Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Andy farrell - overseas players

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

We should be letting more players aged 22/23 go abroad for a few years to develop and then if they are good enough bring them home.

Too many good players in Ireland not able to get a contract and they are lost to the top level game

And many of them could have a very good career abroad

If they are good enough then they'll have a good career abroad if they want to. It's not a case of letting players go, nobody is forcing them to sign contracts with a province! For the players at academy level it would difficult to loan them out for a year as most are engaged in academic studies at the same time.

The Tadhg Beirnes and Chris Farrells of the Irish rugby world are very rare and in those cases their lack of opportunities in Ireland were mostly due to injury.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    In regards to overseas, it was mentioned a number of times on podcast that Irish player will get offered more wages overseas because they will not play for ireland ....so Zebo is getting extra because Racing know he won’t be missing during 6 nations/WC etc....

So even if Ireland did turn around and ask Zebo to come would he? It would mean a huge hit in his wages....the money was the reason he left.....

I don't think we can discount the marketing opportunities here for the top players.

Jonny Sexton is a household name in Ireland. While at Paris he's virtually a nobody. The same applies to Zebo.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,609 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

razorblunt wrote: »
    If Zebo is brought in, was shown to be miles off the pace, would people shut up about it then?

Kilcoyne is in better condition than him.

Not a chance, the argument would shift to it being Joe's game plan not suiting him or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Zebo had another horror show in defence at the weekend. I don't know if it's his conditioning, if he's unhappy in Paris, or what, but he's become an absolute liability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

I don't think we can discount the marketing opportunities here for the top players.

Jonny Sexton is a household name in Ireland. While at Paris he's virtually a nobody. The same applies to Zebo.

You not see the Paddy Power video? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

SOB is still on Dublin....he is still contracted to irfu....he could play if IRFU wanted but he is recovering from injury.....
    Can't think of any other reason why SOB mightn't be involved with the Irish team.
    Nope, nothing at all, nope.

Can't think of any other reason why SOB mightn't be involved with the Irish team.
    Nope, nothing at all, nope.

It's because of injury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

It's because of injury.
    And if he wasn't injured he'd be on the plane because he hasn't done anything absolutely inexcusable that would've seen him be the subject of a witch-hunt in any other sport.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,104 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

And if he wasn't injured he'd be on the plane because he hasn't done anything absolutely inexcusable that would've seen him be the subject of a witch-hunt in any other sport.

but he IS injured.... so ...... everything else is hypothetical

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭JJJackal

SOB would 100% be in Japan if not injured

JJJackal wrote: »

Of course he would......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭JJJackal

Of course he would......

You think if SOB was injury free he wouldnt be playing for Ireland at this WC?

If he wasnt so injury prone he would still be at Leinster

You think if SOB was injury free he wouldnt be playing for Ireland at this WC?

If he wasnt so injury prone he would still be at Leinster

I knw he would be and one of the first names on the plane.....

And yes he would still be at Leinster but unfortunealty for him and rugby he has had a bad run

• Registered Users Posts: 4,011 ✭✭✭joseywhales

He would have certainly solved the backrow conundrum we now have and provided some extra leadership in high pressure situations but sure injuries are cruel like that

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

He would have certainly solved the backrow conundrum we now have and provided some extra leadership in high pressure situations but sure injuries are cruel like that

Back row is certainly our biggest problem in this world cup. No specialist No 8. Only five flankers in the squad and one of them (Murphy) is crocked at the time of writing. So we only have Van der Flier, O'Mahony, CJ and Ruddock as our real back row options with Beirne and Henderson on standby to fill in.

So yeah, even a fit if still "shadow of his former self" Sean O/Brien would be in the squad but he's crocked. As is Leavey, which is by far the bigger loss at this stage.

Who's next for call up if Murphy is out? Tommy O'Donnell? Max Deegan?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,965 ✭✭✭connachta

In Premiership

For the Bristol/L.Irish game we had this week

1) Sheedy on the bench
    2) Macken starting
    3) Piers O'conor starting
    4) Gilsenan starting
    5) Joyce starting

In the 5 other games I've spotted

1) Charlie Mulchrone on the bench for Quins
    2) Michael Heaney starting for Worcester
    3) Jordan Coghlan starting for Leicester (plays 7 or 8)

(I didn't forget Whitten/Steenson/Muldowney, but they are too old to come now)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭Niallof9

Zebo had another horror show in defence at the weekend. I don't know if it's his conditioning, if he's unhappy in Paris, or what, but he's become an absolute liability.

he scored 16 tries last season. How many horror shows has Kearney had at this stage in his career? Quite a few despite his tactical nous.

People just have it in for Zebo for no reason

we're crying out for that back 3 type player who could give us something different.

Joe superfans are just refusing to see it at this stage they are that blinkered.

Larmour badly in need of a coach that backs his talent. I think its being slowly coached out of him.

Can only hope Farrell ditches the gameplan.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭DelBoy Trotter

Niallof9 wrote: »

People have it in for Zebo as he's sh!t! He's had some great moments over the last few years, but his defense is very poor, and he's not reliable. I haven't seen him play yet this season, but last season he had also gained a good few pounds and looked unfit

Joe doesn't like him and vice versa. he's gone. And yeah his body shape isn't great. But people applying standards to certain players and not others is a bloody joke at this stage. Kearney, POM springs to mind.

I don’t like Zebo because he clearly has a planet sized ego and very much over rates himself. Not to mention his constant whingeing in the media about not getting picked when he knew well what the rules were upon his departure - obviously can’t stand not being the centre of attention and he just comes off bitter.

Finally I really didn’t like seeing him going on about how he felt shackled by Schmidt and the he couldn’t play freely, when Schmidt is literally the only coach he’s ever won anything under. The cheek of him, average player.

he scored 16 tries last season. How many horror shows has Kearney had at this stage in his career? Quite a few despite his tactical nous.

we're crying out for that back 3 type player who could give us something different.

Joe superfans are just refusing to see it at this stage they are that blinkered.

Larmour badly in need of a coach that backs his talent. I think its being slowly coached out of him.

Can only hope Farrell ditches the gameplan.

Horror show from Kearney? now my memory aint good but please remind me?

Zebo was huegly overrated by one province. Yes he was talented but he was never in the World Class bracket, he could have been but he wasn't bothered. His move to France was nothing to do with Joe, he was radio years ago when Joe was manager of Leinster saying he would move to France. He always wanted to play in France.

Larmour plays for Leinster with one of the best coaching set up in Europe????

We will see what Farrell does, I doubt he will comepletly ditch a game plan which won a Grand slam.....

Also are we trying to say any player that doesn't get picked that Joe doesn't "like" them?

Horror show from Kearney? now my memory aint good but please remind me?

defensive horror shows. Oh i don't know there's a few. Argentina 2015 wasn't great. Yeah we know he's a world class fielder and goalkeeping fullback. He's poor in tackle technique at times and he's woeful in attack unless its set up on a plate for him.

Zebo was huegly overrated by one province. Yes he was talented but he was never in the World Class bracket, he could have been but he wasn't bothered. His move to France was nothing to do with Joe, he was radio years ago when Joe was manager of Leinster saying he would move to France. He always wanted to play in France.

Larmour plays for Leinster with one of the best coaching set up in Europe????

We will see what Farrell does, I doubt he will comepletly ditch a game plan which won a Grand slam.....

Also are we trying to say any player that doesn't get picked that Joe doesn't "like" them?

Oh i don't know lets say 2015 against Argentina?

no as i said before i know people involved in Leinster, Munster and Ireland. Co-incidental that he dropped the z? no Schmidt hates players celebrating etc. Its clear in interviews with zebo as well. Uses Penney to stick the knife in.

Zebo isn't overrated in fact he's underrated. And you have to think about it at this stage is there a little bit of cause he's different. He's best mates with Murray and POM so the lads like him. He'd be a second playmaker bit of zip i nthe backline. He's not fast again i've been told by the people in set ups that his 40 metre times are actually poor.

So you think Andy should stick with our non attacking game?

Leinster are the one of the best set ups yes. But Joe has calls over the little details. I think its quite obvious he's had Larmour hold back

Look we'll never agree and while i hope we win the world cup i would also be happy to say i told you so.

Its been done to death.

Some people will never dare criticise Kearney, POM true liginds, but have free reign on people like Zebo, and munster had it in for Heaslp etc.

we'll stop it there though as it's been done to death and i'm sure bans could be dished out for a zebo v kearney debate.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,104 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

He'd be a second playmaker bit of zip i nthe backline. .

at this stage he needs velcro rather than zips :p

• Registered Users Posts: 7,965 ✭✭✭connachta

Still very promising former Munster/Connacht/Leinster players are playing for Nottingham tomorrow : Betts/J.Connolly/O.Heffernan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

I hope he does. If were still trying to play a game from a few years ago its all the one tbh. We definitely need to change our game plan.
    If he doesnt bring a new approach he shouldnt be there. We are not exactly setting the world alight with our current efforts and havent since 2018.

tototoe wrote: »
    I hope he does. If were still trying to play a game from a few years ago its all the one tbh. We definitely need to change our game plan.
    If he doesnt bring a new approach he shouldnt be there. We are not exactly setting the world alight with our current efforts and havent since 2018.

It’s the same post just another username.....

Tell you what? Tell me the game plan we currently play?

The game plan from a few years ago?

And the game plan you should like to see going forward?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭tototoe

It’s the same post just another username.....

Tell you what? Tell me the game plan we currently play?

The game plan from a few years ago?

And the game plan you should like to see going forward?

Jesus you're like a 15 year old Conor McGregor fan. Can't see anything wrong

I don't see a discernible game plan in 2019 tbh.. I think we look rudderless and have done throughout the 6 nations and into the wc..

To briefly answer your question...

Id like to see a game plan where we are not asking a 37 yo hooker to captain the team and play at wc level at that age when he is clearly not up to it on a consistent basis

or we're not wrapping our 'best' player in bubble wrap every 2nd game in case he might break....and considering his back ups are either as injury prone, not fully fit or not anywhere near the same level

Or not bring Henshaw who hasn't even been on the field yet for the first 3 games of a wc, because you know ..he's great

or we play players in a bit of form, not hoping they might get some by playing badly...considering we have our ' best squad ever'.

If our 'star' players aren't up to it, and some are clearly not at the.moment then use someone else and not say a few rosaries and put out the Child of Prague in the hope they come good which is what seems to be happening here.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

or we're not wrapping our 'best' player in bubble wrap every 2nd game in case he might break....and considering his back ups are either as injury prone, not fully fit or not anywhere near the same level

Lets assume this is all true, whats your solution? This isnt club rugby, we cant just go buy a world class 10.

Maybe not flogging sexton for 80 minutes in every game is the best approach. Could be the reason you're on the internet complaining about it and Schmidt is in Japan making the decisions.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,021 ✭✭✭✭Interested Observer

Of course he would......

I'm sure he would be over there but he's nowhere near the player he used to be. Leavy is a better player these days and a bigger loss.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Jesus you're like a 15 year old Conor McGregor fan. Can't see anything wrong

I don't see a discernible game plan in 2019 tbh.. I think we look rudderless and have done throughout the 6 nations and into the wc..

To briefly answer your question...

Id like to see a game plan where we are not asking a 37 yo hooker to captain the team and play at wc level at that age when he is clearly not up to it on a consistent basis

Or not bring Henshaw who hasn't even been on the field yet for the first 3 games of a wc, because you know ..he's great

or we play players in a bit of form, not hoping they might get some by playing badly...considering we have our ' best squad ever'.

If our 'star' players aren't up to it, and some are clearly not at the.moment then use someone else and not say a few rosaries and put out the Child of Prague in the hope they come good which is what seems to be happening here.

That's not a gameplan. Your issue is with personnel, not the gameplan itself