Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

FF/FG/Green Government - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,601 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Whats with the arbitrary choice of dates?

:D You are making up data and you are asking me why I picked the 2 dates :D

Classic!

Ah...the government opened shops, hairdressers, pubs, gums in early December hence 1-Dec and 8th January shows the impact including a lag for incubation/testing.

Where did you get your data? ;) I should test a few more of your numbers for the craic.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,975 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Lol Francie
    Tisn't China we live in
    People are breaking rules right left and centre,your virtue signalling aside
    We can't send them all off to be with the Uighars
    Just like you expect us to believe 44,000 pro SF posts cannot be from a member or employee,credit us with some inteligence as to what went on or is going on in the country minus the virtue signalling
    If we remained locked down in December we would still be now with even less compliance
    Human nature unless you're in China and get imprisoned

Introduce the shinners when your argument is weak. How typical again.

Shebean wrote: »
    I read that. They certainly accepted they made poor decisions. I think they were looking to be popular. I see 'we all partied' is still the popular excuse.
    Going pretty good now. I hope things continue to pick up.

They had months and months of chaos, confusion and terrible communications (I wont even mention Clifden). Living with Covid, Level this-and-that. Their ineptitude essentially pressurised themselves into giving a Christmas present to the electorate, against NPHET advice. It was a car crash. They were desperate for likes.

24x in Spain
    15x in Finland
    20x in Czechia
    22x in Portugal
    32x in France
    Irelands health system as measured by morbidity and mortality, coped very well. In relative terms.

Portugal

1-Dec 7 day average = 4545
    8-Jan 7 day average = 8568

2 fold increase...:)

Introduce the shinners when your argument is weak. How typical again.

Lol you virtue signal and accuse me of having a weak argument
    The ironing is strong,you'll burn the shirt :)

Finland in early March 832. Running higher not lower
    Spain 10th Feb 103,000

Random numbers.

Have they moved Christmas now in Finland? Does Santa know?

Lol you virtue signal and accuse me of having a weak argument
    The ironing is strong,you'll burn the shirt :)

Giving credit where it is due is not virtue signalling.

The public in the main did what they were asked to do. November I think the ESRI poll was done that showed the majority thought the lockdown wasn't strong enough, but people like you think they would have been a revolt by sticking a finger in the wind.

Random numbers.

Wales didn't open for xmas
    Travel was restricted
    It had a horrendous surge
    People are people
    Blaming governments is just lazy

Wales didn't open for xmas
    Travel was restricted
    It had a horrendous surge
    People are people
    Blaming governments is just lazy

Making up data is lazy.

I don't have the Welsh data but here is UK.

1-Dec 7 day average = 15194
    8-Jan 7 day average = 57851

3.8 times. We'll say 4 fold.

Making up data is lazy.

Have a look at the welsh data as it was in countrywide lockdown :)

Making up data is lazy.

If they go around the world long enough they'll be able to proclaim 'look over there' :)

Your government undermined you Maryanne. Both Martin and Varadkar admitted the mistake. Martin blamed the media for blaming the government, he's a sleeveen, to be expected.

You're blaming the people for a mistake the government admitted. Lovely.

Shur, Tis always someone else’s fault. The great unwashed cannot think for themselves.

If they go around the world long enough they'll be able to proclaim 'look over there' :)

Nah Wales is just 90 mins by ferry
    Locked down with a national rate of 634 per 100k the week before xmas
    5km travel rule pubs shut etc
    Did it fly in the window?

Shur, Tis always someone else’s fault. The great unwashed cannot think for themselves.

Your government admitted the mistake.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

Random numbers.

The concept of lag-phase exponential growth may have something to do with it.

Nah Wales is just 90 mins by ferry
    Locked down with a national rate of 634 per 100k the week before xmas
    5km travel rule pubs shut etc
    Did it fly in the window?

So what?

Did the government admit they made a mistake there? Had their experts given advice that was ignored?

Making up data is lazy.

From 400 to approx 3000 early dec to early jan
    11,000 on one day in late Dec if you want to use that one.

Your government admitted the mistake.

Of course,with hindsight :)
    Its great 20:20
    But it might not have worked either
    House parties Abú

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

On the 1st December we had a 7 day average of 237.

On 8th January we had a 7 day average of 6363 (8227 new cases that day)

A 26 fold increase.

Our 7 day average is twice what it was in December 1st and we are opening up?

How long till our 4th wave and another lockdown?

skimpydoo wrote: »
    Our 7 day average is twice what it was in December 1st and we are opening up?

How long till our 4th wave and another lockdown?

Small matter of all the vulnerable vaccinated,30% of adults and rising fast,those in their 30's being done in June
    Big difference!

Of course,with hindsight :)
    Its great 20:20
    But it might not have worked either
    House parties Abú

They were told it was a mistake it do what they did. Therefore it cannot be 'hindsight'. That is plain and simple, ignoring the expert advice.

Who told them it was a mistake?
    Government ie the people in charge have a committtee to look at the Nphet advice and nuance it to take in other factors
    Your party leader said it was a good decision
    You're basically saying she was wrong to say that in your rush to virtue signal
    Is nothing sacred?

https://www.facebook.com/sinnfein/videos/236387647821585/

Have a look at the welsh data as it was in countrywide lockdown :)

I have provided a lot of data. Finty made some up.

Why don't you provide the Welsh data if it's important to your argument.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,063 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Discuss covid here
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1865

Thread is getting derailed, can we get back on topic please

Who told them it was a mistake?
    Government ie the people in charge have a committtee to look at the Nphet advice and nuance it to take in other factors
    Your party leader said it was a good decision
    You're basically saying she was wrong to say that in your rush to virtue signal
    Is nothing sacred?

https://www.facebook.com/sinnfein/videos/236387647821585/

Too late ML, I have already said anyone who ignored the advice was wrong.

The opposition don't make the decisions though. Sorry, the buck stops with the decision makers.

Small matter of all the vulnerable vaccinated,30% of adults and rising fast,those in their 30's being done in June
    Big difference!
    I am vulnerable and have not being vaccinated yet.

Too late ML, I have already said anyone who ignored the advice was wrong.

The opposition don't make the decisions though. Sorry, the buck stops with the decision makers.

What I'm see'ng through here is lots of postts virtue sinalling looking backwards and down on a good news day with momentum on our vaccine programme and the whole country with a smile on its face
    A bad day for anyone who's favourite pastime is government bashing when theres no fodder for it today coupled with an awful day on the wondrous thread
    Try again tomorrow,its a new day

I am vulnerable and have not being vaccinated yet.

I know
    Argey bargey aside here you really have to chase that up with your gp
    I rang mine about my brother today and ended up with a double surprise,he was about to get an appointment for next wenesday but I also got one because I didn't realise I was also in cohort 7 and now too have an appointment
    You need to ring
    In my case one phone call this morning sorted it

I know
    I rang mine about my brother today and ended up with a double surprise,he was about to get an appointment for next wenesday but I also got one because I didn't realise I was also in cohort 7 and now too have an appointment
    You need to ring

As I have mentioned before it's not being done by my GP, it's being arranged by the hospital I have been having treatment in. I was also told they are too buy to answer queries.

I know
    You need to ring

Glad to see that you and your brother got sorted.

What I'm see'ng through here is lots of postts virtue sinalling looking backwards and down on a good news day with momentum on our vaccine programme and the whole country with a smile on its face
    A bad day for anyone who's favourite pastime is government bashing when theres no fodder for it today coupled with an awful day on the wondrous thread
    Try again tomorrow,its a new day

Giving credit to the people of the country (As the Taoiseach did just today as well) is only virtue signalling to somebody in a desperate search of an argument.

I've already said it's a good news day over on the radio forum where a poster who defends everything government party here is shaping up to blame RTE if it goes wrong again. The people last time - RTE next time? :)

*P.S. I'm not taking your deflection bait, you've tried a few times, so you may stop.

As I have mentioned before it's not being done by my GP, it's being arranged by the hospital I have been having treatment in. I was also told they are too buy to answer queries.

You should still be able to get it done by your gp
    I wouldnt wait
    Go over to the vaccine thread on the forum that 10 of Swords linked to
    Its very important
    If you are in an age cohort being done,register there too,it wont waste any vaccine

I have provided a lot of data. Finty made some up.

Why don't you provide the Welsh data if it's important to your argument.[/QUO
    TE]

Germany 3100 in 5th Oct; 49,044 30 Dec
    Spain 8th Dec 1721 ; 10th Feb 107,053
    UK mid Oct 7200; 8th Jan 68,053
    Sweden 8th Oct 0 cases; 30th Dec 8,846
    Norway 17th Nov 3 cases; 4th Jan 529
    Isle of Man Dec 0 cases; 10 Mar 74 cases
    Italy 4th Oct 2478; 15th Nov 39,097
    Croatia 5th Oct 138; 11 Dec 4396
    Austria 6th Oct 688; 20th Nov 6668

ECDC data. I would say there is evidence of a trend here.

I’d refuse to be ignored. Ring your GP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

The neck of these two, if only their party was in govt and held the housing brief.

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭tomglsn

Fann Linn wrote: »
    The neck of these two, if only their party was in govt and held the housing brief.

Utterly shameless but what else would you expect at this stage

I was just thinking today that our 4th Agriculture minister is very quiet these days. It's a big job, you would think he'd have more profile.
    I doubt 1 in 10 know his name.

I was just thinking today that our 4th Agriculture minister is very quiet these days. It's a big job, you would think he'd have more profile.
    Yep, Michael has been quiet since his address to the nation late last week.

I’m sure that there’s a point to this post....but I don’t get it. Is it just a pointless dig at the government? Or is there a deeper, hidden meaning hiding in the post?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,136 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

I have updated the OP of this thread with a list of threadbanned users, I would advise posters to check on this before posting in the thread again or a forum sanction will be imposed for breaching same.

If you want to discuss your threadban feel free to PM the banning mod (or myself if you can't remember who that is and I'll point you in the right direction).

costacorta wrote: »
    Is it Brian Stanley ?? I haven’t heard of him since his drivelling apology and tearful eyes a couple of months ago ? Maybe I have the wrong man ?

Who??

The current minister is Charlie McConalogue.

We were told that it was madness to fire the previous 2 ministers (M Martin was a temporary one) because they would be up the walls after Brexit. Seemingly not, he is not to be heard.

McConalogue is going a good job. Doesn’t feature much in the outrage pits of social media.

They're all doing a great job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,736 ✭✭✭Floppybits

What world is the Government living in when they thing that a cap of 450K for a house in the Dublin city is affordable? Talk about being out of touch.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0504/1213571-politics/

This is the RTE headline the day the government roll out their new housing strategy.

https://www.rte.ie/news/primetime/2021/0504/1213801-mullen-park-investors-first-time-buyers-property-housing-estate/
    'Locked out' - first-time buyers gazumped by investors
    Local TD Catherine Murphy told Prime Time that her constituents are "absolutely enraged."

She said there is significant demand in the local area from first-time buyers who can’t compete with institutional investors.

"We have to take the financial advantage away that has been given to the international investment funds. That has to happen. And it could happen very quickly if there was a political will to do it."

This is the RTE headline the day the government roll out their new housing strategy.

https://www.rte.ie/news/primetime/2021/0504/1213801-mullen-park-investors-first-time-buyers-property-housing-estate/

The housing strategy is a shambles. Absolute shambles.

Floppybits wrote: »

It looks to be badly thought out - a tick-the-box effort in advance of the next election.

All it has done is angered people even more with the government and underlined the believe that the government don't give a crap about the people of the country.

I wonder what Dara thinks now. Dara??

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-30918711.html
    The Government has been accused of being “on the side of cuckoo funds” rather than struggling families who are trying to find homes.

During Leaders’ Questions in the Dáil, Fianna Fáil deputy leader Dara Calleary referenced revelations that 295 homes in Leopardstown, Co Dublin, have been bought by an “institutional investor”.

Mr Calleary claimed “up to 3,000 homes” have been purchased by professional landlords in the past year alone and said hard-working families are effectively being locked out of the property market.

“It’s clear Fine Gael is on the side of the cuckoo funds on this one,” he said.

Floppybits wrote: »

How is this story relevant to the new proposals?