Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Black Lives Matter protest in Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

What's with the hatred of ordinary people expressing opinions or solidarity with others in this country?. Protests, marches and public gatherings like that are the hallmark of a healthy democracy.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

20Cent wrote: »
    What's with the hatred of ordinary people expressing opinions or solidarity with others in this country?. Protests, marches and public gatherings like that are the hallmark of a healthy democracy.

I think it's more tha Blm appear to have progressed more into a hate organisation than anything else. I hope I'm wrong but even seeing their stupid antics at the Toronto gay pride parade makes me think they are a force for bad as opposed to a force for good. All imo of course. Interested to hear other opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

We should have an Arab lives matter instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

It's really is true, isn't it?

We are a nation of bandwagon jumpers.....

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,888 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I think Black Lives Matter have got their priorities and tactics all wrong. They should tone down the rage or else face any wider support from the public wither away. I was pleased that they condemned the shootings in Dallas - I was half expecting that they wouldn't.

But I don't see the problem in a rally here to support BLM - as misguided as it will be. But we have immediate and pressing problems here in Ireland - like the housing crisis and the homelessness scandal. Why aren't there more protests about this issue?

BLM also accuse anyone who questions their motives and tactics as a racist. Yes, really mature.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

RayM wrote: »
    Not when the innocent civilians are black...
    That's both incorrect and racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭Wompa1

A lot of people are talking about BLM as a group...they have extremist links, they let themselves down etc.

People are away BLM is not a group. It's a slogan for a movement. The group doesn't exist...there's a web site, there's Facebook pages etc. there's no group with a hierarchy or anything. People are free to identify with it or not.

My local news called a civil rights march an anti-police rally. Racism is clear...black people are targeted but whether or not that should be an Irish concern is up for debate.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Let me be clear that I do not have expert knowledge (or really that much at all) of BlackLivesMatter, so you can take this with a pinch of salt.

So far, BLM do not appear to be a terrorist organisation and definitely does not appear to have been set up as one. One can disagree with their examples (of police brutality specifically aimed at black people), but thus far, their methods seem to have been loud and noticable but not violent.

It is very easy to dismiss a group and their concerns when some complete blithering idiot goes rogue and starts shooting people, but said blithering idiot in this case was immediately condemned by the spokespeople for the group. The vast majority of them absolutely do not want a race war. It's a war that the black people of the US would undoubtedly lose.

An interesting point from the Wiki, which I had not heard about when it happened;
    "In November, BLM activists protested after Jamar Clark was shot by Minneapolis Police Department.[100] Later that month, after continuous protest at the Minneapolis 4th Precinct Police Station, a march was organized to honor Jamar Clark, from the 4th Precinct to downtown Minneapolis. After the march, masked men carrying firearms appeared and began calling the protesters racial slurs. After protesters asked the armed men to leave, the men opened fire, shooting five protesters.[101] All injuries required hospitalization, but were not life-threatening. The men fled the scene only to later be found and arrested. The men arrested were young, one white, one Hispanic, both believed to be white supremacists.[102]"

There will always be extremists. There will always be mentally ill people. There will always be people who just want to cause pain and suffering, as if it will somehow make up for the suffering they've felt. Dismissing their motives as just plain wrong feels like a moral victory over them for what they did, but dismissing the issues being raised by the peaceful ones based on the actions of a condemned lone wolf is piling another wrong onto the wrongs already committed.

Many of the statistics quoted by people showing that Blacks commit the majority of crimes in the US (or proportionately more than the overall numbers should deem reasonable) have also highlighted the systemic poverty and lack of opportunity for Black people in the US at the moment. Obviously this does not apply to everyone, but proportionately more black people live in deprivation still. This is a breeding ground for violence, it doesn't matter what colour the skin is at that point.

I don't know if the march is particularly relevant to Ireland, but it's hardly the first time (and won't be the last time) that people march or protest based on foreign affairs.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,004 ✭✭✭conorhal

iguana wrote: »
    I have nothing to do with this march and won't be attending but the organisers aren't claiming that the Gardaí have killed any black people. It's being organised by and for people who want to make a demonstration of support for black people in the US. It's the same as when people here demonstrated against apartheid South Africa in the 80s. Nothing to do with us here doesn't mean that something isn't wrong and that people in other countries should ignore it.

It would be one thing if that were true, but the crowd behind these hashtag movements and BLM in particular are no Martin Luthor King's, they're a seriously shady bunch of entryist hijackers and what matters to them most isn't black lives but how much power and influence they can accrue off the back of protest movements. Just as water charges marches were, for the Socialist Workers Party, more about getting their banners front and center then solidarity, you can bet your arse that those behind this are more eager to sow discord than solidarity because there's always and empire to build and a well paid quango job to be had at the back of it.

conorhal wrote: »
    It would be one thing if that were true, but the crowd behind these hashtag movements and BLM in particular are no Martin Luthor King's, they're a seriously shady bunch of entryist hijackers and what matters to them most isn't black lives but how much power and influence they can accrue off the back of protest movements. Just as water charges marches were, for the Socialist Workers Party, more about getting their banners front and center then solidarity, you can bet your arse that those behind this are more eager to sow discord than solidarity because there's always and empire to build and a well paid quango job to be had at the back of it.

That's specifically Alicia Garza, Patrisse Cullors and Opal Tometi, the founders of BLM? Why those three then?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,004 ✭✭✭conorhal

Samaris wrote: »
    That's specifically Alicia Garza, Patrisse Cullors and Opal Tometi, the founders of BLM? Why those three then?

Among the list of people who are professional activists living well on the teat of the quangocracy and doing well out of sowing discord did you forgot this guy?

http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2016/may/19/charles-wade-black-lives-matter-leader-charged-wit/

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Strong Life in Dublin

wp_rathead wrote: »
    You are correct, 50.4% of people killed by police white while 47.6% were minorities (2% unknown)
    What you are forgetting/choose to ignore is that 62.6% of population is White while 37.4% are Minorities - so proportionally the number of minorities killed is very high
    Especially when you look at unarmed people killed by police, it goes to 34.3% White and 62.7% Minorities (3% unknown)

Of the nearly 770,000 violent interracial crimes committed every year involving Blacks and Whites, Blacks commit 85 percent and Whites commit 15 percent.

http://en.metapedia.org/wiki/Race_and_crime

conorhal wrote: »
    Among the list of people who are professional activists living well on the teat of the quangocracy and doing well out of sowing discord did you forgot this guy?

http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2016/may/19/charles-wade-black-lives-matter-leader-charged-wit/

Nasty piece of work indeed (also quangocracy is a great word), but what of the three I mentioned, the ones that started it? What's your major issue with them?

The issue has become politicized now so instead of solidarity towards those who are unlawfully gunned down by the police we now will have every sitting politician jumping on this and trying to get elected out of this. They will bring up all the old arguments not related to the specific case before us now.

• Registered Users Posts: 419 ✭✭selastich2

All lives should matter. this segration only fuels stuff further. Why are we beating ourselves up over american politics in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I don't see a problem with it. Showing overseas support for something they believe is an atrocity in another country. Of course there will be a load of dopes there, who don't actually care about it, but sure you're always gonna get that. I believe in the message anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I might black face and stroll in to show my support.

Grayditch wrote: »
    I don't see a problem with it. Showing overseas support for something they believe is an atrocity in another country. Of course there will be a load of dopes there, who don't actually care about it, but sure you're always gonna get that. I believe in the message anyway.

The message is appropriated by the violent thugs like many movements. Genuine burning issues are ignored and the feel good dancers become cheerleaders of the extremists. The same could be said of the poor Irish Egyptian in a Cairo cell. The extremists use these issues to paralyze a nation.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

KingBrian2 wrote: »
    The message is appropriated by the violent thugs like many movements. Genuine burning issues are ignored and the feel good dancers become cheerleaders of the extremists. The same could be said of the poor Irish Egyptian in a Cairo cell. The extremists use these issues to paralyze a nation.

Can you write Posts that aren't riddles? Dunno wtf yer last few are trying to say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 916 ✭✭✭osmiumartist

That's handy for fans of the status quo isn't it. Just link violent to non-violent protest by any convoluted mechanism possible et voila, change is now a bad thing to ask for.
    Not exactly an original tactic though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

I do wonder what kind of reaction this protest will get. If it's passive with a couple of speakers who lament the recent passing of the two black men in the U.S. My guess is that this will pass off without much coverage as the general public appear to be indifferent. However, if it becomes fractious and encourages agitation in this country then that can change the mood very quickly. Tolerance can very quickly give way to the attitude "if you don't like it here, fcuk off back to where you came from". It is important that it doesn't go that way. We now have the first generation of Irish Africans growing up here. The people organizing this have a responsibility to ensure their words don't make life difficult for the black lives in this country

We now have the first generation of Irish Africans growing up here.

Ah come on now, don't start this crap. They're Irish (of African heritage). Let's not start with the Americanisms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

smash wrote: »
    Ah come on now, don't start this crap. They're Irish (of African heritage). Let's not start with the Americanisms.
    Are we not all of AH, if you believe the Rift Valley cave stuff:D

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

That's handy for fans of the status quo isn't it. Just link violent to non-violent protest by any convoluted mechanism possible et voila, change is now a bad thing to ask for.

Are you seriously trying to say to me African Americans are in the same situation they were in during the Civil rights era. It's more a case that we are seeing new people coming to the fore highlighting grievances that relate to them. It has nothing to do with the world. This is an American hot topic.

To put it another way politicians are getting involved and stoking up all this sensationalism instead of meeting their constituents and calming the crowds down. This is really the area of expertise of the Governors and Mayors of those cities. Take it up with them.

Are you seriously trying to say to me African Americans are in the same situation they were in during the Civil rights era.
    No need to read any further so you know what, I won't.
    "Blacks don't have as many problems as they used to so they can't possibly have any problems." What a dire attempt at a riposte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭twinsen

I wonder why white live don't matter.

twinsen wrote: »
    I wonder why white live don't matter.
    I wonder how you came to that bizarre conclusion from "black lives matter".

Oh, oh, the pc brigade on to me...😩

I think you'll find that your comment would render you a member of the PC brigade, not me.

No need to read any further so you know what, I won't.
    "Blacks don't have as many problems as they used to so they can't possibly have any problems." What a dire attempt at a riposte.

That's not what I said. Your twisting what I said. It is up to your elected leaders who are Black to actually bring in responsible policing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jelutong

Status Quo,a great bunch of lads.

I think you'll find that your comment would render you a member of the PC brigade, not me.

Far from it. Just not a pedantic fcuk who likes to parse every sentence I write. Irish of African heritage sounds stupid so you can stick that one up your hole.

Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

I really dont agree with this, first of all it is in and of itself racist and the figures stated earlier would back up the case that there isnt institutional racism within the US police.

Far from it. Just not a pedantic fcuk who likes to parse every sentence I write. Irish of African heritage sounds stupid so you can stick that one up your hole.

If an African American family comes over here and has a kid is that child now American Irish, African Irish or African American Irish by your system?

When you start separating people out then you create division. Some kids I went to school had foreign parents, if the kids were Irish they were called irish, qualifying it just makes it sound like you aren't giving them full allowance for it.

That's not what I said. Your twisting what I said. It is up to your elected leaders who are Black to actually bring in responsible policing.

Have you read what you've typed before hitting post? Genuine question here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭onetimecypher

This is who BLM want to claim as their hero, never mind that he resisted arrest nor that he had an ILLEGALLY HELD FIREARM, as a multiple convicted CRIMINAL, who was barred from possessing a firearm, which HE HAD JUST USED TO THREATEN someone else

worldwideweb.informationliberation.com/?id=55130

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

armaghlad wrote: »
    I'd have thought Irish people would sympathise with innocent civilians being shot dead by armed police but clearly some on here have short/selective memories...

Speaking of selective memories..,.We also remember those innocent civilians shot dead by terror groups and buried in bogs and Beaches.

The whole Black Lives Matters is dumb. Why wouldn't their lives matter? The question is absurd to my eyes. All lives matter duh.

They feel that theirs matter less. It's not that hard to understand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Green Fella

They feel that theirs matter less. It's not that hard to understand.
    Yes so they murder innocent white people and police men/women to highlight their concerns. Nevermind who is funding them.

They are a Black Supremacist style group who would be classified as domestic terrorist organisation only they are being enabled by the Obama administration. They are a brainwashed liberals wet dream. No surprise they have followers here really, most sane people can see them for exactly what they are, low life scum as are their supporters.

The sniper guy doesn't represent the entire movement. You can't actually fit everything into neat little boxes, with sweeping generalisations. The world is much too complicated for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Green Fella

We now have the first generation of Irish Africans growing up here. The people organizing this have a responsibility to ensure their words don't make life difficult for the black lives in this country
    Yeah we do, and clearly these Irish Africans see themselves as Black firstly and Irish a long way down the scale if at all if their facebook comments are the norm. One things for sure they aren't Americans as much as they want to be, or idolize the likes of Beyonce and Drake.

So they're apparently not Irish, they're not African either and certainly not American. No wonder they are in an identity crisis. They do have that in common with African Americans. I think it says alot about these people and their attitude, if with everything going on in this country this is where their priorities lie.

• Registered Users Posts: 798 ✭✭✭LightsStillOn

Yeah we do, and clearly these Irish Africans see themselves as Black firstly and Irish a long way down the scale if at all if their facebook comments are the norm. One things for sure they aren't Americans as much as they want to be, or idolize the likes of Beyonce and Drake.

So they're apparently not Irish, they're not African either and certainly not American. No wonder they are in an identity crisis. They do have that in common with African Americans. I think it says alot about these people and their attitude, if with everything going on in this country this is where their priorities lie.

Drake is Canadian. If you need the names of some black American rappers feel free to ask :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,141 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

no such thing as the pc brigade, so it would be impossible for it to get on to you. try again.

the fact is they are as irish as you and me.
    This is who BLM want to claim as their hero, never mind that he resisted arrest nor that he had an ILLEGALLY HELD FIREARM, as a multiple convicted CRIMINAL, who was barred from possessing a firearm, which HE HAD JUST USED TO THREATEN someone else

worldwideweb.informationliberation.com/?id=55130

resisting arrest isn't something that calls for one to be pumped full of bullits. most police forces including our own manage to deal with people resisting arrest quite fine without the gun. try again.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words.

Yes so they murder innocent white people and police men/women to highlight their concerns. Nevermind who is funding them..

"they" didn't murder anyone. 1 man who was an extremist did.
    They are a Black Supremacist style group who would be classified as domestic terrorist organisation only they are being enabled by the Obama administration..

based on what. the fact they and obama are black?
    They are a brainwashed liberals wet dream. No surprise they have followers here really, most sane people can see them for exactly what they are, low life scum as are their supporters.

you left out a number of the usual buzz terms. you are supposed to put them all in. anyway, i suppose the reason they are low life scum is they are black? and their supporters because they show some support to blacks?

people are capible of having multiple priorities in terms of issues. just because some might only be able to focus on 1 issue and everything else gets ignored, doesn't mean all should behave the same way. especially as they don't actually need to, unlike those some who complain about people prioritising multiple issues. we have black irish now and have had for a couple of decades, time to move on.

• Site Banned Posts: 88 ✭✭FrJGHackett

Of the nearly 770,000 violent interracial crimes committed every year involving Blacks and Whites, Blacks commit 85 percent and Whites commit 15 percent.

Is this ever brought up during discussion to Black Lives Matter members? What's their reaction and response to the figures?

no such thing as the pc brigade, so it would be impossible for it to get on to you. try again.

the fact is they are as irish as you and me.

resisting arrest isn't something that calls for one to be pumped full of bullits. most police forces including our own manage to deal with people resisting arrest quite fine without the gun. try again.

The US has an armed police force. That's down to dangers of policing in America. The US has various armed agencies and this makes life very difficult for those Black Communities you speak of.

If only the American police did not have to carry so many weapons around those neighborhoods. Then again crime is a major issue in Black communities so it is back to the carrying of arms and the volatility remains.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 736 ✭✭✭chillin117

Another shower of loopers blocking O Connell St on Saturday afternoon again. The Guards should run the lot of them. I Keep expecting the ''Save the Natterjack Toad'' people to block the street some Saturday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭walshyn93

The sniper guy doesn't represent the entire movement. You can't actually fit everything into neat little boxes, with sweeping generalisations. The world is much too complicated for that.

He's representative of a strain within the movement, based on the praise levelled at him on social media.

chillin117 wrote: »
    Another shower of loopers blocking O Connell St on Saturday afternoon again. The Guards should run the lot of them. I Keep expecting the ''Save the Natterjack Toad'' people to block the street some Saturday.

the gards have better things to do, go a different route.
    walshyn93 wrote: »
    He's representative of a strain within the movement, based on the praise levelled at him on social media.

no he isn't. he is representative of himself and a few other extremists who feel the same. blm may itself have an extreme element i don't know, but they are until proven otherwise by reliable sources a small minority of that movement