Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Celtic FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2019/2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I'm happy with the draw, Celtic players will have more knowledge of them than the other teams we could have gotten. Climate, traveling distance, pitch conditions shouldnt be any issue for either team and Celtic will be sharper come those round of games. I expect both games to be tight but I expect Celtic to qualify.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Salzburg are a shadow of the team we played. Sold most of their decent players. Malmos best DM and striker are both suspended in Celtic Park too. Hopefully we can bring a few goal lead to Sweden.

Malmo beat Salzburg as well at this stage last season to progress to the CL and Salzburg met us in the EL groups. It will be a difficult tie, won't be much in it. If we show the resolve and professionalism that we've seen of late, we'll get the better of them. Keep them scoreless in the 1st leg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

TheCitizen wrote: »
    Malmo beat Salzburg as well at this stage last season to progress to the CL and Salzburg met us in the EL groups. It will be a difficult tie, won't be much in it. If we show the resolve and professionalism that we've seen of late, we'll get the better of them. Keep them scoreless in the 1st leg.

They've lost Alan, Soriana and Kampl. Kampl especially ran the show against us. We'll be grand.

1-0 Celtic

Tom Rogic with a peach of a finish after a great lay up by Griffiths. Delighted for him after a nightmare 2 year spell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,774 ✭✭✭eire4

Good performance against Partick Thistle especially coming on the back of such a long away trip in difficult conditions in the Champions league.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭RoryMac

On the box again tonight, should be a handy enough win tonight going by form. Bit of a weakened team for Celtic with Efe, Janko starting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

That was quick

1 up after 2 mins, great run & finish from Griffiths

Celtic could easily be 5 up here but lucky not to have conceded there, Magennis missed an easy chance

The defending is absolutely awful by Celtic

Yeah have been poor the last 15 mins, Efe will get the blame but for me VVD has been just as much to blame.

Big miss for Rogic

Spoke to soon, very poor from Efe there, criminal to be level after the chances we've had

No more than Kilmarnock deserve

Celtic defensive system is a shambles

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Hard to believe we can cruise against a poor side like this for half an hour and then gift opportunities for them. It should really be 2-1 to them.

Malmo will punish mistakes like that.

How long will RD persist with Ambrose I wonder.

PauloMN wrote: »
    Hard to believe we can cruise against a poor side like this for half an hour and then gift opportunities for them. It should really be 2-1 to them.

Malmo will punish mistakes like that.

How long will RD persist with Ambrose I wonder.

Ambrose is playing poorly but there are other players going through the motions aswell

As poor as Efe was for the goal I thought VVD moving himself into midfield trying to get the ball for some of his dribbles was part of the cause.

When the chances were flowing for Celtic the defensive side of our game was thrown out as players pushed forward. No covering play from midfield & FB's not keeping positions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,294 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

In the same mould, it should really be 5-2 to us

What a goal from Biton!!

That was savage

Wow, Nir Bitton does it again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭ActingDanClark

cracker!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

What a strike! Cool as you like.

Fantastic goal that was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭ActingDanClark

Killie making celts look greatgreat
    may I take that back please!

Fcuk sake

Not happy with that

I'd say the Malmo boss ran out of paper noting the Celtic defensive frailties! Very poor performance overall considering it was a game we were firmly in control of for the first half hour.

VVDs head elsewhere, took too many chances. Ambrose is hopeless, simple as. Need Brown back for next week. Forrest played well as did Bitton. Thought Izzy did good aside from the penalty.

What happened? Missing most of the 2nd half

Izaguirre fouled the Killie player in the box with 4 minutes to go, Killie score from the penalty to make it 2-2 and that is how it finished. Dreadful defending throughout the game

I'd say the Malmo boss ran out of paper noting the Celtic defensive frailties! Very poor performance overall considering it was a game we were firmly in control of for the first half hour.

VVDs head elsewhere, took too many chances. Ambrose is hopeless, simple as. Need Brown back for next week. Forrest played well as did Bitton. Thought Izzy did good aside from the penalty.

I really think Brown is the key to the team keeping their shape and not going asleep, need him for the Malmo games or we're in big trouble

Scott Allan due to sign today from Hibs

Strange signing, hard to see how he'll improve the team. He'll probably just take Henderson's place on the fringes of the squad

RoryMac wrote: »
    Strange signing, hard to see how he'll improve the team. He'll probably just take Henderson's place on the fringes of the squad

Id say its more about upsetting other interested parties and or dealing with home grown quota rules for european competition.

The player should go to a club that he's playing every week tbh.

Id like Henderson to go out on loan for more first team experience. Scratching on the bench is not what he needs either.

Dempsey wrote: »
    Id say its more about upsetting other interested parties and or dealing with home grown quota rules for european competition.

The player should go to a club that he's playing every week tbh.

Id like Henderson to go out on loan for more first team experience. Scratching on the bench is not what he needs either.

Agreed its a good opportunity for Henderson to get regular games & getting McGeoch off the books is overdue.

We're pretty strong in midfield & certainly not short of numbers so I'd have hoped we'd be looking at other areas to improve. The deal won't break the bank but seems unnecessary all the same

Allan signs for Celtic on a 4 year deal & Henderson agrees loan to Hibs.

RoryMac wrote: »
    Allan signs for Celtic on a 4 year deal & Henderson agrees loan to Hibs.

Good moves for all three if they get done but I worry about Allan's development as a player as Bitton, Johansen & Brown will be very hard to drop bar a complete loss of form.

Dempsey wrote: »
    Good moves for all three if they get done but I worry about Allan's development as a player as Bitton, Johansen & Brown will be very hard to drop bar a complete loss of form.

I'd imagine it's Commons most under threat from Allan signing but in the long term Johansen & Biton are most likely candidates to attract attention from other clubs in the next few windows so might be that Allan will be seen as a long term cover for them.

I see Henderson has signed a new 3 year deal too which is a good show of faith in him before going on loan, hopefully he'll step up to the task of playing every week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Booooo!!

Ye got special player in Allan.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Booooo!!

Ye got special player in Allan.

Haven't seen him play, have you seen him much? What's his best position, is he a deep lying mid or an attacking mid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,774 ✭✭✭eire4

TheCitizen wrote: »
    Haven't seen him play, have you seen him much? What's his best position, is he a deep lying mid or an attacking mid?

He is more the attacking mid type.

Here we go. Griffiths starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Well that was fairly easy for Celtic. They've started well.

Yes 1-0 , Griffiths.

Griffiths proves a point!

Bitton 2-0. What a start.

Save something for the second leg. Selfish bastards!

Great start, hope Celtic keep turning the screw on these guys. We should be out of sight by the end of this match

RD has them well hungry for this game. They are playing fantastic football at the moment. Need to kill the tie off after that start now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,113 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

RD has them well hungry for this game. They are playing fantastic football at the moment. Need to kill the tie off after that start now.

It's definitely there for the taking tonight, another goal should do it. Great to have celtic back in the champions league proper this season, fantastic club.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Malmo are making a game of it now. Well, just about.