Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Workplace Christmas parties: obligation to attend?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

I attend if it suits me. If it doesn't, I politely decline. Have been to all sorts, at this stage. Mostly great fun. I've never felt under pressure to attend in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

Where you work maybe, not everywhere has such an up their own arse culture to a bit of craic. I’ve had monster sessions with very senior people who are just as much up for the craic as anyone and that’s in different companies in high end tech and would know plenty of people working in different companies who have no issue with a big session and bit of craic at the Christmas party.

To be honest I don’t treat work nights out any different to a night out with the lads and not only has it not hindered me it has in fact helped my career as in a number of occasions on a big session where senior people have been involved I’ve got taking with them and on one occasion I ended up moving team to work for them and on many others it means I have their ear for sorting stuff out

You're playing the game. That's turbo deadly. Its well known that a large percentage of management couldn't run a bath never mind a department or a team of people. IMO management who reward staff based on their social networking as a contributing factor to their appraisal or career progression has no ethically and morally corrupt. lap up the attention

From my experience, any person that has this approach to going out, after a couple of drinks become insufferable and starts calling people dry sh*tes etc for not being on their "level" of craic. While being overbearing and hanging on your shoulders, or nearly knock you out with their swinging like a pendulum.

As stated, there is a difference between being out at a Xmas work function where colleagues are capable of going out, having a good time & a few drinks, and then there are those who approach it as a "Monster sessions", who become intolerant and obnoxious, that people do not want to be around. This kind of craic is suited to people up until their mid-late 20's when in a workplace but if people in their 30's or above go on like that at functions.....send the flood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭gazzer

A place I used to work in used to send a memo out every year threatening disciplinary action for any reported misbehaviour at Christmas parties. The thing is that they weren’t organising it, playing a penny towards it, and it wasn’t even booked in their name.

A certain government department I worked in sent around a similar memo and likewise they were not putting a penny towards the party.

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

You're playing the game. That's turbo deadly. Its well known that a large percentage of management couldn't run a bath never mind a department or a team of people. IMO management who reward staff based on their social networking as a contributing factor to their appraisal or career progression has no ethically and morally corrupt. lap up the attention

From my experience, any person that has this approach to going out, after a couple of drinks become insufferable and starts calling people dry sh*tes etc for not being on their "level" of craic. While being overbearing and hanging on your shoulders, or nearly knock you out with their swinging like a pendulum.

As stated, there is a difference between being out at a Xmas work function where colleagues are capable of going out, having a good time & a few drinks, and then there are those who approach it as a "Monster sessions", who become intolerant and obnoxious, that people do not want to be around. This kind of craic is suited to people up until their mid-late 20's when in a workplace but if people in their 30's or above go on like that at functions.....send the flood.

Bit of a false dichotomy there. People on a monster session do not necessarily become intolerant and obnoxious, the vast majority do not.

I never said the reward was directly related to the social networking. It’s the fact in the informal setting of a pub where people have a few drinks you can end up spending time with people you otherwise might not. Then the following week when you meet in the hall, they will more often than not stop for a chat and things go from there. Some people who wouldn’t be in my social circle at work could never understand how I knew nearly everyone and was alway much faster getting things done by IT or able to gets things signed off or push through things so much faster and easier. The reason was I had gotten to know so many so well through very regularly nights out where I would chat and drink with lots of people.

As stated, there is a difference between being out at a Xmas work function where colleagues are capable of going out, having a good time & a few drinks, and then there are those who approach it as a "Monster sessions", who become intolerant and obnoxious, that people do not want to be around. .

Nonsense to be fair. Plenty of people can hold their drink well and don’t end up being intolerant or obnoxious. You can have the craic, drink loads and still behave - a fact that appears to be lost on many.

My main group of work friends would often have a laugh at the odd person making a fool of themselves at a party or what ever having put away a lot more drink ourselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

only myself and my son work on the boat but a few boat owners/skippers and the crews go for a few pints and a meal . Any '' disputes'' during the year are forgotten about and we remember lads who have been lost over the years . Its usually a good night out

• Registered Users Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭buried

The boring existence some appear to live around here is soul destroying to think about and actually sad.

Boring existence? That's a good stretch that one. Just because some folk like myself don't want to be out getting totally trashed drunk for the almighty Lord of CRAIC, then get up the next morning with nothing but the sickness, how do you know we live a boring existence?

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Oohhhhhhh

Hokey Cokey Pokey

000hhhhhh

Hokey Cokey Pokey

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Im not going to mine tomorrow night, and the amusement i get when people ask why im not going and I respond by I couldnt be arsed, Im going for Pints with my mates is fantastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Im not going to mine tomorrow night, and the amusement i get when people ask why im not going and I respond by I couldnt be arsed, Im going for Pints with my mates is fantastic
    Which phone kiosk have you booked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Thread shows that a lot of people who don’t like work parties, really, really don’t like them. That’s why employers shouldn’t pressure anyone to go.
    As the Cavan man says, Could I have the money instead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Nonsense to be fair. Plenty of people can hold their drink well and don’t end up being intolerant or obnoxious. You can have the craic, drink loads and still behave - a fact that appears to be lost on many.

The amount of people who are highly annoying when drunk is pretty much 100%. Don’t delude yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

i have my work colleagues and i have my friends. i happen to like nearly all my colleagues but they're not my friends. any leisure time i have i will spend with my loved ones and friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

The last party I went to was grand. Very casual, just a few drinks in a relaxed setting. I hate the whole formal meal thing followed by shyte music and people trying to drag you onto the floor. I've no interest in dancing.

Had a nice few work do's in the last ten days, but I'm away at the moment and so spared the OH's two more formal functions. What a relief tbh, enough is enough. I don't mind showing my face and having a bite and a chat, but I'm usually out of there at the first polite opportunity. Just not in the mood generally this year, anyway.

Candie wrote: »
    Had a nice few work do's in the last ten days, but I'm away at the moment and so spared the OH's two more formal functions. What a relief tbh, enough is enough. I don't mind showing my face and having a bite and a chat, but I'm usually out of there at the first polite opportunity. Just not in the mood generally this year, anyway.

Thankfully I’ve never been required to attend the OH’s work dos. Phew!

Why? Any sort of night out on offer I’m always glad to attend. It’s an excuse for porter after all what more do you want.

I’ve the 12 pubs this weekend with a crowd from my last job, I don’t discriminate against anyone willing to organise a session :pac:

Why? Any sort of night out on offer I’m always glad to attend. It’s an excuse for porter after all what more do you want.

Most OH’s aren’t going to want you on a porter fest on their night out though. It’d be mind numbing best behaviour.

I’ve the 12 pubs this weekend with a crowd from my last job, I don’t discriminate against anyone willing to organise a session.

You don’t have to be at every dog fight. It’s just alcohol. Big fucking deal. Is alcohol worth being out of the loop on discussions going on at the party? Work always comes up at these things. Chomping to go to your OH’s Xmas do is a bit desperate, to be honest.

Most OH’s aren’t going to want you on a porter fest on their night out though. It’d be mind numbing best behaviour.

Luckily I’ve never had that issue, any night out with my wife’s work crew was always a fairly sizeable session.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Luckily I’ve never had that issue, any night out with my wives work crew was always a fairly sizeable session.

Jesus, Nox, one of them is enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

This year i blatantly skipped all the company events. Yes i do get stupid comments from some team members, that's the worst they can do to convince me to go LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

You don’t have to be at every dog fight. It’s just alcohol. Big fucking deal. Is alcohol worth being out of the loop on discussions going on at the party? Work always comes up at these things. Chomping to go to your OH’s Xmas do is a bit desperate, to be honest.

We never talk about work at the Christmas party/work nights out. Nice to socialise with people outside the office.

Whenever I’ve been out with friends and some of their work friends or my OH and his work friends, work has always come up without fail and at some point you’re left twiddling your thumbs. Whatever about one’s own work do, attending somebody else’s sounds like a chore. Who needs to drink that badly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Yes - always attend mine - without fail. I enjoy them for the most part. There has never been any pressure to attend.

Over the years I have worked with many types of people:
    - Ones I have hated,
    - can barely tolerate
    - those who like and enjoy their company
    - ones I consider friends (in some cases - the friendship has continued after they have left the company).

Some people have this rule - "I can never be friends with a work colleague" - which frankly is a weirdly inflexible, misanthropic and close-minded approach.

For the first time this year, the party is on a Thursday night - annoying but will still go. Previously parties were always on Fridays with occasional ones on Saturdays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,547 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Whenever I’ve been out with friends and some of their work friends or my OH and his work friends, work has always come up without fail and at some point you’re left twiddling your thumbs. Whatever about one’s own work do, attending somebody else’s sounds like a chore. Who needs to drink that badly?

I've a blanket ban on work with my work mates. They all appreciate it because it's too easy to slip into work chat if you're not careful. So we just talk about other stuff.

I even apply that rule in the canteen in work. It's good to have a break from work and just chat about real stuff. It makes you find real things in common with colleagues you don't know well if you have to talk about other things.

But generally work chat is brutally boring. Even Interesting aspects of work should be kept out of nights out. But the worst thing, the fcuking pits, is someone complaining about their job. I spent the weekend with someone recently and we must have listened to her whinge about her job for hours over the weekend. It was relentless. And it's not exactly a 2 way conversation so it's very much about listening to them.

The tolerance level for that kind of shyte talk at the Christmas party, is zero.

I've a blanket ban on work with my work mates. They all appreciate it because it's too easy to slip into work chat if you're not careful. So we just talk about other stuff.

I even apply that rule in the canteen in work. It's good to have a break from work and just chat about real stuff. It makes you find real things in common with colleagues you don't know well if you have to talk about other things.

But generally work chat is brutally boring. Even Interesting aspects of work should be kept out of nights out. But the worst thing, the fcuking pits, is someone complaining about their job. I spent the weekend with someone recently and we must have listened to her whinge about her job for hours over the weekend. It was relentless. And it's not exactly a 2 way conversation so it's very much about listening to them.

The tolerance level for that kind of shyte talk at the Christmas party, is zero.

Sadly not my experience. Unless you mean personal tolerance?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭realitykeeper

So why would a worker who doesn't want to attend his or her workplace's Christmas party be regarded as a party pooper?

No reason. Some people think if someone doesn`t want to go to a party, they are antisocial but that is not true. I have never known anyone who didn`t want to go to a party who tried to stop other people from going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

only myself and my son work on the boat but a few boat owners/skippers and the crews go for a few pints and a meal . Any '' disputes'' during the year are forgotten about and we remember lads who have been lost over the years . Its usually a good night out

That's nice. And v admirable. I think it comes from the honesty of your work. When I worked in factories and even in sales jobs, the same approach could be taken. But anything office-based is toxic and is only amplified with drink. All of the urban deluded naysayers will come on now to say otherwise. But bureaucracy is inhuman and relationships forged in that mould should remain there. I won't drink or break bread with office worker colleagues. I always would have in previous roles but I have too much self respect to compromise myself because of group culture and expectations. If it quacks like a duck on day one, it's a ****ing duck. So duck....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

With me there are only a few colleagues I feel that I have anything in common with, I have zero interest in talking soccer and watching women's cleavage with the lads or for that matter handbags and spa breaks with the women, a bit of a generalisation I know but that's the sort of thing that passes for conversation with the majority of my colleagues, I also feel there's a huge intellectual gap between some of the older ones (myself included) and the younger ones who's idea of heavy weight conversation is who should be voted off something like Love Island (these are people with a third level education).
    Throw a few gallons of alcohol into the mix (I no longer take a drink because of medication which some people just don't get, "ah you'll have the one") and what have you got? Not my idea of a fun night.

Sadly not my experience. Unless you mean personal tolerance?

I definitely personal tolerance but also amongst my friends. It's just not the time to talk work. If you have something you want to discuss then do it in private but under no circumstances talk work in a group at the party. A thousand times no.

Work talk can be an easy fallback conversation. If you put in a little effort to find things the group actually likes chatting about then you're much more likely to have a good time and make real connections with them and see each other as people first, instead of colleagues.

I definitely personal tolerance but also amongst my friends. It's just not the time to talk work. If you have something you want to discuss then do it in private but under no circumstances talk work in a group at the party. A thousand times no.

Work talk can be an easy fallback conversation. If you put in a little effort to find things the group actually likes chatting about then you're much more likely to have a good time and make real connections with them and see each other as people first, instead of colleagues.

I will never attend a work party again in my life. I’m simply saying work has always come up in the past.

Fair enough. It's taken a while to get that culture going. I started around the same tine as a big intake so we tended to go for pints and it was a stroke of luck that I started the "no shop talk" rule early into the relationship.

Now we can ask about work and it can be summed up in a sentence it 2 and thats it. Unless the person has a serious concern or interesting anecdote, work doesn't tend to come up again. Everyone appreciates it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I love wearing the face off the young starters. The smell of perfume off them, mmmmm. The waft of ambition, it turns me on.

" I promise it will just be our little secret "

Happy times and head spins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I love wearing the face off the young starters. The smell of perfume off them, mmmmm. The waft of ambition, it turns me on.

" I promise it will just be our little secret "

Happy times and head spins.

Poor lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

Sometimes if your a none drinker its easier not to go. Sometime I go and some years I dont. In my last job I went one year formal black tie event free bar. Was getting on ok until I went to leave. Manager ask was I ok for a taxi and i said i was driving. Another person from the team turned around and said sure she might as well leave its not as if shes drinking.
    That attitudes pisses me so. And the whole why arent your drinking spiel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

You kind of have to. Its not a normal 'party' you still have to be professional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,664 ✭✭✭jackboy

You kind of have to. Its not a normal 'party' you still have to be professional.

Unfortunately, free drink, combined with people not used to drinking, leads to professionalism going out the window in many cases.

• Registered Users Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

Never bother, nobody cares either

Polite small talk is tolerable (just) in work as I’m getting paid to be there

Small talk about football, work, private life is of no interest outside of work

Don’t really care that much for a lot of the people I work with, some are nice

• Registered Users Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Sometimes if your a none drinker its easier not to go. Sometime I go and some years I dont. In my last job I went one year formal black tie event free bar. Was getting on ok until I went to leave. Manager ask was I ok for a taxi and i said i was driving. Another person from the team turned around and said sure she might as well leave its not as if shes drinking.
    That attitudes pisses me so. And the whole why arent your drinking spiel

That's because when people get drunk they like others to be drunk around them. Not for any perceived "You're no craic" thing.

More so that they feel they're being judged and you have some fictional high ground over them.

That's what I feel anyway. If someone doesn't drink and comes to one of these parties or an event where people are guaranteed to get p****d, keeps a smile and a listening ear even when they've being told the same thing from the same person for the 4th time, with their arm drunkenly slung over their shoulder pulling them in closer so they can shout an inch away from their ear that night then fair play.

I applaud that patience, because if I know I'm not drinking at such an event I dodge it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Sometimes you get ridiculed more for going than for not going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,615 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

chrissb8 wrote: »
    That's because when people get drunk they like others to be drunk around them. Not for any perceived "You're no craic" thing.

More so that they feel they're being judged and you have some fictional high ground over them.

That's what I feel anyway. If someone doesn't drink and comes to one of these parties or an event where people are guaranteed to get p****d, keeps a smile and a listening ear even when they've being told the same thing from the same person for the 4th time, with their arm drunkenly slung over their shoulder pulling them in closer so they can shout an inch away from their ear that night then fair play.

I applaud that patience, because if I know I'm not drinking at such an event I dodge it.

The thing is realising its time to leave, last year my husband said it was when some drunken fool in his forties start talking abou woman and boasting about how many women he had sleep with!

• Registered Users Posts: 28 mikecope

How much you enjoy the Christmas party depends on how old you are. When you're single and in your twenties then it's fun, free food and drink and you never know who you might get off with but after your forties the free food and drink doesn't matter, you can have more meaningful conversions with the colleagues at work and getting off isn't an option for many, so it becomes more of a social obligation than a good night out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

I don't mind them too much cos the current crowd I work with are pretty sound.We go out together quite often and If you do act the eejit a little its not brought into work the next day. A previous company I worked with was a nightmare cos youd be going into work after a night out wondering if you still have a job! Snitches and moaners everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

You play the game.
    For example, someone in a job 5 months out of a 6 month probationary period should go to a Christmas party. Be friendly and be alright. Get the probation period sorted.
    That said, someone in the same job 5 years doesn't have to. If they don't want to.

The job culture comes in to play too. I have had jobs where I would have no interest in attending any social event after work. Others I was like "this will be great craic" - so that's a factor.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Public sector worker here. Didn't go for the first time in years and felt a little bit funny not going.

We'd have a bigger party for the wider organisation and one for the business division you work in. The former costs €25 to attend, and the social committee basically gets a load of drink in an off licence and gets caterers into the office canteen. The latter is out at a restaurant next week and again everyone pays - I think about €40 this year. Managers tend to buy the wine for the more junior staff.

I've just skipped the bigger one last night for the first time in years. Was in two minds and nearly went, but kinda satisfied to be fresh as a daisy this morning and to have avoided the hassle.

Will go to the divisional event next week as it's a better chance to engage with colleagues and I would be far more inclined to make an effort to engage with them on a social level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Had a very civilised unofficial night out last night with 3 work colleagues I get on well with, no drama or bit*hing and plenty of laughs with very little alcohol, home by 11pm, plenty of drama on the bus on the way home though, when a fight broke out between two drunken women in their 40's, one who was what I would call very "respectable" but obviously couldn't hold her drink after a Christmas night out, the two of them were vicious, trading vile insults at each other, I was just about to step in before it became physical when another beat me to it.
    I was glad he did, I wasn't looking forward to having my face rearranged in time for Christmas.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 350 ✭✭Biodegradable

I spent enough of the year with work colleagues I dislike, I'm damned if I have to be around them in my free time as well.
    Not to mention that you'd actually have to pay something towards it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 350 ✭✭Biodegradable

I never jerk off the day before attending one of these bloody things! Just in case.

• Registered Users Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

I never jerk off the day before attending one of these bloody things! Just in case.

So you can jerk off during the party??!