Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Takeaway Pints Dublin 12

• 19-05-2020 11:29pm
    Registered Users Posts: 17,963 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone happen to know of pubs around Kimmage delivering pints on Friday?

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭geordi

Anyone happen to know of pubs around Kimmage delivering pints on Friday?

Two Sisters are delivering. Not cheap mind you. €6 a pint, €2 deposit for the glass and €2.50 for delivery

• Registered Users Posts: 17,963 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Cheers, that's perfect! It's a birthday present request so price isn't too much of an issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,215 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Surprised that there are any still doing this given likely low profitability and recent reports of Garda attention. I assume that, we’re they minded to do so, the pub could be prosecuted for supplying alcohol for consumption off the premises in something other than a “sealed container”. I don’t think it’s doing any harm but I can imagine the uproar if the delivery was to (say) a group of 4 people meeting up in a park near a pub.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

Anyone else around Kimmage? I'm 600m outside the 1.5km distance :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

geordi wrote: »
    Two Sisters are delivering. Not cheap mind you. €6 a pint, €2 deposit for the glass and €2.50 for delivery

What's the point then?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

What's the point then?

Novelty + people who insist draught is better

Three month old kegs that are really not moving very quickly - mmmm, lovely.

Its the novelty the OP is looking for I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,097 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Seriously why is there even a market for this crap?? Just buy it in the supermarket, pour it into a glass, and drink the feckin thing. Or else just drink it straight out of the bottle or can.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,230 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Seriously why is there even a market for this crap?? Just buy it in the supermarket, pour it into a glass, and drink the feckin thing. Or else just drink it straight out of the bottle or can.

This time, it seems to be a bit of craic for an occasion. But in general, sure.

I can only think of Guinness or other stout as having any reason to justify a pub pint over a supermarket bought drink. The Guinness West Indies in the bottles is quite nice, and I would love if you could buy the old style Guinness bottles now, but guess you cannot beat a pub poured pint of Guinness.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,787 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

I can't imagine how a pint of Guinness shipped from a pub could be any way better than one freshly poured from a widget can. There's one for somebody to do a blind test on :p

BeerNut wrote: »
    I can't imagine how a pint of Guinness shipped from a pub could be any way better than one freshly poured from a widget can. There's one for somebody to do a blind test on :p

You can’t get the same creamy head on a can poured Guinness that you can when poured from the tap. There is a massive difference in the enjoyment and appreciation of them. Does this mean it’s worth paying 6 to 7 times more for it?? Only if you can afford it. If not there are many better things to spend ur hard earned cash on.

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭undertaker fan 88

I can only think of Guinness or other stout as having any reason to justify a pub pint over a supermarket bought drink. The Guinness West Indies in the bottles is quite nice, and I would love if you could buy the old style Guinness bottles now, but guess you cannot beat a pub poured pint of Guinness.

I believe you can get thr old style guinness bottles. A shop near me in cork sells pint bottles of guinness for 3 euro each

You can’t get the same creamy head on a can poured Guinness that you can when poured from the tap.
    But do you get the same creamy head on a pub pint that's been delivered as you do on a pub pint in the pub?

I think these deliveries that are being provided is a van with a barrel in the back, so they will pour the pint outside the house. So it should be creamy in case of Guinness.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

I think these deliveries that are being provided is a van with a barrel in the back, so they will pour the pint outside the house. So it should be creamy in case of Guinness.

Those are about as illegal as possible.

The sort-of legit ones are poured in the bar and sealed over the top.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭McCrack

L1011 wrote: »
    Those are about as illegal as possible.

The sort-of legit ones are poured in the bar and sealed over the top.

And then transported to some location... Lol

No that's not how it's done anywhere

McCrack wrote: »
    And then transported to some location... Lol

No that's not how it's done anywhere

That is how anyone who wants to stay doing it is doing it. Keg in van setups are being stopped by the Guards everywhere as they are explicitly illegal

• Registered Users Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Galadriel

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Whenever you see a discussion about cans vs pints of Guinness, you mentally steel yourself for the onslaught of 'Creamy' references.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,373 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

You can’t get the same creamy head on a can poured Guinness that you can when poured from the tap.
    You can get a decent creamy head from cans if
    a- you use a suitably sized glass (less than a pint, more than 500ml)
    b- you have a second can on the go, pour about a 1/2 inch into the pint glass and then a can ontop of it. Many glasses people have are not actually pints, and you have to find out how much to pour to get the head you like, some might like thinner ones.

Similarly even the best barman in the world cannot get what I would consider a decent head if they were restricted to only be allowed pour 500ml of guinness from a keg into a 568ml glass. It simply does not work, a pint can would not work either, its too much.

You see people doing all sorts of stuff like upside down cans, they get it to the top of the 568ml glass and think that is the challenge. The result is an excessively large head, which is not compact and creamy. It is certainly not got a dome rising over the lip of the glass which a decent put pint will have.

guinness.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 34,022 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Guinness mythology/bolloxology has gone to a new level when people are prepared to pay pub price + delivery to drink a (shook up, spilled a bit probably) pint at home.

The exact same thing is 28 or 30 euro for a slab of 24 in most supermarkets this weekend, so not much more than a euro a go.

I'd challenge anyone to do a blind taste test and be able to tell the difference between a pint from their favourite pub and a properly poured draught can (although it's pretty much impossible to pour a draught can wrong these days, not like when they first came out.)

Jeez when I did a blind taste test some years ago, it was difficult to tell the difference between Guinness and Smithwicks - and I was pretty much exclusively a Guinness drinker at the time.

Life ain't always empty.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Guinness mythology/bolloxology has gone to a new level when people are prepared to pay pub price + delivery to drink a (shook up, spilled a bit probably) pint at home.

The exact same thing is 28 or 30 euro for a slab of 24 in most supermarkets this weekend, so not much more than a euro a go.

I'd challenge anyone to do a blind taste test and be able to tell the difference between a pint from their favourite pub and a properly poured draught can (although it's pretty much impossible to pour a draught can wrong these days, not like when they first came out.)

Jeez when I did a blind taste test some years ago, it was difficult to tell the difference between Guinness and Smithwicks - and I was pretty much exclusively a Guinness drinker at the time.

But, but, Creamy, Ronnie Drew, etc

• Registered Users Posts: 7,729 ✭✭✭Millem

Did you check the Laurels?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,813 ✭✭✭Alkers

Marble arch at Drimnagh Luas stop is doing collection or delivery guiness only. Had two in the sun on Sunday, first sip was good alright but was a pretty poor pint not helped by the plastic container. 5er for collection which was worth it for the novelty but wouldn't bother with more than one unless you're very local

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

and I would love if you could buy the old style Guinness bottles now,

Some shops have these in a pint (568ml) bottle. Nearly all off licenses do them in 500ml bottles. Labelled Guinness Original.

Tasty stuff.
    rubadub wrote:
    You can get a decent creamy head from cans if
    a-
    b-

c- put the pint glass into the freezer for about 15 mins before pouring from a can that has been chilling in the fridge for at least 5 or 6 hours. Try it - makes a massive difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,813 ✭✭✭Alkers

Bumping this thread, anywhere to get a takeaway pint in d12 currently? I've seen a few people walking from Eleanora's the odd time but it might only when they're doing carvery on a Sunday

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

The Pines on Whitehall Road are doing takeaway pints and cocktails. I think it's collection only and Thursday to Sunday. €6 a pint. Pricey enough. You'll get a slab for €24 in Tesco at the moment - the price of 4 take away pints that you'll be drinking at home anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,026 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

The surger rabbit hole is >>> this way.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,026 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

The surger rabbit hole is >>> this way.

Thread title is takeaway pints in Dublin 12, from the link I posted....

A Dublin pop-up famous for its chicken creations is offering people the chance to get their hands on a machine that serves pints of Guinness that are as good as any from a pub.
    The Cluck Chicken Truck, which operates Thursday to Sunday from Walkinstown Roundabout, told their loyal fowl-lers about their newest giveaway over the weekend.
    They have teamed up with The Slainte Surger to give away a meal for four plus one of their popular Guinness kits which has started going viral on social media for its tremendous pub quality pour.
    Using specialised surger Guinness cans, you pour your can into a pint glass then place it on The Slainte Surger which vibrates and shakes the liquid before melting it into Mother's Milk perfection.