went off and had an affair with a subordinate and in most cases ended up riding them in the shop to be later caught by CCTV or staff. There were all in different counties, age groups and it needs to be said levels of attractiveness. By the last time I found out it had happened again all I could really do is laugh

• Registered Users Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

One bloke in my office murdered his Mrs a while back in some love triangle (explicit details are sketchy). By chance I was good friends with one of the firemen who attended the scene and he said it was the most gruesome thing he had ever seen.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,475 ✭✭✭✭banie01

De Bhál wrote: »
    jaysus, some tale. You win

That's what he said...
    Well almost, it was actually some tail ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

That's messed up. Not trying to freak you out but the chances that he did something to you is extremely high. Even if it was just a bj. Feck that. That's rape dude.

Reminds me when I was 20 and on a 'work do' one night. Coming out of the viper room at 5am in the morning. Absolutely drunk and some gay guy (much older) starts coming on to me and insisting i get into the taxi with him. Linking arms with me and going "come on" as he pulled me. I end up pushing him to the ground and a bouncer comes over and, of course in true bouncer fashion, says whats going on here in a hard voice. I say he is gay and trying to get me into the car. Bouncer walks away.

I've told that story before but I always softened things. Like, I felt I did something "bad" by shoving him to the ground. Looking back being more mature now? I'm glad I did it. He deserved it.
    If I was any drunker I could have been like a baby and god knows what he would have done.

But you partyguinness, you shouldn't have been so silent

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Biggest scandal in my workplace is me doing work

• Registered Users Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭RedRochey

mariaalice wrote: »
    Because the close to the money you are the more you get paid and from that they get more leeway, but companies are more wary in today's climate.

This was in the Big 4, probably first or second year there, wouldn't be on big money at all at that age since they pay for your exams and you get loads of study leave

• Registered Users Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Tomw86

DeanAustin wrote: »
    MD at a well known utility company I worked for was fired for having kiddie pics on his computer. Was a massive scandal at the time – there were a lot of high ranking people implicated although he was never actually named in the press.

I got moved out of my job for knocking up one of my team. It’s a bit more complex than that but that’s essentially what happened.

We're gonna need more details on the second part of your story for this post to pass forum standards!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

I've heard this before, it's a myth..

Not a workplace scandal but a mate of mine done this to a few of the lads with placing bets.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Basically Xmas party at my new work place (had only started in November). We knocked off at 2pm and straight to a bar/restaurant where we had sit down buffet and free drinks until 7pm. All staff were there and all the directors gone by 7. Notwithstanding the free drinks, we were on our best behaviour until the directors left. So then come 7pm the shackles came off completely.

(Background- there was really only 2 other staff I knew as we started together so there was a few others I just had not got to speak to. Turns out one of the guys was openly gay living with his partner etc- no issue there just nobody had told me that's all)

But anyway about 7-8 of us went off to hit the town. TBH...my memory from 7 onwards is very very sketchy plus it was a new city so not too familiar with the location.

To cut a long story short, we all ended up in a notorious gay bar/nightclub until 5am. I was so paralytic some gay guy...(oh God...this is hard) basically jumped on me and took me back to his place in a taxi..there was no 'action'. I have vague snippets of the taxi but that is it until the next morning.

I woke up the next morning bollock naked in bed next this complete random guy...TBH I believe I just passed out. Obviously could not get out of the place quick enough the next moring. Went for a shower, puked a few times and the guy was trying to get my number...:(

I spent the next day in the absolute horrors..I was in some random strange housing estate 15 miles from home and asking for directions to the train station clutching a bottle of Lucozade...dry retching all the way home...in the dog house with my 8 mt pregnant wife who thankfully was out at work...:o I told her I ended up back at this house passed out on the couch after a party.

But Jaysus....it was embarrassing at work for next few weeks. Nobody said a word which was bloody worse. The gay guy with a knowing grin on his face sitting opposite me....I left that place the following June anyway (not related to that).

Did yis bang? :eek:

I'll be honest, that would be my worst nightmare, even thinking about it happening to you, i feel horrified

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭randd1

Manager in a Supermarket got fired for taking backhanders from reps. The fact our warehouse was full up with stuff we couldn't sell but we were still placing massive orders for was a bit of a give away. Got himself a large and nice Merc though. His replacement began an affair with two married women at the same time that led to a cat-fight at a Christmas do, but I missed that row.

A young couple split after he found she was with another young wan in the work toilets at a call centre.

A mystery sh**ter that struck twice in an office job. Actually saw one of the offending movements, had to be a man, it was massive.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,485 ✭✭✭blackwhite

This was in the Big 4, probably first or second year there, wouldn't be on big money at all at that age since they pay for your exams and you get loads of study leave

Lad who compiled it was a 2nd year at the time - would have been on €27-29k depending on what exams he had done up to that point.

Not a workplace scandal but a mate of mine done this to a few of the lads with placing bets.

Similar happened to a mate of mine when we went to Harolds X one night. He was asked to put a score on a particular dog, to which he forgot and spent. Dog won at 4/1.

Turned out to be an expensive night

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Did yis bang? :eek:

I'll be honest, that would be my worst nightmare, even thinking about it happening to you, i feel horrified

Physically I checked out fine the next day so your worst thoughts can be banished....:o

I take full responsibility for my actions and the situation I put myself in- I was not man handled or physically coerced in any manner.

He was a young skinny fella seemed like a pleasant chap- 'typical' gay demeanour. It was not some old fat pervert.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

ziedth wrote: »
    In what feels like a previous life I worked in retail for a relatively well known brand (Say 100+ stores in Ireland). Anyway, the role required me to travel a little bit and even though it seems like an exaggeration in the handful of years I was witness to the aftermath of six instances where managers (one female but all either marred, had kids or long term partner) went off and had an affair with a subordinate and in most cases ended up riding them in the shop to be later caught by CCTV or staff. There were all in different counties, age groups and it needs to be said levels of attractiveness. By the last time I found out it had happened again all I could really do is laugh

I worked for them too seen all the CCTV footage :pac: tip for anyone in retail do not get on the bad side of security managers they see all and often hide it for future use :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭randd1

Not to be belittling your horror experience or saying it didn't happen, but it reminds me of a Scousers sketch on Harry Enfield in which the same thing happened, and it was a very funny sketch.

I was working on a site and a lad fell off a ladder and broke his leg.
    One of the lads organised a collection for him ,a few 100 quid.
    Someone met the chap and asked if he got the money but he didnt have a clue what he was talking about.
    The absolute scummer had gambled it.
    Same lad reported his van stolen but turned out he was so drunk he didnt remember driving it from the pub,he also didnt remember going to his gaa coaches house (where the van was found) and trying to punch the head off the coach (who was almost 70).
    Absolute scummer he was,
    last time i seen him he was going into the bookies with his 5 year old kid on a saturday morning .

Physically I checked out fine the next day so your worst thoughts can be banished....:o

I take full responsibility for my actions and the situation I put myself in- I was not man handled or physically coerced in any manner.

He was a young skinny fella seemed like a pleasant chap- 'typical' gay demeanour. It was not some old fat pervert.

Jesus, that tale left me shaken if i'm being honest.

I can't even imagine the level of fear you had waking up.

I remember i woke up in a strangers bed in leeds one morning after a monster piss up. She was fcuking enormous.

I asked her what we got up to and she said i passed out after a kiss.