Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Who Are The People Buying Sex This Way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

but surely you want this vile trade to cease? and i'm wondering what impact that would have.
    For example;
    *a crushing blow to human traffickers
    *emancipation of countless women
    *an income source cut off for countless women
    *hoards of frustrated men
    *freeing up of police/court resources

as for the prude comments, the argument is that sex is traditionally the one aspect of life in which women absolutely dominate men, holding all the cards and that some object to prostitution not on the grounds of the suffering of prostitutes but because it frees their husbands from their sexual control.

No, I want the vileness IN the trade to cease. It's like the argument that we should not exploit others for our clothes does not mean we should not wear clothes.

I don't know about that last argument of yours, its a mix of some kind of red-pill meets Andrea Dworkin and it doesn't cohere with the way I think in any respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Zorya wrote: »
    No, I want the vileness IN the trade to cease. It's like the argument that we should not exploit others for our clothes does not mean we should not wear clothes.

I don't know about that last argument of yours, its a mix of some kind of red-pill meets Andrea Dworkin and it doesn't cohere with the way I think in any respect.

Unions. Hardcore ones that destroy the earning power of non union members with the iron like will of a mafia. I mean good ol fashioned unions like docker used to have.

It also needs punters not to cross a picket line.

And for that you need to remove the stigma because you need it to be done in the light. You can't shame someone crossing a picket line if they are already so ashamed they are hiding in the dark.

Perhaps you could take a look at the analyses I linked which find that decriminalising prostitution not only does nothing to prevent women (and children) being trafficked it INCREASES it. By rather a lot.

This could be because it's easier to gather statistics for a legal industry.

Legal changes are easy to make. Cultural ones or culture wide psychological ones are harder.

The other factor is just sheer poverty.

Things are deeply interconnected.

You are leaving out relevant factors, factors that are more pertinent even than poverty. And people do so because to approach those factors goes against progressiveness. One of the main factors is the advent of extremely violent porn and its ever wider availability. Not only are certain tendencies and psychologies not being challenged or changed, they are spreading and being encouraged to flourish because of a liberal approach that says we must not curb the 'rights' of individuals to experience endless freedom without respinsibilities. People are terrified to look like squares, and into that relativism comes all sorts of incoherence, suffering and contradiction.

Unions. Hardcore ones that destroy the earning power of non union members with the iron like will of a mafia. I mean good ol fashioned unions like docker used to have.

It also needs punters not to cross a picket line.

And for that you need to remove the stigma because you need it to be done in the light. You can't shame someone crossing a picket line if they are already so ashamed they are hiding in the dark.

Unions died a while ago. The love of cheap tech and the material benefits to the easily entertained masses of unfettered globalism ended unions.

You are leaving out relevant factors, factors that are more pertinent even than poverty. And people do so because to approach those factors goes against progressiveness. One of the main factors is the advent of extremely violent porn and its ever wider availability. Not only are certain tendencies and psychologies not being challenged or changed, they are spreading and being encouraged to flourish because of a liberal approach that says we must not curb the 'rights' of individuals to experience endless freedom without respinsibilities. People are terrified to look like squares, and into that relativism comes all sorts of incoherence, suffering and contradiction.

With all due respect. There is no other more pertinent factor than homelessness and poverty in this type of prostitution.

I know ....my grandmother was one. She didn't rate the women involved very highly either. What is it Familiarity breeds contempt?

bnt wrote: »
    In the media, though, the "hooker with a heart of gold" is a TV Trope, a cliché. People see Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman, and even though the movie does show some of the downsides to prostitution, that's not what people remember, is it?

A film hugely popular with women for reasons I just can't understand.

[HTML][/HTML]
    Unions died a while ago. The love of cheap tech and the material benefits to the easily entertained masses of unfettered globalism ended unions.

This is a vague statement.

I assure particularly in the countries you are mentioning unions are very much alive.

France Germany Norway etc All have powerful unions.

Whenever you want to change a culture you have to do it subversively or you meet with resistance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,865 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I doubt our political overlords would share your thoughts on that after the trouble unions have caused them in recent years.

You are leaving out relevant factors, factors that are more pertinent even than poverty. And people do so because to approach those factors goes against progressiveness. One of the main factors is the advent of extremely violent porn and its ever wider availability.

Agree with this - but would also include the likes of GOT which has some really violent abusive characters and scenes. Also would say that this kind of media just legitimises sick desires that some people have, rather than cause them in the first place. There is a tendency now that anytime there is an extreme sexual crime committed by some sick scum the commentary will be how we need to educate boys as if all boys are somehow responsible.

[HTML][/HTML]

This is a vague statement.

I assure particularly in the countries you are mentioning unions are very much alive.

France Germany Norway etc All have powerful unions.

Whenever you want to change a culture you have to do it subversively or you meet with resistance.

Talk to the Gilets Jaunes about modern resistance. The plebs do not have power any more.

Prostitution in your grandmother's time was a whole different kettle of fish to the circumstances to which I am objecting.

A film hugely popular with women for reasons I just can't understand.

A cute film is a cute film. Its not reality though.

Most women are 'turned out' at first by other women . My grandmother was. She had no idea where she was ending up. But she was homeless no family being homeless is easy during the summer.

It was a short period of her life. It wasn't the worst part of her life either.

But it was nasty.
    The United Nations Office of Drugs and Crimes states, “in 30% of the countries which provided information on the gender of traffickers, women make up the largest proportion of traffickers. In some parts of the world, women trafficking is the norm.”

So in at LEAST a third of countries women make up the majority of people doing the trafficking. In the rest they would make up at least half.

Men in the industry usually have women to recruit or 'calm/befriend' vulnerable women.

Talk to the Gilets Jaunes about modern resistance. The plebs do not have power any more.

Prostitution in your grandmother's time was a whole different kettle of fish to the circumstances to which I am objecting.

How do you know? Did she tell you her stories or me?

It was just as bad back then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

its not my theory and i dont direct it at you but i wouldnt be surprised if there was a kernel of truth in it for some women

How do you know? Did she tell you her stories or me?

It was just as bad back then.

This is again the arrogance of someone raised middle class and insulated from the reality of some people's lives, to such an extent they feel they can lecture them on something they have zero experience of themselves. How do people get an ego like that?

People only know what the world teaches them.

If women were all nice we wouldn't have had abuse in Magdalene laundries.

Women can beat the crap out of women too.

I mean remember the most famous hollywood madame was Heidi Fleiss.

Most organized prostitution is organized by women. Whether it be vile and to do with human trafficking or safe. That is just a fact.

The issue is not porn its not beliefs at that level of prostitution...its poverty/homelessness and generational poverty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

No, I want the vileness IN the trade to cease.
    A noble aim and one anyone would support, how is to be achieved? The Nordic model which criminalises the purchaser must necessarily drive it underground so thats out. Countries with legalised prostitution still experience trafficking and abuse, so thats out too.

Legalize it.

Or take it on a case by case basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Who the heck said all women are nice?

Fair play Zorya - always some amount of inane bollox on this discussion, and the amount of telling you you said stuff which you didn't say! (That's denial for you). You're well able. :)

Agree with this - but would also include the likes of GOT which has some really violent abusive characters and scenes. Also would say that this kind of media just legitimises sick desires that some people have, rather than cause them in the first place.

It used to be Judas Priest, then video nasties, then video games, now its GoT. It legitimises F all, its a TV show. If someone can't control themselves how can you blame a TV show? Thought this sort of thinking died out in the 80's.

Who the heck said all women are nice?

Fair play Zorya - always some amount of inane bollox on this discussion, and the amount of telling you you said stuff which you didn't say! (That's denial for you). You're well able. :)

I hope she or you didn't think I was telling her off. I don't mean it like that at all.

But there is a myth that most human trafficking is done by men. Its not its done by women. Sometimes even family members.

And poverty is the MAJOR motivating force. Women are rarely chained to the bathroom sink.

A lot of human trafficking involves refugees and migrants etc Places of conflict. Homeless women.

It used to be Judas Priest, then video nasties, then video games, now its GoT. It legitimises F all, its a TV show. If someone can't control themselves how can you blame a TV show? Thought this sort of thinking died out in the 80's.

Ted Bundy used to say porn made him kill because it would persuade people involved in the anti porn campaign to go and visit him in prison.

Perhaps I am wrong and Zorya has a point. But i really don't think its that.

Look at the kinds of women this happens to and where. Middle class white women end up doing safe middle class white prostitution.

And prostitution and trafficking hardly arrived with porn and liberalism. Its been around centuries and has been much worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,754 ✭✭✭cgcsb

Long before there was porn of any kind available priests were subjecting children to extremely violent rapes in this country. Some people are just animals at the end of the day.

Some people seem to be assuming that women can never simply choose to be a prostitute unless they are coerced, I think that's incorrect. I think some women just see it as a good way to make good money.

That's true of course.

Is there any evidence to suggest trafficking is endemic in the west?

Some people seem to be assuming that women can never simply choose to be a prostitute unless they are coerced, I think that's incorrect. I think some women just see it as a good way to make good money.

Some do, organise and run their own business, hand pick their clients etc.

I think with the internet being what it is, I do wonder why brothels, especially flat rate brothels, exist. Surely prostitutes can arrange their own meet ups at their leisure in this day and age? Or maybe there's something of a hub affect that still has it's appeal.

I was talking to a friend recently about the decline of the gay sauna, which is probably the closest you'll get to a gay version of a brothel. In the 80s Dublin was NOTORIOUS across Europe for this kind of establishment. At one point there were more gay saunas in Dublin than in London. There is now only one such establishment (albeit a 5 floor maze of many themes of debauchery). The decline is largely chalked up to the internet. Still there is a difference in experience and out come, swiping left is a very different experience compared to making your choice in person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

Fair play to you Zorya for taking on this subject- it makes for depressing reading, but you're willing to ask the question. I don't know the answer, but I suspect that a combination of factors have resulted in these types of abuses of women.

Feminism has undermined some of the culture of control a man traditionally had over a woman. Marital rape is now recognised as a crime. Women have become stronger. Simultaneously, pornography is now more extreme and available than ever before. You can see women being "willingly" degraded anytime anywhere (saw a guy watching porn on his phone as I passed his parked car outside our local supermarket at Christmas time!), while in the real world, you have to work on a relationship to get what she might not be willing to give.

Porn imo, has tapped into the most selfish aspects of (some) male desires, and because there's just so much of it, maybe guys are thinking, "why shouldn't I have some of that?" It has normalised sex as a transaction. I can't see a cure, but prevention; educate your daughters.

Fair play to you Zorya for taking on this subject- it makes for depressing reading, but you're willing to ask the question. I don't know the answer, but I suspect that a combination of factors have resulted in these types of abuses of women.

Feminism has undermined some of the culture of control a man traditionally had over a woman. Marital rape is now recognised as a crime. Women have become stronger. Simultaneously, pornography is now more extreme and available than ever before. You can see women being "willingly" degraded anytime anywhere (saw a guy watching porn on his phone as I passed his parked car outside our local supermarket at Christmas time!), while in the real world, you have to work on a relationship to get what she might not be willing to give.

Porn imo, has tapped into the most selfish aspects of (some) male desires, and because there's just so much of it, maybe guys are thinking, "why shouldn't I have some of that?" It has normalised sex as a transaction. I can't see a cure, but prevention; educate your daughters.

And your granddaughters. You are wise.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

I hope she or you didn't think I was telling her off. I don't mean it like that at all.

But there is a myth that most human trafficking is done by men. Its not its done by women. Sometimes even family members.

And poverty is the MAJOR motivating force. Women are rarely chained to the bathroom sink.

A lot of human trafficking involves refugees and migrants etc Places of conflict. Homeless women.

It's just that all this above, which I am not disagreeing with, has to do with why women become prostitutes which wasn't the original question or the focus of the topic chosen by op.
    We know prostitution is big business and if it could be all be a freely chosen career choice by the women involved that would be perfect. But we also know sex trafficking, topic of this thread, is big business and that is basically sex slavery, sex abuse and rape which can only thrive when there is a at the very least an unconcern among the customers that the girl they are paying to have sex with has any choice. It's not a few bad eggs that don't care, for trafficking to be such a huge industry, it must be huge numbers of customers that don't care. Payment might be exchanging hands but that is from punter to pimp, and if the girl has no choice between them, that is rape imo. The question is about the mindset of the customers and how it is ok with them that they wouldn't know what is the girl's story.

Mrsmum wrote: »
    It's just that all this above, which I am not disagreeing with, has to do with why women become prostitutes which wasn't the original question or the focus of the topic chosen by op.
    We know prostitution is big business and if it could be all be a freely chosen career choice by the women involved that would be perfect. But we also know sex trafficking, topic of this thread, is big business and that is basically sex slavery, sex abuse and rape which can only thrive when there is a at the very least an unconcern among the customers that the girl they are paying to have sex with has any choice. It's not a few bad eggs that don't care, for trafficking to be such a huge industry, it must be huge numbers of customers that don't care. Payment might be exchanging hands but that is from punter to pimp, and if the girl has no choice between them, that is rape imo. The question is about the mindset of the customers and how it is ok with them that they wouldn't know what is the girl's story.

Yep.

But those women are from poverty. They are not middleclass women. They are refugees migrants homeless women etc.

When do you hear of a middle class woman being kidnapped and forced into sexual slavery?

They are refugees or migrants who often PAY to get there.

Yep.

But those women are from poverty. They are not middleclass women. They are refugees migrants homeless women etc.

When do you hear of a middle class woman being kidnapped and forced into sexual slavery?

They are refugees or migrants who often PAY to get there.

Yes, but once again, that's a different topic.

No its not.

The women in the PUSSY CLUB are these women. They are not German they are Asian or African or Romanian , Bulgarian. Where most places have no running water electricity etc.

They are materially disadvantaged or migrants or refugees.

These are the backgrounds those women came from.

They weren't born into positions where they could organize their clients. Not everyone has those tools.

This type of prostitution exists because of war extreme poverty etc.

No its not.

The women in the PUSSY CLUB are these women.

They are materially disadvantaged or migrants or refugees.

The pussy club was closed after a raid. hygienic deficiencies was the official reason.

But these are the backgrounds those women came from.

The op was questioning the mentality of the customers given all that which you are in agreement with from all your posts. But where is your link to the customers part, the buyers of sex as asked in the title of this thread.

Mr 'What happens in vegas stays in vegas.' Tourists.
    https://www.escort-ireland.com/boards/threads/14627-Any-good-independents-or-brothels-in-Berlin?highlight=pussy+club

2 Mr cheap
    Generally speaking working class men pay working class prices.

https://www.escort-ireland.com/boards/forums/19-Sex-Tourism

But here you go general insight. Not sure if its allowed to post.

Its the tourism section of Escort Irelands forum. You can find clients or punters talking about flat rate brothels in Prague Germany etc.

3 Mr messed up.
    If you are looking for what my grandmother said. She felt they were never happy with what they got, yet every prostitute thinks they are. And such men were a mass of contradictions. Some felt they didn't want a woman to get any pleasure they were paying etc it was a service. Some don't like women and are just not nice people. Others are different. They do want to pretend its real.

I guess if you pick your client list you pick the type.

Men who think the woman has been trafficked will turn it around in their heads. She wasn't etc. She lied. Or they will just go 'best not to think about it'. Its like buying clothes you think were made in a sweatshop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

There is a way of indicating it. Does she have her own passport in her belonging? Does she have her own independent apartment etc? Does she have a bank account in her name? Does she have her own cash?

And how is the buyer going to know the above?

Talk about selective. The absolute very same could be said about people who keep churning out that there are prostitutes who choose to do it and have a grand life, when that's not who this thread is about.

It's contradictory too when it's the middle-class people who are the ones that generally fare better in a life of prostitution.

This is about the abusive side of the industry. The denial and delusion is something else. How people could actually think there wouldn't be abuse in the sex industry... well of course they don't actually think that, "But there are prostitutes who choose to do it and get on great" - as if it's being argued otherwise, and as if that changes the dark side of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,513 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

There is a way of indicating it. Does she have her own passport in her belonging? Does she have her own independent apartment etc? Does she have a bank account in her name? Does she have her own cash?

Is she allowed leave during her shift lets say for an emergency?

If she is foreign has she had a trip home in the last year?

Does she have her own money on her? Does she buy her own toiletries clothes underwear etc?

Does she speak the language of the country she is in?

Can she drive ? Does she have a car? If not does she have a bus ticket?

One SURE question a punter can ask is this.....hey what do you think of the city? What have you seen? What have you done while you were here? Can you recommend anything?

A girl who has been working in a city for a year and can't navigate herself around it even a little ..something is usually wrong.

And yes there prostitutes do are happy and safe in their jobs.
    Berserker wrote: »
    And how is the buyer going to know the above?

If the industry is well regulated then they at least have a chance of knowing that. While it is criminalised then they have no chance of knowing.

Very true. If it were decriminalized at least the woman would have the law on her side. And the guy asking would not be afraid of charges.

Is that good enough though? This is an on-going problem in countries in which it is decriminalized. Would you be happy to have a RLD in Dublin, where there were trafficked workers? It may take a month or even six months, for the body which regulates the district to identify these people.

why do you think I would be happy for women to be trafficked? Seriously, what sort of nonsense is that?

You look at areas like how badly the taxi industry is regulated and you have to wonder.

I still think legalisation is a step in the right direction though, even if it takes time after to do it properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,688 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

There are trafficked workers in many trades, plenty in Dublin too: yet I see very little moral outrage about that.

Yes, many of the workers at Pussy Club ARE German or at least European.

Why assume that they are enslaved? any more than the croupiers at a casino or workers on a building site or cockle pickers or mushroom growers, hotel staff or office cleaners??

What's so degrading about providing a sexual service? I don't see it, I genuinely don't.
    Men need this, and they pay good money: why not make use of that financial opportunity?
    (Rationally, not some ancient sentimental reason.)

PS And if my daughter chose to, I'd respect her choice.

why do you think I would be happy for women to be trafficked? Seriously, what sort of nonsense is that?

I'm not asking or saying that. I saying that decriminalization is not going to lead to some squeaky clean industry. If it is decriminalized there is always going to be an element of trafficked workers active. See central European as an example of this. I would have little confidence in any regulatory body in Ireland and it's ability to identify trafficked worker also.

Day Lewin wrote: »
    There are trafficked workers in many trades, plenty in Dublin too: yet I see very little moral outrage about that.

Yes, many of the workers at Pussy Club ARE German or at least European.

Why assume that they are enslaved? any more than the croupiers at a casino or workers on a building site or cockle pickers or mushroom growers, hotel staff or office cleaners??

What's so degrading about providing a sexual service? I don't see it, I genuinely don't.
    Men need this, and they pay good money: why not make use of that financial opportunity?
    (Rationally, not some ancient sentimental reason.)

PS And if my daughter chose to, I'd respect her choice.
    If ever a summing up of these threads - it's got everything: whataboutery, "you aren't criticising something else, therefore criticism of this is null and void", the old "moral outrage" jibe at people concerned about others being abused in an industry where it can easily happen, the implication that concern about the findings outlined by Zorya (and which keep being ignored) means viewing ALL prostitution as degrading (lads, ye need to drop that one - it's shyte).

And the cherry on top about the daughter. Gotta look super liberal at all costs I suppose.

I'm not asking or saying that. I saying that decriminalization is not going to lead to some squeaky clean industry. If it is decriminalized there is always going to be an element of trafficked workers active. See central European as an example of this. I would have little confidence in any regulatory body in Ireland and it's ability to identify trafficked worker also.

There will always be an element of illegality in ANY indistry no matter how well it is regulated. There is no guarantee that regulation will make it squeaky clean. However, what will guarantee that the industry will be full of trafficked women forced to partake is leaving it criminalised. That a solution will not guarantee perfect results is not a reason to do nothing. otherwise why bother regulating anything.

There are trafficked sex workers in Ireland now. The only question is do we want to legalise, regulate and clamp down on it, or do we want to continue to ignore it.

cgcsb wrote: »
    There are trafficked sex workers in Ireland now. The only question is do we want to legalise, regulate and clamp down on it, or do we want to continue to ignore it.

Imagine the takings in tax. Legalise cannabis too and we can build an awful lot of houses between the tax haul from both.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Imagine the takings in tax. Legalise cannabis too and we can build an awful lot of houses between the tax haul from both.

What a horrifying statement.

The Irish state ran a budget surplus of €100m in 2018. As a country we're actually ok for revenue. We have a housing and health crisis because of extreme ideologies, not because of a lack of money.

sabat wrote: »
    What a horrifying statement.

That's a low bar you have there.

cgcsb wrote: »
    The Irish state ran a budget surplus of €100m in 2018. As a country we're actually ok for revenue. We have a housing and health crisis because of extreme ideologies, not because of a lack of money.

Fair enough but still the money taken from both (or either) could be put to good use somewhere along the line. Put it toward the overrun for the childrens hospital for example. Or give people who need it a bit of a tax break.