Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Army of the Dead [Zack Snyder, Netflix]

• Registered Users Posts: 800 ✭✭✭a fat guy

Eh, I enjoyed it.

It's not really a serious film at all, but I liked the action in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Hyzepher wrote: »
    Apparently there wasn't even 1 pull in the whole movie - hence the somewhat out of focus look

There was definitely some focus pulls. But I know what you mean it's fairly apparent they locked into a focal length with a ridiculously shallow depth of field, and it was up to the movement of the camera operator physically moving back and forth in order to keep actors in focus.

RIP camera operator's concentration levels.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I just realised something too, none of the deaths had any real weight to them from the point of view of being "jeez they're being torn apart and selling it really well". It was all heroic, stoic poses, even in the intro.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,659 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    There was definitely some focus pulls. But I know what you mean it's fairly apparent they locked into a focal length with a ridiculously shallow depth of field, and it was up to the movement of the camera operator physically moving back and forth in order to keep actors in focus.

RIP camera operator's concentration levels.

My understanding is that ZS did the cinematography himself, with old type lenses configured to work with his Red camera - without any pull focus - on purpose.

I think he even made a comment that he expected it to be even more out of focus and was surprised when he reviewed it

Hyzepher wrote: »
    My understanding is that ZS did the cinematography himself, with old type lenses configured to work with his Red camera - without any pull focus - on purpose.

I think he even made a comment that he expected it to be even more out of focus and was surprised when he reviewed it

I have no idea what he was hoping to achieve with this effect. All it did was constantly draw attention to the technical aspects surrounding lens choice.

Based on the thought that went into the script, I'm assuming it's because...it looks cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭dubstepper

Not awful but quite disappointing. I was excited like others as it was a good premise to mix the zombie movie with a heist one, but ultimately it really didn't deliver. Same as toying with the idea of somewhat intelligent zombies this was not expanded on.

Even having the few beers and switching the critical part of my brain off wasn't enough.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,625 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Average zombie action flick, no worse than any of the other 'of the dead' movies I've watched the last while.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭The Raging Bile Duct

Any of ye have this problem?
    Those who decided to invest time into the lengthy zombie heist thriller couldn’t help but notice certain scenes featured dead pixels on their TV screen.

The pixels became such an issue that many viewers were left wondering if their television sets were malfunctioning. However, the sheer amount of people who were complaining about the issue on Twitter and Reddit, revealed that the pixels were probably due to a ‘faulty sensor” on a camera used by Snyder.

Viewers spotted up to three pixels in scenes as early as one featuring Dave Bautista’s character, Scott Ward, discussing the heist with the billionaire Bly Tanaka (Hiroyuki Sanada) and another featuring safecracker Ludwig Dieter (Matthias Schweighofer).

https://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/films/news/army-of-the-dead-pixel-netflix-error-b1853655.html#Echobox=1621944874

Drove me demented in certain scenes until I changed the screen settings and it disappeared. Thought it was the start of dead pixels on my screen when I saw it first.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭Homelander

I only saw it in the scene where Dieter is talking in front of the vault. Thought it was a dead pixel at first as well.

Kinda strange it wasn't just fixed in post production, surely someone didn't miss something that obvious in multiple passes that tons of people picked up on upon their first viewing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

Poor movie.

The zombies were a straight rip off from the vampires in 30 days of nights.
    Same guttural sounds and expressions.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭yankinlk

I was told to come here and defend this. But after reading a few pages it's like facing a zombie horde. Ye are bunch of miserable sods.

Great movie and the camera work was superb. That's bokeh not blur folks.

I've watched more than my share of this genre and probably before most of ye were out of nappies. Fair dues to ZS this was a proper twist on the zombie style. I bet there will be tons of copycat films that repeat the "out of focus" camera work. Ye might as well sell yer 4k tvs you will be miserable from now on.

The making of is well worth a watch as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,922 ✭✭✭spookwoman

To notice dead pixels just shows how bad the move was :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Greyfox

yankinlk wrote: »
    I was told to come here and defend this. But after reading a few pages it's like facing a zombie horde. Ye are bunch of miserable sods.

Na were just disappointed that this was a bad zombie film, it didnt even offer mindless fun, very hard to care about any of the characters.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,048 ✭✭✭ThePott

And? Having a name for the aesthetic doesn't make it a good creative choice. He used a vintage lens with a shallow depth of field and it doesn't look good. It didn't look any better when he used it for the Justice League reshoots. It looks like he's trying to hide dodgy CGI and greenscreen. To each their own but acting like knowing bokeh makes it a good choice is dumb. It has it's place (especially in still photography) but doing so for the majority of the film doesn't work and detracts from the movie.
    I've watched more than my share of this genre and probably before most of ye were out of nappies. Fair dues to ZS this was a proper twist on the zombie style.
    I'd be interested in what twist he but on the genre to be honest, since you've apparently seen more than anyone. Zombies with a space twist isn't new, Train to Busan's sequel had a Zombie heist element. Hierarchy and intelligent zombies has also been done. So what exactly was a proper twist in your opinion?

• Registered Users Posts: 322 ✭✭plastic glass

This film was terrible, too long and boring. I don’t know how you make a film about zombies in Las Vegas boring but synder managed it.

Unnecessary plot points like intelligent zombies (that aren’t really zombies) and way too many characters make this film pretty much unwatchable. Even one of Snyder’s strengths of having good visuals is lacking in this film.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,135 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

I've watched more than my share of this genre and probably before most of ye were out of nappies. Fair dues to ZS this was a proper twist on the zombie style. I bet there will be tons of copycat films that repeat the "out of focus" camera work. Ye might as well sell yer 4k tvs you will be miserable from now on.

The making of is well worth a watch as well.

Good on you....I laughed. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,048 ✭✭✭ThePott

I genuinely can't tell if he's serious or not. Years of dealing with Snyder Cultists has melted my brain haha

• Registered Users Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

It was just boring tbh. None of the characters stood out and the plot made very little sense. The cinematography annoyed the hell out of me and clever zombies with a society aren't scary.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

I was super-hyped to watch this, so it was never going to live up that.

But it was the most enjoyable nonsense I've watched on a Friday in a good while. I don't give a crap about bokah or dead pixels, it was shiny and colourful and had Dave B killing zombies.

The plot holes were there for all to see, the protagonists did stupid things, the guns had 1,000 rounds per clip... whatever. Once the wine is open at the weekend the bar is low for what passes as entertainment.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,675 ✭✭✭buried

This ran on for way way to long. At least one hour of this could have been cut down to a proper shlock movie timelength of 90 minutes, not 2 hours and 30 minutes. This thing also suffers from showing some of the best and fun looking action scenes in the opening credits, then you have to slog through a whole heap of boring smarmy set pieces where nothing really happens and a bad script to go with it until you get some action again in the last 30.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 3,898 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

I enjoyed it but really batista is too weak an actor to be the main protagonist. Sure the plot holes were huge but I did find myself rooting for some of the characters. Las Vegas is a great location for a zombie movie

• Registered Users Posts: 846 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

No 2 in the top most watches on netflix in ireland for the past week.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,515 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

I am an hour in and it's all character development . Zack Snyder may of learnt his lesson that story must come first but he is never able to tell that story well in a normal runtime .

Will hold full judgement till I finish it but happy enough with it so far.

I am an hour in and it's all character development . Zack Snyder may of learnt his lesson that story must come first but he is never able to tell that story well in a normal runtime .

Will hold full judgement till I finish it but happy enough with it so far.

Characters are defined by their actions, not scenes where they talk about the inner workings of their head and sh!te from the past.

I'm amazed how so many films still continue to have numerous scenes that literally stop a film dead in its tracks in order for us to "get to know" the characters. The best films reveal characters during action and we learn who they are by the decisions they make.

This film is a bag of balls when it comes anything close to character development.

Snyder is all spectacle.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

It's funny, but I love ensemble type movies, and the first act gathering is always my favourite part. It rarely lives up to the expectation after that.

Maybe that's that the easy part?

Just watched the 'making of' on Netflix. It's all about special effects, lens choice, 3D location mapping, CGI and character/Production design.

Beyond Snyder's "idea" for the film, there's literally no mention of how the script/story evolved, character development and the inner workings of the story.

It just baffles me how a filmmaker can into a production, and put so much detail into the visuals yet be happy to shoot a film from that script.

Too many "visionary" commercials/music video directors, not enough story tellers.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,154 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I enjoyed it but really batista is too weak an actor to be the main protagonist. Sure the plot holes were huge but I did find myself rooting for some of the characters. Las Vegas is a great location for a zombie movie

It would have been great if they filmed inside any of the actual Vegas casinos or the shopping malls, surprised there wasn't big interest from the resort owners to assist them, seemed to have been zero co-operation whatsoever.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,515 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Finished it tonight . It's a 6.5/10 for me . Enjoyable for the year that's in it , but in normal movie year it would be pretty quickly called out for the fluff it is.

I don't particularity like the whole intelligent zombie take on it. It never works well in my opinion . Wouldn't be in a rush to watch it again.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,081 Mod ✭✭✭✭ziedth

I just finished it there too. It's terrible really isn't it?..... like it's so baffling in places that not only did it take me out of the film I was just shaking my head at how awful it was.

Batista, Sanada and Hardwick are the only ones who get out of this with any sense of credibility I think. Everyone else is really poor. The smart zombies were just kind of thrown in and nothing really came of it and I won't even get started on the sacrifice to walk through their land shíte.

Having said that, the start was excellent and the action scenes when they got going were entertaining. I'm a fan of "turn your brain off films" even from Snyders own films I love 300 and Dawn of the dead but this is lightyears behind the latter

Somebody said it above. Film would have been infinitely better if Sanada hired them to rescue his daughter but it was a ploy to capture the Queen and have the daughter the Coyote character.....

A 4/10 for me at best...... save your time and watch Dawn of the dead IMO

The tiger was cool though

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,094 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

It’s easy to point out the ways this film is terribly written (the whole ‘alpha zombie’ carry-on alone shouldn’t have made it past a first draft). But I’m more fascinated by how terribly shot it is. What an ugly bloody movie. DTV-level explosion effects. A bland grey and dark orange colour palette. Pink opening credits* that look like they were tacked on in MS Paint. Not to mention the excessive use of shallow focus. An eyesore of a movie, full of awful effects and straight-up misguided cinematography choices.

Only thing the film really has going for it is a sense of tragic chaos in its final act as everything goes to ****. Its undercut by woeful dialogue and cheesy stylistic flourishes, but there is a sense of desperation and bleak futility to it. Not enough to elevate it above ‘bad movie’, mind you.

*baffled by the opening montage. It’s not very good - has that over-digitised like and obvious music choices that all Snyder movies suffer from - but it suggests a sense of playfulness and vibrancy that the colourless slog that follows simply does not try to live up to.