Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Harry quinn restoration

• 11-05-2011 10:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭

So, last week I acquired a lovely 531 frame from the taxman on here, with plans to restore it. (original thread here) I have a soft spot for 531 frames, so i jumped at the opportunity. This thread is designed to keep people updated on my progress in restoring it. Hopefully people will find it interesting!!

From Taxman I got the following parts:
    Harry Quinn 531 frame and fork (possibly townsend, falcon or british eagle based on the frame number)
    Simplex front derailleur
    Suntour rear derailleur
    Suntour downtube shifters
    no name brake levers
    no name chainset
    bars and a few other small bits n pieces.
    One rear wheel with freewheel.

IMG_0164.jpg

The short term plan is to get the bike rebuilt with some parts i have lying around, and whatever I can easily get my hands on at the moment, so that I have a rolling, working bike, then I will look at the cosmetics. Ill have the frame and forks powder coated.

The longterm plan is that, over time I can build up period groupset, (i've allways liked the aero shimano 600) and fit that, along with some period wheels, so i can build up a nice old skool bike.

here is the bike after a good clean, with some old wheels i had lying about.

100_0051-1.jpg

So far I cleaned down all the parts that I have, and figured out what I would need. I managed to get some parts on here, and all i need now are consumables like cables, tyres, tubes etc. I hope to fit them over the next couple of weeks.

Anyway, i will do my best to update this thread over time as the restoration moves along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,558 ✭✭✭The tax man

I'll be keeping a close eye on this thread.:D
    Can't wait to see how it turns out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Holyboy

Oh I love it!!!!!:D
    It would seem a shame to replace the simplex parts but I do have some 600 parts on a MBK bike at the moment that I've stripped down, they are '84/'85 I think, I dated them today but have forgotten already!
    I may be convinced to part with them, MAYBE.
    Also have some 70s Dura ace brake levers too.
    Any way look forward to keeping an eye on you renovation, if you need any help or advice give me a shout, I love this kind of thing, oh and if you want to get it painted I would suggest the U.K. instead of here, they really know how to do it properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

I have a Shimano 600 front mech and a Suntour SVX reach mech, both in good nick (been in my garage 20 years), you are welcome to them.

The Harry Quiin was a rare enough sight even back then, I think the Ruthland were agents for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

i have a campagnolo reckord chainset work of art would look well on that bike;)
    what color are you going for, what about decals will you replace the name.
    btw where in ireland are you getting it powder coated.

lenny just checked the campag is no longer but i have a shimano 600.chainset and the pedals still attached .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭lennymc

cheers guys!! I will keep you updated!!

So following on from a visit to my LBS in dublin today, I finished putting the Harry quinn back together.

Specs are:
    front mech - shimano 3400
    Rear mech - shimano sora
    Tektro brakes
    dia compe brake levers
    suntour downtube shift levers

I need two new tyres, so threw on some wheels from another bike. It was dark when I finished, but the bike is lovely to ride.

Phase 1 complete :) (pictures to follow)

Ill have to save up for abit for phase 2 (full strip and respray/powder coat) but im very happy with it at the moment.

Fair play Lenny. Always remembered it as a really sweet ride.Great for ploughing through the miles.

Thanks Taxman.

Here is a pic from my camera phone. the more i look at the bike the more i think that it would be a shame to paint it. It certainly has character.

Ill try and get some nicer shots during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

lennymc wrote: »
    the more i look at the bike the more i think that it would be a shame to paint it.

Agreed. That bike looks like it has a history. Don't cover it up.

I remember when I bought it I wasn't too keen on it's colour and(when clean) it really stood out from all the usual colours on frames back in the day. I'm the kind of person that likes to just blend in,not stand out. But the colour grew on me and I enjoyed riding something a little bit different than the norm.

Edit:What condition was the BB and headset in? I know they were bone dry but were there any issues with them?

• Registered Users Posts: 34 15lean

Really nice bike, cool to see someone restoring it to its former glory. I agree with not painting it. Its your decision of course but the bike really does have character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭RICHIE-RICH

So following on from a visit to my LBS in dublin today, I finished putting the Harry quinn back together.

Specs are:
    front mech - shimano 3400
    Rear mech - shimano sora
    Tektro brakes
    dia compe brake levers
    suntour downtube shift levers

I have read your project with interest, and wonder how much that spec set you back?
    I have an 20 year old Peugot 531 frame and am looking to do similar.

Query - Is the rear mech a "click" version - i.e. when you move the levers to change gear is there a click on the lever, or is it push it forward until you hear/feel gear change (then take a quick look to check which gear you are in)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Sorry to be the one, but I disagree about painting it. Get it redone, same colour obviously, but get it done properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

Sorry to be the one, but I disagree about painting it. Get it redone, same colour obviously, but get it done properly.

I would have to agree with Harry, the paint work looks quite tatty, a full proper paint job by one of the UK specialists with original decals etc would be worth it.
    It will stand out then as a bike, as opposed to just another old junker rescued from a skip.
    You'll be soon changing the bits and bobs on the frame anyway! (not that there is anything wrong with them)

I have read your project with interest, and wonder how much that spec set you back?
    I have an 20 year old Peugot 531 frame and am looking to do similar.

Query - Is the rear mech a "click" version - i.e. when you move the levers to change gear is there a click on the lever, or is it push it forward until you hear/feel gear change (then take a quick look to check which gear you are in)

Richie, I restored a Peugeot 501 from 1988 - have a search for the thread....

Re the mech, it's the lever that give the 'click' not the mech. (indexed gearing)

yes lenny get it painted professionally well worth it.
    i got my old rally painted by Dessie Maye (retired now) but he done a class job on it look's fantastic and i nearly have it ready to grace the roads once again.
    cant wait to put a few miles on her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Ill have the frame and forks powder coated.

Just out of curiosity: What does this mean?

I wouldn't powder coat a frame like that, it's a bit industrial for such a steed.

cheers all.

@taxman - i didnt take out the BB as it felt ok, and i didnt want to have to take it out, find out it was shagged and get a new one.

Im in two minds about the paint work. I have some time to decide tho, as i have no money at the moment to get it done. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Khannie wrote: »
    Just out of curiosity: What does this mean?

Powder Coating

cheers all.

@taxman - i didnt take out the BB as it felt ok, and i didnt want to have to take it out, find out it was shagged and get a new one.

Im in two minds about the paint work. I have some time to decide tho, as i have no money at the moment to get it done. lol

I'm in the same boat btw. I have an old De Rosa frame I want to get resprayed and just can't let the money go for it at the moment. Was thinking of sending it to England to get done. I'd still rather do that and get it done properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

I'm in the same boat btw. I have an old De Rosa frame I want to get resprayed and just can't let the money go for it at the moment. Was thinking of sending it to England to get done. I'd still rather do that and get it done properly.

Lucky, so and so. I dream of owning a de rosa one day. Fancy posting up some pictures???.....Please

an update is long due on this. I managed to get a full sora groupset, and some shimano rs500 wheels for this bike, so its now running on modern running gear. I am still undecided about painting the bike or not, so its still sporting its original paint and stickers.

The bike rides lovely, its comfortable, and not too heavy. For a nice lesiurley spin, it really is great. (i was out on it only this morning for about 60 k)

I did have some issues to work around, given that the bike was an old bike I had to make up some brackets to take the rear brakes, but apart from that its been fairly straoghtforward.

Thanks again to taxman, and im just happy to have a nice oul classic still on the road.

Ill have to get some decent snaps.

nice one lenny would that be a 531 frame , cant beat steel for a good auld day ride have you any issues getting the back wheel in and out ;)

holy thread resurection batman.

I have the harry quinn mostly stripped down again. Im going to send it off to be painted up in original baby blue. I have a couple of questions tho.

Does anyone know where I can get copies of the original stickers? I would be looking for the harry quinn stickers and the reynolds 531 stickers for both frame and fork.

Plan is to get it powder coated and build it back up with the sora groupset and a set of shimano or ritchey wheels with 8 spd block.

Does anyone have any recomendations on powder coaters?

It really is a lovely bike to ride. I hope to do a sportif or two on it this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

lenny don't think you will get original stickers as far as i know when a bike is resprayed the stickers have to say exactly that. why dont you get a nice powdercoat job on it ,a guy in tallagh does gret work.
    and the head to either sjs cycles or spa cycles in the uk for all you parts.
    very hard to beat a well made steel bike and thats a fact.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Miklos

This fellow seems to have decals for old British frames pop up now and then, maybe it'd be worth contacting him about that? Definitely has 531 decals anyway. http://hilarystone.com/

NickWray wrote: »
    This fellow seems to have decals for old British frames pop up now and then, maybe it'd be worth contacting him about that? Definitely has 531 decals anyway. http://hilarystone.com/
    There are plenty of H Q decals on Ebay, not too sure how similar they are to your originals.
    I wouldn't get too hung on making it a perfect carbon copy of the original....unless the bike had some provenance. It is being repainted after all...

thanks for the replies re stickers guys.

FSL - you about tomorrow for a spin? If so ill have a chat with you about my plans :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1 CanadianQuinn

Hey, new to the board. I have a similar frame, might be identical, that has been stripped and reprinted, and I am trying to research the lineage. What is the serial number on yours?

Btw, check out this site for decal reproductions: http://www.hlloydcycles.com